DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Since the interview which was conducted on 10/24/2025, further consideration of the reference by the examiner, Choi discloses the claimed invention. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14, 16 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHOI et al. 20200212115.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an organic light-emitting panel comprising:
a substrate 100 having thereon an active area DA with a transistor 130 and a non-active area PA located at a periphery of the active area;
a planarization layer 113 disposed on the transistor of the active area and on the non-active area;
a passivation layer 109 (inherent passivation layer) disposed beneath the planarization layer;
a first electrode 210 disposed on the planarization layer and electrically connected to the transistor;
a plurality of dams (DM1/2) located in the non-active area, the plurality of dams including a first dam DM1 that is closest to the active area;
a bank 120 disposed on the planarization layer, the bank having a first side surface and a second side surface opposite the first side surface (as labeled by examiner above), the first side surface and the second side surface having different inclinations, such that the first side surface of the bank facing the first dam defines a wider base relative to the second surface;
a connector electrode 75/75A disposed on the planarization layer in the non-active area; and
a pad electrode 70 disposed adjacent to at least one of the plurality of dams,
wherein the connector electrode is disposed between the planarization layer 113 and the bank, and along a side surface of the planarization layer, and
wherein the pad electrode 70 and the connector electrode are 75A electrically connected,
wherein the side surface of the planarization layer includes a first side surface having a first inclination (as labeled by examiner above), the first side surface of the planarization layer being located closest to the first dam among a plurality of side surfaces of the planarization layer in the non-active area,
wherein the first side surface of the bank having a third inclination (as labeled by examiner above) being closest to the first dam among a plurality of side surfaces of the bank,
wherein the passivation layer has a contact hole (as labeled by examiner above) between a first side surface of the planarization layer and the first dam DM1 (see portion of the contact hole which is still a contact hole),
wherein the connector electrode 75A and the pad electrode 70 are in contact within the contact hole, and
wherein a region is provided between the first side surface of the planarization layer and the first dam in which the connector electrode and the pad electrode are not connected through the passivation layer (see region above 75A above the contact hole).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses further comprising:
an organic layer 220 (as it is organic light emitting – par [0080]) disposed on the first electrode;
a second electrode 230 disposed on the organic layer; and
an encapsulation member 150 disposed on the second electrode,
wherein the bank has a first open area (region between 120) in the active area,
and wherein the organic layer is disposed in the first open area.
Regarding claim 5, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein the connector electrode 75/75Ais electrically connected to the second electrode through a second open area (VP is open area because there is no 120 element there) of the bank in the non-active area.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein the planarization layer includes a contact hole (contact on from 210 to 130) in the active area.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein the planarization layer includes a second side surface having a second inclination around the contact hole (side of contact hole), and wherein the first inclination is different from the second inclination.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein the first inclination is smaller than the second inclination.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein, in the non-active area, the bank is disposed to overlap a top surface of the planarization layer and expose the first side surface of the planarization layer.
Regarding claim 14, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein an outermost portion of the top surface of the planarization layer is located closer to the plurality of dams than an end portion of the first side surface of the bank.
Regarding claim 16, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein, in the non-active area, a second encapsulation layer 153 is disposed to at least partially cover the first side surface of the planarization layer and the first side surface of the bank.
Regarding claim 21, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein the pad electrode and the connector electrode are electrically connected at a first area in the non-active area, wherein the first area does not overlap with the first dam of the plurality of dams from a plan view.
Regarding claim 22, fig. 7 of Choi discloses wherein the pad electrode and the connector electrode are in direct contact at the first area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Kang et al. 20070164294.
Regarding claim 23, fig. 7 of Choi (as labeled by examiner) discloses wherein the third inclination is smaller than the first inclination.
Choi does not disclose wherein the first inclination is ranging from 15 degree to 30 degree.
However, fig. 2 and par [0039] The planarization layer 250 may comprise a normal tapered edge portion. A taper angle r1 of the edge portion of the planarization layer 250 may be about 15 degrees to 60 degrees. Preferably, a taper angle r1 of the edge portion of the planarization layer 250 may be about 15 degrees to 30 degrees – this allows for better flow coverage for processing step of next layer.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Choi comprising wherein the first inclination is ranging from 15 degree to 30 degree such as taught by Kang in order to allow better flow of next processing step(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893