Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
FIG. 11, element 70.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 7 recites “a third cover installed on an side end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected for being indefinite as it recites the limitation “at least one of the side surfaces of the coil base material” in lines 7-8. The limitation “the side surfaces” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is ambiguous whether the feature is interpreted as:
At least of the side surfaces that features the horizontal slits
The side surfaces that features the inclined slit
A combination of sides including sides featuring the horizontal or inclined slits
As such, it is not clear how the claimed limitation is intended to be interpreted. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been examined, as best understood, to encompass any of the three potential reasonable interpretations noted above. For the same reason, claim 11 which recites the limitation “at least one of the side surfaces”, and all dependent claims 2-10 & 12-13 therefor are rejected as well by virtue of its dependency and recitation of the limiting language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (K.R. Patent Application Publication 20190038418 A) hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (Title: Manufacturing Method of Coil Unit) a maximum slot occupation (MSO) coil processing apparatus comprising:
a jig (fixing jig 100, p. 3, ll. 28) on which a coil base material (coil block 10, p. 2, ll. 37) is seated, wherein the coil base material has an opening (hollow portion 14, p. 4, ll. 27) formed in a central portion of the coil base material in a vertical direction (FIG. 10 depicts the vertical hollow portion 14 centered in the coil block 10) and is to be processed;
a multi-cutter (processing machine 400, p. 7, ll. 6) in which a plurality of blades are stacked (plurality of processing tools 410, p. 7, ll. 7) to form horizontal slits (plane slit 13, p. 7, ll. 1) and inclined slits (slope slit 12, p. 6, ll. 41) on side surfaces of the coil base material seated on the jig (FIG. 17 depicts the slits made by processing machine 400); and
a cutting tool (processing machine 400) which processes at least one of the side surfaces of the coil base material to connect the horizontal slits and the inclined slits (connection slit 12a, p. 7, ll. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the multi-cutter includes:
a first multi-cutter (processing machine 400) in which a plurality of blades (plurality of processing tools 410) configured to form the horizontal slits (plane slit 13) in the side surfaces of the coil base material are stacked (as depicted in FIG. 17); and
a second multi-cutter (processing machine 400) in which a plurality of blades (plurality of processing tools 410) configured to form the inclined slits (slope slit 12) in the side surface of the coil base material are stacked (as depicted in FIG. 16).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 8, as detailed above, wherein:
the plurality of blades configured to form the horizontal slits include eight blades (plurality of processing tools 410) which are formed to be stacked in the first multi-cutter (p. 7, ll. 7-8, “The plurality of processing tools 410 are spaced from each other by a predetermined distance, and can process each slit”; FIG. 17 depicts the stacked configuration of blades); and
the plurality of blades configured to form the inclined slits include three blades (plurality of processing tools 410) which are formed to be stacked in the second multi-cutter (p. 7, ll. 7-8, “The plurality of processing tools 410 are spaced from each other by a predetermined distance, and can process each slit”; FIG. 16 depicts the stacked configuration of blades).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the opening formed to have a quadrangular cross section (FIG. 10 depicts a quadrangular cross section) through a drawing or extrusion process (p. 6, ll. 11-12, “the inner hollow portion 14 is formed together in the process of forming the coil block 10, and in this embodiment, the block forming step includes a step of forming a hollow H inward”; p. 9, ll. 6-7, “12 is a view showing a state in which a base material is drawn out”).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses (Title: Manufacturing Method of Coil Unit) a maximum slot occupation (MSO) coil processing method comprising:
forming an opening (hollow portion 14, p. 4, ll. 27) having a quadrangular cross section in a central portion of a coil base material (coil block 10, p. 2, ll. 37) in a vertical direction (FIG. 10 depicts the vertical, quadrangular hollow portion 14 centered in the coil block 10);
forming a horizontal slit (plane slit 13, p. 7, ll. 1; and connection slits 12a, p. 7, ll. 2) in three side surfaces among side surfaces of the coil base material (FIGS. 5-6 depict forming of plane and connection slit on side surfaces; FIG. 10 depicts the result) using a multi-cutter (processing machine 400, p. 7, ll. 6) in which a plurality of blades are stacked (plurality of processing tools 410, p. 7, ll. 7);
forming an inclined slit (slope slit 12, p. 6, ll. 41) in a remaining side surface of the side surfaces of the coil base material using the multi-cutter in which the plurality of blades are stacked (FIGS. 3-4 depict forming of sloped slit 12 on one side surface); and
processing at least one of the side surfaces of the coil base material to connect the horizontal slit and the inclined slit (p. 4, ll. 21-23, “the plane slit 13 can be formed over the entire width of the second side surface A .sub.2 , and by adjusting the processing depth, the slope slit 12 of the first side surface A .sub.1 is formed So that both ends of the slope slit 12 and both ends of the plane slit 13 can be connected to each other”).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the method of claim 11, as detailed above, wherein the multi-cutter moves along one path to form the horizontal slit and the inclined slit (FIGS. 16-18 depict arrow path the processing machine 400 follows to create slits).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as detailed above, further discloses the jig (fixing jig 100) including:
a first jig (second fixing groove 102, p. 3, ll. 31) configured to form the horizontal slits (plane slits 13), on which the coil base material is seated;
a second jig (first fixing groove 101, p. 3, ll. 31) configured to form the inclined slits (slope slits 12), on which the coil base material is seated; and
a third jig (third fixing groove 103, p. 31, ll. 3)
However, Lee fails to disclose the third jig configured to connect the horizontal slits and inclined slits on which the coil base material is seated.
Though Lee fails to disclose a separate jig/groove dedicated for the formation of connecting slits, Lee does detail that the second fixing groove 102 can also form the connecting slit (p. 4, ll. 212-23, “At this time, the plane slit 13 can be formed over the entire width of the second side surface A .sub.2 , and by adjusting the processing depth, the slope slit 12 of the first side surface A .sub.1 is formed So that both ends of the slope slit 12 and both ends of the plane slit 13 can be connected to each other”).
Lee teaches separately performing the sloped slit in a first groove and plane slits with connecting slits in a second groove. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to similarly separate the plane and connecting slits into their own grooves, as Lee has done separating the sloped and plane slits in their own respective grooves. Furthermore, Lee discloses (p. 4, ll. 21-23) that during the formation of the plane slits, adjustments can be made to the processing depth to reach the sloped slits, forming the connecting slits. In view of this depth adjustment requirement, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to provide separate jigs and a separate processing machine for forming the plane and connecting slits, allowing for machining operations to have independent positioning and control according to their respective processing requirements as well as prevent possible contact between the jig and processing machine, extending the lifetime of both elements.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, and in further view of Park (K.R. Patent Publication 102414606 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as detailed above.
However, Lee fails to disclose the first jig including a first base plate, a first fixing plate, and a first cover.
Park discloses (Title: Spiral Cutting Equipment for MSO Coil) a maximum slot occupation coil processing apparatus (spiral processing apparatus) comprising a jig (fixing part 200, p. 4, ll. 8) that includes:
a first base plate (annotated FIG. 11 above depicts the base plate);
a first fixing plate (fixed chuck 210, p. 4, ll. 8) installed on an upper surface of the first base plate the coil base material (coil base material 100, p. 4, ll. 8) fixed to an upper surface of the first fixing plate (as depicted in FIG. 11); and
a first cover (auxiliary chuck 280, p. 4, ll. 15) installed on an upper end of the first fixing plate to pass through the opening to fix the coil base material to the upper surface of the first fixing plate (as depicted in FIG. 11) (p. 4, ll. 13-15, “the fixed chuck 210 is inserted into the hollow part 110 of the coil base material 100 to fix the coil base material 100”; auxiliary chuck 280 is depicted to also insert into the opening).
Lee discloses an apparatus and method for processing a coil, comprising of a jig and plurality of blades stacked to form horizontal, sloped, and connecting slits across a coil base material, using a second groove to hold the base material. Park also discloses of an MSO coil processing apparatus that also comprises of a first base, first fixing plate, and first cover configured to pass through an opening to fix the coil base material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the base, fixing plate, and cover used for fixing a coil base material from Park’s disclosure and apply it to the method and apparatus of Lee’s as it would provide for a more stable fixing of the base material from both ends in the vertical direction (Park, p. 4, ll. 8-15). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA as it would provide a rotating means to the base and auxiliary chuck, allowing the processing/cutting machine to operate on non-accessible surfaces of the body due to limitations such as machine interference and small operable spaces.
Regarding claim 4, Lee, in view of Park, further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as detailed above, and Park further discloses the second jig including:
a second base plate (annotated FIG. 11 above depicts the base plate);
a second fixing plate (fixed chuck 210) installed on an upper surface of the second base plate to be inclined the coil base material (coil base material 100) fixed to an upper surface of the second fixing plate (as depicted in FIG. 11); and
a second cover (auxiliary chuck 280) installed on an upper end of the second fixing plate to pass through the opening to fix the coil base material to the upper surface of the second fixing plate.
However, both Lee and Park fail to disclose a support plate installed on both sides of the second fixing plate and including support legs extending between and supporting the horizontal slits.
Lee further teaches another embodiment wherein a jig (fixing devices 500, p. 7, ll. 42) comprises of a support plate (fixing part 510, p. 8, ll. 2) installed on both sides of the second fixing plate and including support legs (fixing grooves 512, p. 8, ll. 2) extending between and supporting the horizontal slits (p. 8, ll. 2-3, “plurality of fixing grooves 512 for fixing the respective coil layers L of the coil block 10 in the vertical direction”).
Lee, in view of Park, discloses a jig that includes a base plate, a fixing late, and a cover installed to secure the coil base material during processing of the plane, sloped, and connecting slits. Lee discloses of another embodiment wherein the jig comprises of support plates that have legs that extend between the horizontal slits. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the fixing device 500 as a support plate installed on both sides of the coil base material to assist in the formation of the sloped slits to provide greater support to each individual layer of coil in the vertical direction as the fixing device 500 features fixing grooves 512. More specifically, while still having the side surface exposed [location of sloped slits, as depicted in FIG. 19], having plates that provides support to each layer of the coil during the formation of the sloped slits would prevent layer deformation and vibration of the coil, resulting in accurate cutting results made by the processing machine 400. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA as supporting each coil layer would allow for evenly distributed cutting forces across the entire body, composing coil integrity during processing.
(Also refer to the rejection of claim 3, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 4 in the manner of using a base plate, fixing plate, and cover installed to pass through an opening to fix the coil base material during processing).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, in view of Park, teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as detailed above, and Park further discloses the third jig including:
a third base plate (annotated FIG. 11 above depicts the base plate);
a third fixing plate (fixed chuck 210) installed on a side surface of the third base plate to stand upright, the coil base material (coil base material 100) fixed to one surface of the third fixing plate (as depicted in FIG. 11);
Lee further discloses in another disclose support plates (fixing part 510) installed on both sides of the third fixing plate and including support legs (fixing grooves 512) extending between and supporting the horizontal slits (as depicted in FIG. 19); and
a third cover (auxiliary chuck 280) installed on an side end of the third fixing plate to pass through the opening to fix the coil base material to the one surface of the third fixing plate in a direction perpendicular to the vertical direction.
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claims 3 & 4, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 5 in the manner of a base plate, fixing plate, and cover plate to fix the coil base material during processing; and providing support plates with legs to provide support to each individual coil layer).
Claims 6-7 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, and in view of Park, and further view of Ishimori et al (J.P. Patent Application Publication 2020027840 A) hereinafter Ishimori.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, in view of Park, teaches the apparatus of claim 4, as detailed above.
However, both Lee and Park fail to further disclose a plurality of support blocks including the support legs are detachably installed in the support plate.
Ishimori discloses (Title: Reactor) wherein a plurality of support blocks (plurality of insulating spacers 13, p. 2, l. 14; and/or second member 132, p. 3, l. 8) including the support legs (first members 131, p. 3, l. 7) are detachably installed in the support plate (holding member 10, p. 2, l. 15; and/or rod-shaped support member 15, p. 2, l. 18) to hold a coil (coils 11, p. 2, l. 13).
Lee, in view of Park, discloses a second jig comprising of the second base plate, second fixing plate, a second cover, and a support plate that is used to support the coil layers during processing of the sloped slits. Ishimori discloses of a structure that has a holding and supporting member that contain a plurality of insulating spacers, each insulating spacer comprised of a first and second member to hold and space apart each of the coil layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the support plate and support legs from Lee IVO Park’s disclosure and divide it into the supporting structure, as disclosed by Ishimori, to suppress the position of the coil from being shifted due to vibrations (Ishimori, p. 3 , ll. 4-42). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA using the insulating spacers from Ishimori’s disclosure allows an operator to alter the amount of space provided between each of the layers of coil by replacing the second member 132 element for a smaller or longer element in the X-axis (depicted in FIG. 3), allowing for a variety of coil dimensions to be manufactured.
Regarding claim 7, Lee, in view of Park and Ishimori, teaches the apparatus of claim 6, as detailed above, and Ishimori further discloses stepped parts (first and second members 131 & 132, respectively) formed in rear ends of the support blocks to mutually couple the support blocks (col. 3, ll. 9-12, “One end of the first member 131 in the longitudinal direction is located inside the wound coil 11, and the other end is located outside the wound coil 11. The second member 132 has a longitudinal end of one of the first members 131 of the pair of first members 131, and a longitudinal end of the other first member 131 facing the end in the direction of the central axis AX”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 6, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 7 in the manner of using a tongue projection and groove formed on the edges of a support block to lock the legs in proper positions to hold the coil).
Regarding claim 13, Lee, in view of Park and Ishimori, teaches the apparatus of claim 5, as detailed above, and Ishimori further discloses a plurality of support blocks (plurality of insulating spacers 13, p. 2, l. 14; and/or second member 132, p. 3, l. 8) including the support legs (first members 131, p. 3, l. 7) are detachably installed in the support plate (holding member 10, p. 2, l. 15; and/or rod-shaped support member 15, p. 2, l. 18).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 6, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 13 in the manner of using a tongue projection and groove formed on the edges of a support block to lock the legs in proper positions to hold the coil).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729