Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 20200039626 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Johnson teaches a securing apparatus comprising: a base plinth (Fig. 4 element 104) having at least one cavity and configured to be mounted with a track fitting for securing at least one seat thereon (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104), wherein the at least one seat includes a seatback and a base that is foldable against the seatback to accommodate a person with reduced mobility (PRM) device (Fig. 4 shows seat base folded to accommodate a wheelchair); and a latching mechanism in the at least one cavity of the base plinth and configured to secure the PRM device to the base plinth when the PRM device is positioned proximate to the seatback and on the base plinth (Fig. 4 latch system coupling the base to the wheelchair).
Regarding Claim 2, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the at least one cavity comprises a plurality of seat leg cavities that accommodate a plurality of seat legs of the at least one seat (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104).
Regarding Claim 3, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 2 and further discloses the plurality of seat leg cavities are configured to secure the plurality of seat legs of a single aircraft seat (Shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 2 and further discloses the base plinth is configured to span a plurality of passenger seats in an aircraft and includes the plurality of seat leg cavities for securing the plurality of passenger seats to the track fitting (Fig. 4 shows base 104 spanning multiple passenger seats).
Regarding Claim 5, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the at least one seat is configured to accommodate a passenger in a vehicle in a first position in which the base is unfolded and to accommodate the PRM device in the vehicle in a second position in which the base is folded against the seatback to allow the PRM device to be secured to the base plinth using the latching mechanism (Figs. 3-4 show the foldable seat to accommodate a wheelchair).
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 20200039626 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Johnson teaches a seat securing apparatus comprising: a seat having at least one leg, a seatback, and a base that is foldable against the seatback to accommodate a person with reduced mobility (PRM) device (Fig. 4 shows seat base folded to accommodate a wheelchair); a base plinth having at least one first cavity configured to accommodate the at least one leg of the seat and at least one second cavity (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104); and a latching mechanism placed at the at least one second cavity and configured to secure the PRM device to the base plinth when the PRM device is positioned proximate to the seatback and on the base plinth (Fig. 4 latch system coupling the base to the wheelchair).
Regarding Claim 15, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 14 and further discloses the seat is configured to accommodate a passenger in a vehicle in a first position in which the base is unfolded and to accommodate the PRM device in the vehicle in a second position in which the base is folded against the seatback to allow the PRM device to be secured to the base plinth using the latching mechanism (Figs. 3-4 show the foldable seat to accommodate a wheelchair).
Regarding Claim 16, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 15 and further discloses the base plinth is configured to accommodate a single aircraft seat (Shown in Figs. 3/4).
Regarding Claim 17, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 15 and further discloses the base plinth is configured to span a plurality of passenger seats in an aircraft and includes a plurality of first cavities for securing the plurality of passenger seats to a seat track fitting in the aircraft (Shown in Figs. 3/4).
Regarding Claim 18, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 14 and further discloses the latching mechanism protrudes from the at least one second cavity that is near or proximate to an edge of the base plinth (Latch system shown in Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 20200039626 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Johnson teaches a method comprising: positioning a person with reduced mobility (PRM) device on a base plinth having at least one cavity and configured to be mounted with a track fitting for securing a seat of a passenger (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104), wherein the seat includes a seatback and a base that is foldable against the seatback (Figs. 3-4 show the foldable seat to accommodate a wheelchair); and securing the PRM device to the base plinth using a latching mechanism in the at least one cavity when the PRM device is positioned proximate to the seatback and on the base plinth (Fig. 4 latch system coupling the base to the wheelchair).
Regarding Claim 20, Johnson teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 19 and further discloses releasing a lock to fold the base of the seat against the seatback of the seat to allow the PRM device to be positioned on the base plinth (“the seat bottom 126 may reside against the front of the backrest 124 and may lock in place” Par. [0045] lines 14-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644