DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 9, the claim refers to “the end effector” which has not been previously defined.
As per claim 14, the claim refers to “the optical sensor” which has not been previously defined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 5, the claims refers to “the second surface contour” which has not been previously defined. The claim is rendered indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim should be dependent on claim 2 instead.
As per claim 8, the claim is dependent upon claim 1 but refers to the second toolpath and the second processing cycle which has not been previously defined. This renders the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted to be dependent on claim 2 in which the second toolpath and the second processing cycle is defined.
As per claims 11-12, 15, and 17-19, the claims refer to either “the second toolpath” or “the second processing cycle” which have not been previously defined. This renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear whether the claim should be depend on claim 10 instead since they are numbered after claim 10. For the purposes of examination they will be interpreted to be dependent on claim 10. Claim 13 is also rejected for being dependent upon claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney (US 2012/0220194) in view of Crampton (US 2005/0166413) in view of Zhao (US 2021/0220993).
As per claim 1, Maloney teaches a method comprising:
accessing a target model representing a workpiece (see at least para. 34-36 for CAD model for the part);
generating a toolpath (see at least para. 40 for generating path for surface finishing of a workpiece);
during a processing cycle:
accessing a first sequence of force values output by a force sensor coupled to an abrasive head (see at least para. 42 and 67 for using force sensor to measure actual contact force between robotic surface finishing tool and surface of the work piece);
navigating the abrasive head across the first surface contour on the workpiece according to the first toolpath to remove material from the first surface contour and to reduce the first difference (see at least para. 47 and 53-55 for controlling a sanding/polishing tool using a motion path); and
based on the first sequence of force values, deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force (see at least para. 42 for adjusting position of the robot to follow a target contact force profile).
Maloney is silent regarding, but Crampton teaches:
navigating a probe into contact with the workpiece at a set of probe locations on the workpiece (see at least para. 426 for measurement is carried out by contact probe; see at least para. 439 for measuring surface of object);
detecting a first set of positions of the probe in contact with the workpiece at the set of probe locations (see at least para. 439 for measuring surface of object);
interpreting a first surface contour of the workpiece based on the first set of positions (see at least para. 440 for referencing measured surface to CAD model of object);
detecting a first difference between the first surface contour and a first target contour, corresponding to the first surface contour, defined in the target model (see at least Zhao US 2021/0220993 para. 51 for determining dimensional difference between a measured model and an ideal model; see at least para. 441 for generating error map based on comparison of measured surface with CAD model).
Crampton also teaches accessing a target model representing a workpiece (see at least para. 440 for referencing CAD model of object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Maloney with the features of Crampton because it enables using contact or non-contact problem for accurately measuring an object in order to perform a finishing operation.
Modifed Maloney is silent regarding, but Zhao teaches:
in response to the first difference exceeding a threshold difference, generating a first toolpath spanning the first surface contour (Zhao is not explicit regarding what the threshold difference is but it is implied there is one since a motion path is adjusted when there is a difference between the measurements and the ideal model in para. 49-51).
Zhao also teaches detecting a first difference between the first surface contour and a first target contour, corresponding to the first surface contour, defined in the target model (see at least para. 51 for determining dimensional difference between a measured model and an ideal model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Maloney with the features of Zhao because it enables the robot to automatically adjust a processing path according to the differences between actual measurements of a part and an ideal model of the part to create consistent finished products regardless of how different each unfinished product is.
As per claim 7, Maloney further teaches:
wherein generating the first toolpath comprises:
defining the first toolpath comprising an ordered sequence of keypoints located on the first target surface, corresponding to the first surface contour, defined in the target model of the workpiece; and
for each keypoint in the ordered sequence of keypoints:
calculating a vector normal to the target model at a location of the keypoint on the target model; and
storing the vector in the keypoint; and
wherein navigating the abrasive head across the workpiece according to the first toolpath during the first processing cycle comprises, during the first processing cycle:
for a first keypoint in the ordered sequence of keypoints:
locating the abrasive head at a first position intersecting the first keypoint;
aligning an axis of the abrasive head to a first vector contained in the first keypoint; and
driving the abrasive head, coaxial with the first vector, toward the workpiece to match force values, in the first sequence of force values read from the force sensor, to the first target force (see at least para. 67 for measuring an actual force vector and comparing it to a target variable force vector associated with an initial motion path; see also para. 70 for normal direction displacement; see also para. 44 for actual and target forces are defined in a direction normal to the surface).
As per claim 20, Maloney teaches a method comprising:
accessing a target model representing a workpiece (see at least para. 34-36 for CAD model for the part); and
during a processing cycle:
accessing a first sequence of force values output by a force sensor coupled to an abrasive head (see at least para. 42 and 67 for using force sensor to measure actual contact force between robotic surface finishing tool and surface of the work piece);
navigating the abrasive head across the first surface contour on the workpiece according to the first toolpath to remove material from the first surface contour and to reduce the first difference (see at least para. 47 and 53-55 for controlling a sanding/polishing tool using a motion path); and
based on the first sequence of force values, deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force (see at least para. 42 for adjusting position of the robot to follow a target contact force profile).
Maloney is silent regarding, but Crampton teaches:
accessing a first set of positions of a probe in contact with the workpiece at a set of probe locations (see at least para. 426 for measurement is carried out by contact probe; see at least para. 439 for measuring surface of object);
interpreting a first surface contour of the workpiece based on the first set of positions (see at least para. 440 for referencing measured surface to CAD model of object);
detecting a first difference between the first surface contour and a first target contour, corresponding to the first surface contour, defined in the target model (see at least Zhao US 2021/0220993 para. 51 for determining dimensional difference between a measured model and an ideal model; see at least para. 441 for generating error map based on comparison of measured surface with CAD model).
Crampton also teaches accessing a target model representing a workpiece (see at least para. 440 for referencing CAD model of object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Maloney with the features of Crampton because it enables using contact or non-contact problem for accurately measuring an object in order to perform a finishing operation.
Modifed Maloney is silent regarding, but Zhao teaches:
based on the first difference, generating a first toolpath spanning the first surface contour (a motion path is adjusted when there is a difference between the measurements and the ideal model in para. 49-51).
Zhao also teaches detecting a first difference between the first surface contour and a first target contour, corresponding to the first surface contour, defined in the target model (see at least para. 51 for determining dimensional difference between a measured model and an ideal model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Maloney with the features of Zhao because it enables the robot to automatically adjust a processing path according to the differences between actual measurements of a part and an ideal model of the part to create consistent finished products regardless of how different each unfinished product is.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney (US 2012/0220194) in view of Crampton (US 2005/0166413) in view of Zhao (US 2021/0220993) and further in view of Chankaramangalam (US 2021/0260720).
As per claim 9, Maloney further teaches:
wherein navigating the abrasive head across the first surface contour during the first processing cycle comprises navigating the abrasive head across the first surface contour via a robotic arm (see at least robot arm 306):
comprising a set of actuators (implied as the robot can can move the sanding/polishing tool 502); and
supporting the abrasive head (see Fig. 5 for robot arm supporting sanding/polishing tool), the abrasive head comprising an orbital sander with conformable pad).
Modified Maloney is silent regarding, but Chankaramangalam teaches the sanding/polishing tool being an orbital sander (see at least para. 23 for Active Orbital Kit) and wherein accessing the first sequence of force values comprises accessing the first sequence of force values output by the force sensor arranged between the end effector and the abrasive head (see at least para. 24 for force adjust 40 includes force sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Maloney with Chankaramangalam to provide one of many known means for performing a sanding operation and one of many known means for determining a contact force.
As per claim 16, Maloney further teaches generating the first toolpath based on a geometry of the workpiece represented in the target model (see at least para. 62 for creating the nominal motion path using CAD model); and
wherein navigating the abrasive head across the workpiece during the first processing cycle comprises, during the first processing cycle:
accessing a first sequence of force values output by the force sensor (see at least para. 42 and 67 for using force sensor to measure actual contact force between robotic surface finishing tool and surface of the work piece); and
via a set of actuators coupled to the abrasive head a set of actuators (implied as the robot can move the sanding/polishing tool 502; see Fig. 5 for robot arm supporting sanding/polishing tool), the abrasive head comprising an orbital sander with conformable pad):;
navigating the abrasive head across the workpiece according to the first toolpath (see at least para. 47 and 53-55 for controlling a sanding/polishing tool using a motion path); and
based on the first sequence of force values, deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force (see at least para. 42 for adjusting position of the robot to follow a target contact force profile).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,883,961 in view of Maloney (US 2012/0220194).
As per claim 1 and 20, claim 2 of patent ‘961 teaches all the limitations except for deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force during the processing cycle.
However, Maloney teaches deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force during the processing cycle (see at least para. 42 for adjusting position of the robot to follow a target contact force profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘961 with Maloney because it enables the robot to automatically adjust the position of the sanding device to follow a target contact force profile to provide a more constant pressure which results in a more uniform surface finish.
As per claim 2, modified claim 2 of patent ‘961 teaches all the limitations.
As per claim 4, claim 3 in view of modified claim 2 of patent ‘961 teaches all the limitations.
As per claim 10, claim 1 of patent ‘961 teaches all the limitations except for deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force during a second processing cycle.
As per claim 10, claim 4 of patent ‘961 teaches all the limitations except for deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force during a second processing cycle.
However, Maloney teaches deviating the abrasive head from the first toolpath to maintain forces of the abrasive head on the workpiece proximal a first target force during the processing cycle (see at least para. 42 for adjusting position of the robot to follow a target contact force profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘961 with Maloney because it enables the robot to automatically adjust the position of the sanding device to follow a target contact force profile to provide a more constant pressure which results in a more uniform surface finish.
As per claim 11, claim 6 in view of modified claim 1 of patent ‘961 teaches all the limitations.
As per claim 12, claim 5 in view of modified claim 1 of patent ‘961 teaches all the limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619