DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Ono (US 20210010239 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ono discloses:
An work machine, comprising:
an undercarriage (1) including left and right crawler tracks (1CL & 1CR) driven by left and right hydraulic track drive actuators (1L & 1R), respectively;
a main frame (3 & 10) mounted on the undercarriage (Fig. 1A) to be pivotable about a vertical pivot axis (2) relative to the undercarriage [0039];
a hydraulic swivel actuator (2A) configured to swivel the main frame on the undercarriage about the vertical pivot axis [0039];
an excavator boom assembly (4 & 5 & 6) extending from the main frame, the boom assembly including a boom (4) pivotally connected to the main frame, an arm (5) pivotally connected to the boom, and a bucket (6) pivotally connected to the arm [0040];
a hydraulic boom actuator (7) configured to pivot the boom relative to the main frame [0042];
a hydraulic arm actuator (8) configured to pivot the arm relative to the boom [0042];
a hydraulic bucket actuator (9) configured to pivot the bucket relative to the arm [0042];
a plurality of pilot operated main hydraulic control valves (171 & 172 & 173 & 174 & 175 & 176) one of which is associated with each of the actuators for directing hydraulic operating pressure to the respective actuator [0051];
a left joystick (26L) controlled operator input assembly configured to direct a first machine action in response to forward and reverse motions of the left joystick and to direct a second machine action in response to left and right motions of the left joystick (Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B) [0064 & 0158 & 0159 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0164 & 0165];
a right joystick (26R) controlled operator input assembly configured to direct a third machine action in response to forward and reverse motions of the right joystick and to direct a fourth machine action in response to left and right motions of the right joystick (Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B) [0064 & 0158 & 0159 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0164 & 0165];
wherein the first, second, third and fourth machine actions include in any order actuation of the swivel actuator, the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator (Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B) [0064 & 0158 & 0159 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0164 & 0165];
a left foot pedal controlled operator input assembly configured to direct the left track drive actuator [0055 & 0096 & 0144];
a right foot pedal controlled operator input assembly configured to direct the right track drive actuator [0055 & 0097 & 0144];
a first input sensor (29A & 29B) connected to the left joystick controlled pilot valve assembly and configured to provide a first electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the left joystick [0055 & 0072 & 0122 0131 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188];
a second input sensor (29C & 29D) connected to the right joystick controlled pilot valve assembly and configured to provide a second electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the right joystick [0055 & 0072 & 0122 0140 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188];
a third input sensor connected to the left foot pedal controlled pilot valve assembly and configured to provide a third electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the left foot pedal [0055 & 0057 & 0061 & 0072 & 0122 & 0241];
a fourth input sensor connected to the right foot pedal controlled pilot valve assembly and configured to provide a fourth electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the right foot pedal [0055 & 0057 & 0061 & 0072 & 0122 & 0241];
a controller (30) configured to:
receive the first, second, third and fourth electrical signals [0057 & 0061 & 0062 & 0072 & 0122 & 0131 & 0140 & 0143 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188 & 0241];
detect from the first, second, third and fourth electrical signals an operator’s input directing actuation of one or more of the actuators [0057 & 0061 & 0062 & 0072 & 0122 & 0131 & 0140 & 0143 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188 & 0241]; and
generate one or more electrical command signals corresponding to a limited control actuation of the one or more of the actuators based at least in part on one or more of the first, second, third and fourth electrical signals, and based at least in part on an automated actuator control program configured to limit actuator movement based on preprogrammed control conditions [0057 & 0061 & 0062 & 0072 & 0122 & 0131 & 0140 & 0143 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188 & 0241], wherein the automated actuator control program includes an electronic fence program [0241];
a control valve manifold (F6) configured to receive the one or more electrical command signals and to generate one or more pilot hydraulic pressure output signals corresponding to the one or more electrical command signals [0151 & 0155 & 0156]; and
a pilot manifold (31) configured to receive the one or more pilot hydraulic pressure output signals from the control valve manifold and direct the one or more pilot hydraulic pressure output signals to one or more of the pilot operated main hydraulic control valves associated with the one or more of the actuators [0052 & 0056 & 0057 & 0065 & 0068 & 0076 & 0116 & 0117 & 0119 & 0121 & 0121 & 0123 & 0125 & 0126 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0134 & 0135 & 0137 & 0138 & 0139 & 0144 & 0157 & 0169 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188 & 0237].
Regarding Claim 2, Ono discloses:
the left joystick controlled operator input assembly is a left joystick controlled hydraulic pilot valve assembly [0055 & 0056 & 0064 & 0074 & 0072 & 0076];
the right joystick controlled operator input assembly is a right joystick controlled hydraulic pilot valve assembly [0055 & 0056 & 0064 & 0074 & 0072 & 0076];
the first input sensor includes a first plurality of hydraulic pressure sensors (29A & 29B) [0055 & 0072 & 0122 0131 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188]; and
the second input sensor includes a second plurality of hydraulic pressure sensors (29C & 29D) [0055 & 0072 & 0122 0131 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188].
Regarding Claim 3, Ono discloses:
the left foot pedal controlled operator input assembly is a left foot pedal controlled hydraulic pilot valve assembly [0055 & 0057 & 0061 & 0072 & 0122 & 0241];
the right foot pedal controlled operator input assembly is a right foot pedal controlled hydraulic pilot valve assembly [0055 & 0057 & 0061 & 0072 & 0122 & 0241];
the third input sensor includes a third plurality of hydraulic pressure sensors [0055 & 0057 & 0061 & 0072 & 0122 & 0241]; and
the fourth input sensor includes a fourth plurality of hydraulic pressure sensors [0055 & 0057 & 0061 & 0072 & 0122 & 0241].
Regarding Claim 4, Ono discloses:
the first input sensor includes a first plurality of joystick position sensors; and the second input sensor includes a second plurality of joystick position sensors [0055 & 0072 & 0122 0131 & 0171 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188].
Regarding Claim 5, Ono discloses:
the automated actuator control program includes a grade control program [0058 & 0147 & 0178 & 0179 & 0180 & 0182 & 0184 & 0185 & 0186 & 0187 & 0188 & 0189 & 0221 & 0227 & 0241].
Regarding Claim 6, Ono discloses:
the grade control program provides command signals configured to control actuation of the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator [0058 & 0147 & 0178 & 0179 & 0180 & 0182 & 0184 & 0185 & 0186 & 0187 & 0188 & 0189 & 0221 & 0227].
Regarding Claim 7, Ono discloses:
the grade control program further provides command signals configured to control actuation of the swivel actuator [0058 & 0062 & 0144 & 0147 & 0178 & 0179 & 0180 & 0182 & 0184 & 0185 & 0186 & 0187 & 0188 & 0189 & 0221 & 0227 & 0237 & 0241].
Regarding Claim 8, Ono discloses:
the grade control program provides command signals configured to control actuation of the track actuators [0058 & 0062 & 0144 & 0147 & 0178 & 0179 & 0180 & 0182 & 0184 & 0185 & 0186 & 0187 & 0188 & 0189 & 0221 & 0227 & 0237 & 0241].
Regarding Claim 10, Ono discloses:
the electronic fence program provides command signals configured to control actuation of the boom actuator, the arm actuator, the bucket actuator, the swivel actuator and the track actuators [0241].
Regarding Claim 13, Ono discloses:
the control valve manifold includes a plurality of electro-hydraulic proportional flow control valves (31AL & 31AR & 31BL & 31BR & 31CL & 31CR) [0052 & 0056 & 0076 & 0116 & 0117 & 0119 & 0120 & 0121 & 0123 & 0125 & 0126 & 0128 & 0129 & 0144 & 0157 & 0169 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188 & 0237]; and
the controller configuration to generate the electrical command signals includes a configuration to first generate a desired trajectory and velocity of a functional component of the work machine, and then generate the electrical command signals to the electro-hydraulic proportional flow control valves associated with one or more of the actuators to achieve the desired trajectory and velocity of the functional component of the work machine [0052 & 0056 & 0076 & 0116 & 0117 & 0119 & 0120 & 0121 & 0123 & 0125 & 0126 & 0128 & 0129 & 0144 & 0157 & 0169 & 0179 & 0181 & 0188 & 0237].
Regarding Claim 14, Ono discloses:
the functional component of the work machine is a bucket tip of the bucket [0004 & 0062 & 0066]; and
the one or more of the actuators includes the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator (Fig. 1A) [0042].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono (US 20210010239 A1) in view of Kurosawa et al. (US 20220002970 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Ono teaches:
the automated actuator control program includes boom control program [0058 & 0147 & 0178 & 0179 & 0180 & 0182 & 0184 & 0185 & 0186 & 0187 & 0188 & 0189 & 0221 & 0227 & 0241].
Ono does not teach:
the boom control program is an intelligent boom control program.
Kurosawa teaches:
An work machine, comprising:
an undercarriage (1) including left and right crawler tracks [0036] driven by left and right hydraulic track drive actuators (1L & 1R), respectively;
a main frame (3 & 10) mounted on the undercarriage (Fig. 1) to be pivotable about a vertical pivot axis (2) relative to the undercarriage [0035 & 0037];
a hydraulic swivel actuator (2A) configured to swivel the main frame on the undercarriage about the vertical pivot axis [0035 & 0037];
an excavator boom assembly (4 & 5 & 6) extending from the main frame, the boom assembly including a boom (4) pivotally connected to the main frame, an arm (5) pivotally connected to the boom, and a bucket (6) pivotally connected to the arm [0035 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041];
a hydraulic boom actuator (7) configured to pivot the boom relative to the main frame [0039];
a hydraulic arm actuator (8) configured to pivot the arm relative to the boom [0039];
a hydraulic bucket actuator (9) configured to pivot the bucket relative to the arm [0039];
a plurality of pilot operated main hydraulic control valves (171 & 172 & 173 & 174 & 175 & 176) one of which is associated with each of the actuators for directing hydraulic operating pressure to the respective actuator [0049];
a first control stick (26a) controlled operator input assembly configured to direct a first machine action in response to forward and reverse motions of the first control stick [0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0058 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063];
a second control stick (26b) controlled operator input assembly configured to direct a second machine action in response to forward and reverse motions of the second control stick [0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0058 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063];
a third control stick (26c) controlled operator input assembly configured to direct a third machine action in response to forward and reverse motions of the right joystick [0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0058 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063];
a fourth control stick controlled operator input assembly configured to direct a fourth machine action in response to left and right motions of the right joystick (Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B) [0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0058 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063];
wherein the first, second, third and fourth machine actions include in any order actuation of the swivel actuator, the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator [0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0058 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063];
a left foot pedal controlled operator input assembly configured to direct the left track drive actuator [0052];
a right foot pedal controlled operator input assembly configured to direct the right track drive actuator [0052];
the first control stick configured to provide a first electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the first control stick [0052 & 0053];
the second control stick configured to provide a first electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the second control stick [0052 & 0053];
the third control stick configured to provide a first electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the third control stick [0052 & 0053];
the fourth control stick configured to provide a first electrical signal corresponding to a direction and distance of movement of the fourth control stick [0052 & 0053];
a controller (30) configured to:
receive the first, second, third and fourth electrical signals [0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0068 & 0086 & 0093 & 0100 & 0105 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0140 & 0141 & 0142 & 0143 & 0144];
detect from the first, second, third and fourth electrical signals an operator’s input directing actuation of one or more of the actuators [0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0068 & 0086 & 0093 & 0100 & 0105 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0140 & 0141 & 0142 & 0143 & 0144]; and
generate one or more electrical command signals corresponding to a limited control actuation of the one or more of the actuators based at least in part on one or more of the first, second, third and fourth electrical signals, and based at least in part on an automated actuator control program configured to limit actuator movement based on preprogrammed control conditions [0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0068 & 0086 & 0093 & 0100 & 0105 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0140 & 0141 & 0142 & 0143 & 0144];
a control valve manifold (54) configured to receive the one or more electrical command signals and to generate one or more pilot hydraulic pressure output signals corresponding to the one or more electrical command signals [0100 & 0105 & 0179 & 0189 & 0190 & 0202 & 0205 & 0242 & 0294 & 0298 & 0310]; and
a pilot manifold (31) configured to receive the one or more pilot hydraulic pressure output signals from the control valve manifold and direct the one or more pilot hydraulic pressure output signals to one or more of the pilot operated main hydraulic control valves associated with the one or more of the actuators [0052 & 0054 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065 & 0079 & 0093 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0137 & 0139 & 0140 & 0141 & 0143 & 0144 & 0145 & 0146 & 0147 & 0148 & 0149 & 0150 & 0152 & 0153 & 0154 & 0155 & 0156 & 0157 & 0158 & 0159 & 0170 & 0179 & 0189 & 0190 & 0197 & 0202 & 0281 & 0287 & 0294 & 0296 & 0298 & 0301 & 0310];
the automated actuator control program includes an intelligent boom control program [0164 & 0165 & 0166 & 0168 & 0169 & 0195 & 0209 & 0212 & 0219 & 0220 & 0248 & 0249 & 0250 & 0251 & 0252 & 0253 & 0284].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction excavator having an undercarriage driven by left and right crawler tracks driven by hydraulic track drive actuators, a superstructure pivotably mounted on the undercarriage and driven to pivot by a hydraulic swivel actuator, the superstructure supporting an excavator boom assembly having a boom driven by a hydraulic boom actuator, an arm connected to the boom driven by a hydraulic arm actuator, a bucket attached to the arm driven by a hydraulic bucket actuator, the actuators driven by a series of hydraulic valves, the hydraulic valves controlled by operator inputs into a left and right joysticks and left and right pedals outputting signals into a controller, the controller having an automated actuator control program that processes the operator input signals into command signals for actuating the valves, the automated actuator control program includes boom control program that generates command signals for actuating the valves taught by Ono with the construction excavator having an undercarriage driven by left and right crawler tracks driven by hydraulic track drive actuators, a superstructure pivotably mounted on the undercarriage and driven to pivot by a hydraulic swivel actuator, the superstructure supporting an excavator boom assembly having a boom driven by a hydraulic boom actuator, an arm connected to the boom driven by a hydraulic arm actuator, a bucket attached to the arm driven by a hydraulic bucket actuator, the actuators driven by a series of hydraulic valves, the hydraulic valves controlled by operator inputs into a first, second, third, and fourth control sticks and left and right pedals outputting signals into a controller, the controller having an automated actuator control program that processes the operator input signals into command signals for actuating the valves, the automated actuator control program includes an intelligent boom control program for actuating the valves taught by Kurosawa in order to provide a means for automatically controlling an excavator that can process changes in the system and general operation and adjust the programming to accommodate those changes in order to prevent errors which could cause flaws in operation or damage to the target area being worked on.
Regarding Claim 12, Ono teaches:
the boom control program provides command signals configured to control actuation of the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator [0058 & 0147 & 0178 & 0179 & 0180 & 0182 & 0184 & 0185 & 0186 & 0187 & 0188 & 0189 & 0221 & 0227 & 0241].
Ono does not teach:
the boom control program is an intelligent boom control program.
Kurosawa teaches:
the intelligent boom control program provides command signals configured to control actuation of the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator [0164 & 0165 & 0166 & 0168 & 0169 & 0195 & 0209 & 0212 & 0219 & 0220 & 0248 & 0249 & 0250 & 0251 & 0252 & 0253 & 0284].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction excavator having an undercarriage driven by left and right crawler tracks driven by hydraulic track drive actuators, a superstructure pivotably mounted on the undercarriage and driven to pivot by a hydraulic swivel actuator, the superstructure supporting an excavator boom assembly having a boom driven by a hydraulic boom actuator, an arm connected to the boom driven by a hydraulic arm actuator, a bucket attached to the arm driven by a hydraulic bucket actuator, the actuators driven by a series of hydraulic valves, the hydraulic valves controlled by operator inputs into a left and right joysticks and left and right pedals outputting signals into a controller, the controller having an automated actuator control program that processes the operator input signals into command signals for actuating the valves, the automated actuator control program includes boom control program that generates command signals for actuating the valves, the boom control program provides command signals configured to control actuation of the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator taught by Ono with the construction excavator having an undercarriage driven by left and right crawler tracks driven by hydraulic track drive actuators, a superstructure pivotably mounted on the undercarriage and driven to pivot by a hydraulic swivel actuator, the superstructure supporting an excavator boom assembly having a boom driven by a hydraulic boom actuator, an arm connected to the boom driven by a hydraulic arm actuator, a bucket attached to the arm driven by a hydraulic bucket actuator, the actuators driven by a series of hydraulic valves, the hydraulic valves controlled by operator inputs into a first, second, third, and fourth control sticks and left and right pedals outputting signals into a controller, the controller having an automated actuator control program that processes the operator input signals into command signals for actuating the valves, the automated actuator control program includes an intelligent boom control program for actuating the valves, the intelligent boom control program provides command signals configured to control actuation of the boom actuator, the arm actuator and the bucket actuator taught by Kurosawa in order to provide a means for automatically controlling an excavator that can process changes in the system and general operation and adjust the programming to accommodate those changes in order to prevent errors which could cause flaws in operation or damage to the target area being worked on.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2025/12/05 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “the automated actuator control program includes an electronic fence program”:
Applicants assertion that the control program of Ono does not include an electronic fence program is not persuasive as the specification of the instant application discloses that regarding a fence program “if the controller 218 determines that the human operator is swinging the boom 114 into forbidden territory the controller 218 may for example limit the permissible swinging movement of the boom 114… Depending on the nature of the electronic fence program and the obstacle or danger detected, the electronic fence program may need to operate any of the boom actuator 116, the arm actuator 122, the bucket actuator 120, the swivel actuator 109 and/or the track actuators 107.” As the claims are silent on the exact nature of the fence program and the specification does not specifically spell out the nature of the forbidden territory it is reasonable to believe that the forbidden territory could be relative to the slope, depth below the surface, or relative to the body of the construction excavator.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652