DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ Amendment submitted 7/10/2026 has been entered.
The Drawing and Claim Objections set forth in the previous office action have been overcome.
Claims 1,8 and 13 have been amended.
Claim 14, even though it includes a status Identifier of (Currently Amended) has not been amended.
Claims 7, 9-11, 19 and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-6, 8, and 12-18 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ammar (US PGPUB 2019/0364658 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Ammar discloses (Fig. 6A-12B) A method of fabricating an electronic device (Fig. 6A-12B), the method comprising: providing a routing structure (Fig. 9C) that has a first surface (top of 200), a mounting surface (Fig. 6B, bottom of 100) opposite the first surface (top of 200), a circuit zone (Fig. 9D) extending between the first surface (top of 200) and the mounting surface (bottom of 100), an antenna zone (220) extending between the first surface (top of 200) and the mounting surface (bottom of 100), and a radio frequency (RF) reflector zone (206) extending between the first surface (top of 200) and the mounting surface (bottom of 100), and an antenna (230) in the antenna zone (220); coupling an electronic circuit (240) to the mounting surface (bottom of 100) of the routing structure over the circuit zone (Fig. 9D), wherein the routing structure electrically couples the electronic circuit (240) to the antenna (230); and coupling an RF reflector (300, 301, 305) to the mounting surface (bottom of 100) of the routing structure over the RF reflector zone (206), wherein the RF reflector (300, 301, 305) includes an inner boundary portion (301) that is adjacent to the antenna zone (220), wherein at least part of an upper extent of the inner boundary portion (301) is at a first height (height at bottom of 301) above the mounting surface, and a circuit-adjacent segment (302) positioned between the inner boundary portion (301) and the electronic circuit (240), wherein an upper extent of the circuit-adjacent segment (302) is at a second height (302 height) above the mounting surface (bottom of 100) that is greater than the first height.
Regarding claim 15, Ammar further discloses (Fig. 6C and 9C) wherein: the routing structure (Fig. 9C) is a printed circuit board ([0013]); coupling the electronic circuit (240) to the routing structure (Fig. 9C) includes mounting the electronic circuit to the printed circuit board ([0013]); and coupling the RF reflector (300, 301, 305) to the routing structure (Fig. 9C) includes forming the RF reflector (300, 301, 305) on or coupling the RF reflector (300, 301, 305) to the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 16, Ammar further discloses (Fig. 7A) comprising: applying encapsulant (305) over the electronic circuit (240), the RF reflector (300, 301), and the mounting surface (100) of the routing structure, wherein an upper surface of the encapsulant (305) defines a radiation surface of the electronic device.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0376378 A1), hereinafter known as Tang.
Regarding claim 14, Tang discloses (Fig. 1B, 1C) A method of fabricating an electronic device (100), the method comprising: providing a routing structure (101) that has a first surface (top of 101), a mounting surface (bottom of 101) opposite the first surface (top of 101), a circuit zone (107) extending between the first surface (top of 101) and the mounting surface (bottom of 101), an antenna zone (110) extending between the first surface (top of 101) and the mounting surface (bottom of 101), and a radio frequency (RF) reflector zone (114) extending between the first surface (top of 101) and the mounting surface (bottom of 101), and an antenna (110) in the antenna zone (110); coupling an electronic circuit (107) to the mounting surface (bottom of 101) of the routing structure over the circuit zone (107), wherein the routing structure electrically couples the electronic circuit (107) to the antenna (110); and coupling an RF reflector (114, 116, 118) to the mounting surface of the routing structure over the RF reflector zone (114), wherein the RF reflector (114) includes an inner boundary portion (114) that is adjacent to the first antenna zone (110), wherein at least part of an upper extent of the inner boundary portion (114) is at a first height above the mounting surface (bottom of 101), and a circuit-adjacent segment (116) positioned between the inner boundary portion (114) and the electronic circuit (107), wherein an upper extent of the circuit-adjacent segment (116) is at a second height above the mounting surface (bottom of 101) that is greater than the first height.
Regarding claim 15, Tang further discloses (Fig. 1B, 1C) wherein: the routing structure is a printed circuit board ([0043]); coupling the electronic circuit (107) to the routing structure includes mounting the electronic circuit (107) to the printed circuit board ([0043]); and coupling the RF reflector (114, 116, 118) to the routing structure includes forming the RF reflector on or coupling the RF reflector to the printed circuit board ([0043]).
Regarding claim 16, Tang further discloses (Fig. 1B, 1C) further comprising: applying encapsulant (119) over the electronic circuit (107), the RF reflector (114, 116, 118), and the mounting surface of the routing structure, wherein an upper surface of the encapsulant (119) defines a radiation surface of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 17, Tang further discloses (Fig. 1B, 1C, and 7C) further comprising: applying encapsulant (119, 713) over the electronic circuit (107, 719), wherein a first surface of the encapsulant (119, 713) defines a radiation surface of the electronic device (700); forming via openings (109, 115, 104) in a second surface of the encapsulant; and applying electrically conductive material in the via openings (109, 115, 104) to form conductive vias (109, 115, 104) that define the RF reflector (114).
Regarding claim 18, Tang further discloses (Fig. 1B, 1C) wherein providing the routing structure comprises: forming a first patterned conductive layer (106) over the second surface of the encapsulant (119), wherein the first patterned conductive layer (106) includes circuitry pads (106) that are physically and electrically coupled to terminals of the electronic circuit (109), and a ground pad (102) in contact with proximal ends of the conductive vias (109, 115, 104); and forming one or more dielectric layers (119) and additional patterned conductive layers (109) over the first patterned conductive layer (106).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8, 12 and 13 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In response to remarks and claim amendments made in Applicants’ Amendment submitted 7/1/2026, and, upon conclusion of a comprehensive search of the pertinent prior art, the Office indicates that the claims, as amended, are allowable.
Regarding independent claim 1, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed combination of elements and features of “…wherein at least part of an upper extent of the inner boundary portion is at a first height above the mounting surface, and wherein the inner boundary portion is defined by an inner ring of conductive vias that at least partially surrounds the first antenna zone, wherein each conductive via of the inner ring of conductive vias extends from the mounting surface to the first height, and a circuit-adjacent segment positioned between the inner boundary portion and the electronic circuit, wherein an upper extent of the circuit-adjacent segment is at a second height above the mounting surface that is greater than the first height, wherein the circuit- adjacent segment is defined by a portion of an outer ring of conductive vias, wherein the portion of the outer ring of conductive vias is located between the inner ring of conductive vias and the circuit zone, wherein the outer ring of conductive vias at least partially surrounds the inner ring of conductive vias, and wherein each conductive via of the outer ring of conductive vias extends from the mounting surface to the second height.”
Claims 2-6, 8, 12 and 13 depend therefrom and are included in the allowable subject matter.
Tang and Ammar cannot be reasonably construed as teaching the combination of elements and features indicated above.
Additionally, Jian et al US 12142853, Ashida et al 10658737, Ren et al CN105609946A are also cited as teaching some elements and features of the claimed invention such as, “a routing structure with a first surface, a mounting surface opposite the first surface, a circuit zone extending between the first surface and the mounting surface, a first antenna zone extending between the first surface and the mounting surface, and a first reflector zone extending between the first surface and the mounting surface; an electronic circuit coupled to the mounting surface of the routing structure above the circuit zone; a first antenna coupled to the routing structure in the first antenna zone and electrically coupled to the electronic circuit; and a first radio frequency (RF) reflector coupled to the mounting surface above the first reflector zone, wherein the first RF reflector includes an inner boundary portion that is adjacent to the first antenna zone, wherein at least part of an upper extent of the inner boundary portion is at a first height above the mounting surface, and wherein the inner boundary portion is defined by an inner ring of conductive vias that at least partially surrounds the first antenna zone, wherein each conductive via of the inner ring of conductive vias extends from the mounting surface to the first height”.
However, the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicants.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments, filed 7/10/2026, specifically with respect to claims 1-6, 8, 12 and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The rejections of claims 1-6, 8, 12 and 13 have been withdrawn.
However, specifically regarding claims 14-18, and, in response to applicant's arguments(see pages 7-11) that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies in claim 14 (i.e., “wherein the inner boundary portion is defined by an inner ring of conductive vias that at least partially surrounds the first antenna zone, wherein each conductive via of the inner ring of conductive vias extends from the mounting surface to the first height,
and,
wherein the circuit- adjacent segment is defined by a portion of an outer ring of conductive vias, wherein the portion of the outer ring of conductive vias is located between the inner ring of conductive vias and the circuit zone, wherein the outer ring of conductive vias at least partially surrounds the inner ring of conductive vias, and wherein each conductive via of the outer ring of conductive vias extends from the mounting surface to the second height.") are not recited in the rejected claim(s).
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Moreover, although independent claim 14 indicates a status identifier of (Currently Amended), the language therein is the exact same as the originally presented claim 14. As such, Applicants have not amended claim 14 as stated therein. Moreover, Applicants have not specifically pointed out how Ammar and Tang differ from the claimed invention as set forth in claims 14-18. The examiner thus maintains the rejections of claims 14-18 as indicated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to additional pertinent prior art listed on the PTOL-892 Notice of References Cited attached herewith.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAMEON E. LEVI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845