DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 lines 39-41 cites “the second tapered surface is shorter in protrusion length than the first tapered surface and abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component”. Examination of the applicant’s specifications and drawings, disclosure related specifically “the second tapered surface is shorter in protrusion length than the first tapered surface”, could not be found. For the purpose of examination, the office will interpret this limitation as “the second tapered surface abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component” No disclosure in applicant’s specification could be found related to this limitation.
Claim 1 lines 34-36 cites “a second tapered surface that approaches the first box-side wall portion and the box-side main surface and extends closer to the box-side main surface than the first tapered surface”. Moreover, paragraph [0035] of the published disclosure teaches away this limitation (“Before being deformed, a portion of second deformable portion 124 is disposed in tapered surface 123”), rendering the drawing moot to disclose this limitation.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12.
Claim 9 lines 42-44 cites “the second tapered surface is shorter in protrusion length than the first tapered surface and abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component”. Examination of the applicant’s specifications and drawings, disclosure related specifically “the second tapered surface is shorter in protrusion length than the first tapered surface”, could not be found. For the purpose of examination, the office will interpret this limitation as “the second tapered surface abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component”.
Claim 9 lines 37-39 cites “a second tapered surface that approaches the first box-side wall portion and the box-side main surface and extends closer to the box-side main surface than the first tapered surface”. Moreover, paragraph [0035] of the published disclosure teaches away this limitation (“Before being deformed, a portion of second deformable portion 124 is disposed in tapered surface 123”), rendering the drawing moot to disclose this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Nagano (US 10063040; “Nagano” hereinafter), in view of Howard et al (US 6307752; “Howard” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1 (as best understood), Nagano teaches: a housing (4) that is to house a circuit board (3, figs. 2-4), the housing comprising:
a box component (41, fig. 3) that includes an opening (43, fig. 3) on a side facing the circuit board that is housed (figs. 2-3); and
a lid component (42, fig. 3) that closes the opening of the box component (fig. 2), wherein
the box component includes a box-side frame portion (see annotated fig. 4 below),
the lid component includes a lid-side frame portion (see annotated fig. 4 below),
when the lid component is attached to the box component, the box-side frame portion and the lid-side frame portion combine into a loop shape (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 1-5) to configure a frame portion (perimeter of the box-side frame portion and the lid-side frame portion) that corresponds to an outer peripheral shape of an exposed component (connectors 2, figs. 1-5) that is attached to the circuit board and exposed in a first direction from the housing (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 1-5, where connectors 2 are exposed from the housing and corresponding to the frame portion).
the box-side frame portion includes a first box-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 4 below) intersecting with a box- side main surface which is the largest surface of the box component (see annotated fig. 4 below),
the lid-side frame portion includes a first lid-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 4 below) intersecting with a lid-side main surface (see annotated fig. 4 below) which is the largest surface of the lid component,
the first box-side wall portion and the first lid-side wall portion overlap each other in the first direction (clearly disclosed upon examination of figs. 2, 4-5).
the box component (41) includes four box-side wall portions that include the first box-side wall portion (fig. 3), extending from the box-side main surface in a thickness direction of the circuit board (fig. 2-3), and intersect with the box-side main surface (fig. 3),
the four box-side wall portions includes a second box-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 3 below) facing the first box-side wall portion,
the first box-side wall portion includes a first protruding strip portion (41d, see annotated fig. 3 below) that projects from the first box-side wall portion toward the second box-side wall portion (fig. 3) and extends in the thickness direction of the circuit board (as disclosed upon examination of figures 2-3),
the first protruding strip portion includes:
a first tapered surface that approaches the second box-side wall portion and the box-side main surface (see annotated fig. 2 below and fig. 3); and
a second deformable portion that extends from the tapered surface toward the box-side main surface from the opening,
the second box-side wall portion includes a second protruding strip portion (second instance of 41d, see annotated fig. 3 below) that projects from the second box-side wall portion toward the first box-side wall portion (fig. 3) and extends in the thickness direction of the circuit board (as disclosed upon examination of figures 2-3), and
the second protruding strip portion includes:
a second tapered surface that approaches the first box-side wall portion and the box-side main surface (see annotated fig. 2 below and fig. 3).
Nagano does not explicitly disclose:
the first protruding strip portion includes a second deformable portion that extends from the tapered surface toward the box-side main surface from the opening,
the second tapered surface extending closer to the box-side main surface than the first tapered surface.
a stopper portion that extends further toward the box-side main surface than the second tapered surface and contacts one surface of the circuit board, and
the second tapered surface abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component.
However, Howard discloses,
a first protruding strip portion (32) includes a second deformable portion (34) that extends from a first tapered surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) toward the box-side main surface from an opening (aperture of 12, fig. 2),
a second protruding strip portion (40) including a second tapered surface extending closer to the box-side main surface than the first tapered surface (see annotated fig. 2 below).
a stopper portion (44) that extends further toward the box-side main surface than the second tapered surface (figure 2 discloses the stopper 44 comprising a slope extending towards the box-side main surface) and contacts one surface of a circuit board (14), and
the second tapered surface abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component (fig. 2 clearly teaches this limitation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include Howard’s first and second protruding strip portion as claimed, in order to frictionally retain a circuit board and collect scrapings associated with the second deformable portion, so as to not interfere with the proper seating of the circuit board, as disclosed by Howard (col. 1, lines 48-54).
Regarding Claim 2, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Nagano further teaches: wherein the box component includes a box-side protrusion (41d and 46) including a leading end (46b, fig. 2) that abuts one surface (upper surface of 3, fig. 2) of the circuit board, the lid component includes a lid-side protrusion (42d and 47) including a leading end (47b, fig.2) that abuts another surface (lower surface 3) of the circuit board, and the box-side protrusion and the lid-side protrusion hold the circuit board in a thickness direction of the circuit board when the lid component is attached to the box component (see at least column 5, lines 45-49).
Regarding claim 9, Nagano teaches electronic device (1, fig. 1) comprising:
a circuit board (3, figs. 2-3); and
a housing (4, fig. 1) that is to house the circuit board (fig. 2), wherein the housing includes:
a box component (41, fig. 3) that includes an opening (43, fig. 3) on a side facing the circuit board that is housed (figs. 2-3); and
a lid component (42, fig. 3) that closes the opening of the box component (fig.2),
the box component includes a box-side frame portion (see annotated fig. 4 below),
the lid component includes a lid-side frame portion (see annotated fig. 4 below), and when the lid component is attached to the box component, the box-side frame portion and the lid-side frame portion combine into a loop shape (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 1-5) to configure a frame portion (perimeter of the box-side frame portion and the lid-side frame portion) that corresponds to an outer peripheral shape of an exposed component (connector 2, figs. 2, 4-5) that is attached to the circuit board and exposed in a first direction from the housing (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 1-5, where connectors 2 are exposed from the housing and corresponding to the frame portion).
the box-side frame portion includes a box-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 4 below) intersecting with a box- side main surface (see annotated fig. 4 below) which is the largest surface of the box component,
the lid-side frame portion includes a lid-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 4 below) intersecting with a lid-side main surface (see annotated fig. 4 below) which is the largest surface of the lid component, and
the box-side wall portion and the lid-side wall portion overlap each other in the first direction (clearly disclosed upon examination of figs. 2, 4-5).
the box component (41) includes four box-side wall portions that include the first box-side wall portion (fig. 3), extending from the box-side main surface in a thickness direction of the circuit board (fig. 2-3), and intersect with the box-side main surface (fig. 3),
the four box-side wall portions includes a second box-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 3 below) facing the first box-side wall portion,
the first box-side wall portion includes a first protruding strip portion (41d, see annotated fig. 3 below) that projects from the first box-side wall portion toward the second box-side wall portion (fig. 3) and extends in the thickness direction of the circuit board (as disclosed upon examination of figures 2-3),
the first protruding strip portion includes:
a first tapered surface that approaches the second box-side wall portion and the box-side main surface (see annotated fig. 2 below and fig. 3); and
a second deformable portion that extends from the tapered surface toward the box-side main surface from the opening,
the second box-side wall portion includes a second protruding strip portion (second instance of 41d, see annotated fig. 3 below) that projects from the second box-side wall portion toward the first box-side wall portion (fig. 3) and extends in the thickness direction of the circuit board (as disclosed upon examination of figures 2-3), and
the second protruding strip portion includes:
a second tapered surface that approaches the first box-side wall portion and the box-side main surface (see annotated fig. 2 below and fig. 3).
Nagano does not explicitly disclose:
the first protruding strip portion includes a second deformable portion that extends from the tapered surface toward the box-side main surface from the opening,
the second tapered surface extending closer to the box-side main surface than the first tapered surface.
a stopper portion that extends further toward the box-side main surface than the second tapered surface and contacts one surface of the circuit board, and
the second tapered surface abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component.
However, Howard discloses,
a first protruding strip portion (32) includes a second deformable portion (34) that extends from a first tapered surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) toward the box-side main surface from an opening (aperture of 12, fig. 2),
a second protruding strip portion (40) including a second tapered surface extending closer to the box-side main surface than the first tapered surface (see annotated fig. 2 below).
a stopper portion (44) that extends further toward the box-side main surface than the second tapered surface (figure 2 discloses the stopper 44 comprising a slope extending towards the box-side main surface) and contacts one surface of a circuit board (14), and
the second tapered surface abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component (fig. 2 clearly teaches this limitation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include Howard’s first and second protruding strip portion into Nagano as claimed, in order to frictionally retain a circuit board and collect scrapings associated with the second deformable portion, so as to not interfere with the proper seating of the circuit board, as disclosed by Howard (col. 1, lines 48-54).
Regarding claim 11, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Nagano further teaches: wherein the box component includes:
a box-side protrusion (46, fig. 2) including a leading end (46b) that abuts one surface of the circuit board (fig. 2); and
a base portion (see annotated fig. 3 below) that is lower than the box-side protrusion, and the circuit board is in surface contact with the box-side protrusion and is spaced apart from the base portion (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 2-3).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nagano, in view of Howard et al (US 6307752; “Howard” hereinafter), and further in view of Mizutani et al (US 20060044768; “Mizutani” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 3, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein one of the box-side protrusion or the lid-side protrusion includes, in the leading end, a first deformable portion that deforms when the lid component is attached to the box component.
However, Mizutani teaches:
wherein one of the box-side protrusion or the lid-side protrusion (elastic member 20 and pin 21) includes, in the leading end (fig. 1), a first deformable portion (20) that deforms when the lid component is attached to the box component (elastic member 20 is provided between upper casing 3 and circuit board 11, in a compressed state, and therefore must have some degree of deformation, ¶[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Nagano’s lid-side protrusion for Mizutani’s protrusion with a deformable portion, in order to prevent warping of the circuit board during high temperature operation by allowing the circuit board to expand freely, and promote a long service life (¶[0034]).
Claim 3 is alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nagano in view of Howard, and further in view of Azumi et al (JP2002134963; “Azumi” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 3, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein one of the box-side protrusion or the lid-side protrusion includes, in the leading end, a first deformable portion that deforms when the lid component is attached to the box component.
However, Azumi teaches:
wherein one of the box-side protrusion or the lid-side protrusion (8) includes, in the leading end (fig. 1), a first deformable portion (8) that deforms (¶[0010], ¶[0014], ¶[0019]) when a lid component (30, through printed board component (20), fig. 1) is attached to a box component (1, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Nagano’s lid-side protrusion for Azumi’s protrusion with a deformable portion, in order to securely hold the circuit board, and thus, high vibration resistance can be provided (¶[0019]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nagano, in view of Howard et al (US 6307752; “Howard” hereinafter), and further in view of Maruyama (US20220386454; “Maruyama” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 5, Nagano in view of Howards teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the frame portion includes a fitting portion that mates with a groove or a hole that is provided in an outer peripheral surface of the exposed component and extends along a wall portion of the housing from which the exposed component is exposed.
However, Maruyama teaches:
wherein a frame portion includes a fitting portion (unnumbered, see annotated fig. 2 below) that mates with a groove (unnumbered, see annotated fig. 2 below) or a hole that is provided in an outer peripheral surface of an exposed component (11 and 12, fig. 2) and extends along a wall portion (where the fitting portion is disposed) of a housing (10) from which the exposed component is exposed (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagano in view of Howard’s housing and exposed component, with Maruyama’s teaching, so that the frame portion includes a fitting portion that mates with a groove or a hole that is provided in an outer peripheral surface of the exposed component and extends along a wall portion of the housing from which the exposed component is exposed, since the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Claims 6-8 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nagano, in view of Howard et al (US 6307752; “Howard” hereinafter), and further in view of Wu et al (US20220345552; “Wu” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 6, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Nagano does not explicitly disclose: wherein a material of the housing includes at least one of acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), acrylonitrile styrene acrylate (ASA), styrene acrylonitrile (SAN), or polypropylene (PP).
However, Wu teaches,
wherein a material of a housing (252, figs. 11-12) includes at least one of acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) (see at least ¶[0134] and [0195]), acrylonitrile styrene acrylate (ASA), styrene acrylonitrile (SAN), or polypropylene (PP).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include at least one of acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), acrylonitrile styrene acrylate (ASA), styrene acrylonitrile (SAN), or polypropylene (PP), as material for Nagano’s housing as taught by Wu, in order to provide a strong and lightweight housing, with the added advantage of enhanced manufacturing ease of complex designs (¶[0007]). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of engineering choice (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 7, Nagano in view of Howard and Wu teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Wu further teaches: wherein the material includes a reinforcing material (¶[0196]).
Regarding Claim 8, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Nagano in view of Howard does not explicitly disclose:
wherein elasticity of a material of the housing is selected from a range of from 2,000 MPa to 2,500 MPa, inclusive.
However, Wu teaches:
wherein elasticity of a material of the housing is selected from a range of from 2,000 MPa to 2,500 MPa, inclusive (¶[0132] and [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the elasticity of a material of the housing as being selected from a range of from 2,000 MPa to 2,500 MPa, and material for Nagano in view of Howard’s housing as taught by Wu, in order to provide a strong and lightweight housing (¶[0017]). Furthermore, it has been held, that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the arts (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nagano in view of Howard et al (US 6307752; “Howard” hereinafter), and further in view of Honda et al (US20070264851; “Honda” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Nagano further discloses:
wherein
the lid component (42) includes four lid-side wall portions (fig. 4) that include the first lid-side wall portion (fig. 4), extending from the lid-side main surface in the thickness direction of the circuit board (figs. 2-4), and intersect with the lid-side main surface (fig. 4).
Nagano in view of Howard does not explicitly disclose:
the frame portion includes:
a first fitting portion that mates with a first groove provided in an outer peripheral surface of the exposed component on a side of the box component and extending along the first box-side wall portion from which the exposed component is exposed; and
a second fitting portion that mates with a second groove provided in the outer peripheral surface of the exposed component on a side of the lid component and extending along the first lid-side wall portion from which the exposed component is exposed.
However, Honda discloses:
a frame portion (see annotated fig. 14 below) including:
a first fitting portion (see annotated fig. 14 below) that mates with a first groove (see annotated fig. 14 below) provided in an outer peripheral surface of an exposed component (300, fig. 14) on a side of the box component (410, fig. 14) and extending along a first box-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 14 below) from which the exposed component is exposed; and
a second fitting portion (see annotated fig. 14 below) that mates with a second groove (see annotated fig. 14 below) provided in the outer peripheral surface of an exposed component (300) on a side of the lid component (420) and extending along a first lid-side wall portion (see annotated fig. 14 below) from which the exposed component is exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagano’s housing and exposed component, with Honda’s teaching, so that a first fitting portion that mates with a first groove provided in an outer peripheral surface of the exposed component on a side of the box component and extending along the first box-side wall portion from which the exposed component is exposed; and a second fitting portion that mates with a second groove provided in the outer peripheral surface of the exposed component on a side of the lid component and extending along the first lid-side wall portion from which the exposed component is exposed, since the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nagano, in view of Howard, and further in view of Azumi et al (JP2002134963; “Azumi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Nagano in view of Howard teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Nagano further discloses:
wherein
the box component includes a box-side protrusion (46, fig. 2) including a first leading end (46b, fig.2) that abuts one surface of the circuit board (fig. 2),
the lid component includes a lid-side protrusion including (47, fig. 2) a second leading end (47b, fig. 2) that abuts another surface of the circuit board (fig. 2),
Nagano in view of Howard does not explicitly disclose:
the lid-side protrusion is provided with a first deformable portion at the second leading end, the first deformable portion having a wedge or needle shape toward the circuit board,
the first deformable portion is configured to be deformed from a state of point contact or line contact with the circuit board to a state of surface contact with the circuit board by being pressed against the circuit board in the thickness direction of the circuit board.
However, Azumi discloses:
the lid-side protrusion (6b, figs. 1-2) is provided with a first deformable portion (8b, figs. 1-2) at the second leading end (distal end of 6b) ,the first deformable portion having a wedge or needle shape toward the circuit board (¶[0019]),
the first deformable portion is configured to be deformed from a state of point contact or line contact with a circuit board (20, fig. 1) to a state of surface contact with the circuit board by being pressed against the circuit board in the thickness direction of the circuit board (¶[0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagano’s lid-side protrusion to include Azumi’s first deformable portion, in order to securely hold the circuit board, and thus, high vibration resistance can be provided (¶[0019]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument:
“HOWARD is entirely silent in regard to at least wherein "the second tapered surface is shorter in protrusion length than the first tapered surface and abuts an edge of the circuit board when the circuit board is being positioned in the box component," as generally recited in Applicant's amended independent claim 1, and as agreed upon during the interview of November 14, 2025.”
Examiner’s response:
Please refer to 112(a) rejection for claims 1 and 9 above in the present office action.
Applicant’s additional argument:
“Further, Applicant respectfully submits that the allegedly analogous second deformable portion 34 in HOWARD, as discussed above, is simply a flat side surface 34 of the first board surface 32 for frictionally retaining the circuit board 14, but, as articulated, and illustrated, in Fig. 2 of HOWARD, reproduced above, this allegedly analogous second deformable portion does not extend from the first tapered surface toward the analogous box-side main surface (i.e., the planar front wall 31 of the housing 12), as generally recited in Applicant's amended independent claim 1”.
Examiner’s response:
Howard’s figure 2 clearly shows deformable portion 34 with a tapered surface, which would have been rendered substantially flat due to placement of the circuit board as evidenced by the forming of scrapings 56. Applicant’s argument is more akin to snap in place fastening means. Furthermore, Howards annotated figure 2 discloses a second deformable portion having a surface that clearly extends in a continuous and uninterrupted manner towards the first tapered surface, in a downward fashion towards the box-side main surface.
Conclusion
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841