DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an the CN202211058014X application filed in China on 8/30/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. However, applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. Accordingly, the instant claims are examined with a priority date of 7/24/2023.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending and under current examination. Claims 14-20 are cancelled in the amendments to the claims filed 3/18/2026.
Withdrawn Objections and Claim Rejections
The objection to the drawings of the specification is withdrawn in view of the arguments filed 7/2/2026.
The objections to claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 7/2/2026.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-5 and 10-13 recite the limitation “pink red plum rechecking essence”. This renders the claim indefinite because the specification provides no definition as to what this ingredient may contain and it is not a term of the art. Therefore, it is impossible to discern the metes and bounds of the claim.
Regarding claims 6-9, claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, Applicant argues that specification explicitly defines the term “pink red plum rechecking essence”. This is not found persuasive. The specification, and the amended claims, simply state that the pink red plum rechecking essence comprises manuka and that it is commercially available. Simply listing a component or manufacturer of pink red plum rechecking essence does not fully define what pink red plum rechecking essence is. The fact that a product by that name is commercially available does not define the full scope of that product, which is most reasonably construed to be broader. Therefore, the Examiner considers the phrase “pink red plum rechecking essence” to be indefinite and the rejection is maintained. The examiner suggests reviewing the English translation of the original Application for confirmation of the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 7/2/2026 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinsky (WO2018144093A2, publication year: 2018, of record), in view of Gan (U.S. Patent No. 9,814,670, issue year: 2017, of record), Scherner (U.S. Patent Application No. 2010/0061946, publication year: 2010, of record), Chen (CN112704712A, publication date: 4/27/2021, citations refer to machine translation, of record), and Resibo Eye Cream (INKEEDecoder, available 2/17/2020).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 1-6, Pinsky teaches a composition useful for regulating or improving mammalian skin condition. Such regulating methods are directed to preventing and/or retarding the appearance of dark circles under the eye of a mammal (pg. 35 lines 1-6). The compositions can include one or more purified, synthetic, or recombinant, collagen proteins (pg. 8 lines 27-28), sodium hyaluronate crosspolymer-2 (pg. 37 line 34), and bisabolol (pg. 23 line 16). The composition may also contain a safe and effective amount of one or more anti-wrinkle agents (pg. 24 lines 12-13). The composition may be formulated as a cream (pg. 22 line 7).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Pinsky teaches that the composition may include a polyol, thickener, chelants, preservatives, buffers, water (pg. 20 line 26), emulsifier (pg. 20 line 1), and moisturizers (pg. 32, line 15), all read on auxiliary materials claimed by claims 6 and 7.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 1-6 and 10-13 Pinsky does not teach the inclusion of bifida ferment lysate, glucosylglycerol, eight treasure essence, or pink red plum rechecking essence. However, this deficiency is cured by Gan, Scherner, Ping, and Resibo Eye Cream.
Gan teaches an eye cream that can help firm up skin and increase microcirculation to reduce the appearance of under eye bags while also reducing the appearance of dark circles (col. 11 lines 1-4). The composition may contain 1% by weight bifida ferment lysate (col. 28, Table 9). Addition of bifida ferment lysate can enhance skin smoothness by suppressing protein-destructive enzymes known to cause elasticity loss and can reduce redness caused by irritation of the skin (col. 3 lines 53-61).
Scherner teaches an eye care cream comprising 10% by weight glucosyl glyceride [0075 Example 3]. The recipes according to the invention which comprise known anti-wrinkle active ingredient are advantageously suitable for the protection from esthetically unattractive changes in the skin, such as local hyperpigmentation, hypopigmentation and defective pigmentation [0065].
Chen teaches a traditional Chinese medicine composition for eye care that may be used as an additive in eye care products for dark circles [n0005]. The composition comprises Ligusticum chuanxiong, poria cocos, atractylodes macrocephala, Bletilla striata, ampelopsis japonica, artificial bezoar, pearl, and borneol [n0030 and n0032]. The instant specification defines eight-treasure essence stock solution to include chuanxiong root extract, poria cocos sclerotium extract, atractylodes extract, bletilla striata extract, ampelopsis japonica root extract, artificial bezoar, pearl extract, and borneol [0017 of instant specification], therefore the Examiner considers the composition of Ping to read on the “eight-treasure essence stock solution” limitation of the instant claims.
Resibo Eye cream contains Leptospermum Scoparium branch/leaf oil, an antioxidant (pg. 2, Highlight), and improves blood microcirculation around the eyes, effectively eliminating dark circles and swelling (pg. 1 and pg. 2, Ingredients overview).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1-6 and 10-13, the idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional cosmetic ingredients used in eye creams for alleviating dark circles. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
The parts by weight of the ingredients present in the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amounts of each ingredient in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous cosmetic effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, each reference relied upon in the rejection teaches that the ingredients embraced by the instant claim all contribute to the cosmetic effects of an eye care product, particularly in regard to anti-wrinkle or anti-dark circle effects. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the weight of each ingredient present in a cosmetic composition, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amounts of each ingredient would have a direct effect on the cosmetic effects rendered by the eye care product and would therefore be an optimizable variable.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinsky (WO2018144093A2, publication year: 2018, of record), in view of Gan (U.S. Patent No. 9,814,670, issue year: 2017, of record), Scherner (U.S. Patent Application No. 2010/0061946, publication year: 2010, of record), Chen (CN112704712A, publication date: 4/27/2021, citations refer to machine translation, of record), and Resibo Eye Cream (INKEEDecoder, available 2/17/2020), as applied to claims 1-7 and 10-13 above, and further in view of Gerardi (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0356295, publication year: 2014, of record).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Pinsky, in view of Gan, Scherner, Ping, and Resibo Eye Cream, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claims 1 and 7 above.
Regarding claim 8, Pinsky teaches cosmetic composition may include shea butter and cetearyl alcohol (Claim 19). Pinsky also teaches that the composition may include an emulsifier (pg. 20 line 1).
Regarding claim 9, Pinsky teaches that the cosmetic composition may include glycerol, sorbitol, propylene glycol (pg. 32 lines 21-22), gallic acid and its alkyl esters, especially propyl gallate (pg. 25 line 34), phenoxyethanol (pg. 30 line 28), chlorphenesin (pg. 36 line 34), methylparaben, and propylparaben (pg. 34 line 21). Pinsky also teaches that the composition may include chelants and preservatives (pg. 20 line 26).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Pinsky does not teach the inclusion of an emulsifier or chelating agent embraced by the instant claims. However, this deficiency is cured by Gerardi.
Gerardi teaches a body moisturizing cream [0011] that may contain sorbitan palmitate, sorbitan olivate and cetearyl olivate as emulsifiers [0056] and disodium EDTA [0071]. The composition may also contain cetyl palmitate [0058]. With regards to the “emulsifier” limitations of instant claim 8, the prior art teaches the same cetyl palmitate as claimed and therefore, the emulsifier properties are necessarily present; the Examiner directs attention to MPEP 2112.01 (II) which states: “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional emulsifiers and chelating agents used in cosmetic cream compositions. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the teachings of Goldsberry have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Goldsberry for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On pages 7-9, Applicant argues that the prior art references do not individually teach all of the limitations of the instant claims. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On page 9, Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the claimed components in the specific manner claimed. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the prior art references are directed to ingredients in eye creams intended to relieve dark under eye circles. As described in the obviousness rejection above, the idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional cosmetic ingredients used in eye creams for alleviating dark circles. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
On page 9, Applicant argues that the prior art references are directed to different technical fields. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the applied prior art references are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, each reference is directed to an eye cream intended to relieve dark circles under the eyes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have therefore reasonably concluded that the references are in the field of the inventor’s endeavor (an eye cream composition).
On page 9, Applicant argues that the disparate reference relied upon in the rejection of record requires impermissible hindsight reconstruction. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, each reference applied in the rejection is directed to an eye cream that alleviates dark circles under the eye. One of ordinary skill in the art would have therefore reasonably relied upon each reference to formulate an eye cream.
On page 9, Applicant argues that the claimed invention is a synergistic combination of seven active components that together achieve superior repairing, soothing, low-irritation, and high-stability effects. This is not found persuasive. Please refer to MPEP 716.02 (b) which details the burden on Applicant to establish that results in a side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art are unexpected and significant. Specifically, Applicant must establish that differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and are of both practical and statistical significance. Additionally, evidence of unexpected properties must be commensurate in scope with the claims.
Differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious: The evidence of unexpected results amounts to reduced irritation at a level that is significantly lower than what would be expected from the individual components or their simple admixtures rendered by the synergistic combination of bifida ferment lysate with the other components. The complete composition also provides significantly superior skin barrier repair and TNF-α inhibition. However, the Applicant has not clearly demonstrated the synergy of the components of the composition. The evidence of unexpected results demonstrate that pure bifida ferment lysate is moderately irritating (Control Group 1) and that higher concentrations (Control Groups 2 and 3) than those of the instant invention but less than pure bifida ferment lysate (Control Group 1) are low/moderately irritating. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that higher concentrations of an ingredient that that is an irritant in a HET-CAM test would dictate a dose-dependency irritation score for compositions that contain that ingredient. The Applicant has not supplied any data demonstrating the irritation rendered by the other ingredients alone or the composition in absence of the bifida ferment lysate. Therefore, the Applicant has not sufficiently demonstrated synergy of the ingredients in reducing eye irritation. Furthermore, Guéniche et. al. (Experimental Dermatology, pg. e1-e8, publication year: 2009) teaches that Bididobacterium longum lysate decreases TNF-α release when applied to an ex-vivo human skin model (pg. e6, Discussion) and improves skin barrier function (pg. e7, Discussion). Uchio (CN114126594A, publication date: 3/1/2022, citations refer to machine translation) teaches that bisabolol may be used to inhibit TNF-α production (pg. 1, Technical Field). Tan (CN114209816A, publication date: 3/22/2022, citations refer to machine translation) teaches that glucosylglycerol slightly decreases TNF-α production compared to control (Figure 5 and pg. 4, Experimental Example 2). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably concluded that a composition that does contain bifida ferment lysate would inhibit TNF-alpha production and a composition that does not contain either bisabolol or glucosylglycerol would have less TNF-α inhibitory effect than a composition that does contain those ingredients. Regarding the TEWL data from Experiment 3, there is no significant difference between the TEWL values of Embodiment 4 (the inventive composition) compared to Control Groups 5 (no glucosyl glycerol) and 6 (no bisabolol) (Table 4 of the instant specification). Therefore, the evidence of unexpected results is not unexpected or unobvious over the prior art.
Differences are of both practical and statistical significance: The evidence of unexpected results amounts to decreased eye irritation and TNF-alpha production and increased skin barrier function rendered by the instant composition. Therefore, the evidence of unexpected results is of practical significance. The data regarding TNF-α production is of statistical significance. However, there is no significant difference between the TEWL values of Embodiment 4 compared to Control Groups 5 and 6 (Table 4 of the instant specification) and there is no statistical analysis provided for the stimulation results of the HET-CAM test. Therefore, the evidence regarding skin barrier function and eye irritation is not of statistical significance.
Evidence of unexpected properties must be in commensurate scope with the claims: The evidence of unexpected properties is in commensurate scope with the claims.
Additionally, no side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art is provided to establish unexpectedly superior performance. There is no nexus between the purportedly unexpected property and the differences between the instant invention, as claimed, and the closest prior art. Thus, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617