Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 04/08/2024. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “X” in lines 13-14, and 18 should not be capitalized in accordance with the “x” in formulas I and II. It is suggested that “X” in lines 13-14, and 18 be changed to “x.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the use of the word “comprising” in line 2. It is suggested that “comprising” be changed to “comprises” for grammatical consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 (c) does not disclose the composition of soap powder. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation based on the plain meaning of the claim language, in light of the instant specification (see Page 9-10), a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand soap powder to comprise at least one C10-C22 fatty acid or alkali metal salt. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 1 (c) will be interpreted as a spray-dried particulate composition comprising 3-45% wt, by weight of the composition, of either C10-C22 fatty acids, alkali metal salts of those fatty acids, or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements rendering the claim unclear. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are the units for the weight average molecular weight of the carboxyl group-containing polymer in the recited claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 4 will be interpreted as the carboxyl group containing polymer having a weight average molecular weight of 20,000-60,000 Daltons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Dupont et. al (US20110245132A1), hereinafter “Dupont”.
With regards to claims 1, 2 and 5 Dupont teaches a spray-dried powder composition which comprises 15.65 wt% linear alkyl benzene sulphonate, 1.02 wt % of soap, and 2.09 wt% carboxyl group-containing copolymer [0192], which further comprises 50-98 mass % structural units derived from a carboxyl group-containing monomers [0016], 1-50 mass % structural units derived from sulfonate group containing monomers [0017], and 1-50 mass % ether bond containing structural units derived from a combination of monomers selected from formulas (I) and (II) [0015]. Additionally, Dupont teaches the use of 8.3 wt% of fatty acid, 12.2 wt% linear alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, and 2.1 wt% carboxyl containing copolymer in Ingredient C of Liquid Laundry Detergent Example 12 [0197]. Dupont further specifies the use of C12-C18 fatty acids in Ingredients F-Q.
Dupont does not specifically disclose a single embodiment with the composition as a spray dried particulate and 3-45wt % soap powder as recited in claim 1 (c) or 4-40 wt % soap powder as recited in claim 5 (c). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the weight composition of soap of the spray-dried powder composition. With respect to optimization, it is not inventive to discover such regimens by routine experimentation when general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP §2144.05(11). Based on the teachings of Dupont, one would increase the soap powder to 8.3 wt % to create a granular laundry detergent. .
With regard to claim 3, Dupont teaches the carboxyl group comprising of unsaturated monocarboxylic acids such as acrylic acid [0034]. Acrylic acid has the structure of formula III where R-10 is a hydrogen atom. Dupont further teaches 2-hydroxy-3-allyloxypropanesulfonic acid (which has the structure of formula IV where R6 is a hydrogen, R7 is a CH2 group, R8 is a hydroxyl group, and R9 is a SO3H) and its salts as the most preferable embodiment of the sulfonate group-containing monomers [0047].
Dupont does not specifically disclose ether bond-containing monomers of formula II where R0 is a hydrogen, R is a CH2 group, x is 0, and R1 is a C1-C4 alkyl group. However, Dupont teaches ether bond-containing monomers of formula II where R0 is a hydrogen or CH3 group, R is a CH2 or CH2CH2 group, x is 0-5, and R1 is a hydrogen atom or C1-C20 alkyl group. This overlaps with the teachings recited in the instant claim. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07. See also In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 445 (CCPA 1971) (obviousness rejection affirmed where the genus of the prior art was “huge, but it undeniably include[d] at least some of the compounds recited in appellant's generic claims and [was] of a class of chemicals to be used for the same purpose as appellant's additives”).
With regard to claim 6, Dupont teaches a spray-powder composition which further comprises 61.98 wt % sodium sulfate [0192].
With regards to claim 7, Dupont teaches 8.3 wt% of fatty acid in Ingredient C of Liquid Laundry Detergent Example 12 [0197] and further specifies the use of C12-C18 fatty acids in Ingredients F-Q.
With regards to claims 8, 10-11, Dupont teaches a Granular Laundry Detergent Composition comprising of anionic detersive surfactant particle 1 at 19.04 wt % and a solid perfume particle at 0.63 wt % by weight of the composition which is necessarily a powder [0196].
With regard to claim 9, Dupont teaches a spray-dried particulate composition [0192] which is necessarily a free-flowing solid.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont (US20110245132A1) in view of Wang et. al (WO2014032267A1) hereinafter “Wang”.
With regard to claim 4, the teachings of Dupont are discussed above. However, Dupont fails to specifically disclose the carboxyl group-containing polymer weight average weight from 20,000-60,000 Da.
Wang teaches a granular detergent product comprising carboxyl group-containing polymers, which further comprise structural units derived from 0.5-15 wt% ether bond-containing monomers (formula 5 of Wang is identical to formula II of the recited claim), 0.5-30 wt% sulfonic acid group-containing monomers, and 55-99 wt% acrylic-based monomers, having specific weight average molecular weight from about 20,000 to about 60,000 Da (see Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to reasonably modify the carboxyl group-containing polymer in Dupont to also has a weight average molecular weight from about 20,000-60,000 Da because it is comprised of the same carboxyl, sulfonate, and ether group containing monomers in overlapping weight compositions recited in Wang’s claim 1. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve improved cleaning performance and whiteness maintenance in the composition (see Page 1, Line 9-11).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 8,586,523 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to laundry detergent cleaning compositions comprising of alkali metal builders and a carboxyl group containing copolymer further comprising structural units derived from 50-98 wt% carboxyl group-containing monomers, ether bond containing monomers of identical formulas I and II, and structural units derived from sulfonate group-containing monomers. The claims differ in that ‘523 recites 1-50 wt% ether bond containing group and 1-50 wt% sulfonate group, and alkali builders while the present application recites 1-49 wt% ether bond containing group, and 1-49 wt% sulfonate group and alkali metal salts in the soap powder. However, the ranges are so similar that they are not patentably distinct and the alkali metal salts and builder are functionally equivalent in the soap.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/SP/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761