DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Fig. 17, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 7/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Fig. 18 should be included in the examination. This is argument is moot because the restriction does group Figs. 17, 18 as one species..
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/10/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first air circulating device” and :second air circulating device” in claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said tube" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear the claimed “said tube” in line 3 is same as the “hollow tube” recited in line 2 or different tube.
Claim 1 recites “it” in line 5. It is unclear the recited “it” is for which claimed element.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said air circulating device" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said mounded foodstuff" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "or other apertures" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or other aperture"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said mounded produce" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said tube" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear the claimed “said tube” in line 4 is same as the “hollow tube” recited in line 3 or different tube.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said air circulating device" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “it” in line 6. It is unclear the recited “it” is for which claimed element.
Claims 7-10 are method claimed. Method claims shall be defined by active, positive steps. However, claims 7-10 failed to include any active, positive method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roh et al. (KR 101834130 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Roh et al. discloses an apparatus for drying foodstuff (translation, page 2, line 3), the apparatus comprising: (a) a hollow tube 140 comprising meshed openings (Figs. 5, 7), said hollow tube 140 having a first end (see reproduced Fig. 5 below), and said tube disposed above a surface (see reproduced Fig. 5 below); (b) a first air circulating device (see reproduced Fig. 5 below) that produces a first output air flow (see reproduced Fig. 5 below), said air circulating device fluidly coupled to said hollow tube at its first end (Fig., 5); (c) a first stand (see reproduced Fig. 5 below), whereupon said first air circulating device is supported above said surface; (d) a second air circulating device (see reproduced Fig. 5 below) that produces a second output air flow (see reproduced Fig. 5 below), said second air circulating device fluidly coupled to said hollow tube 140 at a second end (see reproduced Fig. 5 below) of said hollow tube; (e) a second stand (see reproduced Fig. 5 below), whereupon said second air circulating device is supported above said surface; (f) zero or more support members that provide additional support to the hollow tube above the surface despite a dynamic or static load of foodstuff mounded above and around the hollow tube; (g) wherein said first and second air circulating devices cause air to flow through said hollow tube and through said mounded foodstuff (Fig. 5). Roh et al. also discloses a method for drying foodstuff, the method comprising (a) provide a drying apparatus as above (Fig. 5); (b) mounding foodstuff above and around the hollow tube 140 (Fig. 2); (c) allowing air to circulate through the hollow tube, and among the foodstuff to dry the foodstuff (see air flow arrows in Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 2, 7, Roh et al. discloses wherein the foodstuff comprises produce selected from the group consisting of nuts, fruits, and vegetables (translation, page 2, 5th paragraph).
Regarding claims 3, 8, Roh et al. discloses wherein said meshed openings in the hollow tube are selected from the group consisting of holes, slits, apertures in mesh, apertures in a wire frame, and other apertures (Fig. 7, micropores 143).
Regarding claims 5, 9, Roh et al. discloses wherein the hollow tube 140 is configured to flow air from outside ambient air (Fig. 2, from air supply device 200) to said hollow tube 140, or where the hollow tube 140 is configured to flow air from said mounded produce 10 to outside ambient air (Fig. 2, from air discharge port 210).
Regarding claim 10, Roh et al. discloses wherein the air flowing from the outside ambient to said hollow tube is heated (Fig. 2, by heater 170).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY