Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 4-12 are pending.
Claims 13, and 14 are withdrawn.
Claim 3 is canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a conical section is provided between the deformation region and the main body, wherein this conical section tapers in a direction of the mouth of the container and in this conical region a diameter of the container is reduced by at least 5%.” as claimed in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2, 4-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a conical section is provided between the deformation region and the main body, wherein this conical section tapers in a direction of the mouth of the container”. However, the drawing (Fig. 1) shows the height of the main body to be hG and the height of the deformation region to be hD. There is no space in between the two space and as such it is unclear as to where this conical section is located. The drawing clearly shows 12 overlaps with structure 4, and 6. Further correction and or clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites “in this conical region a diameter of the container is reduced by at least 5%”. However, the claim fails to recite 5% reduction with comparation to what specific diameter of the container. The container has several diameters throughout and it is unclear as to what this 5% reduction in diameter would be. For examination purpose, it will be assumed that the 5% reduction is compare to the maximum diameter of the container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over IWASHITA (AU 2014354043).
Regarding claim 1, IWASHITA discloses, A plastics material container (abstract) for holding liquids (para 24), comprising a bottom section (5), a main body (4) adjoining the bottom section that forms a holding volume for holding the liquid and that extends in a longitudinal direction of the plastics material container (Fig. 1), a shoulder region (See annotated fig. below)) adjoining the main body in the longitudinal direction, in which a cross-section in the longitudinal direction is reduced (See annotated fig. below) and with a mouth region (above zone 2; See annotated fig. below) which adjoins the shoulder region in the longitudinal direction, in which a mouth is formed (Fig. 4a, a mouth opening is shown) , via which the liquid can be supplied to the container, wherein the shoulder region and the mouth region being arranged in an upper section (See annotated fig. below) ) of the plastics material container in relation to the longitudinal direction, wherein the plastics material container has a deformation section (See annotated fig. below; Fig. 5) in the upper section and in the longitudinal direction below the mouth section, in which deformation section the plastics material container is elastically deformable with respect to its longitudinal direction, the deformation section is arranged in the longitudinal direction directly below the shoulder region (See annotated fig. below), so that a deformation of the container in said deformation region is provided below the shoulder region, and wherein a conical section (See annotated fig. below) is provided between the deformation region and the main body, wherein the conical section tapers in a direction of the mouth of the container.
IWASHITA additionally appears to disclose in the conical region a diameter of the container is reduced by at least 5% compare to the maximum diameter of the container , however, in the event, in the conical region a diameter of the container is not reduced by at least 5% compare to the maximum diameter of the container, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IWASHITA to have a diameter at the conical region reduced by at least 5% compare to the maximum diameter of the container since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range for the purpose of improving strength of the bottle. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II-A).
Regarding claim 2, IWASHITA discloses, wherein the deformation section is arranged in an upper half of the plastics material container (See annotated fig. of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, IWASHITA discloses, the deformation section is arranged directly above the main body in the longitudinal direction(See annotated fig. of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, IWASHITA discloses, the deformation section has a larger average cross-section than the shoulder region (See annotated fig. of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, IWASHITA discloses, the main body has a labeling region (44) in which a cross-section of the container in the longitudinal direction is substantially constant.
Regarding claim 7, IWASHITA discloses, the plastics material container has in the deformation section a first rib that is circumferential at least in sections (311, 312, 313) .
Regarding claim 8, IWASHITA discloses, the first rib has several rib (311, 312, 313) sections which adjoin each other in the circumferential direction of the deformation section (Fig. 41).
Regarding claim 9, IWASHITA discloses, the number of rib sections in less than 13.
Regarding claim 10, IWASHITA discloses, the plastics material container has, in the deformation section, at least one second rib (Fig. 4b; section in between 311-312 and 312-313) that is circumferential at least in sections, wherein the second circumferential rib being offset with respect to the longitudinal direction relative to the first rib.
Regarding claim 11, IWASHITA discloses, the second rib has in the deformation region, several rib sections (Fig. 4b; section in between 311-312 and 312-313) which adjoin one another in the circumferential direction of the deformation section, wherein the rib sections of the second rib being advantageously offset and/or twisted with respect to the rib sections in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 12, IWASHITA discloses, a rib (See annotated fig. below) extending in the circumferential direction in formed in the main body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that element 12 is between the formation region and the main body. However, there is no space between deformation region 6 and main body 4 that allows for element 12 to be in between the two structure. Furthermore, the applicant argues that the decrease in 5% refers to the main diameter of the container. As previously stated, the container has several diameters (Fig. 9); the specification or the drawing fails to disclose with respect to what diameter the reduction is being measured. The applicant argues that D1 refers to the “main” diameter of the container but the specification fails to disclose this as argued. As stated in the advisory action (02/26/2026), D1 appears to be the maximum diameter of the container but nowhere does the specification or drawing discloses the reduction of 5% is in comparison to D1 (the maximum diameter).
The applicant further argues that the annotated figure for shoulder area is support ring to which the examiner replies that the shoulder area not the support ring but the area underneath as annotated above. The applicant did not define the word “shoulder region” that could not be read in light of the prior art. As such, the area that is mapped as shoulder region can be considered shoulder region and claim 1 as amended is considered to be disclosed by prior art of IWASHITA. The applicant argues that the no person skilled in the art would associate a flat circumferential ring with a shoulder to that the examiner replies that the shoulder area is considered to be the area below the ring as annotated above. The annotated area as annotated “shoulder” satisfy the definition of shoulder as disclosed in claim 1 wherein claim 1 recites “ a shoulder region adjoining the main body in the longitudinal direction, in which a cross-section in the longitudinal direction is reduced and with a mouth region which adjoins the shoulder region in the longitudinal direction, in which a mouth is formed”.
Conclusion
/SANJIDUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736