DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 5-6 on page 5 of the specification need to be updated to reflect the updated status of application 16/874,286. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "first and second measured impedances" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim in light of the recitation of “comparing a representative of impedance” in line 5 of claim two. It is not if or how these recitations are related.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a threshold time limit" in line 5 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim in light of the recitation of “a time limit” in line 9 of claim two. It is not if or how these recitations are related.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "first and second measured impedances" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim in light of the recitation of “comparing a representative of impedance” in line 5 of claim two. It is not if or how these recitations are related.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "first and second measured impedances" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim in light of the recitations of “measuring a representation of an impedance” in lines 4-5 and “comparing a representative of impedance” in line 12 of claim eleven. It is not if or how these recitations are related.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a threshold time limit" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim in light of the recitation of “a time limit” in line 17 of claim eleven. It is not if or how these recitations are related.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "first and second measured impedances" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim in light of the recitations of “measuring a representation of an impedance” in lines 4-5 and “comparing a representative of impedance” in line 12 of claim eleven. It is not if or how these recitations are related.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Highsmith et al (2017/0105783) in view of Woo et al (2016/0038216).
Referring to claims 2 and 11, Highsmith et al teaches a method of delivering an electrical signal and a surgical generator (13/21) configured to generate and provide controlled electrical power of an electrosurgical signal to biological tissue in electrical communication with an electrosurgical device (11) (paragraphs 0039-0040), the surgical generator comprising: a measurement circuit coupled to a control circuit (20) and configured for measuring a representation of an impedance of the biological tissue (paragraph 0041); and a control circuit (20) in communication with an electrical-energy source (21), the electrical- energy source electrically coupled to the electrosurgical device and configured to generate the electrosurgical signal (paragraphs 0039-0040; Figure 4), the control circuit configured for: initiating a timer in response to a delivery of an electrosurgical signal to biological tissue in electrical communication with two electrodes (18) of the electrosurgical device (11) (paragraphs 0039 and 0061; Figures 3, 4 and 7); comparing the representation of the impedance of the biological tissue to a threshold value (114) (paragraphs 0061-0063); continuing the delivery of the electrosurgical signal until the threshold value is met (paragraph 0065); and upon reaching the threshold value, recording an elapsed time (paragraph 0068).
Highsmith et al fails to teach declaring an error state if the elapsed time is less than a time limit. Woo et al teaches an analogous method and surgical generator comprising a control circuit (Figure 1A or 1B) that declares an error state if the elapsed time is less than a time limit (paragraphs 0065 and 0067-0069). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or control circuit, as taught by Highsmith et al, to declares an error state if the elapsed time is less than a time limit, as taught by Woo et al, in order to control energy delivery (paragraph 0065).
Referring to claims 9 and 18, Highsmith et al teaches wherein the threshold value is a first threshold value, and wherein the control circuit is further configured for: during a finishing phase: comparing the representation of impedance of the biological tissue to a second threshold value; and delivering the electrosurgical signal at a constant power ramp rate until the representation of impedance meets or exceeds a second threshold value (paragraphs 0061-0065, 0068 and 0069; Figures 7 and 8).
Referring to claim 10, Highsmith et al teaches wherein before delivering the electrosurgical signal at the constant power ramp rate, delivering the electrosurgical signal at a constant power (paragraphs 0061-0065, 0068 and 0069; Figures 7 and 8).
Conclusion
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794