This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 12/13/2023
Claims 1-7 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prather et al. US 5,433,245 A (hereinafter Prather).
Regarding claim 1, Prather teaches. one or more hardware-based non-transitory memory devices storing computer readable instructions (Fig. 1, Col. 6, “units include a diagnostic processor 46, diagnostic processor 46, mass storage unit 48, rule based expert system 50, and operator station 52) which, when executed by the one or more processors disposed in a computing device, cause the computing device to:
change a position of a valve using a driver having a mechanical connection to the valve (Fig. 2, Col. 5, “motor operated valve”);
detect a magnitude of a current associated with the driver using a current sensor electrically connected to the driver (Fig. 2, Col. 5, “The power sensing means for an MOV may be a motor current sensor 24 for detecting current drawn by the motor 26 which actuates the valve 20”; Figure 6 also shows magnitude of a current associated with the driver being tracked);
detect a state of the valve using a position switch associated with the valve (Fig. 6 towards the bottom shows the valve in different states over time; Col. 7 line 61- Col. 8 line 44); and
perform at least one action with an analysis module that uses at least the magnitude of the current and the state of the valve (Fig. 1, Col. 6, “in addition to the I/O processor 44, the remaining units of the online valve diagnostic system are located at the remote location. These units include a diagnostic processor 46, mass storage unit 48, rule based expert system 50, and operator station 52.” - rule based expert system 50 is interpreted as an analysis module; Appendix rule 66 - “if the valve motion is closing, and the motor drive current at start of motion is high, then there is suggestive evidence (60%) that one of the possible causes is packing swelling”).
Regarding claim 2, Prather teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Prather further teaches wherein the at least one action includes storing data in a memory with the analysis module (Fig. 1, Col. 7, “data is then stored in the mass storage unit 48” – Figure 1 shows diagnostic processor directly connected to the rule based expert system and mass storage).
Regarding claim 3, Prather teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Prather further teaches wherein the at least one action includes generating a profile associated with the valve (Fig. 6, Col. 4, “FIG. 6 is an example of signal traces that may be obtained for a motor operated globe valve in a closing cycle from sensors used in a valve diagnostic system according to the present invention”; Col. 8 “The characteristic features which are output as processed signals from the diagnostic processor 46 or data extraction step 74 preferably include motor current during movement, indicated by the straight line I4 between points I3 and I5 in Fig. 6, and stem strain during this period of time indicated by the straight horizontal line labeled S7.” – These characteristic features can be used as a profile of the valve).
Regarding claim 4, Prather teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Prather further teaches wherein the profile (Col. 8 “The characteristic features which are output as processed signals from the diagnostic processor 46 or data extraction step 74 preferably include motor current during movement, indicated by the straight line I4 between points I3 and I5 in Fig. 6, and stem strain during this period of time indicated by the straight horizontal line labeled S7.” – These characteristic features can be used as a profile of the valve) includes at least a first data field associated with the magnitude of the current (see Fig. 6 towards the top – magnitude of current over time is shown) and a second data field associated with the state of the valve see (see Fig. 6 towards the bottom – state of valve over time is shown).
Regarding claim 6, Prather teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Prather further teaches wherein altering the state of the driver includes moving the driver such that the valve closes or moves to an intermediate state between an open position and a closed position (see Fig. 6 towards the bottom – driver is able to bring the valve to an intermediate state in P5 and a closed state in P2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prather et al. US 5,433,245 A (hereinafter Prather) in view of Mohler et al. US 5,161,083 A (hereinafter Mohler).
Regarding claim 5, Prather teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Prather teaches a profile, but does not explicitly teach using the profile to potentially alter a state of the driver.
However, Mohler teaches using a profile (Col. 5, “The output of circuit 101 is a threshold level which increases or decreases depending upon the error between the desired position input and the actual position output.” – Data relating to the magnitude of current associated with the driver and the state of the valve is interpreted to be equivalent to “the profile”) to potentially alter a state of the driver (Col. 2, “The actual position, as sensed by the position sensor, is supplied to an actuator controller and compared with a desired position. If there is a difference, the coil current is increased or decreased by the actuator controller as necessary to move back the actuator to the desired position”).
Prather and Mohler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to valve control systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above valve control system, as taught by Prather, and incorporate using a profile to alter a state of a driver, as taught by Mohler.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “positional accuracy” as suggested by Mohler (Col. 1).
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Prather and Mohler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Mohler further teaches wherein altering the state of the driver includes moving the driver such that the valve opens or moves to an intermediate state between an open position and a closed position (Col. 1, “when the coil is only partially energized, the actuator moves part way between the deenergized position and the fully energized position. By controlling the energizing coil current, the position of the actuator can be changed”; Col. 2, “the "desired" position could be anywhere between the deenergized and energized limits.”).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sykora et al. (US 10,746,448 B2) teaches a system that includes a power supply configured to drive an electric motor, a controller configured to control the power supply to drive the electric motor and analyze at least one system condition; wherein the controller is configured to identify a condition associated with risk of undesired or un-commanded compressor rotation based upon the at least one system condition and control the power supply to oppose rotation of the compressor based upon the identification of the condition.
Perotti et al. [US 6,917,203 B1] teaches determining the state of a solenoid valve based on electrical currents.
Grecco et al. [US 6,820,647 B1] teaches a valve position monitor that provides simultaneous visual and electrical signals of valve position
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119