DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/537,330 filed on December 12th, 2023.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 12/12/2023, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1 – 30 are pending.
Claims 1 – 30 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 7, 9 – 19, and 22 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosseini et al. [US 20210212075 A1] hereinafter Hosseini.
Regarding claim 1, Hosseini teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Hosseini: Fig. 1, ¶ 29 - ¶ 32; in view of UE 120), comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors (Hosseini: Fig. 2, ¶ 42; in view of processor components 280) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Hosseini: Fig. 2, ¶ 42; in view of memory component 282), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
communicate monitoring distribution information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a multi-carrier mode, the monitoring distribution information indicative of at least one of a distribution of a plurality of blind decodes (BDs) or a distribution of a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) associated with monitoring PDCCH candidates across a plurality of carriers (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities, the UE 120 may be configured with a plurality of carriers. For example, the BS 110 may provide configuration information to the UE 120 for the plurality of carriers. In some aspects, the configuration information may indicate whether each carrier, of the plurality of carriers, is associated with a Release 15 (e.g., slot-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 15 carrier) or a Release 16 (e.g., span-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 16 carrier)…, the UE 120 may determine that a number of carriers associated with per-span BD or CCE monitoring exceeds a threshold…, then the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120); and
monitor the PDCCH candidates in accordance with the at least one of the distribution of the plurality of BDs or the distribution of the plurality CCEs (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120…(it should be noted that “a span is a number of consecutive symbols in a slot where the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH. Each PDCCH monitoring occasion is within one span. A slot can include multiple spans, and a span can include one or more PDCCH candidates” Hosseini ¶ 47), then the UE 120 may receive communications on the plurality of carriers in accordance with the distribution. Therefore, in order for the UE to receive communication on the plurality of carriers, the process of the UE monitoring the PDCCH candidates in accordance with at least one of the distribution of BDs or CCEs must have been successful).
Regarding claim 2, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the multi-carrier mode comprises at least one of a carrier aggregation mode (Hosseini: Fig. 3, ¶ 5, ¶ 49 - ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring. Therefore carriers from the plurality of carriers are aggregated or are combined in a slot or span for which the UE can perform slot-based or span-based monitoring, i.e. the multi-carrier mode comprises a carrier aggregation mode), a dual connectivity mode, or a dual stack mode.
Regarding claim 3, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive the monitoring distribution information from a network node (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein at step 410, the BS 110 (i.e., network node) may provide configuration information to the UE 120 for the plurality of carriers).
Regarding claim 5, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 3, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to transmit a distribution preference indication to the network node, and wherein, to cause the UE to receive the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive the monitoring distribution information in association with the distribution preference indication (Hosseini: ¶ 51 - 53, ¶ 58; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases (i.e., the UE’s preference indication)… In some cases, the UE may be configured with a number of carriers that exceeds the threshold identified by the PDCCH monitoring capability … In this way, span-based limitation of CCEs and/or BDs may be enforced for carrier combinations associated with per-span monitoring or a combination of per-span and per-slot monitoring, which improves conformance with UE capabilities, improves scheduling flexibility, and reduces complexity).
Regarding claim 7, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to transmit the monitoring distribution information to a network node (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 68, Fig. 6, ¶ 100; wherein at step 430, the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120... The UE 120 may determine the distribution so that a per-slot monitoring capability of the UE 120 is satisfied while taking into account the different capabilities, SCSs, and/or span configurations. As shown by reference number 440, the UE 120 may receive communications on the plurality of carriers in accordance with the distribution. Thus, while Hosseini does not explicitly state that the UE sends the monitoring distribution information to the network node, it is an implicit step that will be required in order to facilitate communication between the network node and the UE after the UE determines the distribution information based on the configuration information it received from the network node. In order words, the UE has to share the report of the distribution information it determined with the network node in order to be able to receive communication from the network node in accordance with the distribution).
Regarding claim 9, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to communicate a semi-static communication including the monitoring distribution information (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 66-68, Fig. 6, ¶ 100; wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of carriers by the base station, the UE may determine that the number of carriers exceeds a threshold, and at step 430, the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120... The UE 120 may determine the distribution so that a per-slot monitoring capability of the UE 120 is satisfied while taking into account the different capabilities, SCSs, and/or span configurations. As shown by reference number 440, the UE 120 may receive communications on the plurality of carriers in accordance with the distribution. Thus, since the UE receives pre-configured configurations from the base station and these configurations can remain valid for multiple slots, subject to the UE’s capabilities, the UE can be said to communicate a semi- static communication).
Regarding claim 10, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the monitoring distribution information comprises an implicit indication of the distribution (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 66-68, Fig. 6, ¶ 99-100; in view of the UE receiving configuration from the base station and then performing the determinations to complete the monitoring of the PDCCH candidate across a plurality of carriers, it should be understood that the monitoring distribution information comprises implicit indication of the distribution).
Regarding claim 11, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the monitoring distribution information comprises an explicit indication of the distribution, and wherein the explicit indication is indicative of a quantity of at least one of the plurality of BDs or the plurality of CCEs (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 66-68, Fig. 6, ¶ 97-100; wherein process 600 may include determining, for the plurality of carriers, a distribution of at least one of a plurality of non-overlapped CCEs or a plurality of blind decodes that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE (block 620). For example, the UE (e.g., using controller/processor 280 and/or the like) may optionally (as indicated by the dashed border of block 620) determine, for the plurality of carriers based at least in part on the number of carriers exceeding the threshold, a distribution of at least one of a plurality of non-overlapped CCEs or a plurality of blind decodes that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE).
Regarding claim 12, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the monitoring distribution information is associated with at least one of a plurality of component carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring), a plurality of bands, a plurality of subcarrier spacings, or a plurality of frequency ranges.
Regarding claim 13, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to transmit capability information indicative of a UE capability associated with distributing at least one of the plurality of BDs or the plurality of CCEs across the plurality of carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring), and wherein, to cause the UE to communicate the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive the monitoring distribution information in association with the capability information, wherein the capability information indicates a total quantity of the at least one of the plurality of BDs or the plurality of CCEs supported by the UE (Hosseini: ¶ 51, Fig. 4, ¶ 66-68, Fig. 6, ¶ 97-100; wherein process 600 may include determining, for the plurality of carriers, a distribution of at least one of a plurality of non-overlapped CCEs or a plurality of blind decodes that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE (block 620) and wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring).
Regarding claim 14, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 13, wherein the UE capability is associated with at least one of a plurality of component carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring), a plurality of bands, a plurality of subcarrier spacings, or a plurality of frequency ranges.
Regarding claim 15, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the monitoring distribution information comprises a value of a PDCCH blind detection parameter, and wherein the distribution is associated with the value (Hosseini: ¶ 51 – 56, ¶ 89; wherein a value N.sub.cells.sup.cap may represent the number of CCs for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring, and the distribution of BDs (e.g., represented by M in the following equations) … may be determined… wherein the UE is not required to monitor, on the active DL BWP of the scheduling cell, more than M.sub.PDCCH.sup.total,slot,μ=M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ PDCCH candidates. Therefore, the value of a PDCCH blind detection parameter (i.e., the equation) is associated with the distribution (i.e., the M in the equation)).
Regarding claim 16, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 15, wherein the distribution is associated with a plurality of groups of carriers of the plurality of carriers, and wherein, to cause the UE to monitor the PDCCH candidates, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to monitor the PDCCH candidates in association with a quantity of at least one of the plurality of BDs or the plurality of CCEs associated with a group of the plurality of groups of carriers, wherein the quantity is associated with the value (Hosseini: ¶ 51 – 56, ¶ 89; wherein a value N.sub.cells.sup.cap may represent the number of CCs (i.e., groups of carriers of the plurality of carriers) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring, and the distribution of BDs (e.g., represented by M in the following equations) and non-overlapped CCEs (e.g., represented by C in the following equations) may be determined as follows: If a UE is configured with N.sub.cells.sup.DL,μ downlink cells with DL bandwidth parts (BWPs) having SCS configuration μ where Σ.sub.μ=0.sup.3N.sub.cells.sup.DL,μ≤N.sub.cells.sup.cap, the UE is not required to monitor, on the active DL BWP of the scheduling cell, more than M.sub.PDCCH.sup.total,slot,μ=M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ PDCCH candidates (i.e., the value of plurality of BD) or more than C.sub.PDCCH.sup.total,slot,μ=C.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ (i.e., the value of plurality of CCE) non-overlapped CCEs per slot for each scheduled cell).
Regarding claim 17, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein the value comprises a total quantity of the least one of the plurality of BDs or the plurality of CCEs across the plurality of groups of carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51 – 56, ¶ 89; wherein “M.sub.PDCCH.sup.total,slot,μ=M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ PDCCH candidates” represents the total quantity of the plurality of BDs across the plurality of groups of carriers), and wherein the quantity comprises a per-group quantity, wherein the per-group quantity is associated with at least one of a group-specific scalar, a subcarrier spacing (Hosseini: ¶ 51 – 56, ¶ 79, ¶ 89; wherein the UE 120 may distribute the non-overlapped CCEs and/or BDs based at least in part on SCSs and span configurations. As an example, the UE 120 may hard-split a plurality of carriers in accordance with SCSs of the plurality of carriers to form groups of carriers with the same SCS using the equation N.sub.cell.sup.cap*N.sub.cell.sup.DL,u/Σ.sub.jN.sub.cells.sup.DL,j. Therefore, the per-group quantity is associated with a subcarrier spacing), a processing timeline, a frequency parameter, or a time parameter.
Regarding claim 18, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the distribution is associated with a reference time window comprising a slot duration associated with a carrier having a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a plurality of respective (SCSs) associated with the plurality of carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51 – 56, ¶ 79, ¶ 89; wherein the UE 120 may distribute the non-overlapped CCEs and/or BDs based at least in part on SCSs and span configurations…the UE 120 may hard-split a plurality of carriers in accordance with SCSs of the plurality of carriers to form groups of carriers with the same SCS… the UE 120 may select a slot of a carrier, of a plurality of carriers, with the smallest SCS value).
Regarding claim 19, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the distribution is associated with at least one slot direction associated with the plurality of carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51 – 56, ¶ 79, ¶ 89; in view of the SCS using the equation N.sub.cell.sup.cap*N.sub.cell.sup.DL,u/Σ.sub.jN.sub.cells.sup.DL,j. Therefore, the distribution is associated with the DL (downlink) slot direction).
Regarding claim 22, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the multi-carrier mode is associated with a multi-transmission reception point (mTRP) configuration (Hosseini: Fig. 1, ¶ 53, Fig. 4, ¶ 66-68, Fig. 6, ¶ 97-100; wherein Fig. 1 shows the UE 120s and BS 110s in different cell groups, and the UE or the BS may determine the number of non-overlapping CCEs or BDs across the carriers (i.e., in a multi-carrier mode) and per scheduled cell (i.e., for each cell of a TRP in a mTRP configuration as shown in Fig. 1, wherein a base station is also referred to as a TRP (Hosseini: ¶ 26-27)) for the carriers configured with the Release 15 PDCCH and the Release 16 PDCCH separately. Thus, the multi-carrier mode is associated with the mTRP configuration), and wherein the distribution comprises at least one quantity of at least one of the plurality of BDs or the plurality of CCEs associated with at least one respective TRP of a set of TRPs associated with the mTRP configuration (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 66-68, Fig. 6, ¶ 97-100; wherein process 600 may include determining, for the plurality of carriers, a distribution of at least one of a plurality of non-overlapped CCEs or a plurality of blind decodes that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE (block 620). Thus, the plurality of non-overlapped CCEs or a plurality of blind decodes that the UE is determining the distribution of is associated with the base station (i.e., a TRP from the set of TRPs as shown in Fig. 1) that the UE is receiving configuration from).
Regarding claim 23, Hosseini teaches a network node for wireless communication (Hosseini: Fig. 1, ¶ 26 - ¶ 29; in view of BS 110), comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors (Hosseini: Fig. 2, ¶ 42; in view of processor component 240) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Hosseini: Fig. 2, ¶ 42; in view of memory component 242), the processing system configured to cause the network node to:
communicate monitoring distribution information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a multi-carrier mode, the monitoring distribution information indicative of at least one of a distribution of a plurality of blind decodes (BDs) or a distribution of a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) associated with monitoring PDCCH candidates across a plurality of carriers (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities, the UE 120 may be configured with a plurality of carriers. For example, the BS 110 may provide configuration information to the UE 120 for the plurality of carriers. In some aspects, the configuration information may indicate whether each carrier, of the plurality of carriers, is associated with a Release 15 (e.g., slot-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 15 carrier) or a Release 16 (e.g., span-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 16 carrier)…, the UE 120 may determine that a number of carriers associated with per-span BD or CCE monitoring exceeds a threshold…, then the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120); and
transmit downlink control information (DCI) in accordance with the monitoring distribution information (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 48, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein a base station transmits a PDCCH (e.g., including control information, such as DCI) based at least in part on a search space set).
Regarding claim 24, Hosseini teaches the network node of claim 23, wherein the multi-carrier mode comprises at least one of a carrier aggregation mode (Hosseini: Fig. 3, ¶ 5, ¶ 49 - ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring. Therefore carriers from the plurality of carriers are aggregated or are combined in a slot or span for which the UE can perform slot-based or span-based monitoring, i.e. the multi-carrier mode comprises a carrier aggregation mode), a dual connectivity mode, or a dual stack mode.
Regarding claim 25, Hosseini teaches a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (Hosseini: Fig. 1, ¶ 29 - ¶ 32; in view of UE 120), comprising:
communicating monitoring distribution information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a multi-carrier mode, the monitoring distribution information indicative of at least one of a distribution of a plurality of blind decodes (BDs) or a distribution of a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) associated with monitoring PDCCH candidates across a plurality of carriers (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities, the UE 120 may be configured with a plurality of carriers. For example, the BS 110 may provide configuration information to the UE 120 for the plurality of carriers. In some aspects, the configuration information may indicate whether each carrier, of the plurality of carriers, is associated with a Release 15 (e.g., slot-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 15 carrier) or a Release 16 (e.g., span-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 16 carrier)…, the UE 120 may determine that a number of carriers associated with per-span BD or CCE monitoring exceeds a threshold…, then the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120); and
monitoring the PDCCH candidates in accordance with the at least one of the distribution of the plurality of BDs or the distribution of the plurality CCEs (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120…(it should be noted that “a span is a number of consecutive symbols in a slot where the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH. Each PDCCH monitoring occasion is within one span. A slot can include multiple spans, and a span can include one or more PDCCH candidates” Hosseini ¶ 47), then the UE 120 may receive communications on the plurality of carriers in accordance with the distribution. Therefore, in order for the UE to receive communication on the plurality of carriers, the process of the UE monitoring the PDCCH candidates in accordance with at least one of the distribution of BDs or CCEs must have been successful).
Regarding claim 26, Hosseini teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the multi-carrier mode comprises at least one of a carrier aggregation mode (Hosseini: Fig. 3, ¶ 5, ¶ 49 - ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring. Therefore carriers from the plurality of carriers are aggregated or are combined in a slot or span for which the UE can perform slot-based or span-based monitoring, i.e. the multi-carrier mode comprises a carrier aggregation mode) or a dual connectivity mode.
Regarding claim 27, Hosseini teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the monitoring distribution information is associated with at least one of a plurality of component carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring), a plurality of bands, a plurality of subcarrier spacings, or a plurality of frequency ranges.
Regarding claim 28, Hosseini teaches a method of wireless communication by a network node (Hosseini: Fig. 1, ¶ 26 - ¶ 29; in view of BS 110), comprising:
communicating monitoring distribution information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a multi-carrier mode, the monitoring distribution information indicative of at least one of a distribution of a plurality of blind decodes (BDs) or a distribution of a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) associated with monitoring PDCCH candidates across a plurality of carriers (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities, the UE 120 may be configured with a plurality of carriers. For example, the BS 110 may provide configuration information to the UE 120 for the plurality of carriers. In some aspects, the configuration information may indicate whether each carrier, of the plurality of carriers, is associated with a Release 15 (e.g., slot-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 15 carrier) or a Release 16 (e.g., span-based) PDCCH monitoring configuration (e.g., is a Release 16 carrier)…, the UE 120 may determine that a number of carriers associated with per-span BD or CCE monitoring exceeds a threshold…, then the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120); and
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) in accordance with the monitoring distribution information (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 48, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein a base station transmits a PDCCH (e.g., including control information, such as DCI) based at least in part on a search space set).
Regarding claim 29, Hosseini teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the multi-carrier mode comprises at least one of a carrier aggregation mode (Hosseini: Fig. 3, ¶ 5, ¶ 49 - ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring. Therefore carriers from the plurality of carriers are aggregated or are combined in a slot or span for which the UE can perform slot-based or span-based monitoring, i.e. the multi-carrier mode comprises a carrier aggregation mode) or a dual connectivity mode.
Regarding claim 30, Hosseini teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the monitoring distribution information is associated with at least one of a plurality of component carriers (Hosseini: ¶ 51; wherein a UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for a set of cases. For example, the UE may report PDCCH monitoring capabilities for Case 1, Case 2, and Case 3. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 1 identifies a number of component carriers (CCs) for which the UE can perform slot-based monitoring. The PDCCH monitoring capability for Case 2 identifies a number of CCs for which the UE can perform span-based monitoring), a plurality of bands, a plurality of subcarrier spacings, or a plurality of frequency ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. [US 20210212075 A1] hereinafter Hosseini, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lei et al. [US 20230269817 A1] hereinafter Lei.
Regarding claim 4, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 3, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE, and wherein, to cause the UE to receive the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive the monitoring distribution information (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 47, ¶ 51, ¶ 66-68; wherein at step 410, the BS 110 (i.e., network node) may provide configuration information to the UE 120 for the plurality of carriers).
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose that the processing system causes UE to transmit a monitoring distribution information request communication to the network node and the UE receives the monitoring distribution information in association with the monitoring distribution information request communication.
Referring to the invention of Lei, Lei teaches that a processing system causes a UE to transmit a monitoring distribution information request communication to the network node (Lei: ¶ 140, ¶ 142; wherein a UE may transmit a request for PDCCH monitoring adaptation… and after transmitting the request the UE may monitor for an indication for PDCCH monitoring adaptation).
Thus, while having a UE request for monitoring distribution information from a network node is an obvious straightforward implementation option, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the UE request for PDCCH monitoring adaptation information as taught by Lei into the monitoring distribution information teachings of Hosseini in order to reduce blind decoding load by configuring the UE to monitor only the relevant search spaces, thereby lowering power consumption and processing load on the UE and improving throughput and stability.
In view of the teachings of Lei above wherein the UE sends the request and then further monitors for an indication after sending the request, and the Hosseini teaching wherein the UE receives configuration information from the network node, the limitation wherein the UE receives the monitoring distribution information in association with the monitoring distribution information request communication will be obviously met.
Regarding claim 6, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 5.
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose wherein to cause the UE to transmit the distribution preference indication to the network node, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to transmit UE assistance information including the distribution preference indication.
Referring to the invention of Lei, Lei teaches to cause the UE to transmit the distribution preference indication to the network node, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to transmit UE assistance information including the distribution preference indication (Lei: ¶ 138, ¶ 141-142; wherein a UE may transmit UAI for PDCCH monitoring adaptation, and the PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be configured for a UE based on UE capability and UE assistance information (UAI)).
Thus, while having a UE send a UE assistance information for monitoring distribution information to a network node is an obvious straightforward implementation option, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the UAI for PDCCH monitoring adaptation information as taught by Lei into the monitoring distribution information teachings of Hosseini in order to reduce blind decoding load by configuring the UE to monitor only the relevant search spaces, thereby lowering power consumption and processing load on the UE and improving throughput and stability.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. [US 20210212075 A1] hereinafter Hosseini, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laselva et al. [US 20240373265 A1] hereinafter Laselva.
Regarding claim 8, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to communicate the monitoring distribution information (Hosseini: Fig. 4, ¶ 68, Fig. 6, ¶ 100; wherein at step 430, the UE 120 may determine a distribution of non-overlapped CCEs or BDs, across the plurality of carriers, that satisfies a per-span capability of the UE 120... The UE 120 may determine the distribution so that a per-slot monitoring capability of the UE 120 is satisfied while taking into account the different capabilities, SCSs, and/or span configurations. As shown by reference number 440, the UE 120 may receive communications on the plurality of carriers in accordance with the distribution).
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose communicate a dynamic communication including the monitoring distribution information.
Referring to the invention of Laselva, Laselva teaches communicate a dynamic communication including the monitoring distribution information (Laselva: ¶ 140 - ¶ 158 ; wherein the PDCCH monitoring patterns may be configured to the UE via SIB and/or dedicated RRC signaling (e.g. using the RRC Release message) and the configuration of these PDCCH monitoring patterns may indicate, implicitly or explicitly, an association with a certain adaptation trigger (which may trigger the switch to a given PDCCH monitoring pattern)…and the UE may select the PDCCH monitoring pattern that is associated with the trigger “BSR present”, if the UE included the BSR in the first UL SDT message. Therefore, the UE may communicate a dynamic communication (i.e. Buffer Status Report (BSR)) that includes the PDCCH monitoring pattern (i.e., monitoring distribution information)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration and report teachings of Laselva regarding PDCCH monitoring into the monitoring distribution information teachings of Hosseini in order to improve throughput, reliability, efficiency and adaptability.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. [US 20210212075 A1] hereinafter Hosseini, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Luo et al. [US 20240080164 A1] hereinafter Luo.
Regarding claim 20, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate the monitoring distribution information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive a search space set (Hosseini: ¶ 48 – 49; wherein a base station transmits a PDCCH (e.g., including control information, such as DCI) based at least in part on a search space set. A given search space set defines candidates that may carry a PDCCH within the search space set, where each candidate is associated with one or more CCEs).
Hosseini does not explicitly teach that the UE receives a search space set group (SSSG) switching command, wherein the distribution is associated with the SSSG switching command.
Referring to the invention of Luo, Luo teaches that a UE receives a search space set group (SSSG) switching command (Luo: Fig. 2, ¶ 45, ¶ 146-147; wherein the terminal initially receives the configuration of the search space set group from the base station side, PDCCH monitoring may be performed according to the defaulted search space set group, and PDCCH monitoring may also be performed maintaining at an existing search space set group. [0147] Step three: the base station sends the search space set group switching indication to the terminal side through the downlink control signaling carrying the user dedicated instruction, and the search space set group switching indication is configured to instruct the terminal to switch a target cell or a target cell group to a target search space set group)
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the SSSG switching command teachings of Luo into the PDCCH monitoring in a multi-carrier mode distribution information teachings of Hosseini in order to improve power efficiency, adapt to latency handling, enable per-BWP power and latency optimization, and for efficient dynamic resource allocation.
In view of the teachings of Luo above, the SSSG switching command used for the switching process as taught by Luo when applied to the monitoring distribution information that is associated with the search space set transmitted by the base station to the UE as taught by Hosseini will enhance the invention by achieving improved power efficiency, adaptation to latency handling, enabling per-BWP power and latency optimization, and for the purposes of efficient dynamic resource allocation. Therefore, the limitation wherein the distribution is associated with the SSSG switching command will be obviously met.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. [US 20210212075 A1] hereinafter Hosseini, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hosseini et al. [US 20210360593 A1] hereinafter Hosseini-60593.
Regarding claim 21, Hosseini teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the distribution is associated with at least one cell group associated with the plurality of carriers (Hosseini: Fig. 1, ¶26-28, ¶ 32, ¶ 53; wherein Fig. 1 shows the UEs and BSs in different cell groups and wherein a base station may support multiple cells (i.e., a cell group), and the UE or the BS may determine the number of non-overlapping CCEs or BDs across the carriers and per scheduled cell for the carriers configured with the Release 15 PDCCH and the Release 16 PDCCH separately. Thus, the distribution is associated with at least one cell group associated with the plurality of carriers).
Hosseini teaches (as shown in Fig 1., for example) UE 120b connected to Macro BS 110a and simultaneously connected to Pico BS 110b which shows a dual connectivity mode configuration. However, Hosseini does not explicitly disclose that the multi-carrier mode comprises a dual connectivity mode.
Referring to the invention of Hosseini–60593, Hosseini–60593 teaches a multi-carrier mode comprises a dual connectivity mode (Hosseini-60593: Fig. 1, Fig. 5, ¶ 47-48, ¶ 74-76; wherein the UE 120 may determine PDCCH monitoring capability values for an MCG (i.e., master cell group) and an SCG (i.e., secondary cell group) used for a dual connectivity mode).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the dual connectivity mode configuration teachings of Hosseini-60593 into the PDCCH monitoring teachings of Hosseini in order to achieve improved data rates by aggregating resources from multiple cells, enhance coverage by filling in the gaps or extending service to remote areas, and to improve network efficiency by optimizing load balancing and resource allocation for an overall improvement of network performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwak et al. [US 20200007295 A1]: Techniques to Enable Physical Downlink Control Channel Communications. Kwak describes techniques to determine physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to assign to a user equipment (UE) based on one or more aggregation levels, each PDCCH candidate in a highest aggregation level of the one or more aggregation levels assigned by a random distribution over a whole control channel element (CCE) domain, then selecting at least one of the PDCCH candidates to utilize to send downlink control information (DCI) to the UE, and causing transmission of the DCI to the UE via the PDCCH candidates selected.
Lee et al. [WO 2022240173 A1]: Method for Transmitting or Receiving Downlink Control Channel Device Therefor. Lee describes a method for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) by a terminal wherein the terminal is monitoring the PDCCH on the basis of one PDCCH monitoring pattern, wherein each of the multiple PDCCH monitoring adaptation patterns comprises at least one PDCCH monitoring skipping operation and at least one search space set (SS set) group switching operation.
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414