DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2022116253531, filed on 13 December 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse restrictions in the reply filed on 07/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that office action has not established the identified groups are independent or distinct and showing of serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive.
Groups I-III are directed to different claimed subject matter. Group I is directed to a method using SSX polypeptide, group II is directed to a method of using plasmid overexpressing SSX polypeptide, and group III is directed to a method using a cell overexpression the SSX polypeptide. Although the groups are related by the common SSX therapeutic component, the claimed processes employ different therapeutic modalities, and these modalities provide different modes of operations for delivering the SSX polypeptide. The common SSX sequence and therapeutic purpose do not, by themselves, establish that the claimed inventions overlap in scope and are obvious variants. Applicants have not provided evidence sufficient to establish otherwise.
In the office action mailed 05/29/2026, different classifications for each the inventions were identified. Group I is classified in A61K 38/00, group II is classified in A61K 48/00, and group III is classified in C12N 5/00. The different CPC classification represents different fields of search and requires different search strategies to identify pertinent prior art. Accordingly, examination of the groups together would impose a serious search burden. MPEP 808.02 recognizes separate classification and different fields of search as bases for establishing a serious search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/17/2026.
Claims 2 and 3 are examined.
Specification
The use of the terms OPTI-MEM, TRIzol, SYBR, and FastStart which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 1 contains words that are hard to read. It is hard to see the SWI and SNF in white lettering over light shading. Applicants are suggested to make the SWI/SNF in black lettering.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda (Yoneda et al. 2013, PlosOne, 8:10) as evidenced by Addgene (pEGFP(C1)-NIPP1, https://www.addgene.org/browse/sequence/67518/, [retrieved October 06, 2026])
Yoneda teaches that SS18-SSX fusion protein is associated with pathogenesis of synovial sarcoma (abstract). Yoneda further teaches that SSX1 and SSX2 proteins can be independently expressed from expression plasmids in synovial-sarcoma cells and further teaches that exogeneous expression of a truncated SSX polypeptide (tSSX) alters localization of the oncogenic SS18-SSX fusion protein and suppresses proliferation and colony formation of synovial-sarcoma cells (under “Suppression of cell proliferation of SYO-1 cells by exogenous expression of tSSX2” and “Suppression of colony formation of synovial sarcoma cells by exogenous expression of tSSX” section of result).
Sequence alignment showed that SEQ ID NO:1 of instant application had 100% sequence identity with the sequence of tSSX of Yoneda except for first start codons “ATG”. Yoneda teaches tSSX1 and tSSX2 as truncated SSX composing of 111-188 amino acids (under “Localization patterns of synovial sarcoma-related proteins in the SYO-1 cells” section of result).
See the 188 amino acid sequence of SSX1 obtained from NCBI, translated sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and their alignment.
>NP_001265620.1 protein SSX1 [Homo sapiens]
MNGDDTFAKRPRDDAKASEKRSKAFDDIATYFSKKEWKKMKYSEKISYVYMKRNYKAMTKLGFKVTLPPF
MCNKQATDFQGNDFDNDHNRRIQVEHPQMTFGRLHRIIPKIMPKKPAEDENDSKGVSEASGPQNDGKQLH
PPGKANISEKINKRSGPKRGKHAWTHRLRERKQLVIYEEISDPEEDDE
> SEQ ID NO:1 (translated sequences)
MIMPKKPAEDENDSKGVSEASGPQNDGKQLHPPGKANISEKINKRSGPKRGKHAWTHRLR
ERKQLVIYEEISDPEEDDE
Alignment of SSX1 and translated SEQ ID NO: 1
In the materials and methods – plasmid construction section, Yoneda describe making expression plasmids containing SSX sequences. Yoneda teaches that the amplified regions of human SSX1, SSX2, tSSX1, and tSSX2 were inserted downstream of green fluorescent protein (GFP) in pEGFP-C vector.
Addgene teaches pEGFP-C vector map which comprise CMV promoter, GFP start codon, GFP coding sequence, and multiple cloning sites (MPS) downstream of GFP.
Yoneda does not explicitly teach that the start codon (ATG) is located on the N-terminus of SSX polypeptide sequence as recited in SEQ ID NO: 1. However, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the GFP-SSX expression construct of Yoneda by removing the GFP coding sequence, thereby placing the translation initiation codon immediately upstream of the SSX coding sequence, to express SSX without an N-terminal GFP fusion.
Such modification would have been an obvious design choice because the GFP sequence is not required for the expression of SSX and was included as a fluorescent tag to facilitate detection and localization of the expressed protein. Since the objective of application is to express SSX itself as the therapeutic polypeptide, rather than to study a GFP-tagged SSX fusion, an skilled artisan would have had a reason to eliminate the GFP coding sequence while retaining the vector’s promotor, translation-initiation elements, and SSX coding sequence. The resulting construct would have been expected to express the SSX polypeptide directly and would have provided the predictable benefit of avoiding potential effects of the GFP fusion moiety on SSX localization or biological activity.
In view of the foregoing, claim 2 taken as a whole would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda (Yoneda et al. 2013, PlosOne, 8:10) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wang (Wang et al. 2018, Cancer Management and Research, 10:6431-6444).
Regarding claim 3, Yoneda does not teach GV348 as vector for overexpression of SSX polypeptide.
However, Wang teaches the use of lentivirus vector GV348 for the overexpression of NLR96 protein as a tumor suppression and potentially applicable of NLRP6 for gastric cancer treatment (under “Cell culture, transfection, lentiviral infection, and RNA interference” section of materials and method).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the SSX coding sequence for the NLRP6 coding sequence in the known GV348 expression vector as taught by Wang because both NLRP6 and SSX are heterologous protein-coding sequences intended to be expressed in mammalian cells, and GV348 was known to be suitable for such expression. The substitution would have retained the known function of the GV348 vector, expression of the inserted coding sequence, and would have predictably resulted in the expression of SSX.
In view of the foregoing, claim 3 taken as a whole would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Suraj Sapkota
Patent Examiner
AU 1635
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635