DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
Applicant's remarks filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Applicant’s remarks directed to 35 USC § 112 are considered, but the examiner respectfully disagrees. It is unclear if Applicant is attempting to positively recite the user. Claim 1 recites “the line is positioned around a neck of the user . . . .” (Claims, page 2). Claim 11 recites “positioning the user for selectively engaging . . . .” (Claims, page 4).
Applicant’s remarks with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Further interpretation is set forth below in the Office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, another of a fastener of claim 12 engageable to a band defining a pair of subloops or the comprehensively claimed system with multiple bands, split rings, and multiple selected vaporizers must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, 11, 12, and 14, the phrase "such that" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 14, it is not apparent if Applicant is attempting to positively recite the user or not; positive recitations of a user would raise 35 U.S.C. § 101 issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 unclearly recites including the kit, expanding on a claimed system, comprising a fastener . . . defines a pair of subloops” when “a fastener” has already been claimed in claim 1 which claim 12 depends from claim 11 depends from claim 1; this is double inclusion and renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Dependent claims that depend upon a rejected claim are also rejected.
The claims are replete with 112 issues and the above is not an exhaustive list.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Balogh, II (U.S. 2003/0141325 Fig. 6) [325].
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Reference [325] discloses a vaporizer retaining system comprising: a vaporizer (12); a line (24) having opposed ends, the opposed ends being mutually engaged such that the line defines a loop, wherein the loop is configured for insertion of a head of a user, the line is positioned around a neck of the user; a band (94) engaged to the line, the band being resiliently stretchable, wherein the band is configured positionable around the vaporizer for rebounding for removably frictionally engaging the vaporizer, wherein the vaporizer is removably engaged to the line; and a fastener (96) selectively engageable to the band such that the band defines a pair of subloops, the fastener being selectively positionable on the band such that the subloops (32, 32 are various sizes) are selectively sizeable, such that a respective subloop is sizeable to a selected vaporizer.
The Examiner notes that a user is considered as intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, Reference [325] discloses further including a connector (100) engaged to the line and being selectively engageable to the band.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldstone et al. (U.S. 2008/0251553) [553] in view of Balogh, II (U.S. 2003/0141325 Fig. 9) [325].
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Reference [553] discloses a vaporizer retaining system comprising: a line (16) having opposed ends, the opposed ends being mutually engaged such that the line defines a loop, wherein the loop is configured for insertion of a head of a user, the line is positioned around a neck of the user; a band (32, 32) engaged to the line, the band being resiliently stretchable; and a fastener (D-ring connecting 32 to 22, Fig. 6) selectively engageable to the band such that the band defines a pair of subloops, the fastener being selectively positionable on the band such that the subloops (32, 32 are various sizes) are selectively sizeable, such that a respective subloop is sizeable, but does not explicitly disclose a vaporizer.
Nevertheless, Reference [325] teaches a vaporizer (inhaler, 12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the elastic band connector connection of Reference [553] with connection of an inhaler as taught by Reference [325] in order have a medication inhaler being readily at hand in event of an asthmatic or allergic attack (abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [553] / [325] discloses further including a connector (36 of Ref. [553]) engaged to the line and being selectively engageable to the band.
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [553] / [325] and reasoning above discloses further wherein the band comprises rubber, silicone, or elastomer (elastic).
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [553] / [325] and reasoning above discloses wherein the band is one of a plurality of bands (32, 32, 32), each band having a respective circumference, such that the plurality of bands comprises bands having a variety of circumferences, wherein a respective band having a circumference complementary to a selected vaporizer is configured for selectively stretching for positioning around the selected vaporizer and for rebounding for removably engaging the selected vaporizer, such that the selected vaporizer is removably engaged to the line.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, Reference [267] discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose further wherein the fastener comprises a cinch bead (3 of [835]).
Nevertheless, Reference [325] teaches a cinch bead (118).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the fastener of Reference [553] with cinch slide as taught by Reference [325] in order be able to easily encircle and grip the inhaler.
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudnick et al. (U.S. 11,224,267) [267] in view of Derr (U.S. 2016/0208835) [835].
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Reference [267] discloses a vaporizer retaining system comprising: a line (102) having opposed ends, the opposed ends being mutually engaged such that the line defines a loop, wherein the loop is configured for insertion of a head of a user, the line is positioned around a neck of the user; but does not explicitly disclose a vaporizer or a band engaged to the line, the band being resiliently stretchable; and a fastener selectively engageable to the band such that the band defines a pair of subloops, the fastener being selectively positionable on the band such that the subloops are selectively sizeable, such that a respective subloop is sizeable.
Nevertheless, Reference [835] teaches a vaporizer (electronic cigarette); a band (1), the band being resiliently stretchable; and a fastener (3) selectively engageable to the band such that the band defines a pair of subloops, the fastener being selectively positionable on the band such that the subloops are selectively sizeable, such that a respective subloop is sizeable, and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the necklace system of Reference [267] with connection of a universal securement strap (7, 8, 2, 3, 1, 9) for an electronic cigarette as taught by Reference [835] in order to retain and secure items of personal property without slippage.
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses further including a connector (7 of [835]) engaged to the line and being selectively engageable to the band.
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses further wherein the connector comprises a lobster clasp (claw).
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses further including: a pair of first rings (ornamental elements nearest to 112 of [267]) engaged singly to the opposed ends of the line; and a second ring (ring attached to 112 of [267]) engaged to the connector, the second ring being loopedly engaged to the pair of first rings, such that the line defines the loop and the connector is engaged to the line.
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses further wherein the band comprises rubber (silicone rubber of [835]), silicone, or elastomer.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses further wherein the fastener comprises a cinch bead (3 of [835]).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses further including a split ring (8 of [835]) engaged to the band and being selectively engageable to the connector.
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses further including a plurality of beads (beads) engaged to the line. The Examiner notes that base reference [267] discloses the ornamental members may include, without limitation, beads.
The Examiner notes that prior art, not relied upon, U.S. 2024/0074552 also discloses beads on an article.
Claims 6, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudnick et al. (U.S. 11,224,267) [267] in view of Derr (U.S. 2016/0208835) [835] and further in view of Sanders (U.S. 9,277,744) [744].
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the band is one of a plurality of bands, each band having a respective circumference, such that the plurality of bands comprises bands having a variety of circumferences, wherein a respective band having a circumference complementary to a selected vaporizer is configured for selectively stretching for positioning around the selected vaporizer and for rebounding for removably engaging the selected vaporizer, such that the selected vaporizer is removably engaged to the line.
Nevertheless, Reference [744] teaches a plurality of bands (14, 16), each band having a respective circumference, such that the plurality of bands comprises bands having a variety of circumferences, wherein a respective band having a circumference complementary to a selected vaporizer is configured for selectively stretching for positioning around the selected vaporizer and for rebounding for removably engaging the selected vaporizer, such that the selected vaporizer is removably engaged to the line.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Reference [267] / [835] to duplicate the securement straps of Ref. [835], with multiple attachment means and sizes as taught by Reference [744] in order to yield the predictable result of holding multiple items, vaporizers, around a user’s neck.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have had multiple securement straps of Ref. [835] as demonstrated by the multiple attachment means of [744], since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, page 4, line 26, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. The Examiner notes that the elastic band of Ref. [835] is adjustable to hold varying sizes.
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] / [744] and reasoning as applied to the rejection of claim 6 above discloses the claimed invention and reasoning above discloses the band being one of a plurality of bands, each band having a respective circumference, such that the plurality of bands comprises bands having a variety of circumferences; a pair of first rings engaged singly to the opposed ends of the line; a second ring loopedly engaged to the pair of first rings, such that the line defines the loop; a lobster clasp engaged to the second ring; the line and the plurality of bands being configured as a kit; and wherein a respective band selectable from the plurality of bands and having a circumference complementary to a selected vaporizer is configured for selectively stretching for positioning around the selected vaporizer and for rebounding for removably engaging the selected vaporizer, positioning the user for selectively engaging the lobster clasp to the split ring engaged to the respective band, such that the vaporizer is engaged to the line, but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of split rings, each split ring being engaged to a respective band.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Reference [267] / [835] / [744] with multiple attachment means attached by split rings (Ref. [835] teaches key ring 8 as applied in the rejection of claim 9 above) in order to yield the predictable result of being able versatilely clip or attach each attachment means to the combination necklace/lanyard by split rings.
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] / [744] and reasoning as applied to the rejections above discloses further including the kit comprising a fastener selectively engageable to a respective band such that the respective band defines a pair of subloops, the fastener being selectively positionable on the respective band such that the subloops are selectively sizeable, such that a respective subloop is sizeable to the selected vaporizer, the fastener comprising a cinch bead. The Examiner notes that multiple securement straps of Ref. [835] as applied in the rejections above would have multiple cinches 3 to meet the claim as currently recited.
Regarding Claim 14, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] / [744] and reasoning as applied to the rejections above discloses a vaporizer; a line having opposed ends, the opposed ends being mutually engaged such that the line defines a loop, wherein the loop is configured for insertion of a head of a user, wherein the line is positionable around a neck of the user; a pair of first rings engaged singly to the opposed ends of the line; a band engaged to the line, the band being resiliently stretchable, wherein the band is stretchable for positioning around the vaporizer for removably frictionally engaging the vaporizer, wherein the vaporizer is removably engaged to the line, the band comprising rubber, silicone, or elastomer, the band is one of a plurality of bands, each band having a respective circumference, such that the plurality of bands comprises bands having a variety of circumferences, wherein a respective band having a circumference complementary to a selected vaporizer is configured for selectively stretching for positioning around the selected vaporizer and for rebounding for removably engaging the selected vaporizer, such that the selected vaporizer is removably engaged to the line; a fastener selectively engageable to the band such that the band defines a pair of subloops, the fastener being selectively positionable on the band such that the subloops are selectively sizeable, such that a respective subloop is sizeable to a selected vaporizer, the fastener comprising a cinch bead; a connector engaged to the line and being selectively engageable to the band, the connector comprising a lobster clasp; a split ring engaged to the band and being selectively engageable to the connector; and a second ring engaged to the connector, the second ring being loopedly engaged to the pair of first rings, such that the line defines the loop and the connector is engaged to the line.
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood, the previous combination of Reference [267] / [835] / [744] and reasoning as applied to the rejections above discloses further including a plurality of beads (beads of Ref. [267]) engaged to the line.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Examiner notes U.S. 11,246,386 disclosing numerous connections and configurations for attachment components of jewelry. U.S. 2004/0200236 discloses a similar lanyard device as the claimed invention disclosing beads.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677