DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodgers (US 2022/0022821) in view of Janes et al. (US 2024/0395419).
Regarding claims 1 and 12 , Rodgers discloses a method and an apparatus for contact verification, the method comprising:
receiving and storing spatiotemporal signal information capable of specifying time and space from a plurality of user equipments (UEs) by an apparatus of contact verification (paragraphs [0007], [0039], [0041], [0045]; e.g., recording space-time coordinate information of each mobile device that is traceable by the contact tracing system in association with the associated tokens);
extracting spatiotemporal signal information of a specific user among the stored spatiotemporal signal information by the apparatus of contact verification (paragraphs [0007], [0039], [0043]; e.g., location 120 and/or master contact tracing domain 130 may analyze all of its token-coordinate information to determine all the tokens that have been subject to the exposure event).
Rodgers fails to specifically disclose configuring the extracted spatiotemporal signal information of the specific user as reference spatiotemporal signal information, and comparing similarity between the reference spatiotemporal signal information and the other stored spatiotemporal signal information by the apparatus of contact verification; and determining whether or not there is contact between the specific user and another user based on the similarity by the apparatus of contact verification.
However, Janes discloses configuring the extracted spatiotemporal signal information of the specific user as reference spatiotemporal signal information, and comparing similarity between the reference spatiotemporal signal information and the other stored spatiotemporal signal information by the apparatus of contact verification (paragraphs [0010], [0015], [0259]; e.g., once a person is identified as having a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19, the system can compare the location tracking data (e.g., paths of travel, times and locations of visits, etc.) with the location tracking data of other users to find overlap in space and time); and
determining whether or not there is contact between the specific user and another user based on the similarity by the apparatus of contact verification (paragraphs [0149], [0235], [0287], [0461]; e.g., identifying contacts of the individuals with one or more people who have a confirmed or probable case of a disease).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Rodgers in combination of Janes as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to configuring the extracted spatiotemporal signal information of the specific user as reference spatiotemporal signal information, and comparing similarity between the reference spatiotemporal signal information and the other stored spatiotemporal signal information by the apparatus of contact verification; and determining whether or not there is contact between the specific user and another user based on the similarity by the apparatus of contact verification for advantages of seeking to identify people who have been in close contact with others who are infected with a disease, to identify people who have been exposed to the disease and may risk infecting others (Janes: paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method and the apparatus of claims 1 and 12, wherein the spatiotemporal signal information is temporal and spatial fingerprints (TSF) that is continuously measured over a certain period of time from at least one sensor in the user equipment (UE), and indicates space state information over time, and the TSF includes a signal type of the spatiotemporal signal information measured through the user equipment (UE), signal strength according to the signal type, and a timestamp indicating information about a time at which the signal type and the signal strength were measured (Janes: paragraphs [0388], [0420]).
Regarding claim 3, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the TSF further includes a state value of an environment indicating changes in the environment, and the state value of the environment is at least one or a combination of a characteristic value of atmospheric pressure according to changes in atmospheric pressure in a space where the user stayed, a characteristic value of sound according to changes in sound in the space, and a characteristic value of temperature according to temperature changes in the space (Janes: paragraphs [0073], [0330]; e.g., detect general behavior changes and physiological changes that may indicate other symptoms).
Regarding claim 4, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving and storing spatiotemporal signal information is matching a user equipment (UE) identifier with the spatiotemporal signal information and storing it (Janes: paragraphs [0603]; e.g., When the user's movement pattern (e.g., route, location, etc.) matches or is similar to the pattern that other users took to reach the location, the system can determine).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method and the apparatus of claims 1 and 12, wherein the extracting spatiotemporal signal information of a specific user is selecting spatiotemporal signal information corresponding to the spatiotemporal signal information of the specific user from a plurality of stored spatiotemporal signal information when the specific user is determined to be infected (Rodgers: paragraphs [0054]-[0055]) and (Janes: paragraphs [0634], [0659]).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method and the apparatus of claims 1 and 12, wherein the determining whether or not there is contact is verifying a user equipment (UE) identifier that measured spatiotemporal signal information similar to the reference spatiotemporal signal information of the specific user, and classifying the user as a contact or non-contact (Janes: paragraphs [0659], [0676]).
Regarding claim 8, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, when the spatiotemporal signal information is a wireless communication signal, the receiving and storing spatiotemporal signal information is including and storing a type of carrier and communication standard of the wireless communication signal, and the comparing similarity between the spatiotemporal signal information is comparing similarity between wireless communication signals of each of the reference spatiotemporal signal information and the other stored spatiotemporal signal information targeting spatiotemporal signal information matching at least one or a combination of the type of carrier and the communications standard (Rodgers: paragraphs [0039]) and (Janes: paragraphs [0681], [0685]).
Regarding claim 9, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the spatiotemporal signal information is WiFi, the receiving and storing spatiotemporal signal information is including and storing an access point (AP) identifier, frequency, and channel of the WiFi, and the comparing similarity between the spatiotemporal signal information is comparing similarity between WiFi signals of each of the reference spatiotemporal signal information and the other stored spatiotemporal signal information targeting spatiotemporal signal information matching at least one or a combination of the access point (AP) identifier, frequency, and channel of the WiFi (Rodgers: paragraphs [0039]) and (Janes: paragraphs [0009], [0061], [0414]).
Regarding claim 10, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the spatiotemporal signal information is Bluetooth, the receiving and storing spatiotemporal signal information is including and storing a Bluetooth identifier, and the comparing similarity between the spatiotemporal signal information is comparing similarity between Bluetooth signals of each of the reference spatiotemporal signal information and the other stored spatiotemporal signal information targeting spatiotemporal signal information matching the Bluetooth identifier (Rodgers: paragraphs [0039]) and (Janes: paragraphs [0009], [0061], [0414]).
Regarding claim 17, Rodgers in combination with Janes discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the processor transmits an infectious disease testing recommendation message to infected people depending on whether or not there is the determined contact (Janes: paragraphs [0019], [0032]).
Claim 11 is drawn to one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions, wherein the computer-readable medium comprising code means for generating steps of claim 1. Therefore, the same rationale applied to claim 1 applies. In addition, Rodgers in combination with Janes inherently discloses a computer program product, i.e., given that Rodgers/Janes discloses a process, the process would be implemented by a processor that requires a computer program product, e.g., a RAM, to function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648