Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued the combination of references fails to teach and make obvious a header for a response frame as claimed. However, Examiner disagrees.
Jang shows a header (preamble - para. 190) as control information preceding a data portion of a frame in figs. 4 and 18 as similar to Applicant’s figs. 3A-3B of the instant application. The combination of Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious a response frame (fig. 2, MU PPDU) having a header for the motivation described in the rejection.
Applicant argued the Jang reference teaches away from a header in a response frame. However, Examiner disagrees.
Jang, para. 189 shows the option of omitting a portion of a header (the EHT-SIG field - fig. 18) but not a requirement for the portion or the entire header to be omitted. Throughout the Jang reference “may” is used to indicate an alternative or option and not a requirement, such as in the first sentences of paras. 149 and 151, the second sentence of para. 155 and the penultimate sentence of para. 163. Jang teaches a common and standardized header (preamble) for a PPDU (figs. 4 and 18) that is missing in the disclosure of Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2022/0046719) in view of Jang et al. (US 2023/0081649 as supported by the corresponding passages and drawings of KR 10-2020-0018547 and KR 10-2020-0029837). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method of wireless data transmission (fig. 1A), the method comprising: transmitting, by an access point (item 102), a trigger frame over a wireless network (fig. 2, item 200) to a plurality of stations (items 110 and 112), the trigger frame configured to initiate an uplink transmission involving the plurality of stations (fig. 2, UL MU PPDUs); and within a period of time after transmitting the trigger frame (fig. 2, illustrated gap between the trigger frame and PPDUs; fig. 9, offset; para. 81), receiving one or more response frames from at least one station of the plurality of stations (fig. 2, UL MU PPDUs), the one or more response frames being received responsive to the trigger frame (fig. 2 UL MU PPDU; para. 64).
However, Wang fails to disclose receiving a header of one or more response frames from at least one station of the plurality of stations, the header of the one or more response frames relating to the uplink transmission and being received responsive to the trigger frame. Jang teaches headers for PPDUs (figs. 4 and 18; para. 189, especially the last sentence and paras. 190, 195, 202-203 and 205; note: header or preamble of a triggered uplink PPDU). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have receiving a header of one or more response frames from at least one station of the plurality of stations, the header of the one or more response frames relating to the uplink transmission and being received responsive to the trigger frame in the invention of Wang. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing a standardized data unit and/or uplink control signaling as is known in the art (Jang, figs. 4 and 18; paras. 189-190, 195, 202-203 and 205; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of stations includes a plurality of non-access point stations participating in an uplink operation relating to the uplink transmission (Wang, figs. 2 and 12-13).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame identifies the plurality of stations to participate in an uplink operation (Wang, fig. 9, STA IDs; para. 84).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame assigns a resource block
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein at least one station of the plurality of stations is to make an adjustment, based on the trigger frame (Wang, para. 80; note: trigger frames for different periods), at least one of: a timing (Wang, paras. 71, 81 and 83; note: different timing (offsets) for transmitting an uplink frame), a frequency (Wang, para. 85; para. 66 and 71; note: selection of different RUs), or a power level (Wang, paras. 71 and 86; note: power control information for different power levels).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 5, wherein the adjustment is made in relation to the uplink transmission (Wang, figs. 2 and 9).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 5, wherein the power level includes a transmission power (Wang, paras. 71 and 86).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more response frames includes an aggregation of response frames (Wang, fig. 2; note: UL MU PPDUs transmitted at a similar time and block acknowledged – para. 121).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more response frames includes one or more acknowledgements (Wang, fig. 13, item 1324; para. 128, last three sentences).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame is sent in response to the access point identifying the plurality of stations (Wang, paras. 76, 104, 110-112, 126 and 130; note: discovery of a STA and a trigger frame to allow the STA to communicate).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1 further comprising scheduling a time to send the trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame is sent based on the scheduling (Wang, fig. 3 and paras. 67-69).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame causes two or more stations of the plurality of stations to transmit data simultaneously (Wang, fig. 2, UL MU PPDUs; para. 64, especially the third sentence).
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 12, the data includes a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (Wang, fig. 2 and para. 64).
Regarding claim 16, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame includes one or more fields or sub-fields that are readable by the plurality of stations (Wang, fig. 9; paras. 78-86).
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission is an Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) uplink transmission or multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) uplink transmission (Wang, para. 23, especially the penultimate sentence; para. 62).
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more acknowledgements are received on respective assigned resource blocks in response to the trigger frame (Wang, para. 100, especially the last sentence; para. 103, especially the last three sentences).
Regarding claim 19. Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame indicates a length for the one or more response frames (Wang, para. 72, lines 18-20; note: duration of a UL MU response; para. 83).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (US 10,454,798).
Regarding claims 6-7, Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 5, wherein an adjustment to the timing includes an indication that the plurality of stations are to begin transmission of the response frame within particular amount of time after a last symbol of the trigger frame (Wang, para. 81; note: offset timing after the end of a current trigger frame; para. 86; note: symbols from modulation and coding) but not after a last symbol of the trigger frame as received by the plurality of stations. Additionally, Wang in view of Jang fails to teach and makes obvious the method of claim 5, wherein an adjustment to the timing includes an indication that the plurality of stations are to begin transmission of the response frame within particular amount of time after receiving the trigger frame.
However, Sun discloses offset timing based on the end of trigger frame as received (fig. 2; col. 6, line 54 through col. 7, line 35; note: SIFS between the received trigger frame and the UL-OFDM frame; note: SIFS is related to a received processing delay of a received frame as is known in the art – specification of the instant application, para. 45, especially the last six sentences). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an adjustment to the timing include an indication that the plurality of stations are to begin transmission of the response frame within particular amount of time after a last symbol of the trigger frame is received by the plurality of stations and an adjustment to the timing includes an indication that the plurality of stations are to begin transmission of the response frame within particular amount of time after receiving the trigger frame in the invention of Wang in view of Jang. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, accommodating for trip delays and processing delays in multiuser communication as is known in the art (Sun, figs. 2 and 4, and col. 6, line 54 through col. 7 line 35; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Srinivasa et al. (US 20200163152).
Wang in view of Jang teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger frame includes frame check sequence (FCS) (Wang, fig. 5 and para. 72) but fails to teach and make obvious cyclic redundancy check (CRC) information. Srinivasa discloses an FCS is CRC information (para. 42, especially the last sentence). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a trigger frame include CRC information in the invention of Wang in view of Jang. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing a specific type of check sequence as is known in the art (Srinivasa, para. 42; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462