DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application papers filed on 12 December 2023 and 5 August 2026.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A in the reply filed on 5 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden because the sensors are nominally claimed without different structural limitations. This is found persuasive.
The requirement is withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a phrase that is implied: the present disclosure provides. Appropriate correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure-
(A) The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
(B) The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2 is/are objected to because of the following informality(ies):
(A) At line 2-3: “a doorsill” is suggested to be: the doorsill. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 9 is/are objected to because of the following informality(ies):
At line 5: “a doorsill” is suggested to be: the doorsill. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210003405 to Choi (hereinafter “CHOI”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200230806 to Choi (hereinafter “CHOI’806”).
(A) Regarding Claim 1:
CHOI teaches:
A detection method for an autonomous mobile device (para. 0005), comprising:
obtaining an environmental map of an environment in which the autonomous mobile device is located (para. 0160), the environmental map being a grid map (para. 0160);
obtaining grids-to-be-processed in the environmental map (para. 0161);
clustering the grids-to-be-processed to obtain one or more groups of grids-to-be- processed (para. 0162); and
for each group of grids-to-be-processed, when a number of grids-to-be-processed included in the group of grids-to-be-processed is within a predetermined range, determining whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to an obstacle (para. 0162: a line connecting the gray cells may represent a boundary line, e.g. an obstacle).
However, the difference between CHOI and the claimed invention is that CHOI does not explicitly teach the obstacle is a doorsill.
CHOI’806 teaches:
An obstacle includes a doorsill (para. 181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine if the group of grids-to-be processed corresponds to a doorsill, as taught by CHOI’806, in order to identify obstacles in the environmental map and thereby achieve the predictable result of providing obstacle information to the autonomous mobile device (CHOI’806 para. 181).
(B) Regarding Claim 2:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
determining whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a doorsill comprises: determining whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a doorsill based on environmental information (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
(C) Regarding Claim 3:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
the environmental information includes at least one of:
obstacle information in a light detection and ranging map of the environment;
at least portion of video information of the environment; or
a structured light scanning result of the environment (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
(D) Regarding Claim 4:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
obtaining grids-to-be- processed in the environmental map comprises:
for each grid of a plurality of grids traversed by the autonomous mobile device when moving in the environment:
detecting the grid through a floor sensor on the autonomous mobile device to obtain a floor sensor signal corresponding to the grid (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed based on the floor sensor signal (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
(E) Regarding Claim 5:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
the floor sensor is an ultrasound sensor (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120), the floor sensor signal is a reflected ultrasound wave (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120),
wherein detecting the grid through a floor sensor on the autonomous mobile device to obtain a floor sensor signal corresponding to the grid comprises:
transmitting, through the ultrasound sensor, a plurality of ultrasound pulses toward the grid and receiving a plurality of reflected ultrasound wave (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
wherein determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed based on the floor sensor signal comprises:
counting, in the plurality of reflected ultrasound waves, a number of reflected ultrasound waves having a reflected wave intensity within a predetermined ultrasound intensity threshold range (CHOI’806 para. 121); and
when the number of reflected ultrasound waves is within a count threshold range, determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed (CHOI’806 para. 122).
(F) Regarding Claim 6:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
the floor sensor is an infrared sensor (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120), and the floor sensor signal is a reflected infrared light,
wherein detecting the grid through a floor sensor on the autonomous mobile device to obtain a floor sensor signal corresponding to the grid comprises:
transmitting, through the infrared sensor, a plurality of infrared pulses toward the grid and receiving a plurality of reflected infrared lights (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
wherein determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed based on the floor sensor signal comprises:
counting, in the plurality of reflected infrared lights, a number of reflected infrared lights having a light intensity within a predetermined light intensity threshold range (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
when the number of reflected infrared lights is within a predetermined count threshold range, determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
(G) Regarding Claim 9:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
the environmental map is a light detection and ranging map (CHOI para. 40);
the environmental information is obstacle information in the light detection and ranging map of the environment (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
determining whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a doorsill based on the environmental information comprises:
calculating a location of a center of the group of grids-to-be-processed in the environmental map (CHOI paras. 160-162);
based on the location, obtaining a map portion that includes the location from the environmental map (CHOI paras. 120, 160-162); and
when the map portion includes obstacle information indicating a door or a hallway, determining that the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to the doorsill (CHOI paras. 160-162, CHOI’806 para. 181).
(H) Regarding Claim 10:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
after determining that the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to the doorsill, the method also comprises at least one of: labelling the doorsill in the environmental map (CHOI’806 para. 181); or in response to a determination that skidding occurred to the autonomous mobile device and a distance from a current location of the autonomous mobile device to the doorsill is smaller than or equal to a predetermined distance value, controlling the autonomous mobile device to perform predetermined predicament avoidance actions.
(I) Regarding Claim 11:
CHOI teaches:
An autonomous mobile device (para. 0005), comprising:
a motion assembly configured to move the autonomous mobile device in an environment (para. 0005);
a storage device configured to store computer-executable instructions (para. 0236); and
a processor (para. 0236) configured to retrieve and execute the computer-executable instructions to:
obtain an environmental map of an environment in which the autonomous mobile device is located, the environmental map being a grid map (para. 0160);
obtain grids-to-be-processed in the environmental map;
cluster the grids-to-be-processed to obtain one or more groups of grids-to- be-processed (para. 0161); and
for each group of grids-to-be-processed, when a number of grids-to-be- processed included in the group of grids-to-be-processed is within a predetermined range, determine whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to an obstacle (para. 0162).
However, the difference between CHOI and the claimed invention is that CHOI does not explicitly teach the obstacle is a doorsill.
CHOI’806 teaches:
An obstacle includes a doorsill (para. 181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine if the group of grids-to-be processed corresponds to a doorsill, as taught by CHOI’806, in order to identify obstacles in the environmental map and thereby achieve the predictable result of providing obstacle information to the autonomous mobile device (CHOI’806 para. 181).
(J) Regarding Claim 12:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
when the processor determines whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a doorsill (CHOI’806 para. 181), the processor is configured to determine whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a doorsill based on environmental information (CHOI’806 para. 181).
(K) Regarding Claim 13:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
the environmental information includes at least one of:
obstacle information in a light detection and ranging map of the environment;
at least portion of video information of the environment; or a structured light scanning result of the environment (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
(L) Regarding Claim 14:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
a floor sensor (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120),
wherein for each grid of a plurality of grids traversed by the autonomous mobile device when moving in the environment:
the floor sensor is configured to detect the grid and to generate a floor sensor signal corresponding to the grid (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
the processor is configured to determine that the grid is a grid-to-be- processed based on the floor sensor signal (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
(M) Regarding Claim 15:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
the floor sensor is an ultrasound sensor (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120), the floor sensor signal is a reflected ultrasound wave (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120),
wherein detecting the grid through a floor sensor on the autonomous mobile device to obtain a floor sensor signal corresponding to the grid comprises:
transmitting, through the ultrasound sensor, a plurality of ultrasound pulses toward the grid and receiving a plurality of reflected ultrasound wave (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
wherein the processor is configured to:
counting, in the plurality of reflected ultrasound waves, a number of reflected ultrasound waves having a reflected wave intensity within a predetermined ultrasound intensity threshold range (CHOI’806 para. 121); and
when the number of reflected ultrasound waves is within a count threshold range, determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed (CHOI’806 para. 122).
(N) Regarding Claim 16:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
the floor sensor is an infrared sensor (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120), and the floor sensor signal is a reflected infrared light,
wherein detecting the grid through a floor sensor on the autonomous mobile device to obtain a floor sensor signal corresponding to the grid comprises:
transmitting, through the infrared sensor, a plurality of infrared pulses toward the grid and receiving a plurality of reflected infrared lights (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
wherein the processor is configured to:
counting, in the plurality of reflected infrared lights, a number of reflected infrared lights having a light intensity within a predetermined light intensity threshold range (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120); and
when the number of reflected infrared lights is within a predetermined count threshold range, determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
(O) Regarding Claim 19:
Modified CHOI further teaches:
calculate a location of a center of the group of grids-to-be-processed in the environmental map (CHOI paras. 160-162);
based on the location, obtaining a map portion that includes the location from the environmental map (CHOI paras. 120, 160-162); and
when the map portion includes obstacle information indicating a door or a hallway, determining that the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to the doorsill (CHOI paras. 160-162, CHOI’806 para. 181.
(P) Regarding Claim 20:
CHOI teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer- executable instructions (para. 0236), which when executed by a processor of an autonomous mobile device (para. 0236), cause the autonomous mobile device to perform a detection method comprising:
obtaining an environmental map of an environment in which the autonomous mobile device is located, the environmental map being a grid map (para. 160);
obtaining grids-to-be-processed in the environmental map;
clustering the grids-to-be-processed to obtain one or more groups of grids-to-be- processed (para. 161); and
for each group of grids-to-be-processed, when a number of grids-to-be-processed included in the group of grids-to-be-processed is within a predetermined range, determining whether the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to an obstacle (para. 0162).
However, the difference between CHOI and the claimed invention is that CHOI does not explicitly teach the obstacle is a doorsill.
CHOI’806 teaches:
An obstacle includes a doorsill (para. 181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine if the group of grids-to-be processed corresponds to a doorsill, as taught by CHOI’806, in order to identify obstacles in the environmental map and thereby achieve the predictable result of providing obstacle information to the autonomous mobile device (CHOI’806 para. 181).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified CHOI, as applied to claim 4 and 14, respectively, above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170090456 to Mao et al. (hereinafter “MAO”).
(A) Regarding Claim 7:
Modified CHOI teaches:
A floor sensor (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
However, the difference between modified CHOI and the claimed invention is that modified CHOI does not explicitly teach the floor sensor is a video sensor.
MAO teaches:
the floor sensor is a video sensor (para. 0021), and the floor sensor signal is a video frame (para. 0021),
wherein detecting the grid through a floor sensor on the autonomous mobile device to obtain a floor sensor signal corresponding to the grid comprises:
capturing, through the video sensor, a video frame of a floor corresponding to the grid (para. 0021); and
wherein determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed based on the floor sensor signal comprises:
determining that the grid is a grid-to-be-processed based on the video frame (para. 0021).
Thus, both modified CHOI and MAO teach the floor sensor is provided by laser, or ultrasonic, or video analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the video sensor of MAO for ultrasonic floor sensor of CHOI to achieve the predictable result of detecting obstacles in the path (MAO para. 0021). See MPEP 2141(III)).
(B) Regarding Claim 17:
Modified CHOI teaches:
A floor sensor (CHOI para. 62: detection sensor and CHOI’806 para. 120).
However, the difference between modified CHOI and the claimed invention is that modified CHOI does not explicitly teach the floor sensor is a video sensor.
MAO teaches:
the floor sensor is a video sensor (para. 0021), and the floor sensor signal is a video frame (para. 0021),
wherein the video sensor is configured to capture a video frame of a floor corresponding to the grid (para. 0021); and
wherein the processor is configured to determine that the grid is a grid-to-be- processed based on the video frame (para. 0021).
Thus, both modified CHOI and MAO teach the floor sensor is provided by laser, or ultrasonic, or video analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the video sensor of MAO for ultrasonic floor sensor of CHOI to achieve the predictable result of detecting obstacles in the path (MAO para. 0021). See MPEP 2141(III)).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified CHOI, as applied to claim 1 and 11, respectively, above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190155299 to Yi et al. (hereinafter “YI”).
(A) Regarding Claim 8:
Modified CHOI teaches:
A number of grids to be processed (CHOI para. 0160-162).
However, the difference between modified CHOI and the claimed invention is that modified CHOI does not explicitly teach the floor sensor is a video sensor.
YI teaches:
when the number of grids-to-be-processed included in the group of grids-to-be- processed is greater than a maximum value of the predetermined range, determine that the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a carpet; and/or when the number of grids-to-be-processed included in the group of grids-to-be- processed is lower than a minimum value of the predetermined range, determine that the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a lower base of an object in the environment (YI para. 0076, 0104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a predetermined range for the number of grids to be processed that corresponds to the distance obstacles extend above the floor, as taught by YI, in order to distinguish between obstacles (YI para. 0007) and thereby achieve the predictable result of allowing the autonomous mobile unit to continue operation around obstacles that are not hazard to safe operation (YI para. 0008).
(B) Regarding Claim 18:
Modified CHOI teaches:
A number of grids to be processed (CHOI para. 0160-162).
However, the difference between modified CHOI and the claimed invention is that modified CHOI does not explicitly teach the floor sensor is a video sensor.
YI teaches:
when the number of grids-to-be-processed included in the group of grids-to-be- processed is greater than a maximum value of the predetermined range, determine that the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a carpet; and/or when the number of grids-to-be-processed included in the group of grids-to-be- processed is lower than a minimum value of the predetermined range, determine that the group of grids-to-be-processed corresponds to a lower base of an object in the environment (YI para. 0076, 0104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a predetermined range for the number of grids to be processed that corresponds to the distance obstacles extend above the floor, as taught by YI, in order to distinguish between obstacles (YI para. 0007) and thereby achieve the predictable result of allowing the autonomous mobile unit to continue operation around obstacles that are not hazard to safe operation (YI para. 0008).
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210131822 to Artes et al. teaches detecting door thresholds. US 20210089040 to Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. and US 20190120633 to Afrouzi et al. teach detecting doorways. US 20140190514 to Lamon et al. teaches detecting stepped obstacles on the floor. US 20050010331 to Taylor et al. teaches detecting carpet.
Conclusion
KAYLA M. MCCAFFREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/Kayla McCaffrey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745