DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4-6 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a connection portion of each interface circuit” in Lines 5-6. It is unclear as to whether this is intended to refer to the previously claimed “a connection portion” which is part of “each network interface circuit” of Claim 2. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the connection portion of each network interface circuit”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a wired telecommunication network” in the last two lines. It is unclear as to whether this is intended to refer to the previously claimed “A wired telecommunication network” of Line 1. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the wired telecommunication network”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the since PSE controller circuitry" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to whether this is intended to refer to the previously claimed “single PSE controller circuitry”. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the single PSE controller circuitry”.
Dependent claims inherit the indefiniteness of their parent claims and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “network” has been omitted prior to the term “interface circuit” in Line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “network” has been omitted prior to the term “interface circuit” in Line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “network” has been omitted prior to the term “interface circuit” in Lines 2, 4, and 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO International Publication Number WO 2021/170300 A1 to Brenguier (“Brenguier”).
In reference to Claim 1, Brenguier discloses a networking apparatus (See Figure 15 Number 120 and Page 21 Lines 29-31) comprising: power distribution bus (See Figure 15 Number 14, Page 7 Lines 5-8, Page 13 Lines 31-35, and Page 21 Lines 29-31) and a single powered device (PD) controller circuitry connected to the power distribution bus (See Figure 15 Number 10); a plurality of network interface circuits (See Figure 15 Numbers 4, 6, 7 coupled to 4, 7 coupled to 6, and 8 [first network interface circuit], Figure 15 Numbers 5, 9, 7 coupled to 5, 7 coupled to 9, and 8’ [second network interface circuit], Page 5 Line 18 – Page 7 Line 12, and Page 21 Lines 29-31) each connected to the single PD controller circuitry via a respective first output terminal (See Figure 15 Number 16, Page 6 Line 27, and Page 21 Lines 29-31) and a respective second output terminal (See Figure 15 Number 18, Page 6 Line 27, and Page 21 Lines 29-31), wherein each respective first output terminal and each respective second output terminal is connected to the power distribution bus (See Figure 15); and a single power source equipment (PSE) controller circuitry (See Figure 15 Number 12), wherein the plurality of the network interface circuits are each directly connected to the single PSE controller circuitry via a respective channel (See Figure 15 connection between Number 12 and SW2 [first channel] and Figure 15 connection between Number 12 and SW2’ [second channel]), and the single PD controller circuitry and the single PSE controller circuitry are mutually configured to control electrical power flow of each of the network interface circuits (See Page 8 Lines 7-15, Page 8 Line 34 – Page 9 Line 3, and Page 21 Lines 26-31), wherein the single PD controller circuitry is configured to control supply of electrical power to the power distribution bus when one of the network interface circuits is powered by a network (See Page 5 Lines 9-11, Page 7 Lines 23-24, Page 8 Lines 7-15, Page 10 Lines 17-28, Page 14 Lines 8-10, and Page 21 Lines 26-31), wherein the single PSE controller circuitry is configured to control supply of electrical power from the power distribution bus when at least one of the network interface circuits is self-powered (See Page 5 Lines 5-8, Page 7 Lines 25-27, Page 8 Line 34 – Page 9 Line 3, and Page 21 Lines 26-31), the networking apparatus being configured to transfer data and electrical power between the network interface circuits, each network interface circuit being capable of a bidirectional transmission of data and a selectively monodirectional electrical current over a wired telecommunications network (See Page 5 Lines 1-11, Column 14 Lines 5-10, Page 14 Lines 20-22, Page 15 Lines 18-19 and 27-30, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
In reference to Claim 2, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Brenguier further discloses that each interface circuit comprises: a connection portion adapted to connect the network interface circuit to the wired telecommunications network (See Figure 15 Numbers 4 and 6 and Numbers 5 and 9, Page 5 Lines 20-28, and Page 21 Lines 9-19); a rectifier connected to the power distribution bus and a communication portion and comprising a plurality of rectifier elements (See Figure 15 Numbers 8 and 8’, Page 6 Lines 14-18, and Page 21 Lines 20-31); a voltage sensor connected to the connection portion (See Page 7 Line 33 – Page 8 Line 6, and Page 21 Lines 29-34); and a first rectifier switch (See Figure 15 Numbers SW2) and a second rectifier switch (See Figure 15 Numbers SW2’) each respectively coupled to a channel of the single PSE controller and configured to selectively prevent electrical current from flowing from the bus to the connection portion (See Figure 15, Page 8 Line 24 – Page 9 Line 3, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
In reference to Claim 3, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Brenguier further discloses that the first rectifier switch is connected in parallel with a first rectifier element of the rectifier (See Figure 15 D3), and the second rectifier switch is connected in parallel with a second rectifier element of the rectifier (See Figure 15 D3’).
In reference to Claim 4, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Brenguier further discloses electronics circuitry comprising a PD controller switch operatively coupled to or part of the single PD controller (See Figure 15 Number SW1) and configured to selectively prevent electrical currents from flowing from a connection portion of each interface circuit to the power distribution bus (See Page 8 Lines 9-15 and Page 21 Lines 29-31), and wherein the networking apparatus is configured to: activate the single PD controller to close the PD controller switch when an input volage received from the voltage sensor at the connection portion of one network interface circuit of the plurality of interface circuits receiving electrical power exceeds a predefined threshold (See Page 10 Lines 17-23 and Page 21 Lines 29-31), and deactivate the channel of the single PSE controller circuitry connected to said one network interface circuit to prevent closure of the first and second rectifier switches of the currently powered network interface circuit (See Page 9 Lines 1-3 and 23-26, Page 11 Lines 24-26, and Page 21 Lines 29-31).
In reference to Claim 5, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Brenguier further discloses that said electronics circuitry further comprises: a first resistor which is connected in parallel with the single PD controller circuitry (See Page 10 Lines 11-28 and Page 11 Lines 8-16 [a PoE power receiving device is required by the PoE standard to provide a 25kΩ resistor between the two voltage pins of the network connection {terminals 16 and 18 of Brenguier} in order to provide a signature resistance that signals a remote PSE that a valid PD is present and is ready to receive power; such a resistor between terminals 16 and 18 would necessarily be in parallel to the single PD controller circuitry 10]), and a second resistor which is operatively connected to the single PSE controller circuitry (See Figure 15 R2, Page 8 Lines 20-23, and Page 21 Lines 29-31).
In reference to Claim 6, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Brenguier further discloses that the PD controller switch is connected between the connection portion of each interface circuit and the power distribution bus (See Figure 15).
In reference to Claim 7, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Brenguier further discloses that the rectifier of each interface circuit comprises a diode bridge rectifier, wherein the plurality of rectifier elements comprises a plurality of diodes (See Figure 15 Numbers 8 and 8’, Page 6 Lines 14-18, and Page 21 Lines 20-31).
In reference to Claim 8, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 7 above. Brenguier further discloses that the rectifier of each interface circuit comprises a first input terminal and a second input terminal, and a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein a cathode of a first diode of each interface circuit is connected to a corresponding first output terminal and an anode of each first diode is connected to the corresponding first input terminal, and wherein a cathode of a second diode of each interface circuit is connected to the second input terminal and the anode of each second diode is connected to the corresponding second output terminal (See Figure 15, Page 6 Line 24 – Page 7 Line 2, and Page 21 Lines 20-31).
In reference to Claim 9, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Brenguier further discloses that one or more of the first rectifier switch, the second rectifier switch, or a PD controller switch of the networking apparatus comprise electrical switches or transistor-based switches, and wherein the electrical switches or the transistor-based switches comprises one or more of Mosfets, Insulated Gate Bipolar transistors, or bipolar transistors (See Page 8 Lines 16-19, Page 9 Lines 4-8 and 27-30, and Page 21 Lines 29-31).
In reference to Claim 10, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Brenguier further discloses that the single PSE controller circuitry is configured to close the first rectifier switch or the second rectifier switch of one of the plurality of network interface circuits when the power distribution bus has excess power that can be delivered to a remote device through the wired telecommunications network (See Page 9 Lines 31-33 and Page 21 Lines 29-31).
In reference to Claim 11, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Brenguier further discloses that the single PD controller circuitry is configured to be automatically switched into a low power consumption mode when the single PSE controller circuitry is attempting to determine electrical properties of a remote load (See Page 12 Lines 5-10 and Page 21 Lines 29-31).
In reference to Claim 12, Brenguier discloses t a wired telecommunications network, comprising a plurality of networking apparatuses (See Figure 11, Figure 15 Number 120, Page 14 Lines 14-22, Page 19 Lines 1-11, and Page 21 Lines 29-31), wherein at least one networking apparatus (See Figure 15 Number 120) comprises: a power distribution bus (See Figure 15 Number 14, Page 7 Lines 5-8, Page 13 Lines 31-35, and Page 21 Lines 29-31) and a single powered device (PD) controller circuitry connected to the power distribution bus (See Figure 15 Number 10); a plurality of network interface circuits (See Figure 15 Numbers 4, 6, 7 coupled to 4, 7 coupled to 6, and 8 [first network interface circuit], Figure 15 Numbers 5, 9, 7 coupled to 5, 7 coupled to 9, and 8’ [second network interface circuit], Page 5 Line 18 – Page 7 Line 12, and Page 21 Lines 29-31) each connected to the single PD controller circuitry via a respective first output terminal (See Figure 15 Number 16, Page 6 Line 27, and Page 21 Lines 29-31) and a respective second output terminal (See Figure 15 Number 18, Page 6 Line 27, and Page 21 Lines 29-31), wherein each respective first output terminal and each respective second output terminal is connected to the power distribution bus (See Figure 15); and a single power source equipment (PSE) controller circuitry (See Figure 15 Number 12), wherein the plurality of the network interface circuits are each directly connected to the single PSE controller circuitry via a respective channel (See Figure 15 connection between Number 12 and SW2 [first channel] and Figure 15 connection between Number 12 and SW2’ [second channel]), and the single PD controller circuitry and the single PSE controller circuitry are mutually configured to control electrical power flow of each of the network interface circuits (See Page 8 Lines 7-15, Page 8 Line 34 – Page 9 Line 3, and Page 21 Lines 26-31), wherein the single PD controller circuitry is configured to control supply of electrical power to the power distribution bus when one of the network interface circuits is powered by a network (See Page 5 Lines 9-11, Page 7 Lines 23-24, Page 8 Lines 7-15, Page 10 Lines 17-28, Page 14 Lines 8-10, and Page 21 Lines 26-31), wherein the single PSE controller circuitry is configured to control supply of electrical power from the power distribution bus when at least one of the network interface circuits is self-powered (See Page 5 Lines 5-8, Page 7 Lines 25-27, Page 8 Line 34 – Page 9 Line 3, and Page 21 Lines 26-31), the networking apparatus being configured to transfer data and electrical power between the network interface circuits, each network interface circuit being capable of a bidirectional transmission of data and a selectively monodirectional electrical current over a wired telecommunications network (See Page 5 Lines 1-11, Column 14 Lines 5-10, Page 14 Lines 20-22, Page 15 Lines 18-19 and 27-30, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
In reference to Claim 13, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 12 above. Brenguier further discloses that the wired telecommunications network has a closed ring topology (See Figure 11, Page 3 Lines 22-23, Page 15 Lines 15-17, Page 19 Lines 8-11, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
In reference to Claim 14, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 12 above. Brenguier further discloses that the wired telecommunications network comprises an Ethernet network (See Figure 11, Page 14 Lines 14-22, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
In reference to Claim 15, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 13 above. Brenguier further discloses that the closed ring topology comprises a closed daisy chain topology (See Figure 11, Page 3 Lines 22-23, Page 15 Lines 15-17, Page 19 Lines 8-11, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
In reference to Claim 16, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 12 above. Brenguier further discloses that the single PD controller circuitry, the single PSE controller circuitry, and the plurality of network interface circuits are mutually arranged and configured to: put or maintain a first network interface circuit of the plurality of network interface circuits into a powered mode (See Page 5 Lines 1-4 and 9-11 and Page 21 Lines 26-31), where the networking apparatus receives feeding power from the wired telecommunications network when a voltage received in input by said first network interface circuit exceeds a predefined threshold (See Page 10 Lines 17-28 and Page 21 Lines 29-31), and deactivate the channel of the single PSE controller circuitry connected to said first interface circuit receiving power to prevent flow of power from the power distribution bus towards the wired telecommunications network (See Page 9 Lines 1-3 and 23-26, Page 11 Lines 24-26, and Page 21 Lines 29-31); and put or maintain the interface circuits of the plurality of interface circuits other than said first interface circuit in a power supplying equipment mode enabling feeding power to flow from the power distribution bus towards the wired telecommunications network (See Page 5 Lines 1-8, Page 18 Lines 19-21, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
In reference to Claim 17, Brenguier discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Brenguier further discloses that the single PD controller circuitry, the single PSE controller circuitry, and the plurality of network interface circuits are mutually arranged and configured to: put or maintain a first network interface circuit of the plurality of network interface circuits into a powered mode (See Page 5 Lines 1-4 and 9-11 and Page 21 Lines 26-31), where the networking apparatus receives feeding power from the wired telecommunications network when a voltage received in input by said first network interface circuit exceeds a predefined threshold (See Page 10 Lines 17-28 and Page 21 Lines 29-31), and deactivate the channel of the single PSE controller circuitry connected to said first interface circuit receiving power to prevent flow of power from the power distribution bus towards the wired telecommunications network (See Page 9 Lines 1-3 and 23-26, Page 11 Lines 24-26, and Page 21 Lines 29-31); and put or maintain the interface circuits of the plurality of interface circuits other than said first interface circuit in a power supplying equipment mode enabling feeding power to flow from the power distribution bus towards the wired telecommunications network (See Page 5 Lines 1-8, Page 18 Lines 19-21, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Brenguier does not disclose that the single PD controller circuitry and the single PSE controller circuitry are mutually configured to control electrical power flow of each of the network interface circuits (See Pages 12-13). In response, the Examiner notes that, as indicated in the interview on 23 October 2025, Elements 10 and 10’ of Figure 10 were, together, a “single PD controller circuitry” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term, and Elements 12 and 12’ of Figure 10 were, together, a “single PSE controller circuitry” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term. Notwithstanding the above, the Examiner notes that the rejection in the instant Office Action relies upon the disclosure of Figure 15, which discloses an embodiment having a single PD controller circuitry and a single PSE controller circuitry connected to multiple network interfaces. As indicated in the above rejections, the single PD controller circuitry and the single PSE controller circuitry are mutually configured to control electrical power flow of each of the network interface circuits (See Page 8 Lines 7-15, Page 8 Line 34 – Page 9 Line 3, and Page 21 Lines 26-31).
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. “Simplify PoE Implementation with Complete PD Interface and Integrated Switching Regulator” by Kirk Su discloses that a 25kΩ resistor is required in a PoE PD device between the two voltage pins of the network connection.
/THOMAS J. CLEARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175