Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 December 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 1-14 are withdrawn, and claims 15-20 are original.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they contain technical inconsistencies. Specifically, elements 150, 250, 350, and 450 are identified in the specification as meniscus lenses. However, in Figs. 1-4, instead of meniscus lenses being illustrated, elements 150, 250, 350, and 450 are illustrated as double convex lenses.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs submitted on 16 October 2025 and 14 November 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montevirgen (US 20200081253).
Re: claim 15, Montevirgen discloses: a piano-concave lens element 82 (Fig. 4); and a meniscus lens element 84, wherein the meniscus lens element directly overlies a concave surface of the piano-concave lens element (direct overlying disclosed in Fig. 4).
While Montevirgen does not explicitly disclose that the plano-concave lens is comprised of a high refractive index material and that the meniscus lens element is comprised of a low refractive index material, Montevirgen does disclose that “[e]ach lens element may have unique shapes and refractive indexes that, in combination, focus light…in a desired manner” (para. 47). In addition, Snell’s law dictates that the magnitude of refraction of light at the border of two adjacent layers depends on the values of the refractive indices of the materials used to comprise the layers; the greater the difference between refractive indices of the layers, the greater the refraction of light. A person of ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective date would be motivated to select high and low refractive index materials so that the differences in refractive indices would be optimized to produce the predetermined or desired magnitude of refraction depending upon the specific application. Hence, the claim limitation is the obvious application of a known technique to a known device that achieves predictable results.
Re: claim 16, Montevirgen discloses the limitations of claim 15, and Montevirgen further discloses that a minimum thickness of the plano-concave lens element ranges from approximately 50 micrometers to approximately 500 micrometers (para. 58 discloses that lens 82 has a minimum thickness ranging from five microns to over twenty millimeters, which overlaps the claimed range).
Re: claim 17, Montevirgen discloses the limitations of claim 15, and Montevirgen further discloses that a center thickness of the plano-concave lens element ranges from approximately 50 micrometers to approximately 500 micrometers (para. 58 discloses that lens 82 has a minimum thickness ranging from five microns to over twenty millimeters, which overlaps the claimed range).
Re: claim 18, Montevirgen discloses the limitations of claim 15. While Montevirgen does not explicitly disclose that a maximum thickness of the hybrid piano-convex lens element ranges from approximately 1 mm to approximately 10 mm, Montevirgen does disclose that the lens element 82 has a wide range of thicknesses from five microns to over twenty millimeters (para. 58). While this size range applies to only one lens comprising the hybrid lens, the wide breadth of range indicates that the total thickness of the hybrid lens can be optimized by a person of ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective date as required depending upon the application.
Re: claim 20, Montevirgen discloses the limitations of claim 15. While Montevirgen does not explicitly disclose that the high refractive index material has a refractive index ranging from approximately 1.53 to approximately 1.70, and the low refractive index material has a refractive index ranging from approximately 1.45 to approximately 1.52, Montevirgen does disclose that both lenses may be comprised of glass (para. 47). Barium gallogermanate glass has a refractive index of 1.69, which lies within the claimed high refractive index range, and ZBLAN fluoride glass has a refractive index of 1.48, which lies within the claimed low refractive index range. A person of ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective date would be motivated to select high and low refractive index materials so that the differences in refractive indices would be optimized to produce the predetermined or desired magnitude of refraction depending upon the specific application. Hence, the claim limitation is the obvious application of a known technique to a known device that achieves predictable results.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montevirgen in view of Khan (US 20180039052).
Re: claim 19, Montevirgen discloses the limitations of claim 15; however, Montevirgen does not explicitly disclose that a center thickness of the meniscus lens element ranges from approximately 500 micrometers to approximately 9 mm.
Khan discloses that a center thickness of the meniscus lens element 56 (Fig. 4) ranges from approximately 500 micrometers to approximately 9 mm (para. 52 discloses a range of 1 mm – 3 mm, which overlaps the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a center thickness of the meniscus lens element range from approximately 500 micrometers to approximately 9 mm, as disclosed by Khan, applied to the device disclosed by Montevirgen for the purpose of simplifying handling and bonding to an adjacent lens during the manufacturing process (see Khan para. 52).
Conclusion
/ANGELA M. MEDICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871