Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 107905827, herein referenced by the EPO English Machine Translation).
RE Claim 1, Zhang discloses an integrated drilling and injection device 1, comprising: a longitudinal shank 1 having an internal passage (not labeled, see figures 2, 3 and 5) extending from an open first end of the shank 1 along an axis of the shank toward a second end of the shank 1; a drill bit 13 located at a second end of the shank 1 opposite the first end (See figures 2-5); at least one outlet (not labeled, the outlet is in the tip of the drill bit 13, as may be seen in figures 2 and 3; Pars. 0042, 0043 and 0051) in fluid communication between the internal passage and an exterior surface of the shank 1; and a valve 9, 92, 93 within the internal passage, the valve 9, 92, 93 configured to control passage of material within the internal passage (Pars. 0059 and 0099, Figs. 2, 5 and 6).
RE Claim 4, Zhang discloses a seal 4 disposed on the shank 1, spaced from the drill bit 13, the seal 4 configured to form a barrier around the shank 1, between the shank 1 and a channel 12 bored out by the drill bit 13 (Par. 0097, Figs. 1-4).
RE Claim 6, Zhang discloses the shank 1 comprises a plurality of shank sections (See figures 2-5).
RE Claim 7, Zhang discloses the device comprising embedded tools/technology 2, 3 therein (Pars. 0035, 0084 and 0100-0103, Figs. 2-6).
RE Claim 8, Zhang discloses a system for injection of material into a substrate 11, the system comprising: the device according to claim 1; an access surface through which the device is to be deployed (See figure 1); and a device deployment apparatus (an anchor drill, not shown, Par. 0048) for driving the device through the access surface into a substrate 11 and injecting material into the internal passage (Pars. 0048, 0056 and 0084-0088, Figs. 1-6).
RE Claim 9, Zhang discloses a method of injecting material into a substrate 11, the method comprising the steps of: providing the device of claim 1; driving the device into a substrate 11; and injecting material into the internal passage (Pars. 0042, 0043, 0051, 0059 and 0083-0106, Figs. 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 107905827), in view of Fischer (US 5096344).
RE Claim 2, Zhang discloses a blade that is configured to cut in a first rotational direction (the outer blades of the drill bit 13, see figs. 2 and 3). Zhang does not explicitly disclose the drill bit comprises: a secondary flute on the shank, the secondary flute having a helical shape; the secondary flute is spaced from the drill bit and twists in the first rotational direction such that when the device is rotated in the first rotational direction, material such as water is drawn toward the blade.
Fischer discloses a drilling device having a shank 5 having a first end and a second end (see figure 1); a drill bit 1; a blade 3, 4 that is configured to cut in a first rotational direction and a secondary flute 8 on the shank 5, the secondary flute 8 having a helical shape (See figs. 1 and 2); the secondary flute 8 is spaced from the drill bit and twists in the first rotational direction (Col. 3, Lines 19-32, Figs. 1-3), for the benefit of drilling a cylindrical hole without jamming (Col. 1, Lines 29-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhang by providing a secondary flute on the shank, the secondary flute having a helical shape; the secondary flute is spaced from the drill bit and twists in the first rotational direction, as disclosed by Fischer, for the benefit of drilling a cylindrical hole without jamming. Note: the limitation “such that when the device is rotated in the first rotational direction, material such as water is drawn toward the blade” is not given patentable weight, as the preamble of the claim refers to an apparatus and the aforementioned limitation refers to a method step.
Re Claim 3, the combination as applied to claim 2 remains as previously applied. The combination discloses the secondary flute 8 is located on a flute portion of the shank 5 spaced from the first end of the shank 5, the flute portion of the shank 5 having a diameter substantially greater than a diameter of the shank at the first end of the shank 5 (See figures 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 107905827), in view of Rinklake et al. (DE 3708764, herein referenced by the EPO English Machine Translation).
Re Claim 5, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the seal is frangibly connected to the shank.
Rinklake discloses a drilling device 1 comprising: a shank 2 having a first end and a second end (see figures 1-9); and a seal 29; the seal is frangibly connected to the shank 2 (Pars. 0018-0025 and 0031, Figs. 1-3 and 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhang by making the seal frangibly connected to the shank as disclosed by Rinklake for the benefit of separating the device from the seal.
Conclusion
/BAYAN SALONE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726