Status of Claims
Claims 1-55 are pending.
Priority
Claims 1-55 have priority to PRO 63/520,241 filed on August 17, 2023, and to PRO 63/387,052 filed on December 12, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on May 8, 2024, was filed before the mailing of the First Office Action on October 17, 2026. The Non-Patent Literature is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention I, claims 1-55, directed to a method for producing spheroid containing pluripotent stem cells where the spheroid is capable of differentiation into hematopoietic progenitor cells in the reply filed on August 2, 2026, is acknowledged. The election was made without traverse.
Invention II: Claims 56-60 and 63 are directed towards a method for making T cells from stem cells by lowering the activity of DLL4 in pluripotent stem cells and GAS5 expression in hemogenic endothelium cells derived from pluripotent stem cells where the hemogenic endothelium cells are differentiated into T cells.
Invention III: Claims 61-62 and 64 are directed towards a method for producing T cells from pluripotent stem cells by reduction in the expression of DLL4 expression in pluripotent stem cells and differentiating hematopoietic progenitor cells derived from pluripotent stem cells into T cells.
Invention IV: Claims 65-68 and 71 are directed towards a method for producing B cells from pluripotent stem cells.
Invention V: Claims 69-70 and 72 are directed towards a method for producing B cells from pluripotent stem cells and differentiating hematopoietic progenitor cells derived from pluripotent stem cells into B cells.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 2, 2026. Claims 56-72 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 2G, 2I, 2M, the x-y axis is not legible.
Figures 3B, 3D, 3H, 3K, the x-y axis is not legible.
Figures 4B, 4G, 4I, 4M are not legible.
Figures 5B, 5D are not legible.
Figure 9A is not legible.
Figure 10A is not legible.
Figures 11B, 11C are not legible.
Claim Objections
Claim 8, 14, and 27 are objected to for the following reasons:
Claim 8 recites “wherein DLL4 expression or activity is reduced in PSC from which the HPs are produced” should read as “wherein DLL4 expression or activity is reduced in the PSCs from which the HPs are produced”.
Claim 14 recites “supplemented 20% fetal bovine serum” should read as “supplemented with 20% fetal bovine serum”.
Claim 27 recites “supplemented 20% fetal bovine serum” should read as “supplemented with 20% fetal bovine serum”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-21 and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “HEs”. However, the abbreviation “HEs” is not defined in the claim. Claim 2 expressly defines “arterial hemogenic endothelium cells” as “AHEs”. Given this, it is unclear whether “HEs” is intended to refer to the arterial hemogenic endothelium cells recited in claim 2 or hemogenic endothelium cells in general, or a different population altogether.
Claims 18-21 and 25 are also rejected based on dependency to claim 17.
Claim 21 recites “HEs”. However, the abbreviation “HEs” is not defined in the claim. Claim 2 expressly defines “arterial hemogenic endothelium cells” as “AHEs”. Given this, it is unclear whether “HEs” is intended to refer to the arterial hemogenic endothelium cells recited in claim 2 or hemogenic endothelium cells in general, or a different population altogether.
Claim 39 recites “HEs”. However, the abbreviation “HEs” is not defined in the claim. Claim 2 expressly defines “arterial hemogenic endothelium cells” as “AHEs”. Given this, it is unclear whether “HEs” is intended to refer to the arterial hemogenic endothelium cells recited in claim 2 or hemogenic endothelium cells in general, or a different population altogether.
Claims 40-43 are also rejected based on dependency to claim 39.
Claim 43 recites “HEs”. However, the abbreviation “HEs” is not defined in the claim. Claim 2 expressly defines “arterial hemogenic endothelium cells” as “AHEs”. Given this, it is unclear whether “HEs” is intended to refer to the arterial hemogenic endothelium cells recited in claim 2 or hemogenic endothelium cells in general, or a different population altogether.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Rajesh and Lewis (Hereinafter Rajesh) [US 2010 279403 A1], in view of Lin and Chen (Hereinafter Lin) [Embryoid body formation from human pluripotent stem cells in chemically defined E8 media, StemBook, 2014], in view of Bai et al. [Definitive hematopoietic multipotent progenitor cells are transiently generated from hemogenic endothelial cells in human pluripotent stem cells, Journal of Cellular Physiology, 2015], in view of Gonzales-Pozas et al. (Hereinafter Pozas) [Generation of human pluripotent stem cells lines with suppressed expression of notch ligand DLL4 using short hairpin RNAs, Stem Cell Research, 2016]
For claim 1, Rajesh teaches a method of producing hematopoietic progenitor cells from pluripotent stem cells forming embryoids [Summary of the Invention, Para starting with “An aspect of the present invention relates to a method of differentiating pluripotent stem cells”, Fig. 5]. Rajesh also teaches the use of a culture medium comprising components corresponding to or substantially overlapping the basal medium and supplements recited [Embryonic Stem Cells, Table 1, B. Matrix Component]. Although Rajesh discloses the use of these components, Rajesh does not specifically teach the inclusion of BIT 9500 supplement, L-glutamine/GlutaMax™, together with the each of the claimed medium components.
For this limitation, Lin teaches that differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells into hematopoietic progenitor cells was well established and that culture conditions and media components were well known for induction and expansion of hematopoietic progenitor cells from pluripotent stem cells (PSCs) [Reagent and material preparation]. Lin also teaches hanging drop method for embryoid bodies, using single cell drops of around 2000 cells/20 uL are hanging cultured on the lid of petri dishes [EB formation]. Lastly, Lin teaches that self-aggregation occurred overnight in an incubator at 37˚ C [EB formation].
Additionally, Bai et al. teaches a stepwise method for producing hematopoietic progenitor cells from PSCs through formation of embryoid bodies and hemogenic endothelial intermediates [Abstract] where 3,000 to 4,000 hPSCs are aggregated per well [Differentiation of embryoid bodies]. Bai et al. further teaches the use of a serum-free medium using an optimized stage-specific combination of BMP4, FGF2, and VEGF [Differentiation of embryoid bodies] resulting in CD34+/CD31+/CD144+ hemato-endethelial progenitors that lead to hematopoietic progenitor cells [Hemogenic endothelial cell culture and hematopoietic differentiation].
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Rajesh that taught a method for producing hematopoietic precursor cells with the further teachings of Lin that also discloses known methods in embryoid body formation using pluripotent stem cells in addition with Bai that also describes a various known methods for making hematopoietic progenitor cells from endothelial cells and pluripotent stem cells. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill would have reason to combine given the cited references are directed to the same objective of differentiating human pluripotent stem cells into hematopoietic progenitor populations, and the cited culture components and conditions were well known for supporting pluripotent stem cell survival, aggregate formation, and hematopoietic differentiation. Lastly, a person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success given the cited references independently demonstrate successful differentiation of pluripotent stem ells into hematopoietic progenitor populations using substantially similar aggregate-based differentiation methods and represent a predictable application of known pluripotent stem cell culture and hematopoietic differentiation conditions.
For claim 8 where the claim is a product-by-process, Rajesh teaches a population of hematopoietic progenitor cells produced from pluripotent stem cells [Summary of the Invention]. However, Rajesh does not teach reducing DLL4 expression or activity in the pluripotent stem cells from which the hematopoietic progenitor cells are produced.
For this limitation, Pozas teaches pluripotent stem cells with suppressed DLL4 expression through stable expression shRNAs directed against DLLR [Abstract]. Pozas further teaches that the DLL4 suppression of pluripotent stem cells retain pluripotency and differentiation capacity [Resource Details ¶ 4]. Additionally, although claim 8 further recites that the hematopoietic progenitor cell population is “produced by the method of claim 2”, claim 8 is directed to the resulting cell population and is therefore a product-by-process claim. MPEP § 2113(I) states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” Here, Rajesh teaches hematopoietic progenitor cell populations that are substantially the same to the presently claimed hematopoietic progenitor cell population. Furthermore, Poraz teaches a method of suppressing DLL4 expression in pluripotent stem cells where the pluripotent stem cells are still capable of differentiating into hematopoietic progenitor cells. Given this, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person skilled in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Rajesh that teaches a method of producing hematopoietic progenitor cells where the DLL4 expression is suppressed in the precursor cells as taught by Pozas where the resulting hematopoietic progenitor cells population would have been the same as or substantially the same to the known progenitor cell population taught by Rajesh.
The Supreme court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable varition..103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions…
…the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) emphasis added.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims Free of the Art
Claim 2 is presently free of the art because the cited references and/or general prior art fail to teach or reasonably suggest the claimed sequential, temporally defined culture conditions and medium changes for differentiating pluripotent stem cells through hemogenic endothelium to hematopoietic progenitor cells, including the recited hypoxic and normoxic culture stages and production of a population comprising at least 50% arterial hemogenic endothelium cells.
Claim 3 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 2.
Claim 4 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 2.
Claim 5 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 4 which depends from claim 2.
Claim 6 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 2.
Claim 7 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 6 which depends from claim 2.
Claim 14 is free of the art based on incorporation of all the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 15 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 16 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 15 which depends from claim 14 which incorporates all the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 22 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 23 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 22 which depends from claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 24 is free of the art based on dependency to claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 26 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 22 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 27 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations in claim 2.
Claim 28 is free of the art because it depends from claim 27 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 29 is free of the art because it depends from claim 28 which depends from claim 27 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 30 is free of the art because it depends from claim 17 which depends from claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 31 is free of the art because it depends from claim 30 which depends from claim 17 which depends from claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 32 is free of the art because it depends from claim 31 which depends from claim 30 which depends from claim 17 which depends from claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 33 is free of the art because it depends from claim 30 which depends from claim 17 which depends form claim 14 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 34 is free of the art because it depends from claim 27 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 35 is free of the art because if depends form claim 34 which depends from claim 27 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 36 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations from claim 27 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 37 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations from claim 30 which depends from claim 27 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 38 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations from claim 34 which depends from claim 27 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 44 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 45 is free of the art because it depends from claim 44 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 46 is free of the art because it depends from claim 39 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 47 is free of the art because it depends from claim 44 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 48 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 49 is free of the art because it depends from claim 48 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 50 is free of the art because it depends from claim 49 which depends from claim 48 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 51 is free of the art because it depends from claim 48 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 52 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 53 is free of the art because it depends from claim 52 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 54 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 48 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 55 is free of the art because it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 52 which incorporates all of the limitations of claim 2.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOHN DAVID MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631