DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim no.
112(f) elements
Corresponding structure
Associated algorithm
17
means for generating a gradient
FIG. 1 CPU 102, GPU 104, DSP 106, and/or NPU 108; FIG. 11 processor 1110; para. [0008], [0010], [0082]
FIG. 7 “Algorithm 1”; para. [0072]-[0074]
17
means for combining the gradient
FIG. 1 CPU 102, GPU 104, DSP 106, and/or NPU 108; FIG. 11 processor 1110; para. [0008], [0010], [0082]
FIG. 7 “Algorithm 1”; para. [0072]-[0074]
17
means for predicting … a new sample
FIG. 1 CPU 102, GPU 104, DSP 106, and/or NPU 108; FIG. 11 processor 1110; para. [0008], [0010], [0082]
FIG. 7 “Algorithm 1”; para. [0072]-[0074]
19
means for generating a prediction
FIG. 1 CPU 102, GPU 104, DSP 106, and/or NPU 108; FIG. 11 processor 1110; para. [0008], [0010], [0082]
FIG. 7 “Algorithm 1”; para. [0072]-[0074]
20
means for combining a respective gradient
FIG. 1 CPU 102, GPU 104, DSP 106, and/or NPU 108; FIG. 11 processor 1110; para. [0008], [0010], [0082]
FIG. 7 “Algorithm 1”; para. [0072]-[0074]
20
means for generating… a respective new sample
FIG. 1 CPU 102, GPU 104, DSP 106, and/or NPU 108; FIG. 11 processor 1110; para. [0008], [0010], [0082]
FIG. 7 “Algorithm 1”; para. [0072]-[0074]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12-13, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dhariwal et al. (Dhariwal P, Nichol A. Diffusion Models Beat GANs on Image Synthesis. arXiv preprint arXiv:2105.05233. 2021 May 11, hereafter Dhariwal).
As per claim 1, Dhariwal teaches an apparatus (page 17 Table 7 3rd – 5th column; page 17 section “A.1 throughput” (see captured image below)
for providing test-time self-supervised guidance for a diffusion machine learning model, comprising:
at least one memory (See above “GPU memory”); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Dhariwal teaches a computer-implemented method in which the method is performed by GPU (page 17 section “A.1 throughput” and Table 7). Therefore the coupling between the at least one processor and a memory is inherently taught.), the at least one processor configured to:
generate a gradient associated with a current sample (See below captured picture from page 6 section 4 “Classifier Guidance” second paragraph, in which xt is a current sample.
combine the gradient with an iterative model estimated score function or data associated with the current sample to generate a score function estimate (See below captured picture from page 7 top table, in which in the expression
the gradient is combined with an iterative model estimated score function
. Note Dhariwal’s diffusion model is an iterative model (Abstract; page 7 top Table “Algorithm 1” (“for all t from T to 1”); page 9 Table 4 caption: Effect of classifier guidance on sample quality. Both conditional and unconditional models were trained for 2M iterations on ImageNet 256X256 with batch size 256)); and
predict, using the diffusion machine learning model and based on the score function estimate, a new sample (See above captured picture showing “Algorithm 1”. The generated sample xt-1 is a new sample).
As per claim 4, dependent upon claim 1, Dhariwal teaches the gradient is a classifier gradient generated using a trained classifier (See below captured picture from page 6 section 4 “Classifier Guidance” second paragraph),
and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory is further configured to:
generate, using the trained classifier, a prediction of a class label associated with the current sample, wherein the classifier gradient is based on the prediction of the class label (See above captured picture, in which the gradient
is based on the prediction of the class label y).
As per claim 5, dependent upon claim 4, Dhariwal teaches the trained classifier is modified to include at least one loss function or energy function to provide a gradient for being combined with a diffusion model intermediate prediction (See below para. in page 7.
So the trained classifier is modified to include an energy function “g” to provide a gradient for being combined with a diffusion model intermediate prediction (page 7 Algorithm 2 see below).
As per claim 8, dependent upon claim 1, Dhariwal teaches the at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory is further configured to:
combine a respective gradient with respective iterative model data for each reverse diffusion sampling step of the diffusion machine learning model to generate respective combined data for each reverse diffusion sampling step (See below captured picture “Algorithm 1” from page 7, which shows a reverse diffusion sampling process. Algorithm 1 is performed in an iterative manner (“for all t from T to 1”), and for each step, a respective gradient (gradient based on current sample xt) is combined with respective iterative model data
); and
generate, via the diffusion machine learning model for each reverse diffusion sampling step using the respective combined data, a respective new sample from a respective current sample (See above “Algorithm 1”. In each step t, a respective new sample xt-1 is generated).
As per claim 9, an independent claim, Dhariwal teaches a method (Abstract; page 7 top table “Algorithm 1”) of providing test-time self-supervised guidance for a diffusion machine learning model, comprising:
generating a gradient associated with a current sample (See mapping of similar limitations applied to claim 1);
combining the gradient with an iterative model estimated score function or data associated with the current sample to generate a score function estimate (See mapping of similar limitations applied to claim 1); and
predicting, using the diffusion machine learning model and based on the score function estimate, a new sample (See mapping of similar limitations applied to claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, dependent upon claim 9, claim 12 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, dependent upon claim 12, claim 13 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in claim 5. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, dependent upon claim 9, claim 16 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in claim 8. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 8.
As analyzed above, claim 17 “means for generating”, “means for combining” and “means for predicting” are interpreted as invoking 112(f). The corresponding structure is a CPU, a GPU, or a processor etc (See above “Claim Interpretation” section). Accordingly the associated algorithms disclosed in the specification are read into the corresponding means. Listed in the following Table is the Algorithm 1 disclosed in the instant specification and Algorithm 1 disclosed in Dhariwal. It shows that the two algorithms are the same. Note the algorithms associated with “means for generating”, “means for combining” and “means for predicting” in claim 1 are included in the instant Algorithm 1. Therefore Dhariwal’s Algorithm 1 corresponds to the algorithms associated with “means for generating”, “means for combining” and “means for predicting” in claim 1. Similarly Dhariwal also covers algorithms associated with claim 19 “means for generating” and claim 20 “means for combining” and “means for generating”.
Instant Spec FIG. 7
Dhariwal page 7 Top Table
As per claim 17, Dhariwal teaches an apparatus (page 17 Table 7 3rd and 4th column; page 17 section “A.1 throughput” (see captured image below)
for providing test-time self-supervised guidance for a diffusion machine learning model, comprising:
means for generating a gradient associated with a current sample (Dhariwal’s GPU corresponds to the recited means. See below captured picture from page 6 section 4 “Classifier Guidance” second paragraph, in which xt is a current sample.
means for combining the gradient with an iterative model estimated score function or data associated with the current sample to generate a score function estimate (Dhariwal’s GPU corresponds to the recited means. See below captured picture from page 7 top table, in which in the expression
the gradient is combined with an iterative model estimated score function
. Note Dhariwal’s diffusion model is an iterative model (Abstract; page 7 top Table “Algorithm 1” (“for all t from T to 1”); page 9 Table 4 caption: Effect of classifier guidance on sample quality. Both conditional and unconditional models were trained for 2M iterations on ImageNet 256X256 with batch size 256)); and
means for predicting, using the diffusion machine learning model and based on the score function estimate, a new sample (Dhariwal’s GPU corresponds to the recited means. See above captured picture showing “Algorithm 1”. The generated sample xt-1 is a new sample).
As per claim 19, dependent upon claim 17, Dhariwal teaches the gradient is a classifier gradient generated using a trained classifier (See below captured picture from page 6 section 4 “Classifier Guidance” second paragraph),
and wherein the apparatus further comprises:
means for generating a prediction of a class label associated with the current sample, wherein the classifier gradient is based on the prediction of the class label (Dhariwal’s GPU corresponds to the recited means. See above captured picture, in which the gradient
is based on the prediction of the class label y).
As per claim 20, dependent upon claim 17, Dhariwal teaches the apparatus further comprises:
means for combining a respective gradient with respective iterative model data for each reverse diffusion sampling step of the diffusion machine learning model to generate respective combined data for each reverse diffusion sampling step (Dhariwal’s GPU corresponds to the recited means. See below captured picture showing Algorithm 1 from page 7, which shows a reverse diffusion sampling process. Algorithm 1 is performed in an iterative manner (“for all t from T to 1”), and for each step, a respective gradient (gradient based on current sample xt) is combined with respective iterative model data
); and
means for generating, for each reverse diffusion sampling step using the respective combined data, a respective new sample from a respective current sample (Dhariwal’s GPU corresponds to the recited means. See above “Algorithm 1”. In each step t, a respective new sample xt-1 is generated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 10-11, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhariwal, in view of Saxena et al. (Saxena S, Kar A, Norouzi M, Fleet DJ. Monocular depth estimation using diffusion models. arXiv preprint arXiv:2302.14816. 2023 Feb 28. Hereafter Saxena).
As per claim 2, Dhariwal teaches the current sample is associated with an input image (Abstract; FIG. 3; section 4.3). Dhariwal, however, does not teach the diffusion machine learning model comprises a diffusion-based depth estimation network.
Saxena in an analogous field discloses a method for monocular depth estimation using denoising diffusion models (Abstract). Specifically, Saxena discloses a diffusion-based depth estimation network “DepthGen” (Abstract; Fig. 1).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Dhariwal and the teaching of Saxena to include a diffusion-based depth estimation network. Doing so would enable multimodal depth inference and imputation of missing depths as recognized by Saxena (page 1 right col. last 3 lines).
As per claim 3, dependent upon claim 2, Dhariwal in view of Saxena teaches the new sample comprises a predicted depth of the input image (Saxena Fig. 1).
As per claim 6, dependent upon claim 4, Dhariwal in view of Saxena teaches the current sample is associated with an input image (Dhariwal Abstract; FIG. 3; section 4.3), and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory is further configured to:
determine a photometric loss value based on a current sample depth from a diffusion model and an observed next frame (Saxena Fig. 1 “masked loss”. The loss is based on a current depth from a diffusion model (“Denoised predicted depth”) and an observed next frame (“GT depth with holes”)).
Regarding claim 10, dependent upon claim 9, claim 10 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 2. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in view of Saxena in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, dependent upon claim 10, claim 11 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 3. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in view of Saxena in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, dependent upon claim 12, claim 14 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 6. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in view of Saxena in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, dependent upon claim 17, claim 18 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 2. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in view of Saxena in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 2.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhariwal in view of Saxena, and further in view of Saharia et al. (US 20230103638 A1, hereafter Saharia).
As per claim 7, dependent upon claim 6, Dhariwal in view of Saxena does not teach the classifier gradient comprises a gradient of the photometric loss value.
Saharia in an analogous filed discloses a diffusion model for denoising an image (Abstract; para. [0010]). During training of the diffusion model, one or more gradients of an objective function that measures an error between: (i) the predicted noise data, and (ii) the actual noise data in the noisy image, is calculated.
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Dhariwal and Saxena to incorporate the teaching of Saharia to include a gradient of the photometric loss value in the classifier gradient. Doing so would enforce convergence of the diffusion model during training as recognized by Saharia (para. [0072]).
Regarding claim 15, dependent upon claim 14, claim 15 recites a method with elements corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 7. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to Dhariwal in view of Saxena and Saharia in the same manner as the corresponding elements in claim 7.
Contact
/XUEMEI G CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661