DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-103850, filed on 06/23/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Bisht et al. (Langmuir 2012, 28, 14055−14064).
Considering claim 1, Bisht discloses an immobilized enzyme electrode and method (abstract) comprising: an electrode; a redox enzyme (glucose oxidase) that oxidizes or reduces a target molecule; and an electron carrier (mediator - DHB) that performs electron transport between the electrode and the redox enzyme, wherein the electron carrier is immobilized on the electrode via a first linker (EDA) that is in a form of a chain, and the redox enzyme is immobilized on the electrode via a second linker (ABA) that is longer than the first linker, the second linker being in a form of a chain (Fig. 2b).
Considering claim 2, Bisht discloses the first linker includes an alkyl chain 2 carbon atoms (Fig. 2).
Considering claim 4, Bisht discloses the electron carrier (DHB) has a molecular weight of 124, which is within the claimed range of at most 500.
Considering claim 5, Bisht discloses an immobilized enzyme electrode manufacturing method for manufacturing the immobilized enzyme electrode according to claim 1, the immobilized enzyme electrode manufacturing method comprising: immobilizing the electron carrier on the electrode via the first linker that is in a form of a chain; and immobilizing the redox enzyme on the electrode via a second linker (abstract, Fig. 3).
Considering claim 6, Bisht discloses a target molecule redox method comprising: oxidizing or reducing a target molecule (glucose) using an immobilized enzyme electrode manufactured according to the immobilized enzyme electrode manufacturing method according to claim 5 (page 14062, first 5 lines).
Considering claim 8, Bisht discloses a target molecule redox device comprising: the immobilized enzyme electrode according to claim 1; and a power supply (inherently) that applies voltage (Figure 10) to the immobilized enzyme electrode, wherein the target molecule redox device oxidizes or reduces a target molecule (page 14062, first 5 lines).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bisht et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Considering claim 3, Bisht teaches a mechanism of electro-oxidation of amines onto an electrode surface, where the R is aryl or alkyl (page 14056, left column, last 6 lines, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute aryl in the linker with 4 carbon atoms (length-wise) for a 3-4 carbon alkyl chain, with reasonable expectation of success, because alkyl linker would have provided similar scaffolding and Bisht teaches that the surface attachment mechanism applied to both aryl and alkyl linkers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 7 requires the target molecule to be a protein having a disulfide bond. In Bisht the target molecule is glucose. The prior art of record does not disclose nor suggest to use the electrode of Bisht for reduction/oxidation of a protein having a disulfide bond.
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1794