DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, and 14-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,502,724. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The Examiner submits claims 1-20 of the ‘724 Patent fully encompass the scope of the rejected instant claims.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-11 and 16-20 – Claims 1, 13, and 18 of the ‘724 Patent recite a chemically selective percolation switch comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode separated from the positive electrode by a horizontal switch gap; a plurality of electrically conductive horizontal parallel plates formed in the switch gap, wherein at least some of the horizontal parallel plates vertically overlap at least some other horizontal parallel plates to form vertical structure gaps; and a binding agent located at a plurality of binding sites in the switch gap, wherein the binding agent is selective for binding to a target chemical compound, wherein the binding sites are on horizontal surfaces of the horizontal parallel plates, wherein the binding sites are distributed in the switch gap such that the binding sites are capable of binding molecules of the target chemical compound to form an electrically conductive pathway via percolation between the positive electrode and the negative electrode when the chemically-selective percolation switch is exposed to a threshold concentration of the target chemical compound. Claims 13 and 18 of the ‘724 Patent further recite a power supply and detection circuit.
Regarding claims 3 and 14 – Claim 6 of the ‘724 Patent recites a structure gap distance from 0.3 nanometer to 100 micrometers.
Regarding claim 15 – Claim 5 of the ‘724 Patent recites the horizontal plates have a width from 1 micrometer to 1 millimeter.
Claims 5, 7, 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,502,724. Claims 1-20 of the ‘724 Patent recite every element of instant claims 5, 7, 12 and 13 except for the specific number of binding sites and a number of stacked plates from 3 to 101. Claims 1-20 of the ‘724 Patent recite a plurality of binding sites and a plurality of plates, but not a specific number of sites or plates. With respect to claim 12 and 13, the Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to provide additional stacked horizontal plates. One of ordinary skill in the art would provide additional stacked plates in order to provide additional binding sites to capture more analytes. With respect to claims 5 and 7, the Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to provide additional binding sites in an array. One of ordinary skill in the art would provide additional binding sites in order to capture more analyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2017/0336378).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10 and 17 – As shown in Figures 6A, 6B and 7, Kim ‘378 teaches a chemically selective percolation switch (600/700), comprising: a positive electrode (610/710); a negative electrode (620/720) separated from the positive electrode (610/710) by a horizontal switch gap; and a plurality of electrically conductive structures (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) in the horizontal switch gap (630, 730), wherein adjacent electrically conductive structures (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) are separated by nanogaps forming binding sites between the adjacent electrically conductive structures, wherein the electrically conductive structures (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) are arranged to form a three-dimensional array of binding sites having at least two stacked layers (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) of binding sites, wherein the binding sites are distributed in the switch gap (630, 730) such that the binding sites are capable of binding molecules of a target chemical compound to form an electrically conductive pathway via percolation between the positive electrode (610/710) and the negative electrode (620/720) when the chemically selective percolation switch is exposed to a threshold concentration of the target chemical compound, and wherein the electrically conductive pathway is capable of forming in one of the layers of binding sites or in more than one of the layers of binding sites. With respect to claim 17, Kim teaches a power supply (1610) and detection circuit (1630) in Paragraphs 0097-0098.
Regarding claims 3 and 14 – Kim ‘378 recites a gap distance between conductive structures of 0.3 nanometers to 100 microns in Paragraph 0067 and claim 11; a gap distance of 12 nanometers in Paragraph 0100 and Figure 18; a gap distance of 5 nanometers in Paragraph 0101 and Figure 19; and a gap of 50 nanometers in Paragraph 0102 and Figure 20A.
Regarding claims 4 and 16 – Kim ‘378 teaches a binding agent attached to the electrically conductive structure at the nanogap for binding the targeted chemical compounds in Paragraphs 0079-0088.
Regarding claim 5 – Figures 2, 6A, 6B, and 7 of Kim ‘378 show more than 3 binding sites electrically connected through the electrically conductive structures (pillars, plates).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, and 17 – Kim ‘378 teaches electrically conductive sources comprises a plurality of multiple stacked horizontal plates wherein at least some of the horizontal plates partially vertically overlap at least some other horizontal parallel plates as overlapping portions which form vertical nanogaps between the parallel plates in Paragraphs 0069-0070 and 0103-0109. See also Figures 7, 21-25, 26A, 27A, and claims 5-6.
Regarding claims, 7, 8, and 13 – Figures 7 and 23-24 of Kim ‘378 shows an embodiment of the device having two stacked horizontal parallel plates with an array of binding sites of at least 4 binding sites in a lateral direction and at least 4 binding sites in a longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 15 – Kim ‘378 discloses the horizontal plates have a width of 1 micrometer to 1 millimeter in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18 – Kim ‘378 teaches a threshold concentration of 1 part per billion to 1,000 parts per million in Paragraphs 0089 and claim 2.
Regarding claims 19 and 20 – Kim ‘378 discloses a power supply capable of operating at zero or near-zero power (less than 10 nW as defined in Paragraph 0003) and capable of providing a voltage of about 1.4-4.2 V in Paragraphs 0090-0098.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2018/0231514).
Kim ‘514 teaches an ultra-low power digital chemical analyzer. The embodiments of the device most relevant to the instant claims are shown in Figures 2, 6A, 6B, 7, and 21-26A. The embodiments are described in Paragraphs 0055-0108.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10 and 17 – As shown in Figures 6A, 6B and 7, Kim ‘378 teaches a chemically selective percolation switch (600/700), comprising: a positive electrode (610/710); a negative electrode (620/720) separated from the positive electrode (610/710) by a horizontal switch gap; and a plurality of electrically conductive structures (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) in the horizontal switch gap (630, 730), wherein adjacent electrically conductive structures (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) are separated by nanogaps forming binding sites between the adjacent electrically conductive structures, wherein the electrically conductive structures (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) are arranged to form a three-dimensional array of binding sites having at least two stacked layers (plates 660, 665/plates 760/765) of binding sites, wherein the binding sites are distributed in the switch gap (630, 730) such that the binding sites are capable of binding molecules of a target chemical compound to form an electrically conductive pathway via percolation between the positive electrode (610/710) and the negative electrode (620/720) when the chemically selective percolation switch is exposed to a threshold concentration of the target chemical compound, and wherein the electrically conductive pathway is capable of forming in one of the layers of binding sites or in more than one of the layers of binding sites. With respect to claim 17, Kim ‘514 teaches a power supply and detection circuit in Paragraphs 0096-0097.
Regarding claims 3 and 14 – Kim ‘514 recites a gap distance between conductive structures of 0.3 nanometers to 100 microns in Paragraph 0066 and claim 11; a gap distance of 12 nanometers in Paragraph 0099 and Figure 18; a gap distance of 5 nanometers in Paragraph 0100 and Figure 19; and a gap of 50 nanometers in Paragraphs 0101 and Figure 20A.
Regarding claims 4 and 16 – Kim ‘514 teaches a binding agent attached to the electrically conductive structure at the nanogap for binding the targeted chemical compounds in Paragraphs 0078-0087.
Regarding claim 5 – Figures 2, 6A, 6B, and 7 of Kim ‘514 show more than 3 binding sites electrically connected through the electrically conductive structures (pillars, plates).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, and 17 – Kim ‘514 teaches electrically conductive sources comprises a plurality of multiple stacked horizontal plates wherein at least some of the horizontal plates partially vertically overlap at least some other horizontal parallel plates as overlapping portions which form vertical nanogaps between the parallel plates in Paragraphs 0068-0069 and 0102-0108. See also Figures 7, 21-25, 26A, 27A, and claims 5-6.
Regarding claims, 7, 8, and 13 – Figures 7 and 23-24 of Kim ‘514 shows an embodiment of the device having two stacked horizontal parallel plates with an array of binding sites of at least 4 binding sites in a lateral direction and at least 4 binding sites in a longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 15 – Kim ‘514 discloses the horizontal plates have a width of 1 micrometer to 1 millimeter in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18 – Kim ‘514 teaches a threshold concentration of 1 part per billion to 1,000 parts per million in Paragraphs 0088 and claim 2.
Regarding claims 19 and 20 – Kim ‘514 discloses a power supply capable of operating at zero or near-zero power (less than 10 nW as defined in Paragraph 0003) and capable of providing a voltage of about 1.4 - 4.2 V in Paragraphs 0089-0097.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0336378) or Kim et al. (2018/0231514).
Kim et al. (‘678 or ‘514) teach every element of claim 12 except for the number of stacked horizontal layers of horizontal parallel plates is from 3 to 101. Kim et al. (‘678 and ‘514) both recite a plurality of stacked horizontal plates, but do not explicitly recite more than two stacked horizontal plates.
The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to provide additional stacked horizontal plates. One of ordinary skill in the art would provide additional stacked plates in order to provide additional binding sites.
Conclusion
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 July 18, 2016
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798