DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the combination of PAK1, ICAM1, FCGR3A, LYN, IL1B, RAC1 in the reply filed on 5/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-26 are pending. Claims 1-9 have been cancelled.
Claims 22-26 is withdrawn as being drawn to nonelected invention.
An action on the merits for claims 10-21 is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to detection any gene “involved” in the RAC1 PAK1 axis is increased in any sample from any subject and administration of a TNFalpha inhibitor. Therefore the claims are drawn to a genus of the measurement of multiple encompassed genes expression in any species and any sample to functionally determine prognosis.
The specification has not described the critical function of the expression of the genes which would be encompassed in this genus. Although the specification teaches examples of specific levels of particular genes (up or down regulated) in a specific sample from humans (see examples), the specification does not provide guidance for any altered expression of the genes in any sample from any species and functionally determining treatment.
The claims are drawn to TNFalpha related disease.” The specification does not provide a limiting definition for this phrase and there is no art recognized definition for this phrase. It is unclear as to what disorders are encompassed and what disorders are not encompassed by this phrase. For instance describe “TNF alpha related” encompasses any disorder that is a side-effect / symptom of a disorder such as an IBD, including stress, stomach pains or if this includes any other type of bowel diseases that would lead to IBD. The specification states that RAC1-PAK1 axis is a final common pathway of multiple immunoreceptor signaling cascades (para 10). The specification states that RAC1-PAK1 axis is a final common pathway of multiple immunoreceptor signaling cascades (para 11). However, the specification does not describe these genes associations with treatment and further does not describe which genes would be encompassed by this genus. Although the specification provides a description to particular genes, associations of particular genes with a functionality does not provide predictable support for any other gene that is “involved” in the RAC1 PAK1 axis.
As shown below, the art teaches that this is a very large genus wherein merely being expressed in one sample is not sufficient to describe the critical features in any other sample.
In analyzing whether the written description requirement is met for genus claims, it is first determined whether a representative number of species have been described by their complete structure. However, as discussed above, the specification provides on particular species and does not provide critical structures for the breadth of the claims.
Further, the art, as recited below, teaches that expression of biomarkers differ in different species. However, the specification has not provided identifying characteristics or functional attributes that would distinguish different members of the claimed genus. Rather, the art teaches that changes in the structure of nucleic acids between species can have an effect on expression. Enard et al. (Science 2002 Vol 296 p. 340) teaches that even between closely related species gene expression patterns differ (abstract). Enard et al. teaches that mRNA expression levels are different between humans, chimpanzees, orangutans and rhesus marcques (p. 340 1st column last sentence-2nd column 1st paragraph). Enard et al. teaches that there are a large number of quantitative differences in gene expression in closely related mammals (p. 342 2nd column last paragraph). The art of Cobb et al (Crit Care Med 2002 Vol. 30 p. 2711) teaches the in analysis of gene expression in spleen and liver sample from septic mice. Notably, the reference teaches that, when compared to a non-septic sample, the relevant expression profiles of the septic mouse spleen and the septic mouse liver contain different nucleic acids at different levels (Table 1; p.2714, middle col., lns.2-8). As such the art teaches that expression levels of the same nucleic acids in different tissue samples differ. Therefore the art indicates that the identifying characteristics or functional attributes that would distinguish different members of the claimed genus will differ depending on the sample type.
In the instant case the specification does not provide the skilled artisan with an adequate written description of particular nucleic acids suitable for performing the claimed method as generically encompassed in the claims.
In analysis of the claims for compliance with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, the written description guidelines note regarding genus/species situations that "Satisfactory disclosure of a ``representative number'' depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the elements possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed." (See: 'Written Description" Requirement, Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001.) In the instant case, the specification fails to teach the necessary common attributes or features of the biomarkers across species and samples and functionally determining prognosis based upon any altered expression of the listed genes in view of the species disclosed. As such, one of skill in the art would not recognize that applicant was in possession of the genus encompassed by the broadly claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10-21 are indefinite over the recitation of “TNFalpha related disease.” The specification does not provide a limiting definition for this phrase and there is no art recognized definition for this phrase. It is unclear as to what disorders are encompassed and what disorders are not encompassed by this phrase. For instance, it is not clear as to whether “TNF alpha related” encompasses any disorder that is a side-effect / symptom of a disorder such as an IBD, including stress, stomach pains or if this includes any other type of bowel diseases that would lead to IBD. The metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter are not clear.
Claims 10-21 are indefinite over the term “involved” in claim 10. The specification states that RAC1-PAK1 axis is a final common pathway of multiple immunoreceptor signaling cascades (para 10). The specification states that RAC1-PAK1 axis is a final common pathway of multiple immunoreceptor signaling cascades (para 11). The specification does not provide description of the genes encompaasd by this axis. Furthermore it is not clear which genes would be involved in the axis as these could have any relationship with the genes of the axis. Therefore it would not be clear which genes would be encompassed.
Claims 20-21 are indefinite over “increase”. The term “ is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “increase” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As there is no requirement for a comparison in the claim it is not clear which binding affinity is at an increase or a 10% increase as it is not clear the comparison binding affinity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10,12-13,15-18,20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khare et al. (Inflamm Bowel Dis 2015 Vol 21 p. 287).
With regard to claim 10 and 12, Khare et al. teaches increased expression in PAK1 (p. 287). Khare et al. teaches treating the subject with increased expression with a TNF alpha antibody to treat IBS (p. 294).
With regard to claim 13, Khare et al. teaches detection of PAK1 (p. 294). It is noted that Khare et al. does not teach the elected combination but teaches the breadth of the claim.
With regard to claim 15, Khare et al. teaches ulcerative colitis (p. 287).
With regard to claim 16-17, Khare et al. teaches protein expression in tissue (p 258 2nd column).
With regard to claim 18, Khare et al. teaches protein sample from a subject (p 258 2nd column).
With regard to claims 20-21, Khare et al. teaches determining using immune assay that measures binding affinity (p. 258 2nd column). It is noted it is not clear the metes and bounds of the terms “increased by at least 10%”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare et al. (Inflamm Bowel Dis 2015 Vol 21 p. 287) in view of Mattoon et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20080254482 Oct 16, 2008) `
Khare et al. teaches increased expression in PAK1 (p. 287). Khare et al. teaches treating the subject with increased expression with a TNF alpha antibody to treat IBS (p. 294).
However, Khare et al does not teach how the medication is administered or measuring RNA expression.
With regard to claims 11 and 14, Mattoon et al. teaches intravenously administering infliximab (para 48).
With regard to claim 19, Mattoon et al. teaches RNA hybridization of PAK1 (table 12).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Khare et al to use known TNF alpha inhibitors and measurement of RNA of PAK1 as described by Mattoon et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to use on of a finite number of TNF inhibitors with the expected result of treating. Furhtermore, it would be obvious that expression of RNA can be measured in the tissue of Khare et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682