Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 20200039626 A1) in view of Giesa et al. (WO 2021219693 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Johnson teaches a securing apparatus comprising: a base plinth (Fig. 4 element 104) having at least one cavity and configured to be mounted with a track fitting for securing at least one seat thereon (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104), wherein the at least one seat includes a seatback and a base that is foldable against the seatback to accommodate a person with reduced mobility (PRM) device (Fig. 4 shows seat base folded to accommodate a wheelchair); and a latching mechanism in the at least one cavity of the base plinth and configured to secure the PRM device to the base plinth when the PRM device is positioned proximate to the seatback and on the base plinth (Fig. 4 latch system coupling the base to the wheelchair).
Johnson fails to explicitly teach the latching mechanism is configured to be partially stowed within the at least one cavity and to be deployed from the base plinth.
However, Giesa teaches the latching mechanism is configured to be partially stowed within the at least one cavity and to be deployed from the base plinth (Fig. 5 shows latch mechanism deployed from within the base plinth cavity).
Johnson and Giesa are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of wheelchair securing structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the latch mechanism of Johnson to be deployable from a cavity within the base plinth as disclosed by Giesa. Doing so would simplify the securing system and reduce the risk of tangle as the deployable latch mechanism would be stored within the base plinth. This would also reduce the time it would take the user to secure the wheelchair to the base plinth as the latching mechanism would not have to be provided and set up separately.
Regarding Claim 2, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 1.
Johnson further discloses the at least one cavity comprises a plurality of seat leg cavities that accommodate a plurality of seat legs of the at least one seat (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104).
Regarding Claim 3, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 2.
Johnson further discloses the plurality of seat leg cavities are configured to secure the plurality of seat legs of a single aircraft seat (Shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 2.
Johnson further discloses the base plinth is configured to span a plurality of passenger seats in an aircraft and includes the plurality of seat leg cavities for securing the plurality of passenger seats to the track fitting (Fig. 4 shows base 104 spanning multiple passenger seats).
Regarding Claim 5, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 1.
Johnson further discloses the at least one seat is configured to accommodate a passenger in a vehicle in a first position in which the base is unfolded and to accommodate the PRM device in the vehicle in a second position in which the base is folded against the seatback to allow the PRM device to be secured to the base plinth using the latching mechanism (Figs. 3-4 show the foldable seat to accommodate a wheelchair).
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 20200039626 A1) in view of Giesa et al. (WO 2021219693 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Johnson teaches a seat securing apparatus comprising: a seat having at least one leg, a seatback, and a base that is foldable against the seatback to accommodate a person with reduced mobility (PRM) device (Fig. 4 shows seat base folded to accommodate a wheelchair); a base plinth having at least one first cavity configured to accommodate the at least one leg of the seat and at least one second cavity (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104); and a latching mechanism placed at the at least one second cavity and configured to secure the PRM device to the base plinth when the PRM device is positioned proximate to the seatback and on the base plinth (Fig. 4 latch system coupling the base to the wheelchair).
Johnson fails to explicitly teach the latching mechanism is configured to be partially stowed within the at least one first cavity and to be deployed from the base plinth.
However, Giesa teaches the latching mechanism is configured to be partially stowed within the at least one first cavity and to be deployed from the base plinth (Fig. 5 shows latch mechanism deployed from within the base plinth cavity).
Johnson and Giesa are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of wheelchair securing structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the latch mechanism of Johnson to be deployable from a cavity within the base plinth as disclosed by Giesa. Doing so would simplify the securing system and reduce the risk of tangle as the deployable latch mechanism would be stored within the base plinth. This would also reduce the time it would take the user to secure the wheelchair to the base plinth as the latching mechanism would not have to be provided and set up separately.
Regarding Claim 15, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 14.
Johnson further discloses the seat is configured to accommodate a passenger in a vehicle in a first position in which the base is unfolded and to accommodate the PRM device in the vehicle in a second position in which the base is folded against the seatback to allow the PRM device to be secured to the base plinth using the latching mechanism (Figs. 3-4 show the foldable seat to accommodate a wheelchair).
Regarding Claim 16, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 15.
Johnson further discloses the base plinth is configured to accommodate a single aircraft seat (Shown in Figs. 3/4).
Regarding Claim 17, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 15.
Johnson further discloses the base plinth is configured to span a plurality of passenger seats in an aircraft and includes a plurality of first cavities for securing the plurality of passenger seats to a seat track fitting in the aircraft (Shown in Figs. 3/4).
Regarding Claim 18, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 14.
Johnson further discloses the latching mechanism protrudes from the at least one second cavity that is near or proximate to an edge of the base plinth (Latch system shown in Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 20200039626 A1) in view of Giesa et al. (WO 2021219693 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Johnson teaches a method comprising: positioning a person with reduced mobility (PRM) device on a base plinth having at least one cavity and configured to be mounted with a track fitting for securing a seat of a passenger (Fig. 4 connection between seat and base 104), wherein the seat includes a seatback and a base that is foldable against the seatback (Figs. 3-4 show the foldable seat to accommodate a wheelchair); and securing the PRM device to the base plinth using a latching mechanism in the at least one cavity when the PRM device is positioned proximate to the seatback and on the base plinth (Fig. 4 latch system coupling the base to the wheelchair).
Johnson fails to explicitly teach the latching mechanism is configured to be partially stowed within the at least one cavity and to be deployed from the base plinth.
However, Giesa teaches the latching mechanism is configured to be partially stowed within the at least one cavity and to be deployed from the base plinth (Fig. 5 shows latch mechanism deployed from within the base plinth cavity).
Johnson and Giesa are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of wheelchair securing structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the latch mechanism of Johnson to be deployable from a cavity within the base plinth as disclosed by Giesa. Doing so would simplify the securing system and reduce the risk of tangle as the deployable latch mechanism would be stored within the base plinth. This would also reduce the time it would take the user to secure the wheelchair to the base plinth as the latching mechanism would not have to be provided and set up separately.
Regarding Claim 20, Johnson and Giesa teach the limitations set forth in Claim 19.
Johnson further discloses releasing a lock to fold the base of the seat against the seatback of the seat to allow the PRM device to be positioned on the base plinth (“the seat bottom 126 may reside against the front of the backrest 124 and may lock in place” Par. [0045] lines 14-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 and 19 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection relying on Giesa et al. (WO 2021219693 A1) as shown in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644