DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 50, 57, and 59 have been amended. Claims 68-69 are new. Claims 1-49 and 67 are cancelled. Claims 50-66, 68-69 remain pending in this application. Claims 60-66, 68-69 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to the claims overcome the claim objections and rejections under 35 USC §112 and such objections and 112 rejections are therefore withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 50 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same interpretation of Hartwell for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The fluid distributing layer 355 of Hartwell is no longer relied upon to disclose the first pressure-offloading layer. Rather, the rejection below points to the second spacer layer 344 as being analogous to the claimed first pressure-offloading layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 50-52, 56-57 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartwell (Pub. No.: US 2016/0106892 A1).
Regarding claim 50, Hartwell discloses (fig. 3A-3C) an apparatus (fluidic connector 300) for managing fluid from a tissue site (abstract), comprising:
A sealed compartment formed by a first polymeric film (bottom layer 334) and a second polymeric film (top layer 332) (¶ 0093, ¶ 0096), wherein the sealed compartment comprises a first fluid pathway (characterized by pathway between bottom layer 334 and intermediate layer 333, fig. 3C, ¶ 0093), the sealed compartment having a bridge portion (elongate bridge portion 310) and an applicator portion (enlarged rounded end 320) (¶ 0092); and
A first pressure-offloading layer (second spacer layer 344) adapted to be positioned adjacent the first polymeric film of the bridge portion of the sealed compartment (fig. 3C), wherein the first pressure-offloading layer comprises a polyurethane foam (¶ 0099).
Regarding claim 51, Hartwell discloses wherein the sealed compartment further comprises a second fluid pathway adjacent the first fluid pathway (characterized by pathway between intermediate layer 333 and top layer 332, fig. 3C, ¶ 0093) adjacent the first fluid pathway (fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 52, Hartwell discloses wherein the first fluid pathway and the second fluid pathway are formed by a polymeric layer (intermediate layer 333, ¶ 0093) disposed between the first polymeric film and the second polymeric film (¶ 0093).
Regarding claim 56, Hartwell discloses wherein the first polymeric film and the second polymeric film comprise polyurethane (¶ 0093).
Regarding claim 57, the claim limitation, “wherein the first polymeric film and the second polymeric film are formed from a single polymeric sheet folded to form the first polymeric film and the second polymeric film” is being treated as product-by-process.
When a claim is directed to a device, the process steps are not germane to the issue of patentability. As set forth in MPEP § 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Hartwell discloses the invention substantially as claimed by Applicant but is silent to wherein the first polymeric film and the second polymeric film are formed from a single polymeric sheet folded to form the first polymeric film and the second polymeric film. This claim is interpreted as a product-by-process claim, since it claims an apparatus and describes the process used to make or construct the apparatus. In spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 59, Hartwell discloses a second pressure-offloading layer (first spacer layer 342) adapted to be positioned adjacent the second polymeric film of the sealed compartment (fig. 3C, ¶ 0098), wherein the second pressure-offloading layer comprises the polyurethane foam (¶ 0099).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartwell.
Regarding claim 53, Hartwell discloses wherein the first polymeric film, the second polymeric film are welded together (¶ 0096). Hartwell fails to disclose that the first pressure-offloading layer is welded together with the first polymeric film and the second polymeric film.
However, Hartwell discloses that the first pressure-offloading layer is secured to the first polymeric film (¶ 0103) and that welding is a suitable method of securing layers together (¶ 0096).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first pressure-offloading layer secured to the first polymeric film of Hartwell such that it is welded to the first polymeric film, thereby resulting in the first polymeric film, the second polymeric film and the pressure-offloading layer to be welded together, as welding is a suitable method of securing layers together (¶ 0096).
Claim(s) 54-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartwell, as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Melin et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0144085 A1).
Regarding claim 54, Hartwell fails to disclose wherein the first polymeric film comprises a first plurality of bubbles extending into the first fluid pathway of the sealed compartment.
Melin teaches (fig. 2-3, 7) an apparatus (fluid transport assembly 52) for managing fluid from a tissue site (¶ 0032) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising:
A sealed compartment formed by a first polymeric film (intermediate sheet 34) and a second polymeric film (bottom sheet 32) (¶ 0073, fig. 2), wherein the sealed compartment comprises a first fluid pathway (fluid conduits 38, ¶ 0078), wherein the first polymeric film comprises a first plurality of bubbles (see sealed chambers 28 surrounded by voids 36) extending into the first fluid pathway of the sealed compartment (fig. 2, ¶ 0077-¶ 0078), wherein the plurality of bubbles are configured to prevent clogging of the apparatus during use and a cushioning effect to contribute to a more comfortable therapy (¶ 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first polymeric film of Hartwell such that it comprises a first plurality of bubbles extending into the first fluid pathway of the sealed compartment, as taught by Melin, in order to prevent clogging of the apparatus during use and a cushioning effect to contribute to a more comfortable therapy (Melin ¶ 0034).
Regarding claim 55, Hartwell fails to disclose wherein the second polymeric film comprises a second plurality of bubbles extending into the second fluid pathway of the sealed compartment.
Melin teaches (fig. 2-3, 7) an apparatus (fluid transport assembly 52) for managing fluid from a tissue site (¶ 0032) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a sealed compartment formed by a first polymeric film (bottom sheet 32) and a second polymeric film (intermediate sheet 34), wherein the sealed compartment comprises a second fluid pathway (fluid conduits 38, ¶ 0078), wherein the second polymeric film comprises a second plurality of bubbles (see sealed chambers 28 surrounded by voids 36) extending into the second fluid pathway of the sealed compartment (fig. 2, ¶ 0077-¶ 0078), wherein the plurality of bubbles are configured to prevent clogging of the apparatus during use and a cushioning effect to contribute to a more comfortable therapy (¶ 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second polymeric film of Hartwell such that it comprises a second plurality of bubbles extending into the second fluid pathway of the sealed compartment, as taught by Melin, in order to prevent clogging of the apparatus during use and a cushioning effect to contribute to a more comfortable therapy (Melin ¶ 0034).
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartwell, as applied to claim 50 above, and further in view of Allen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0141941 A1).
Regarding claim 58, Hartwell fails to disclose wherein the first pressure-offloading layer has a thickness between 2 mm and 8 mm.
Allen teaches (fig. 1B) an apparatus (suction adapter comprising bridge 211) for managing fluid from a tissues (abstract), and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising:
A pressure-offloading layer (fluid passage 212), wherein the first pressure-offloading layer comprises a polyurethane foam (¶ 0128), wherein the pressure-offloading layer has a thickness between 1.5 mm and 6 mm (¶ 0129), which overlaps with the claimed range of between 2 mm and 8 mm, wherein the thickness of the first pressure-offloading layer is configured to permit greater patient comfort and provide greater kink resistance (¶ 0128-¶ 0129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first-pressure offloading layer of Hartwell such that it has a thickness of between 2 mm and 8 mm, as taught by Allen, in order to configure the first pressure-offloading layer to permit greater patient comfort and provide greater kink resistance (Allen ¶ 0128-¶ 0129).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 68-69 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 68 recites “wherein edges of the first pressure-offloading layer are sealed to edges of the second pressure off-loading layer to encapsulate the sealed compartment”. The closest prior art of record is Hartwell which discloses the claimed sealed compartment. Hartwell discloses the first pressure off-loading layer and the second pressure off-loading layer disposed within the sealed compartment, thus teaching away from the limitations of claim 68 requiring the sealed compartment to be encapsulated by the first and second pressure off-loading layers. Locke et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0189236 A1) discloses (fig. 9-10) an apparatus for managing fluid from a tissue site comprising a sealed compartment (bridge envelope 350) encapsulated by a first and second pressure-off layer (first sealing layer 388 and second sealing layer 390). However, Locke fails to disclose the sealed compartment formed by first and second polymeric films and the first and second pressure-offloading layers comprising polyurethane foam. Thus, the feature of an apparatus comprising a sealed compartment formed by first and second polymeric films being encapsulated by first and second pressure off-loading layers of polyurethane foam is novel.
Claim 69 recites “wherein the first pressure off-loading layer and the second pressure-offloading layer comprise a sleeve configured to slide over the sealed compartment”. Similar to claim 68 above, Hartwell teaches away from the first pressure off-loading layer and the second pressure-offloading layer being outside of the sealed compartment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heagle (Pub. No.: US 2010/0185163 A1) discloses an apparatus for managing fluid from a tissue site. Armstrong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0310809 A1) discloses an apparatus for managing fluid from a tissue site.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781 /ANDREW J MENSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781