Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 9/18/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomker (EP 3193085 A1, cited previously) in view of Oyama (US 5372756 A, cited previously) and further in view of Li (CN 108980917 A, cited by Applicant)
Regarding claim 1, Blomker teaches a cooking appliance light (Fig.2), installed alongin an oven, microwave, steam cooker (Abstract), or other cooking appliance, wherein the cooking appliance comprises a cooking chamber with walls and a door (Fig.1 and 2), said cooking appliance comprising at least one LED light source (For illumination of the cooking chamber 11, a lighting device 3 is provided. The illumination device 3 here comprises a lamp body 4 which is arranged outside the muffle 12 and which has a heat sink 14 and a lighting means (not shown). As a light source z. B. provided a plurality of LEDs) that can be secured in a mount (holding device 8) outside the cooking chamber, and a solid glass fiber optic rod (optical fiber 13), having substantially round cross-section which extends along a length of the glass fiber optic rod from the mount along its longitudinal axis into an interior of the cooking chamber, wherein the solid glass fiber optic rod comprises a light entry surface (13 in Fig.4a) at one end;
where light from the LED light source enters the solid glass fiber optic rod, and further comprises a light emission surface along its length located within the cooking chamber (outlet section 23 along the optic fiber) where at least a part of the light is emitted into the interior of the cooking chamber (On the light guide 13 extends parallel to its longitudinal axis, an outlet portion 23, at which the light exits the light guide 13).
Blomker does not teach the solid glass fiber optic rod comprises a decoupling structure formed thereon along said length within the cooking chamber that deflects and decouples said light from the LED light source that is coupled within the solid glass fiber optic rod outwardly through the light emission surface, into the interior of the cooking chamber, wherein the decoupling structure comprises one of: (i) a rough surface formed in an outer cladding laver of the solid glass fiber optic rod that diffuses and decouples said light coupled in the solid glass fiber optic rod such that said light is emitted outwardly through the rough surface into the cooking chamber whereby said rough surface provides said light emission surface; (ii) a plurality of dome-shaped elements formed in the solid glass fiber optic rod that each reflect said light coupled in the solid glass fiber optic rod outwardly into the cooking chamber through the surface of said solid glass fiber optic rod that is located opposite said plurality of dome- shaped elements whereby said opposite surface provides said light emission surface:
Oyama teaches an optical fiber that uses the lateral side for light emission, wherein the lateral side is roughened by grinding to become a decoupling structure (see in Oyama: (6) However, it is desirable in many applications to adapt an optical fiber to radiate or diffuse light introduced into an end thereof from a point light source out through the circumferential or peripheral surface thereof, and thereby function as an elongated light source in combination with the point light source. This has been done in the past by grinding or otherwise roughening the circumferential surface of the optical fiber to reduce the reflectance thereof).
Therefore, from the teachings of Oyama, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the roughened lateral side of the optical fiber as the decoupling structure along its length, in the device of Blomber , within the cooking chamber of Blomber, in order to reduce reflectance during light emission to the external end).
Blomker in view of Oyama does not teach: the solid glass fiber optic rod further comprises a beveled end within the cooking chamber at an opposite end of the glass fiber optic rod from said light entry surface ,wherein said beveled end is formed by a cut through said opposite end of the glass fiber optic rod at an angle relative to said longitudinal axis such that said cut forms an angular surface with a part rounded tip at said opposite end of the glass fiber optic rod, wherein said rounded tip forms a positioning element on said opposite end within said cooking chamber wherein said positioning element is used to visually align said fiber optic rod and point the light emission surface of the fiber optic rod within the cooking chamber toward the interior of the cooking chamber by pointing said positioning element of said glass fiber optic rod at a counterpoint mark also located in said interior of said cooking chamber.
Li teaches a solid glass fiber optic rod (light conducting column 2) for a cooking device (Fig.1, 10 and 12) with a beveled end 220 at an opposite end of the glass fiber optic rod from said light entry surface,
wherein said beveled end is formed by a cut through said opposite end of the glass fiber optic rod at an angle relative to said longitudinal axis such that said cut forms an angular surface with a part rounded tip at said opposite end of the glass fiber optic rod.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a beveled and rounded opposite end of the light guide, from the teachings of Li in order to facilitate angled reflection within the cooking device. Further Li discloses:
As shown in FIG. 1, generally mounted more firmly so that the inclined end light reflecting end of the light conducting column 2 22, illuminating lamp further comprises an end support base 5, the end support seat 5 formed with a diffuse reflection end surface 220 bonded to support ramp 51 matching.
Further, wherein said rounded tip forms a positioning element on said opposite end within said cooking chamber wherein said positioning element is used to visually align said fiber optic rod and point the light emission surface of the fiber optic rod toward the interior of the cooking chamber by pointing said positioning element of said glass fiber optic rod at a counterpoint mark ; the same structure as disclosed in Li provides the same function of facilitating better positioning, as claimed.
Further even more, regarding said rounded tip forming a positioning element; wherein said positioning element is used to visually align said fiber optic rod and point the light emission surface of the fiber optic rod toward the interior of the cooking chamber by pointing said positioning element of said glass fiber optic rod at a counterpoint mark; since Li already teaches the structural features as claimed of having a beveled end, and therefore having a new use of the beveled end, for positioning purposes, is not patentable, according to MPEP 2112: the discovering of a new use of the same structure disclosed by the prior art, does not make the device patentable upon the new use.
Li further does not disclose: the beveled end within the cooking; wherein said rounded tip forms a positioning element within said cooking chamber; wherein said positioning element is used to visually align within the cooking chamber toward the interior of the cooking chamber by pointing said positioning element of said glass fiber optic rod at a counterpoint mark also located in said interior of said cooking chamber. However, as is well known in the art, and as disclosed in Blomker, wherein the fiber optic is already within the cooking chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the technique of beveled end of Li’s fiber optic, to modify the fiber optic already within the cooking chamber of Blomker, in order to facilitate angled reflection of the illuminated optic fiber within the cooking device.
Regarding claim 6, Blomker in view of Oyama and Li teaches a cooking appliance light, wherein the decoupling structure comprises said rough surface and is formed by grinding or acid treating at least part of the cladding layer of the solid glass fiber optic rod to produce rough surface (also see rejection in claim 1 above. from the teachings of Oyama. (6) However, it is desirable in many applications to adapt an optical fiber to radiate or diffuse light introduced into an end thereof from a point light source out through the circumferential or peripheral surface thereof, and thereby function as an elongated light source in combination with the point light source. This has been done in the past by grinding or otherwise roughening the circumferential surface of the optical fiber to reduce the reflectance thereof).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the rough surface extends over 90* of a circumference of the cladding layer since Oyama (in Blomker in view of Oyama and Li) already teaches the decoupling structure in the circumference region, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make adjustable the extent of the decoupling structure such that it extends only 90 degrees of the circumference of the cladding layer, since the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art in order to achieve the desired extent of the orientation/diffusion of light.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomker in view of Oyama and Li and further in view of Egawa (EP 1265096 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 8, Blomker in view of Oyama and Li teaches the invention set forth in claim 6 above, but is silent regarding wherein the decoupling structure comprises said rough surface and wherein said rough surface becomes wider starting from the light entry surface as it extends along the length of the glass fiber optic rod, such that the rough surface substantially a wedge shape over the length of the glass fiber optic rod }whereby said light is uniformly emitted from the rough light emission surface into the cooking chamber.
Egawa teaches the decoupling structure becomes wider starting from the light entry surface, such that it is substantially in the form of a wedge over the length of the fiber optic rod (wells getting wider in Fig.8) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the widening wedges as disclosed in Egawa, in the device of Blomker in view of Oyama and Li in order to uniformity of light.
Regarding claim 9, Blomker in view of Oyama, Li and Egawa teaches a cooking appliance light, wherein the decoupling structure comprises said plurality of dome-shaped elements, and wherein said plurality of domed- shaped elements are formed by a plurality of parallel wedge-shaped notches formed in the fiber optic rod. (Fig.2 and 8 in the fiber optic rod in Egawa, the same reason to combine art applies).
Regarding claim 10, Blomker in view of Oyama, Li and Egawa teaches a cooking appliance light, wherein a spacing between the notches decreases over a length of the fiber optic rod starting from the light entry surface, while a depth of the respective notches increases over said length of the fiber optic rod starting from the light entry surface. (Fig.2 and 8 of Egawa).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Application on 9/18/25 is acknowledged. However, they are not found to be persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Li has a beveled end for the optical fiber but that, it is not used within the cooking chamber. However Blomker already teaches the optical fiber within the chamber, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fiber optic of Blomker already within the cooking chamber, to have the beveled end, from the teachings of Li.
Further, regarding the argument of Applicant’s use of the beveled end for positioning with an existing marker within the cooking chamber, it is respectfully noted in MPEP 2112, that a new use of a structure towards positioning, by using an alignment marker, using a structure that is already disclosed in the prior art, is not patentable. See in MPEP 2112 below:
Further, Applicant’s argument that the beveled portion facilitates positioning, Examiner respectfully notes that it is well known in the field of fiber optics to form beveled ends for many applications such as reflective beveled end, for aligning 2 fiber optics opposite each other and for inserting the fiber optics in connectors, thereby inherently facilitating alignment and positioning, and further even more, beveled portions are also provided for rotational positioning in many prior art in the field. For example, prior art.
Furthermore, another example prior art discloses: US 20140072265 A1: The rods 243 are aligned with and sized to fit within the apertures 233 of the first plug body 231. In certain implementations, the tips 244 of the rods 243 are pointed or tapered to aid insertion of the rods 243 through apertures 233 in the ledges 232 of the first plug body 231. Therefore, beveled ends are well known to facilitate positioning of the fiber optic.
Previously cited prior art as below:
WO 9723795 A2 discloses: The stop element (4) serves as a stop element for the sleeve (7, 7') in which the optical fibre end is held, and the end face of the sleeve either has an inclined region (2) or is aligned at right angles to the optical axis;
JP 2003202464 A/ US 20030077034 A1: discloses by positioning 5 with the pressing key 120, the orientation of the end face 103 can be easily rotationally positioned and
JP H0829638 A discloses: Fig.52 and Together with the optical waveguide 22 (to the right in FIG. 53), the tip end 71a of the taper tip spherical optical fiber 71 is brought into contact with the groove portion 24A as the optical axis direction positioning mechanism 69, whereby the taper tip spherical light Positioning of the fiber 71 in the optical axis (Z-axis direction) direction is performed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875