DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in lines 7 and 12, “the headset” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the VR headset”;
in line 8, “the right display” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the right visible light display”; and
in line 9, “the left display” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the left visible light display”.
Appropriate correction is required.
3. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in lines 7 and 11, “the headset” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the VR headset”;
in line 8, “the right display” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the right visible light display”; and
in line 9, “the left display” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the left visible light display”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
6. Claims 1-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger, U.S. Patent No. 11,490,809 B2 (“Krueger”).
As to Claim 1, Krueger teaches the following:
A virtual reality, VR, headset-based system (see “FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B show an augmented and/or virtual reality (VR) goggles embodiment of a head-worn device for measuring human ocular parameters.” in col. 35, ll. 61-63), the system comprising:
a VR headset (“head-worn augmented, or VR device”) 500 (see “FIG. 10A shows the head-worn augmented, or VR device 500, attached to a person's head 98, …” in col. 35, ll. 63-65, and figs. 10A, 10B, and 10C) comprising
a left visible light display (“left virtual reality display”) 506 (see “In the AR/VR-device of FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B, shown at 500, the left virtual reality display, shown at 506 …” in col. 35, ll. 1-2);
a left compartment (“left eye lens”) 522 to fit over a left eye of a user (see “In order for the person's eyes to be able to focus on the displays (506 and 507), there are typically two lenses 522 (left eye lens) and 523 (right eye lens) between the person's eyes and the displays, 506 and 507, when the VR device 500, is worn normally by the person.” in col. 36, ll. 11-16);
a right visible light display (“left virtual reality display”) 507 (see “In the AR/VR-device of FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B, shown at 500, the left virtual reality display, shown at 506 and right virtual reality display 507, …” in col. 35, ll. 1-3);
a right compartment (“right eye lens”) 523 to fit over a right eye of the user, wherein the left and right compartments are configured so that when the [VR] headset 500 has been fitted over the user's eyes i) the user cannot see the right display 507 using only their left eye and ii) the user cannot see the left display 506 using only their right eye (see “In order for the person's eyes to be able to focus on the displays (506 and 507), there are typically two lenses 522 (left eye lens) and 523 (right eye lens) between the person's eyes and the displays, 506 and 507, when the VR device 500, is worn normally by the person.” in col. 36, ll. 11-16), and
a non-visible light-based eye tracking subsystem (“eye tracking video camera(s)”) 406 that produces tracking data for the left eye or for the right eye (see “… eye tracking video camera(s) 406 (of which there can be one for the left eye and one for the right eye) …” in col. 36, ll. 9-11); and
a processor (“electronic module”) 410 configured to, when the [VR] headset 500 has been fitted over the user's eyes (see “In the AR/VR-device of FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B, shown at 500, the left virtual reality display, shown at 506 and right virtual reality display 507, are opaque and the person is typically completely immersed in the scene being displayed. Other than the difference in displays, the VR goggles embodiment in FIG. 10B, can have many of the same elements and configurations that were described with respect to FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, including but not limited to the head orientation sensor 404, the eye tracking video camera(s) 406 (of which there can be one for the left eye and one for the right eye), and the electronic module 410.” in col. 36, ll. 1-11),
i) signal the left or right visible light display to display a fixation target (“target visual element of interest”, not labeled) (see “The display also presents a target visual element of interest that can be similar the projected white circular dot of the prior art clinical test or it can be visually enhanced for better image or target eye fixation. The target visual element of interest then behaves in the following way: 1. The target visual element is initially displayed centrally 610.” in col. 39, ll. 51-59), and then a stimulus target (“target visual element of interest” is “displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center”) simultaneously with the fixation target (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center. 3. It is then displayed off center on the opposite (or second) side of the display center as the previous image to the first side is dimmed, as shown at 614.” in col. 39, ll. 60-66),
ii) determine a stimulus angle of a stimulus vector that points from the fixation target to the stimulus target (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center.” in col. 39, ll. 60-63),
iii) use the tracking data from the eye tracking subsystem to record a tracked position of the right eye or a tracked position of the left eye as the right eye or the left eye moves when the stimulus target appears in i) (see “FIG. 24 shows the relationship between target movement, eye position 1601, eye velocity 1603, and eye acceleration for smooth pursuit. The time when the target is moved is identified as t=0 ms. The eye position 1601, and eye velocity 1603, can then be tracked as a function of time. Latency 1609, is the delay from the time the target moves to the time the eye starts to move. Then the eye velocity 1603, will first accelerate 1605, and decelerate 1607, until the eye velocity 1603, matches the target velocity.” in col. 46, ll. 61-67),
iv) interpret the tracked position of the right eye or the left eye to determine a response angle of a response vector that points in a direction in which the right eye or the left eye has moved (see “Eye movement information from the eye tracker can be typically divided into fixations and saccades, when the eye gaze pauses in a certain position, and when it moves to another position, respectively. The resulting series of fixations and saccades can be called a called a scan path. Most information from the eye can be made available during a fixation, but not during a saccade. The central one or two degrees of the visual angle (the fovea) can provide the bulk of visual information; the input from larger eccentricities (the periphery) is typically less informative and analysis algorithms can be structured accordingly. Hence, the locations of fixations along a scan path show what information loci on the stimulus are processed during an eye tracking session.” in col. 60, l. 60, to col. 61, l. 6), and
v) record an indication as to whether the user has seen the stimulus target, based on a comparison between the stimulus angle and the response angle (see “Scan paths are useful for analyzing cognitive intent, interest, and salience. Other biological factors (some as simple as gender) may affect the scan path as well. As a participant looks at a page on the internet, the eye-tracking device can focus on the pupil of the user's eye and determine the direction and concentration of the gaze. Heat maps represent where the user concentrated their gaze and how long they gazed at a given point. Generally, a color scale moving from blue to red indicates the duration of focus. Saccade pathways trace the eye's movement between areas of focus.” in col. 61, ll. 7-17; and see “Beyond the analysis of visual attention, eye data can be examined to measure fatigue, the cognitive state and workload of a person. Some techniques have been validated in multiple contexts as a reliable indicator of mental effort. Driving a car, reading a magazine, surfing the internet, searching the aisles of a grocery store, playing a video game, watching a movie or looking at pictures on your mobile device are such applications of eye tracking. With very few exceptions, anything with a visual component can be eye tracked.” in col. 61, ll. 25-34).
As to Claim 2, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the stimulus angle is predetermined in a laboratory or factory (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center.” in col. 39, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 3, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the stimulus angle is computed by the processor 410 online (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center.” in col. 39, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 4, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor 410 computes the stimulus vector and then determines the stimulus angle by processing the stimulus vector (see “Angular velocity is defined as speed of a physical object that is moving along a circular path. The angular velocity of an object is the object's angular displacement with respect to time. Angular velocity is the rate of change of the position angle of an object with respect to time, so w=theta/t, where w=angular velocity, theta=position angle, and t=time. Angular velocity, also called rotational velocity, is a quantitative expression of the amount of rotation that a spinning object undergoes per unit time. It is a vector quantity, consisting of an angular speed component and either of two defined directions or senses.” in col. 8, ll. 3-14).
As to Claim 5, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor 410 computes the response vector and then determines the response angle by processing the response vector (see “Eye tracking refers to the process of measuring where we look, also known as point of gaze. A light source, such as near-infrared light, is directed towards the center of the eyes (pupil), causing detectable reflections in both the pupil and the cornea (the outer-most optical element of the eye). These resulting reflections, the vector between the cornea and the pupil, are tracked by an infrared camera. This is the optical tracking of corneal reflections, known as pupil center corneal reflection. These measurements are carried out by an eye tracker, a sensor or sensing unit that records the position of the eyes and the movements they make.” in col. 9, ll. 39-49).
As to Claim 6, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor 410 repeats i) - v) a plurality of times each time with the stimulus target at a different location, to cover an entire field of view of the user for purposes of completing a visual field test on the left eye or the eye of the user (see “The target visual element of interest then behaves in the following way: 1. The target visual element is initially displayed centrally 610. 2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center. 3. It is then displayed off center on the opposite (or second) side of the display center as the previous image to the first side is dimmed, as shown at 614. This is also typically about 20-25 degrees off center. 4. This process of dimming or removing the target visual element of interest on one side and displaying it on the opposite side is repeated as many times as needed, as shown at 616. 5. This test can be conducted in the vertical, as well as the horizontal direction.” in col. 39, l. 55, to col. 40, l. 6).
As to Claim 7, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor 410 completes the visual field test on the user without receiving manual or verbal input from the user on whether the user has seen the stimulus target each time (see col. 39, l. 27, to col. 40, l. 6).
As to Claim 8, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein each time the processor 410 performs i) -v), the fixation target remains stationary (see col. 39, l. 27, to col. 40, l. 6).
As to Claim 9, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein each time the processor performs i) - v), a location of the fixation target changes (see col. 39, l. 27, to col. 40, l. 6).
As to Claim 10, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein each time the processor 410 performs i) - v), the location of the fixation target changes to that of the stimulus target when the last time the processor performed i) - v) (see col. 39, l. 27, to col. 40, l. 6).
As to Claim 14, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor completes the visual field test on the user without receiving manual input from the user on whether the user has seen stimulus target at each of the plurality of distinct locations (see col. 39, l. 27, to col. 40, l. 6).
As to Claim 15, Krueger teaches the following:
A virtual reality, VR, headset-based system (see “FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B show an augmented and/or virtual reality (VR) goggles embodiment of a head-worn device for measuring human ocular parameters.” in col. 35, ll. 61-63), the system comprising:
a VR headset (“head-worn augmented, or VR device”) 500 (see “FIG. 10A shows the head-worn augmented, or VR device 500, attached to a person's head 98, …” in col. 35, ll. 63-65, and figs. 10A, 10B, and 10C) comprising
a left visible light display (“left virtual reality display”) 506 (see “In the AR/VR-device of FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B, shown at 500, the left virtual reality display, shown at 506 …” in col. 35, ll. 1-2);
a left compartment (“left eye lens”) 522 to fit over a left eye of a user (see “In order for the person's eyes to be able to focus on the displays (506 and 507), there are typically two lenses 522 (left eye lens) and 523 (right eye lens) between the person's eyes and the displays, 506 and 507, when the VR device 500, is worn normally by the person.” in col. 36, ll. 11-16);
a right visible light display (“left virtual reality display”) 507 (see “In the AR/VR-device of FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B, shown at 500, the left virtual reality display, shown at 506 and right virtual reality display 507, …” in col. 35, ll. 1-3);
a right compartment (“right eye lens”) 523 to fit over a right eye of the user, wherein the left and right compartments are configured so that when the [VR] headset 500 has been fitted over the user's eyes i) the user cannot see the right display 507 using only their left eye and ii) the user cannot see the left display 506 using only their right eye (see “In order for the person's eyes to be able to focus on the displays (506 and 507), there are typically two lenses 522 (left eye lens) and 523 (right eye lens) between the person's eyes and the displays, 506 and 507, when the VR device 500, is worn normally by the person.” in col. 36, ll. 11-16), and
a head tracking subsystem (“head orientation sensor”) 404 that produces tracking data (see “… the VR goggles embodiment in FIG. 10B, can have many of the same elements and configurations that were described with respect to FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, including but not limited to the head orientation sensor 404, …” in col. 36, ll. 5-9; and see “Head tracking can be performed by using an inertial measurement unit (also called an IMU or ‘tracker’). An IMU is an electronic device that measures one or more DOF (such as position, velocity, orientation, and/or gravitational force, as was described previously in this disclosure) by using one or more sensors. … The head tracking inertial system can be mounted to the face shield in numerous configurations. Examples include: within the face shield material or display elements, attached to the face shield and configured to communicate with the face shield electronically or wirelessly.” in col. 62, ll. 5-36); and
a processor (“electronic module”) 410 configured to, when the [VR] headset 500 has been fitted over the user's eyes (see “In the AR/VR-device of FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B, shown at 500, the left virtual reality display, shown at 506 and right virtual reality display 507, are opaque and the person is typically completely immersed in the scene being displayed. Other than the difference in displays, the VR goggles embodiment in FIG. 10B, can have many of the same elements and configurations that were described with respect to FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, including but not limited to the head orientation sensor 404, the eye tracking video camera(s) 406 (of which there can be one for the left eye and one for the right eye), and the electronic module 410.” in col. 36, ll. 1-11),
i) signal the left or right visible light display to display a fixation target (“target visual element of interest”, not labeled) (see “The display also presents a target visual element of interest that can be similar the projected white circular dot of the prior art clinical test or it can be visually enhanced for better image or target eye fixation. The target visual element of interest then behaves in the following way: 1. The target visual element is initially displayed centrally 610.” in col. 39, ll. 51-59), and then a stimulus target (“target visual element of interest” is “displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center”) simultaneously with the fixation target (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center. 3. It is then displayed off center on the opposite (or second) side of the display center as the previous image to the first side is dimmed, as shown at 614.” in col. 39, ll. 60-66),
ii) determine a stimulus angle of a stimulus vector that points from the fixation target to the stimulus target (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center.” in col. 39, ll. 60-63),
iii) use the tracking data from the head tracking subsystem to record a tracked position or tracked orientation of a head of the user when the stimulus target appears in i) (see “By converting the observed natural yaw of the head as a function of time using a Fourier transform, one can generate a graph showing the amplitude of the input signal that the eyes would need to compensate for in order to follow a stationary image or visual element. By converting the sensed horizontal movement of the eyes at this same time using a Fourier transform, one can generate a second graph showing the amplitude of the eye signal that compensates for the head movement. By comparing these two graphs mathematically, it is possible to determine gain at various frequencies directly from the natural head yaw movement. Similar mathematical calculations can be made to determine phase. The same method can be used to determine gain and phase in other dimensions such as pitch of the head versus the sensed vertical movement of the eyes, etc. Discrete Fourier transform calculations of this type can be performed by a microprocessor that receives the time-varying orientation signals from a head orientation sensor and the time-varying signals from an eye orientation sensor using mathematical calculations capable of being understood by anyone skilled in the art.” in col. 63, ll. 32-52),
iv) interpret the tracked position or tracked orientation of the head to determine a response angle of a response vector that points in a direction in which the head has moved (see “A Fourier transform can be used to convert the relationship between an input (such as head motion) and an output (such as eye movement) in the time domain to a relationship in the frequency domain. By doing this, VOP can be measured for natural motion in a non-clinical environment. As described previously, one of the traditional ways of measuring VOR has been to oscillate a subject's head at a fixed frequency and then to measure how quickly the eyes respond. For this kind of testing, a frequency of 0.5 Hertz would correspond to one cycle every 2 seconds. A cycle corresponds to the combination of one movement to the right and one movement to the left. These movements are typically in the form of a sine wave. The gain at this frequency would be the amount of compensation that the eyes make to the movement of the head. A gain of −1 (also often written as a gain of 1) is perfect because the eyes have rotated exactly the same angle as the head, but in the opposite direction. A gain of −0.75 (often written as 0.75) means that the eyes only compensated for 75% of the head rotation. The phase or phase lag describes how much later the eyes moved than the head. A phase or phase lag of 0 would mean the eyes followed exactly. A phase or phase lag of 45 degrees at a frequency of 0.5 Hertz means that the eyes were delayed by ⅛.sup.th of 2 seconds (or 250 milliseconds) because 45 degrees corresponds to ⅛.sup.th of a full 360-degree cycle. To determine gain and phase at a variety of frequencies using the traditional approach of oscillating the head in a clinical environment one would repeat the above test at a variety of frequencies and record the results.” in col. 62, l. 55, to col. 63, l. 16), and
v) record an indication as to whether the user has seen the stimulus target, based on a comparison between the stimulus angle and the response angle (see “Scan paths are useful for analyzing cognitive intent, interest, and salience. Other biological factors (some as simple as gender) may affect the scan path as well. As a participant looks at a page on the internet, the eye-tracking device can focus on the pupil of the user's eye and determine the direction and concentration of the gaze. Heat maps represent where the user concentrated their gaze and how long they gazed at a given point. Generally, a color scale moving from blue to red indicates the duration of focus. Saccade pathways trace the eye's movement between areas of focus.” in col. 61, ll. 7-17; and see “Beyond the analysis of visual attention, eye data can be examined to measure fatigue, the cognitive state and workload of a person. Some techniques have been validated in multiple contexts as a reliable indicator of mental effort. Driving a car, reading a magazine, surfing the internet, searching the aisles of a grocery store, playing a video game, watching a movie or looking at pictures on your mobile device are such applications of eye tracking. With very few exceptions, anything with a visual component can be eye tracked.” in col. 61, ll. 25-34).
As to Claim 16, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the stimulus angle is predetermined in a laboratory or factory (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center.” in col. 39, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 17, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the stimulus angle is computed by the processor 410 online (see “2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center.” in col. 39, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 18, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor computes the stimulus vector and then determines the stimulus angle by processing the stimulus vector (see “Angular velocity is defined as speed of a physical object that is moving along a circular path. The angular velocity of an object is the object's angular displacement with respect to time. Angular velocity is the rate of change of the position angle of an object with respect to time, so w=theta/t, where w=angular velocity, theta=position angle, and t=time. Angular velocity, also called rotational velocity, is a quantitative expression of the amount of rotation that a spinning object undergoes per unit time. It is a vector quantity, consisting of an angular speed component and either of two defined directions or senses.” in col. 8, ll. 3-14).
As to Claim 19, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor 410 computes the response vector and then determines the response angle by processing the response vector (see “Eye tracking refers to the process of measuring where we look, also known as point of gaze. A light source, such as near-infrared light, is directed towards the center of the eyes (pupil), causing detectable reflections in both the pupil and the cornea (the outer-most optical element of the eye). These resulting reflections, the vector between the cornea and the pupil, are tracked by an infrared camera. This is the optical tracking of corneal reflections, known as pupil center corneal reflection. These measurements are carried out by an eye tracker, a sensor or sensing unit that records the position of the eyes and the movements they make.” in col. 9, ll. 39-49).
As to Claim 20, Krueger teaches the following:
wherein the processor repeats i) - v) a plurality of times each time with the stimulus target at a different location, to cover an entire field of view of the user for purposes of completing a visual field test on the left eye or the eye of the user (see “The target visual element of interest then behaves in the following way: 1. The target visual element is initially displayed centrally 610. 2. It is then displayed off center on a first side (left or right) of the display center as the central image is dimmed, as shown at 612. This is typically about 20-25 degrees off center. 3. It is then displayed off center on the opposite (or second) side of the display center as the previous image to the first side is dimmed, as shown at 614. This is also typically about 20-25 degrees off center. 4. This process of dimming or removing the target visual element of interest on one side and displaying it on the opposite side is repeated as many times as needed, as shown at 616. 5. This test can be conducted in the vertical, as well as the horizontal direction.” in col. 39, l. 55, to col. 40, l. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 11, neither Krueger nor the prior art of record teaches the system of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations of the base claim:
wherein the indication is that the user has seen the stimulus target and is based on the processor computing a difference between the stimulus angle and the response angle which is less than a threshold.
As to Claim 12, neither Krueger nor the prior art of record teaches the system of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations of the base claim:
wherein the processor determines the stimulus vector as defined by the stimulus angle and by a stimulus magnitude, and determines the response vector as defined by the response angle and a response magnitude, and the indication as to whether the user has seen the stimulus target is further based on the processor determining whether the response magnitude is i) greater than a noise threshold and ii) within a range of the stimulus magnitude.
As to Claim 13, neither Krueger nor the prior art of record teaches the system of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations of the base claim:
wherein the processor determines the stimulus vector as defined by the stimulus angle and by a stimulus magnitude and determines the response vector as defined by the response angle and a response magnitude, and the indication as to whether the user has seen the stimulus target is further based on the processor comparing the response magnitude with the stimulus magnitude.
Conclusion
/NAVIN NATNITHITHADHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 02/27/2026