DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 12, 2023 and December 27, 2023 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed December 12, 2023 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed December 12, 2023 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed December 26, 2024 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 8, 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Szumer et al. (US 7,290,346).
With respect to claim 1, Szumer et al. discloses a hand tool system (Figure 1), comprising a first hand tool part (i.e. center piece); a second hand tool part (12) configured to be releasably connected together with the first hand tool part (i.e. center piece) to form a combination hand tool (See Figure 1); wherein the first hand tool part comprises a main body (2, 3, 4) and a first connection part (13), and the second hand tool part (12) comprises a main body (19A, 19B) and a second connection part (42), wherein the first connection part (13) and the second connection part (42) are configured to be releasably connected together in a state of compression (Columns 3 and 4, lines 61 – 67 and 1 - 19); and wherein at least one of the first connection part (13) or the second connection part (42) comprises a compression member configured to releasably apply compression to the second connection part or the first connection part to releasably connect the first connection part and the second connection part together (Columns 3 and 4, lines 61 – 67 and 1 - 19).
Referring to claim 2, Szumer et al. sets forth a hand tool system wherein the compression member comprises a clamp member (42).
In regards to claim 3, Szumer et al. teaches a hand tool system wherein at least one of the first hand tool part (2, 3, 4) or the second hand tool part (12) comprises a hand tool (2, 3, 4) that is operational without connection to the other hand tool part.
With respect to claim 4, Szumer et al. shows a hand tool system wherein the second hand tool part (12) comprises a part that is not operational without connection to the other hand tool part (i.e. extension segment is not operational unless used in combination with the level 1).
Regarding claim 5, Szumer et al. shows a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool part (2, 3, 4) has a first hand tool functionality (i.e. level) and the second hand tool part (12) has a second hand tool functionality (i.e. extension).
With regards to claim 6, Szumer et al. discloses a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool functionality (i.e. level) is different to the second hand tool functionality (i.e. extension).
Referring to claim 8, Szumer et al. sets forth a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool part (2, 3, 4) comprises a level.
In regards to claim 10, Szumer et al. teaches a hand tool system wherein the first connection part (13) and the second connection part (42) are configured to be releasably connected together in a state of tension (Columns 3 and 4, lines 61 – 67 and 1 - 19).
Regarding claim 14, Szumer et al. shows a hand tool system, comprising a first hand tool part (2, 3, 4); a second hand tool part (12) configured to be releasably connected together with the first hand tool part (2, 3, 4) to form a combination hand tool (See Figure 1); wherein the first hand tool part comprises a main body (2, 3, 4) and a first connection part (31), and the second hand tool part comprises a main body (12) and a second connection part (26), wherein the first connection part (31) and the second connection part (26) are configured to be releasably connected together; wherein the first hand tool part (2, 3, 4) has a first hand tool functionality (i.e. lever) and the second hand tool part (12) has a second hand tool functionality (i.e. extension).
With regards to claim 15, Szumer et al. discloses a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool functionality (i.e. level) is different to the second hand tool functionality (i.e. extension).
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 1,182,730).
With respect to claim 1, Anderson et al. discloses a hand tool system (Figure 1), comprising a first hand tool part (1); a second hand tool part (2) configured to be releasably connected together with the first hand tool part to form a combination hand tool (See Figure 1); wherein the first hand tool part comprises a main body (1) and a first connection part (11), and the second hand tool part comprises a main body (2) and a second connection part (12, 13), wherein the first connection part (11) and the second connection part (12, 13) are configured to be releasably connected together in a state of compression (See Figures 1 and 6; page 1 of the specification, lines 78 - 83); and wherein at least one of the first connection part (11) or the second connection part (12, 13) comprises a compression member (i.e. spring pressed lock bolt) configured to releasably apply compression to the second connection part or the first connection part to releasably connect the first connection part and the second connection part together (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson et al. shows a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool part (1) has a first hand tool functionality (i.e. level) and the second hand tool part (2) has a second hand tool functionality (i.e. level).
Referring to claim 7, Anderson et al. sets forth a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool functionality (i.e. level) is the same as the second hand tool functionality (i.e. level).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11 – 13 and 16 - 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 9 and 11 – 12 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool part comprises an electronic hand tool and wherein the first connection part comprises a first electrical connector and the second connection part comprises a second electrical connector; wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are configured to form an electrical connection between the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part when the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part are connected together in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 13 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system comprising a third hand tool part configured to be releasably connected to at least one of the first hand tool part or the second hand tool part to form another combination hand tool in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 16 – 17 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system wherein the first hand tool part comprises an electronic hand tool and wherein the first connection part comprises a first electrical connector and the second connection part comprises a second electrical connector; wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are configured to form an electrical connection between the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part when the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part are connected together in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 18 - 20 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a hand tool system comprising a hand tool system, comprising a first hand tool part; wherein the first hand tool part comprises a first electrical connector and the second hand tool part comprises a second electrical connector; wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are configured to form an electrical connection between the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part when the first hand tool part and the second hand tool part are connected together in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Chisholm et al. (US 8,087,177)
Kasche (US 7,028,411)
Hildebrant (US 1,655,766)
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
February 15, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855