DETAILED ACTION
In response to the Amendment filed May 20, 2026
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed December 12, 2023 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed December 12, 2023 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed December 26, 2024 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5 - 8, 10, 13 - 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scarborough et al. (US 5,433,011).
With respect to claim 1, Scarborough et al. discloses a hand tool system (Figure 2), comprising a first-hand tool part (160); a second hand tool part (10, 20) configured to be releasably connected together with the first hand tool part (Figure 2) to form a combination hand tool (See Figure 4); wherein the first hand tool part (160) comprises an electronic hand tool (Column 5, line 53) having a main body (30) and a first connection part (60), and the second hand tool part (10, 20) comprises a main body (30) and a second connection part (70), wherein the first connection part (60) and the second connection part (70) are configured to be releasably connected together in a state of compression (Columns 3 and 4, lines 43 – 68 and 1 - 16); and wherein at least one of the first connection part (60) or the second connection part (70) comprises a compression member configured to releasably apply compression to the second connection part or the first connection part to releasably connect the first connection part and the second connection part together.
Referring to claim 2, Scarborough et al. sets forth a hand tool system wherein the compression member comprises a clamp member (80).
In regards to claim 3, Scarborough et al. teaches a hand tool system wherein at least one of the first hand tool part (160) or the second hand tool part (10, 20) comprises a hand tool that is operational without connection to the other hand tool part (See Figure 4).
With respect to claim 5, Scarborough et al. shows a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool part (160) has a first-hand tool functionality (i.e. level) and the second hand tool part (10, 20) has a second hand tool functionality (i.e. plumb).
Referring to claim 6, Scarborough et al. discloses a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool functionality (i.e. level is perfectly horizontal) is different to the second hand tool functionality (i.e. plumb is perfectly vertical).
In regards to claim 7, Scarborough et al. sets forth a hand tool system (Figure 1) wherein the first hand tool functionality (i.e. level) is the same as the second hand tool functionality (i.e. level).
Regarding to claim 8, Scarborough et al. sets forth a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool part (160) comprises a level (40, 50).
In regards to claim 10, Scarborough et al. teaches a hand tool system wherein the first connection part (60) and the second connection part (70) are configured to be releasably connected together in a state of tension (Columns 3 and 4, lines 43 – 68 and 1 - 16).
With respect to claim 13, Scarborough et al. shows a hand tool system comprising a third hand tool part (20) configured to be releasably connected to at least one of the first hand tool part (160) or the second hand tool (10) part to form another combination hand tool (See Figures 5 – 10).
Regarding claim 14, Scarborough et al. shows a hand tool system, comprising a first-hand tool part (160); a second hand tool part (10, 20) configured to be releasably connected together with the first hand tool part (160) to form a combination hand tool (See Figures 1, 4 and 8, for example); wherein the first hand tool part (160) comprises a main body (30) and a first connection part (60), and the second hand tool part (10, 20) comprises a main body (30) and a second connection part (70), wherein the first connection part (60) and the second connection part (70) are configured to be releasably connected together (See Figure 2); wherein the first hand tool part (160) has a first-hand tool functionality (i.e. level) and the second hand tool part (10, 20) has a second hand tool functionality (i.e. plumb).
With regards to claim 15, Scarborough et al. discloses a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool functionality (i.e. level) is different to the second hand tool functionality (i.e. plumb) as shown in figures 8 and 10.
Referring to claim 22, Scarborough et al. sets forth a hand tool system, comprising a first-hand tool part (160); a second hand tool part (10) configured to be releasably connected together with the first hand tool part to form a combination hand tool (Figure 2), wherein the first hand tool part (160) comprises a main body (30) and a first connection part (60), and the second hand tool part (10) comprises a main body (30) and a second connection part (70), the first connection part (60) and the second connection part (70) are configured to be releasably connected together in a state of compression (Columns 3 and 4, lines 43 – 68 and 1 - 16), and at least one of the first connection part (60) or the second connection part (70) comprises a compression member (120a, 120b, 130a, 130b) configured to releasably apply compression to the second connection part or the first connection part to releasably connect the first connection part and the second connection part together (Column 4, lines 6 – 16); and a third hand tool part (20) configured to be releasably connected to at least one of the first hand tool part (160) or the second hand tool part (10) to form another combination hand tool (See Figures 2 and 4 – 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11 – 12 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 - 21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 4 and 11 – 12 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system wherein the second hand tool part comprises a part that is not operational without connection to the other hand tool part and wherein the first connection part comprises a first electrical connector and the second connection part comprises a second electrical connector; wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are configured to form an electrical connection between the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part when the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part are connected together in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 17 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system wherein the first connection part comprises a first electrical connector and the second connection part comprises a second electrical connector; wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are configured to form an electrical connection between the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part when the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part are connected together in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 18 - 20 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system comprising a hand tool system, comprising a first-hand tool part; wherein the first hand tool part comprises a first electrical connector and the second hand tool part comprises a second electrical connector; wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are configured to form an electrical connection between the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part when the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part are connected together in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 21 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system comprising a hand tool system, comprising a first connection part comprises a first electrical connector and the second connection part comprises a second electrical connector, and the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are configured to form an electrical connection between the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part when the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part are connected together in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 8, 10 – 15 and 17 - 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Cosentino (US 6,560,885) discloses a modular level comprising a pair of levels which combine to function as one level. The levels also may be separated so that each level may be individually used as a level.
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
June 22, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855