Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Lillard, Jr et al. (US 2017/0280712).
Lillard, Jr et al. teaches with regards to instant claims 1-3, a nano-formulation for plants (see tittle) comprising nanoparticle of starch (see 0053) and an agricultural agent carbofuran (see 0081), wherein the nanoparticles has a size from 5 to 30 nm (see 0058) having hydrophobic groups (see 0061).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Campea et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. (2021), 31, pgs 1-39)
Campea teaches with regards to instant claim 5 a method of producing nanoparticle (see tittle) of starch (see Table 1) combining an agricultural active agent (see pg. 25, as required by instant claims 5 and 8) comprising functionalized hydrophobic groups (see pg. 4-5 as required by instant claim 6 and 10) where the nanoparticles are applied in a foliar spray (see pg. 25, as required by instant claim 9) having a size less than 20 nm (see pg. 5, as required by instant claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lillard, Jr et al. (US (2017/0280712) in view of Sun et al. (CN 104211819)
Lillard is applied here as above.
However fails to teach the starch is grafted with octenyl succinic acid.
Sun teaches a method of preparing starch nanoparticles (see tittle) wherein the starch comprises hydrophobic group and that the starch nanoparticle is modified by octenyl succinic anhydride.
It would have been obvious to use octenyl succinic acid to graft the hydrophobic functional groups on the nano starch particles with a reasonable expectation of success because Sun makes it obvious to do so.
Claim(s) 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campea et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. (2021), 31, pgs 1-39) in view of Sun et al. (CN 104211819).
Campea teaches with regards to instant claim 5 a method of producing nanoparticle (see tittle) of starch (see Table 1) combining an agricultural active agent (see pg. 25, as required by instant claims 5 and 8) comprising functionalized hydrophobic groups (see pg. 4-5 as required by instant claim 6 and 10) where the nanoparticles are applied in a foliar spray (see pg. 25, as required by instant claim 9) having a size less than 20 nm (see pg. 5, as required by instant claim 11).
However, Campea fails to teach reacting the starch with octenyl succinic acid as required by instant claim 7.
Sun teaches a method of preparing starch nanoparticles (see tittle) wherein the starch comprises hydrophobic group and that the starch nanoparticle is modified by octenyl succinic anhydride.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the hydrophobic functional groups with octenyl succinic acid with a reasonable expectation of success because the art recognizes octenyl succinic acid as viscosity is increased (as taught by Sun). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used octenyl succinic acid to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 11/3/25