DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species as follow
Metal ion (claim 1; claim 2 having the same selection): a gadolinium (Gd) ion
(2)(a) Self-assembled or self-disassembled: self-assembled
(2)(a)(1)(a) Manner of self-assembly: self-assembly performed by a concentration of the ligand (claim 4 being included).
(2)(a)(1)(b) Type of properties of the self-assembled complex: paramagnetic properties, as recited in claim 12.
(2)(a)(1)(c) Type of connection between neighboring ligands (claim 15): π-π interaction.
(2)(a)(1)(d) Control of the aggregated structure: the size of the structure is controlled depending on a concentration of the ligand, as recited in claim 16.
(2)(b) Type of ligand (claim 5): phosphate; claim 6 having the same selection, i.e., a phosphate ligand comprising one or more of adenosine monophosphate,
adenosine diphosphate, or adenosine triphosphate.
(2)(b)(ii) Among claims 7, 8, 9, and 10: claim 10 (a degree of aggregation or a size of the structure is controlled depending on a degree of mixing of the ligand with
respect to the number of the phosphates).
(2)(c) Type of active ingredient (claim 11): doxorubicin (claims 18, 19, and 20 being included).
Therefore, it would include claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10-12, 15-16, and 18-20 in the reply filed on 10/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 12/19/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Republic of Korea 10-2022-0178640 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. #1, 6, and 7, are light print and small; mainly when they are reduced to print. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10-12, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (EP 3984557 A1) (“Kang” herein- provided by applicant) and further in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0138084) (“Li” herein).
(Claim contain only selected species)
Claim 1.
Kang discloses a self-assembled complex composed of substances existing in a body and using the same as ligands, the self-assembled complex comprising: [0008-0009, 0016-0017]
metal ions; [0016-0017] and
one or more ligands that are self-assembled with the metal ions, wherein:
the self-assembled complex is reversibly self-assembled; [0010-0011, 0028]
self-assembly is performed by a concentration of the ligand; [00010, 0012, 0014, 0028-0030] and
a form of the self-assembled complex is controlled depending on a combination of the ligands. [0014, 0024-0027]
Kang however does not explicitly disclose the metal ions comprising one gadolinium (Gd).
Li teaches the above limitation (See paragraphs 0075-0076, 0039, and 0203 → Li teaches this limitation in that the amphiphilic conjugates of the present invention self-assemble to form nanoparticles having an interior and an exterior where the hydrophobic portion of the conjugate is in the interior and the hydrophilic portion of the conjugate is on the exterior of the nanoparticle. In some embodiments, the present invention provides a nanoparticle having a plurality of conjugates of the present invention, wherein the nanoparticle comprises an interior and an exterior. The exterior of the nanoparticles can be modified with a variety of groups, such as targeting ligands, stabilizing polymers, cell membranes, drugs, etc. Rare earth metals include Sc, Y, La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb and Lu. One of the skills in the art will appreciate that the metals described above can each adopt several different oxidation states, all of which are useful in the present invention. Representative hydrophilic therapeutic agents include doxorubicin hydrochloride, daunorubicin hydrochloride, idarubicin hydrochloride, irinotecan hydrochloride, topotecan hydrochloride, camptothecin, analogs thereof, etc. solid particles in a liquid medium are subject to weak interaction forces. Among those forces, van der Waals forces, hydrogen bonds and π-π interactions are the most important low-energy forces in self-assembled systems for keep nanoparticles stable. These forces combined both attractive and repulsive interactions which depend on aggregation degree of intermolecular.) for the purpose of having nanoscaled drug delivery system (NDDS) engineered by nanotechnologies for targetedly delivering and controllably releasing the active pharmaceutical ingredients (API) to specific focus. [0003]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kang, with the above limitation, as taught by Li, in order to have nanoscaled drug delivery system (NDDS) engineered by nanotechnologies for targetedly delivering and controllably releasing the active pharmaceutical ingredients (API) to specific focus.
Claim 2.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1. , Kang however does not explicitly disclose the wherein the metal ion is a gadolinium ion. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 4.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1, wherein the self-assembled complex is provided as a structure by aggregating one of the metal ions and the ligand. [0016-0017, 0022-0023]
Claim 5.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1, wherein the ligand comprises one of phosphate. [0028-0030]
Claim 6.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 5, wherein the ligand comprises one or more of adenosine monophosphate, adenosine diphosphate, or adenosine triphosphate. [0028-0030]
Claim 10.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1, wherein:
the ligand comprises one or more phosphates; [0028-0030]
the self-assembled complex is provided as a structure by aggregating one of the metal ions and the ligand; [0022-0023] and
a degree of aggregation or a size of the structure is controlled depending on a degree of mixing of the ligand with respect to the number of the phosphates. [0028-0030]
Claim 11.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1. Kang however does not explicitly disclose further comprising an active ingredient therein, wherein the active ingredient comprises one doxorubicin. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 12.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1. Kang however does not explicitly disclose wherein: the metal ions include ions of gadolinium (Gd);
and the self-assembled complex has paramagnetic properties. (Same as claim 1)
Since Kang teaches metal ions as gadolinium, it would have paramagnetic properties.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp v DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 15.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1. Kang however does not explicitly disclose wherein: the self-assembled complex is formed between the metal ions and the ligand through a coordination bond; and
neighboring ligands are connected through π-π interaction. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 16.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1 wherein:
the metal ion; [0016-0017]
the self-assembled complex is provided as a structure by aggregating the metal ions and the ligand; [0015, 0019-0023]
and a size of the structure is controlled depending on a concentration of the ligand. [0028-0030]
Kang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the metal ion is a gadolinium (Gd) ion. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 18.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 1, wherein:
the metal ion; [0016-0017]and
the self-assembled complex is loaded with a drug, and the drug continuously exhibits a release pattern for a desired period of time, resulting in sustained-release release. [0015, 0019-0023, 0033]
Kang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the metal ion is gadolinium (Gd) ion and the drug is doxorubicin. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 19.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 18, wherein the desired period of time is a period selected from 0.5 hours to 12 months. [0015, 0019-0020]
Claim 20.
Kang discloses the self-assembled complex of claim 18, wherein a release rate of the drug is controlled depending on a size of the self-assembled complex. [0015, 0019-0023]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi et al. (US 2013/0317421 A1) STRUCTURE HAVING NANOANTENNA AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING SAME, Gref et al. (US 10,159,738 B2) Organic-inorganic Hybrid Solid Having A Modified Outer Surface, and Husseini et al. (US 2019/0247502 A1) ULTRASOUND TRIGGERED RELEASE FROM METAL ORGANIC FRAMEWORK NANOCARRIERS.
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 10/30/2026