DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 20 have been amended. By virtue of dependency, the depending claims 2-12 and 14-19 are also amended in scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger.”
Regarding Claim 1: Wolski teaches an ice dispenser (10) for storing and dispensing ice (functional limitation of 10), the ice dispenser (10) comprising: a holding bin (25) extending longitudinally between a first side and a second side (see Figure 2), transversely between a third side and a fourth side, and vertically between a top to a bottom (see Figure 2); a chute (slanted edge of 24) configured to guide the ice from outside the holding bin (functional limitation of 24), wherein the chute (slanted edge of 24) has an upper end and an opposite lower end (see Figure 2), and wherein the upper end of the chute extends longitudinally farther than the first side of the holding bin from the second side of the holding bin (see Figure 2); and a spout (23) operatively coupled to the holding bin (25) for dispensing ice from the holding bin (see Figure 18).
Wolski fails to teach an interface comprising at least one of a display screen or controls, system electronics, power supplies, or control boards; the chute configured to guide the ice from outside the holding bin into the holding bin longitudinally over the interface.
Bamberger teaches an interface (133-134) comprising at least one of a display screen or controls, system electronics, power supplies, or control boards (133); a chute (slanted wall edge into 70, see Figure 3) configured to guide ice from outside a holding bin (69) into the holding bin (69) longitudinally over the interface (133/134, see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an interface comprising at least one of a display screen or controls, system electronics, power supplies, or control boards; the chute configured to guide the ice from outside the holding bin into the holding bin longitudinally over the interface to the structure of Wolski as taught by Bamberger in order to advantageously provide automated control to the ice bin (see Column 10, lines 31-59).
Regarding Claim 2: Wolski teaches further comprising a cold plate (26) positioned below the holding bin (25), the cold plate (25) including one or more lines (46) configured to be cooled via the ice from the holding bin (Column 8, lines 10-41).
Regarding Claim 3: Wolski teaches wherein the lower end of the chute (end of slanted slope of 24) is positioned so as to be approximately vertically even with the top of the holding bin (top edge of holding space in 25 at 31).
Regarding Claim 4: Wolski teaches wherein the chute (slanted edge of 24) extends between the upper end and the lower end at an angle between 20 and 60 degrees relative to the bottom of the holding bin (see cross section of Figure 2).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger,” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Young (KR 20140013732 A, machine translation).
Regarding Claim 5: Wolski teaches further comprising a cover (16) that encloses the top of the holding bin (25).
Wolski modified supra fails to teach the cover having a lid for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access the holding bin.
Young teaches a cover (H1A) having a lid (H1b) for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access a holding bin (contents held in box holding 220, 221, 240, 241, 210, 250, Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cover having a lid for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Young in order to advantageously provide a service door to allow access to the interior to allow for service to the equipment, such as repairs to cleaning (see Young, page 6 of the machine translation).
Regarding Claim 6: Wolski modified supra fails to teach wherein the lid is movable between a closed position in which access to the holding bin is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible, and wherein the lid is rotated between 45 and 90 degrees from the closed position to the open position.
Young teaches a lid (H1b) is movable between a closed position in which access to a holding bin (see Figure 5) is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible (see Figure 4), and wherein the lid is rotated between 45 and 90 degrees from the closed position to the open position (see Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the lid is movable between a closed position in which access to the holding bin is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible, and wherein the lid is rotated between 45 and 90 degrees from the closed position to the open position to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Young in order to advantageously provide a service door to allow access to the interior to allow for service to the equipment, such as repairs to cleaning (see Young, page 6 of the machine translation).
Regarding Claim 7: Wolski modified supra fails to teach wherein the lid is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms that remain parallel to each other as the lid is moved between a closed position in which access to the holding bin is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible.
Young teaches a lid (H1b) lid is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms (see Figures 4-5) that remain parallel to each other as the lid is moved between a closed position in which access to a holding bin is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible (see Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the lid is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms that remain parallel to each other as the lid is moved between a closed position in which access to the holding bin is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Young in order to advantageously provide a service door to allow access to the interior to allow for service to the equipment, such as repairs to cleaning (see Young, page 6 of the machine translation).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger,” and Young (KR 20140013732 A, machine translation), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Nagelkirk (4,320,852).
Regarding Claim 8: Wolski modified supra fails to teach wherein the lid extends between a first end and a second end, wherein the lid is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms that each extend between a first end and a second end, and wherein the first ends of the hinge arms are pivotally coupled proximate the upper end of the chute and the second ends of the hinge arms are pivotally coupled to the lid proximate a midpoint of the lid between the first end and the second end thereof.
Nagelkirk teaches a lid (18) extends between a first end (see Figures 1 and 2) and a second end (see Figures 1 and 2), wherein the lid (18) is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms (32) that each extend between a first end and a second end (see Figures 1 and 2), and wherein first ends of the hinge arms (32) are pivotally coupled proximate an upper end of a container (12) and second ends of the hinge arms (32) are pivotally coupled to the lid (18) proximate a midpoint of the lid between the first end and the second end thereof (see Figures 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the lid extends between a first end and a second end, wherein the lid is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms that each extend between a first end and a second end, and wherein the first ends of the hinge arms are pivotally coupled proximate the upper end of the chute and the second ends of the hinge arms are pivotally coupled to the lid proximate a midpoint of the lid between the first end and the second end thereof to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Nagelkirk in order to advantageously prevent excessive wear and tear on the hinges (see Nagelkirk, abstract).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger,” and Young (KR 20140013732 A, machine translation), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lancaster (5,950,866).
Regarding Claim 9: Wolski modified supra fails to teach further comprising a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin, wherein the sensor is hidden under the cover and accessible by removal thereof.
Lancaster teaches a sensor (43) configured to determine a level of the ice within a holding bin (Column 6, lines 15-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Lancaster in order to advantageously provide information regarding the amount of ice in the holding bin during the operation of use (see Lancaster, Column 6, lines 15-18).
When in combination, Wolski modified supra teaches wherein the sensor (43 of Lancaster) is hidden under the cover (16 of Wolski) and accessible by removal thereof (functional limitation of 16 of Wolski).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger,” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lancaster (5,950,866).
Regarding Claim 10: Wolski modified fails to teach further comprising a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin.
Lancaster teaches a sensor (43) configured to determine a level of the ice within a holding bin (Column 6, lines 15-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Lancaster in order to advantageously provide information regarding the amount of ice in the holding bin during the operation of use (see Lancaster, Column 6, lines 15-18).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger,” and Lancaster (5,950,866), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hawkes et al. (US 2008/0282711 A1), hereafter referred to as “Hawkes.”
Regarding Claim 11: Wolski modified supra fails to teach wherein the sensor comprises an ultrasonic sensor and/or a radar sensor.
Hawkes teaches wherein a sensor (51) comprises an ultrasonic sensor (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the sensor comprises an ultrasonic sensor and/or a radar sensor to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Hawkes in order to advantageously provide known types of level sensors from a variety of available types of sensors (see Hawkes, paragraph [0039]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger,” and Lancaster (5,950,866), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bertone (US 2016/0081365 A1) and Newman et al. (5,829,257), hereafter referred to as “Newman.”
Regarding Claim 12: Wolski modified supra fails to teach further comprising a controller and a light, the controller being operatively connected to both the sensor and the light, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the light based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin.
Bertone teaches a controller (16) and a visual display (paragraph [0047]), the controller (16) being operatively connected to both a sensor (paragraph [0047]) and the visual display (paragraph [0047]), wherein the controller (16) is configured to compare the level of the ice within a holding bin (220) to a threshold level (paragraph [0047]) and to control the visual display based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin (paragraph [0047] and paragraph [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a controller and a light, the controller being operatively connected to both the sensor and the light, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the light based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Bertone in order to advantageously provide information to users (see Bertone, paragraph [0047]).
Newman teaches a visual display is a light (242, Column 5, lines 35-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a controller and a light, the controller being operatively connected to both the sensor and the light, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the light based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Newman in order to advantageously provide a light to alert users to information (see Newman, Column 5, lines 35-42).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bertone (US 2016/0081365 A1).
Regarding Claim 13: Wolski teaches an ice dispenser (10) for storing and dispensing ice (functional limitation), the ice dispenser (10) comprising: a holding bin (25) configured for storing ice (functional limitation); a spout (23) operatively coupled to the holding bin (23) for dispensing ice from the holding bin (see Figure 18).
Wolski fails to teach a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin; and a controller and an indicator configured to generate an indicator for a user, the controller being operatively coupled to the sensor and the indicator, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the indicator based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate that the user needs to add additional ice into the holding bin.
Bertone teaches a sensor (paragraph [0047]) configured to determine a level of the ice within a holding bin (220); and a controller (16) and an indicator (visual or audio alarm) configured to generate an indicator for a user (paragraph [0047]), the controller (16) being operatively coupled to the sensor (paragraph [0047]) and the indicator (paragraph [0047]), wherein the controller (16) is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level (paragraph [0047], low ice) and to control the indicator (visual or audio alarm) based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate that the user needs to add additional ice into the holding bin (paragraph [0047] and paragraph [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin; and a controller and an indicator configured to generate an indicator for a user, the controller being operatively coupled to the sensor and the indicator, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the indicator based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate that the user needs to add additional ice into the holding bin to the structure of Wolski as taught by Bertone in order to advantageously provide information to users (see Bertone, paragraph [0047]).
Regarding Claim 14: Wolski teaches further comprising a cold plate (26) positioned below the holding bin (25), the cold plate (26) including one or more beverage lines (46) configured to be cooled via the ice from the holding bin (Column 8, lines 10-33).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bertone (US 2016/0081365 A1), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hawkes et al. (US 2008/0282711 A1), hereafter referred to as “Hawkes.”
Regarding Claim 15: Wolski modified supra fails to teach wherein the sensor comprises an ultrasonic sensor.
Hawkes teaches wherein a sensor (51) comprises an ultrasonic sensor (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the sensor comprises an ultrasonic sensor to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Hawkes in order to advantageously provide known types of level sensors from a variety of available types of sensors (see Hawkes, paragraph [0039]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bertone (US 2016/0081365 A1), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Newman et al. (5,829,257), hereafter referred to as “Newman.”
Regarding Claim 16: Wolski modified supra fails to teach wherein the indicator comprises a light emitting diode, and wherein the controller is configured to turn on the light when the level of the ice within the holding bin is below the threshold level.
Newman teaches wherein an indicator (242) comprises a light emitting diode (Column 5, lines 35-42), and wherein a controller (134) is configured to turn on the light (242) when a level of ice within a holding bin (170) is below a threshold level (Column 5, lines 35-42, see Figure 3, step 316 bin not full harvest mode started).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the indicator comprises a light emitting diode, and wherein the controller is configured to turn on the light when the level of the ice within the holding bin is below the threshold level to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Newman in order to advantageously provide information to users (see Newman, Column 5, lines 35-42).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bertone (US 2016/0081365 A1), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Young (KR 20140013732 A, machine translation).
Regarding Claim 17: Wolski teaches further comprising a cover (16) that encloses a top of the holding bin (25).
Wolski modified supra fails to teach the cover having a lid for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access the holding bin.
Young teaches a cover (H1A) having a lid (H1b) for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access a holding bin (contents held in box holding 220, 221, 240, 241, 210, 250, Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cover having a lid for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Young in order to advantageously provide a service door to allow access to the interior to allow for service to the equipment, such as repairs to cleaning (see Young, page 6 of the machine translation).
Regarding Claim 18: Wolski modified supra teaches wherein the sensor (paragraph [0047] of Bertone, placed in an ice bin 220 to be applied to 25 of Wolski) is hidden under the cover (16 of Wolski) and accessible by removal thereof (lifting 16 of Wolski).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bertone (US 2016/0081365 A1), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sadinski et al. (US 2018/0094984 A1), hereafter referred to as “Sadinski.”
Regarding Claim 19: Wolski modified supra fails to teach further comprising a wireless transmitter operatively coupled to the controller, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the wireless transmitter to send a signal receivable by an external device when additional ice is needed in the holding bin.
Sadinski teaches a wireless transmitter (129, paragraph [0048]) operatively coupled to a controller (125, 127), wherein the controller (125, 127) is further configured to cause the wireless transmitter (129) to send a signal receivable by an external device (140, 150) when additional ice (paragraph [0005]) is needed in a holding bin (100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a wireless transmitter operatively coupled to the controller, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the wireless transmitter to send a signal receivable by an external device when additional ice is needed in the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Sadinski in order to advantageously provide the status of the ice bins to a user in a remote location (see Sadinski, abstract, paragraph [0002]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolski et al. (US 7,337,627 B2), hereafter referred to as “Wolski,” in view of Bertone (US 2016/0081365 A1), Bamberger et al. (US 9,285,149 B2), hereafter referred to as “Bamberger,” Young (KR 20140013732 A, machine translation), and Newman et al. (5,829,257), hereafter referred to as “Newman.”
Regarding Claim 20: Wolski teaches an ice dispenser (10) for storing and dispensing ice (functional limitation of 10), the ice dispenser (10) comprising: a holding bin (25) extending longitudinally between a first side and a second side (see Figure 2), transversely between a third side and a fourth side (see Figure 2), and vertically between a top to a bottom (see Figure 2); a chute (slanted edge of 24) configured to guide the ice from outside the holding bin (functional limitation of 24), wherein the chute (slanted edge of 24) has an upper end and an opposite lower end (see Figure 2), and wherein the upper end of the chute extends longitudinally farther than the first side of the holding bin from the second side of the holding bin (see Figure 2); a cold plate (26) positioned below the holding bin (see Figure 2), the cold plate (26) including a beverage line (46) configured to be cooled via the ice from the holding bin (Column 8, lines 10-41); a spout (23) operatively coupled to the holding bin (25) for dispensing ice from the holding bin (see Figure 18); a cover (16) that encloses the top of the holding bin (see Figure 2).
Wolski fails to teach an interface comprising at least one of a display screen or controls, system electronics, power supplies, or control boards; the chute configured to guide the ice from outside the holding bin longitudinally over the interface and into the holding bin, the cover having a lid for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access the holding bin, wherein the lid is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms that remain parallel to each other as the lid is moved between a closed position in which access to the holding bin is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible; a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin, wherein the sensor is hidden under the cover and accessible by removal thereof; and a controller and a light, the controller being operatively connected to both the sensor and the light, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the light based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin.
Bamberger teaches an interface (133-134) comprising at least one of a display screen or controls, system electronics, power supplies, or control boards (133); a chute (slanted wall edge into 70, see Figure 3) configured to guide ice from outside a holding bin (69) into the holding bin (69) longitudinally over the interface (133/134, see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an interface comprising at least one of a display screen or controls, system electronics, power supplies, or control boards; the chute configured to guide the ice from outside the holding bin into the holding bin longitudinally over the interface to the structure of Wolski as taught by Bamberger in order to advantageously provide automated control to the ice bin (see Column 10, lines 31-59).
Young teaches a cover (H1A including H1a and H1b) having a lid (H1b) for selectively opening a portion of the cover (H1A including H1a and H1b) to access a holding bin (see Figure 4), wherein the lid (H1b) is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms (see hinges in Figure 4) that remain parallel to each other as the lid (H1b) is moved between a closed position in which access to the holding bin is blocked (see Figure 5) and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cover having a lid for selectively opening a portion of the cover to access the holding bin, wherein the lid is pivotally coupled via a pair of hinge arms that remain parallel to each other as the lid is moved between a closed position in which access to the holding bin is blocked and an open position in which the holding bin is accessible to the structure of Schroeder as taught by Young in order to advantageously provide a service door to allow access to the interior to allow for service to the equipment, such as repairs to cleaning (see Young, page 6 of the machine translation).
Bertone teaches a sensor (paragraph [0047]) configured to determine a level of the ice within a holding bin (220, paragraph [0047]), wherein the sensor (paragraph [0047]) is hidden under a cover (226) and accessible by removal thereof (functional limitation, paragraphs [0044] and [0047]); a controller (16) and a visual display (paragraph [0047]), the controller (16) being operatively connected to both a sensor (paragraph [0047]) and the visual display (paragraph [0047]), wherein the controller (16) is configured to compare the level of the ice within a holding bin (220) to a threshold level (paragraph [0047]) and to control the visual display based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin (paragraph [0047] and paragraph [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sensor configured to determine a level of the ice within the holding bin, wherein the sensor is hidden under the cover and accessible by removal thereof; a controller and a light, the controller being operatively connected to both the sensor and the light, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the light based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Bertone in order to advantageously provide information to users (see Bertone, paragraph [0047]).
Newman teaches a visual display is a light (242, Column 5, lines 35-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a controller and a light, the controller being operatively connected to both the sensor and the light, wherein the controller is configured to compare the level of the ice within the holding bin to a threshold level and to control the light based on the comparison of the level to the threshold level so as to indicate when additional ice is needed in the holding bin to the structure of Wolski modified supra as taught by Newman in order to advantageously provide a light to alert users to information (see Newman, Column 5, lines 35-42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Conti (3,605,430).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763