DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20200236466 A1), and further in view of Cooper (US 20040189475 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao (US 20200236466 A1) discloses a method of
performing active noise cancellation (Zhao, ¶ [0231]: “active noise cancellation”) in a
medical environment (Zhao, ¶ [0231]: “indoor environment (… medical treatment,
research, or indoor areas…)), the method comprising:
playing, by one or more speakers (Zhao, Fig. 1, item 30), a sound within the
medical environment;
capturing, using a microphone system (Zhao, Fig. 2, items 13, 14), an audio
signal comprising the sound played by the one or more speakers (Zhao, Fig. 2, items 30) (Zhao, ¶ [0111]: “an ambient sound acquisition microphone”).
However, Zhao fails to disclose generating a reference sound signal; receiving, at the microphone system, the reference sound signal from a reference source; and modifying at least a portion of the captured audio signal based on the reference sound signal.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Cooper (US 20040189475 A1) discloses generating a reference sound signal (Cooper, Fig. 7, item 730; ¶ [0015]: “a white noise generator wherein the frequency, amplitude, etc. of the white noise is adaptively determined by reference to the sonic characteristics of the ambient noise in the patient's room.”);
receiving, at the microphone system, the reference sound signal from a reference source (Cooper, Fig. 9, items 920); and
modifying at least a portion of the captured audio signal based on the reference sound signal (Cooper, Fig. 8, items 820, 825, 830; ¶ [0067]: “Then, and according to a preferred arrangement, during the white-noise generation, the output white noise will be filtered to cause its frequency spectrum to match the frequency content of the ambient noise.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of generating a reference sound signal as taught by Cooper in Zhao's invention. The motivation is to generate and broadcast sound that is approximately 180 degrees out of phase with that coming in through the door, thereby reducing the level of ambient noise experienced by the patient.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhao further discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a source audio signal from a sound source, wherein the sound source
is communicatively coupled to the reference source (Zhao, ¶ [0237]: “the active noise cancellation function, is beneficial for locating an ambient sound source and regulating the proportion of the voice to the ambient sound.”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhao further discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a source audio signal from a sound source, and generating the reference sound signal (Zhao, ¶ [0111]: “an ambient sound (reference) acquisition microphone” which generate the reference sound);
and a speaker audio signal based on the source audio signal (Zhao, Fig. 1, item 30), wherein
the speaker audio signal corresponds to the sound played by the one or more speakers (Zhao, Fig. 1, items 13, 24, 30; were the microphone is ¶ [0115]: “configured to pick up an ambient sound signal”, this includes the sound played by the one or more speakers).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhao further discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a source audio signal from a sound source; and communicating the source audio signal to the microphone system, wherein the source audio signal comprises the reference sound signal (Zhao, Fig. 1, item 13; ¶ [0115]: “The
ambient sound acquisition microphone is configured to pick up an ambient sound signal, and feed the picked-up ambient sound signal to the control module”) and a speaker audio signal corresponding to the sound played by the one or more speakers (Zhao, Fig. 1, item 30; ¶ [0117]: generate a corresponding noise cancellation signal aiming at the ambient sound signal, and output the noise cancellation signal to the speaker 30).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhao further discloses a method, comprising:
communicating or amplifying a speaker audio signal corresponding to the sound played by the one or more speakers (Zhao, ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhao further discloses, wherein modifying at least, a portion of the captured audio signal comprises:
modifying the captured audio signal using both the microphone system (Zhao, Fig. 2, items 13, 14; ¶ [0006]: “an audio signal volume adjustment module…, and an ambient sound adjustment module.”; see also ¶ [0118]),
a computing device (Zhao, ¶ [0110]: “a computer, so as to play the audio signal of the terminal devices”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses a system for performing active noise cancellation in a medical environment (Zhao, ¶ [0231]: “active noise cancellation”) in a medical environment (Zhao, ¶ [0231]: “indoor environment (… medical treatment, research, or indoor areas…)), the system comprising:
one or more speakers that play a sound within the medical environment (Zhao, Fig. 1, item 30);
a path for communicating the reference sound signal from a reference source to a microphone system (Zhao, ¶ [0111]: “an ambient sound acquisition microphone”); and
the microphone system comprising:
a microphone that captures an audio signal comprising the sound played by the one or more speakers (Zhao, ¶ [0115]: “The ambient sound acquisition microphone is configured to pick up an ambient sound signal (reference signal), and feed the picked-up ambient sound signal to the control module”); and
a microphone controller that modifies at least a portion of the captured audio signal based on the reference sound signal (Zhao, ¶ [0118]: The ambient sound
adjustment module is configured to adjust the ambient sound signal”).
However, Zhao fails to disclose a reference sound source configured to generate a reference sound signal.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Cooper (US 20040189475 A1) discloses a reference sound source configured to generate a reference sound signal (Cooper, Fig. 7, item 730; ¶ [0015]: “a white noise generator wherein the frequency, amplitude, etc. of the white noise is adaptively determined by reference to the sonic characteristics of the ambient noise in the patient's room.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of generating a reference sound signal as taught by Cooper in Zhao's invention. The motivation is to generate and broadcast sound that is approximately 180 degrees out of phase with that coming in through the door, thereby reducing the level of ambient noise experienced by the patient.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Zhao further discloses a sound source that generates a source audio signal, wherein the sound source comprises a computing device (Zhao, ¶ [237]: “an ambient sound source” which includes devices like computers and many others).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Zhao further discloses one or more additional microphone systems that capture noises from equipment within the medical environment, wherein the reference sound signal comprises the captured noise (Zhao, Fig. 2, items 13 and 14; ¶ [0111]: “an
ambient sound acquisition microphone”).
Claim(s) 3-4, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20200236466 A1), in view of Cooper (US 20040189475 A1), and further in view of Casper (US 20230232172 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhao further discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a source audio signal from a sound source (Zhao, ¶ [0237]: “an ambient sound source”).
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose encoding and decoding, using an encoder and a decoder, the source audio signal, wherein the sound source is communicatively coupled to the encoder and the decoder.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Casper (US 20230232172 A1) discloses encoding and decoding, using an encoder and a decoder, the source audio signal (Casper, Fig. 1, item 110, ¶ [0036]: “incoming acoustic signals (source) into a digital signal using an analog to digital converter (ADC)”), wherein the sound source is communicatively coupled to the encoder and the decoder (Casper, Fig. 1, items 160, 190; ¶ [0075]: “backend processor may comprise a digital-to-analog (DAC) converter to convert amplified digital signals to analog signals.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of converting analog input signal to digital signal and vice versa as taught by Casper in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to covert analog input into digital form for further digital processing.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose a method, comprising: receiving a source audio signal from a sound source; and converting, using one or more audio converters, the source audio signal from one format to another format, wherein the sound source is communicatively coupled to the one or more audio converters.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Casper discloses a method, comprising: receiving a source audio signal from a sound source (Casper, Fig. 1, item 110); and converting, using one or more audio converters, the source audio signal from one format to another format (Casper, Fig. 1, item 120; ¶ [0036]: “convert incoming acoustic signals 110 into a digital signal using an analog to digital Converter
(ADC).”), wherein the sound source is communicatively coupled to the one or more audio converters (Casper, Fig. 1, items 110, 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of converting analog input signal to digital signal and vice versa as taught by Casper in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to covert analog input into digital form for further digital processing.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose encoding and decoding, using an encoder and a decoder, the source audio signal, wherein the sound source is communicatively coupled to the encoder and the decoder.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Casper (US 20230232172 A1) discloses encoding and decoding, using an encoder and a decoder, the source audio signal (Casper, Fig. 1, item 110, ¶ [0036]: “incoming acoustic signals (source) into a digital signal using an analog to digital converter (ADC)”), wherein the sound source is communicatively coupled to the encoder and the decoder (Casper, Fig. 1, items 160, 190; ¶ [0075]: “backend processor may comprise a digital-to-analog (DAC) converter to convert amplified digital signals to analog signals.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of converting analog input signal to digital signal and vice versa as taught by Casper in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to covert analog input into digital form for further digital processing.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
However, Zhao fails to disclose a plurality of audio converters that convert a source audio signal from a sound source from one format to another format, wherein
at least two of the plurality of audio converters are connected through a path having a length that is less than 102 feet.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Casper (US 20230232172 A1) discloses a plurality of audio converters that convert a source audio signal from a sound source from one format to another format (Casper, Fig. 1, item 120; ¶ [0036]: “convert incoming acoustic signals 110 into a digital signal using an analog to digital
converter (ADC).” And Fig.1, item 160; ¶ [0075]: “backend processor may comprise a digital-to-analog (DAC) converter (not shown) to convert amplified digital signals to analog signals.”), wherein
at least two of the plurality of audio converters are connected through a path having a length that is less than 102 feet Casper, Fig. 1, items 100, 120 and 160; ¶ [0034]: “System may be implemented as an integrated circuit. System may be implemented as an IC or an SoC.”, hence the length between units 120 and 160 being in the order of micro-meters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of converting analog input signal to digital signal and vice versa as taught by Casper in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to covert analog input into digital form for further digital processing.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Zhao further discloses a speaker audio signal corresponds to the sound played by the one or more speakers (Zhao, Fig. 1, items 30, and microphone 13 picks up the speaker audio signal).
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose an audio mixer that: receives a source audio signal from a sound source; and generates the reference sound signal and a speaker audio signal based on the source audio signal, wherein the speaker audio signal corresponds to the sound played by the one or more speakers.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Casper discloses an audio mixer (Casper, ¶ [0253], [0260]: “the sound mixer circuitry”) that:
receives a source audio signal from a sound source (Casper, ¶ [0253]: “receive the one or more intermediate signals”); and
generates the reference sound signal (Casper, ¶ [0253]: “recombine the one or more intermediate signals to form a new output signal”) and a speaker audio signal based on the source audio signal (Casper, ¶ 0109]: “sources may comprise one or more identified sources, for example, known speakers' voices or the user's own voice ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of combining various speaker voices in one audio stream as taught by Casper in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to reducing the level of ambient noise.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20200236466 A1), in view of Cooper (US 20040189475 A1) and further in view of Sedillo (US 10277316 B1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose a method, comprising: converting the modified audio signal from: an optical signal to an electrical signal, an electrical signal to an optical signal, or both.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sedillo (US 10277316 B1) discloses converting the modified audio signal from:
an optical signal to an electrical signal (Sedillo, col. 5, lns. 44-46: “The electro-optical converter then converts the light signal into an electrical signal, which can be output as an audio signal”) an electrical signal to an optical signal, or both Sedillo, col. 2, lns. 36-37: “converts the outgoing electrical signal to one or more light signals”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of converting the modified audio signal from an optical signal to an electrical signal by Sedillo in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to be able to use fiber optics to interconnect microphones and speakers.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose an optical-to-electrical converter that converts the modified audio signal from an optical signal to an electrical signal; or an electrical-to-optical converter that converts the modified audio signal from an electrical signal to an optical signal
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sedillo (US 10277316 B1) discloses converting the modified audio signal from:
an optical signal to an electrical signal (Sedillo, col. 5, lns. 44-46: “The electro-optical converter then converts the light signal into an electrical signal, which can be output as an audio signal”) an electrical signal to an optical signal, or both Sedillo, col. 2, lns. 36-37: “converts the outgoing electrical signal to one or more light signals”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of converting the modified audio signal from an optical signal to an electrical signal by Sedillo in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to be able to use fiber optics to interconnect microphones and speakers.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20200236466 A1), in view of Cooper (US 20040189475 A1) and further in view of Chen(US 20240121553 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose a computing device communicatively coupled to the microphone system through a path having a length that is less than 328.08 feet.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Chen (US 20240121553 A1) discloses a computing device communicatively coupled to the microphone system through a path having a length that is less than 328.08 feet (Chen, ¶ [0004]: “The USB microphone
can be connected to the computer through a USB cable and generates digital signal directly”, USB length are below 328.08 feet, USB 2.0: 5 meters (16.4 ft)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wired connectivity between a computing device and a microphone system by Chen in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to be able to use a USB cable to interconnect microphones and computer.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20200236466 A1), in view of Cooper (US 20040189475 A1) and further in view of Shani (US 20210211823 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhao and Cooper discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
However, Zhao fails to disclose a computing device that: receives a plurality of modified audio signals from a plurality of microphone systems; and selects a noise-cancelled audio signal having the best speech quality from among the plurality of modified audio signals.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shani (US 20210211823 A1) discloses a computing device that: receives a plurality of modified audio signals from a plurality of microphone systems (Shanl, Fig. 1A, items 1000, 120, 122 ); and selects a noise-cancelled audio signal (Shani, ¶ [0447]: “ analyze input data to provide filtered audio data (e.g. filter out noise).”) having the best speech quality from among the plurality of modified audio signals (Shani, Fig. 1A, item 100; ¶ [0248]: “the transducer selector module determine and selects the transducer(s) whose location(s) and orientation(s) are best suited for providing the user with the highest quality
sound field.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a microphone selector for providing the user with the highest quality sound field by Shani in Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to select the best microphone of the microphone array.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20200236466 A1), in view of Cooper (US 20040189475 A1) and further in view of Edelblut (US 20120018964 A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Zhao discloses comprising:
a microphone system (Zhao, Fig. 2, items 13, 14) comprising:
one or more speakers that play a sound within a medical environment (Zhao, Fig. 1, item 30);
a microphone that captures an audio signal comprising the sound played by the one or more speakers (Zhao, ¶ [0111]: “an ambient sound acquisition microphone”);
and
a microphone controller that modifies at least a portion of the captured audio signal based on a reference sound signal (Zhao, Fig. 2, item 21; ¶ [0116]: “the
ambient sound adjustment module 21”) and
at least one cable for communicating the captured audio signal, the reference sound signal, and the modified audio signal (Zhao, ¶ [0110]: “The device may carry out wired communication or wireless communication with terminal devices like a cell phone and a computer, so as to play the audio signal of the terminal devices.”);
However, Zhao fails to disclose a reference sound source configured to be generated by a reference sound signal.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Cooper (US 20040189475 A1) discloses a reference sound source configured to generate a reference sound signal (Cooper, Fig. 7, item 730; ¶ [0015]: “ a white noise generator wherein the frequency, amplitude, etc. of the white noise is adaptively determined by reference to the sonic characteristics of the ambient noise in the patient's room.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of generating a reference sound signal as taught by Cooper in Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to generate and broadcast sound that is approximately 180 degrees out of phase with that coming in through the door, thereby reducing the level of ambient noise experienced by the patient.
However, the combination of Zhao and Cooper fails to disclose wherein the at least one cable is routed through the suspension.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Edelblut (US 20120018964 A1) discloses a suspension (Edelblut; ¶ [0074]: “audio speakers, microphones, audio and digital signal processing devices, RF transmitters, light sources, computer printers, battery backups, computer keyboards… mechanical devices for medical, therapeutic, rehabilatory purposes and other applications that require objects … to be suspended”) wherein the at least one cable (wire) is routed through the suspension (Edelblut, ¶ [0082]: “power cords, electrical cable … through the hollow core of the frame segments…high voltage power cable can be run through one upright support while low-impedance audio or data wiring may be run through the other upright support, thereby providing spatial separation necessary to minimize electromagnetic interference.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of suspended cables as taught by Edelblut in Zhao and cooper invention. Cooper’s and Zhao’s invention. The motivation is to provide communication means for medical care.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/FRIEDRICH FAHNERT/
Examiner
Art Unit 2692