DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by St. Etienne (US 2010/0126492).
Regarding claim 1, St. Etienne teaches a medical fluid warming system comprising:
a warmer having an exothermic warming composition (exothermic super-cooled salt solution in compartment 5 as in par. [0012]);
a medical fluid configured to be applied to a patient's body during a medical procedure (bottle 10 with fluid),
wherein the medical fluid is packaged within a single-use packet (bottle 10 can be thrown away after use), the single-use packet is bonded to the warmer with an adhesive (adhesive 7), and the medical fluid is thermally connected to the warmer (warmer to heat the bottle 10); and
a barrier configured to separate the exothermic warming composition from a reactant composition (barrier 5 separating the super-cooled salt solution from air), wherein the barrier is removable by a user to allow the reactant composition to contact the exothermic warming composition (rupturing punch as in par. [0012], [0013]) and wherein contact between the reactant composition and the exothermic warming composition causes the exothermic warming composition to release heat (par. [0012] with reaction with the solution and air causing an exothermic reaction generating heat).
Regarding claim 4, St. Etienne teaches wherein the warmer further has a casing with at least one hole (perforations 8 of 6), wherein the exothermic warming composition is positioned inside of the casing (salt inside 6 as in par. [0012]), and wherein a seal is removably adhered to the casing and covers the at least one hole to form the barrier (seal 4 covers the perforations).
Regarding claim 5, St. Etienne teaches a medical fluid warming system comprising:a warmer having an exothermic warming composition (super-cooled salt solution);
a medical fluid configured to be applied to a patient's body during a medical procedure (fluid from bottle 10), wherein the medical fluid is thermally connected to the warmer (medical fluid affected by the exothermic reaction); and
a barrier configured to separate the exothermic warming composition from a reactant composition (6 separating the salt solution from air), wherein the barrier is removable by a user to allow the reactant composition to contact the exothermic warming composition (perforations 8 to remove the barrier to allow the air and salt to mix as in par. [0012]) and wherein contact between the reactant composition and the exothermic warming composition causes the exothermic warming composition to release heat (at least par. [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, St. Etienne teaches wherein the medical fluid is packaged within a single-use packet (bottle 10 can be thrown away after use).
Regarding claim 7, St. Etienne teaches wherein the packet is bonded to the warmer (via adhesive 7).
Regarding claim 8, St. Etienne teaches wherein the packet is bonded to the warmer with an adhesive (adhesive 7).
Regarding claim 9, St. Etienne teaches wherein the barrier is an envelope configured to encase the warmer (envelope 6) and the reactant composition is ambient air (par. [0012]).
Regarding claim 12, St. Etienne teaches wherein the warmer further has a casing with at least one hole (6 as a casing with perforations 8), wherein the exothermic warming composition is positioned inside of the casing (salt solution within 6), and wherein a seal is removably adhered to the casing and covers the at least one hole to form the barrier (seal 4 covers the perforations).
Regarding claim 13, St. Etienne teaches a medical fluid warming system comprising:
a warmer having an exothermic warming composition (super cooled salt solution within 6); and
a medical fluid configured to be applied to a patient's body during a medical procedure (fluid within bottle 10), wherein the medical fluid is removably and thermally connected to the warmer (via adhesive 7).
Regarding claim 14, St. Etienne teaches wherein the exothermic warming composition is air-activated (par. [0012]).
Regarding claim 15, St. Etienne teaches further comprising a barrier configured to separate the exothermic warming composition from a reactant composition (6 separates the salt composition from air), wherein the barrier is removable by a user to allow the reactant composition to contact the exothermic warming composition (perforations 8 remove 6 to allow air and solution to create an exothermic reaction).
Regarding claim 16, St. Etienne teaches wherein the barrier is an envelope configured to encase the warmer and the reactant composition is ambient air (envelope 6 encases the sale solution and the reactant is air as in par. [0011]).
Regarding claim 17, St. Etienne teaches wherein contact between a reactant composition and the exothermic warming composition causes the exothermic warming composition to release heat (par. [0012] salt solution and air).
Regarding claim 18, St. Etienne teaches wherein the medical fluid is packaged within a single-use packet bonded to the warmer (bottle 10 may be discarded after use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. Etienne in view of Ikagi (US 2004/0035410).
Regarding claim 2, St. Etienne is not explicit wherein the warmer is configured to warm the medical fluid to at least a selected temperature within twenty minutes and maintain the medical fluid at or above the selected temperature for at least ten minutes.However, Ikagi teaches reaching a target temperature within 5 minutes of activation (par. [0025], and kept above a threshold temperature for at least 10 minutes (par. [0026]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify St. Etienne with the selected temperature and durations of Ikagi, as known durations of a heating element.
Regarding claim 10, St. Etienne is not explicit wherein the warmer is configured to warm the medical fluid to at least a selected temperature within twenty minutes and maintain the medical fluid at or above the selected temperature for at least ten minutes.However, Ikagi teaches reaching a target temperature within 5 minutes of activation (par. [0025], and kept above a threshold temperature for at least 10 minutes (par. [0026]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify St. Etienne with the selected temperature and durations of Ikagi, as known durations of a heating element.
Regarding claim 19, St. Etienne teaches wherein the warmer is configured to warm the medical fluid to at least a selected temperature within twenty minutes.However, Ikagi teaches reaching a target temperature within 5 minutes of activation (par. [0025], and kept above a threshold temperature for at least 10 minutes (par. [0026]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify St. Etienne with the selected temperature and durations of Ikagi, as known durations of a heating element.
Regarding claim 20, St. Etienne teaches wherein the warmer is configured to maintain the medical fluid at or above a selected temperature for at least ten minutes.However, Ikagi teaches reaching a target temperature within 5 minutes of activation (par. [0025], and kept above a threshold temperature for at least 10 minutes (par. [0026]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify St. Etienne with the selected temperature and durations of Ikagi, as known durations of a heating element.
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. Etienne in view of Ikagi, in view of Baumann (US 2007/0193588).
Regarding claim 3, St. Etienne is not explicit wherein the selected temperature is 98 degrees Fahrenheit.However, Baumann teaches a heat source for fluid at a temperature greater than 98 degrees Fahrenheit in the body (par. [0029]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the temperature is 98 degrees Fahrenheit, as a temperature close to average body temperature.
Regarding claim 11, St. Etienne is silent wherein the selected temperature is 98 degrees Fahrenheit.However, Baumann teaches a heat source for fluid at a temperature greater than 98 degrees Fahrenheit in the body (par. [0029]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the temperature is 98 degrees Fahrenheit, as a temperature close to average body temperature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tabuchi (US 2006/0040082) teaches an exothermic device reacting with air and having a seal.
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794