DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“power supply element” in line 2 of claim 5. The “element” is the placeholder and the “power supply” is the functional language; and
“heating unit” in line 2 of claim 8. The “unit” is the placeholder and the “heating” is the functional language.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the repellent drug comprises Picaridin” in line 8, should read --the repellent drug comprises picaridin.-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-molecular” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-molecular” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The magnitude, size, length, mass or density of molecule needed to meet the claim limitation is not known. Clarification is respectfully requested.
In claim 2, line 2, the recitation “an upper opening of the bottle body” appears to be a double inclusion of the “upper portion of the bottle body is opened” recited in lines 6-7 of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modlin et al. (US20100224697. Modlin hereinafter) in view of Fallon et al. (US 20140113826. Fallon hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Modlin discloses a mosquito repelling apparatus (Figs. 1-18, especially the embodiment shown in Figs. 10A-13A), comprising a bottom seat (250, 280) and a bottle body (210, 220, 230), wherein the bottle body is detachably mounted on the bottom seat, and a repellent drug (liquid repellent. [0064]) is loaded in the bottle body; a bottom portion of the bottle body is provided with an atomizer (elements on 230), the atomizer atomizes the repellent drug by ultrasonic waves (portable ultrasonic repellent humidifier. [0057]), when the bottle body is mounted on the bottom seat, the bottom seat supplies power (via battery 280) to the atomizer at the bottom portion of the bottle body, and an upper portion (232) of the bottle body is opened (232, 235).
Modlin fails to disclose the repellent drug comprises Picaridin.
However, Fallon teaches using an ultrasonic spraying/misting devices ([0051]) to atomize repellent drug (insect repellents and insecticides) wherein the repellent drug comprises Picaridin ([0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the repellent drug comprises Picaridin, as taught by Fallon, to Modlin’s mosquito repelling apparatus, in order to repel and kill the insects ([0105]- [0107]).
With respect to claim 2, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Modlin further discloses wherein a high-molecular film (232) is arranged at an upper opening (232, 235) of the bottle body.
With respect to claim 3, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Modlin further discloses wherein the mosquito repelling apparatus further comprises an upper housing (240), the upper housing is mounted on the bottom seat, and an outer side (with 237) of the bottle body is wrapped (surrounded) by the upper housing; and an upper portion of the upper housing is provided with a ventilation area (opening), and there is a plurality of ventilation holes (232, 235) in the ventilation area.
With respect to claim 4, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Modlin further discloses wherein an outer side (of 231) of the bottom portion of the bottle body is provided with a contact point (inner circle of 231 below 238. Fig. 11) electrically connected with the atomizer; and an upper portion of the bottom seat (Fig. 13A) is provided with a conductive connecting piece (243) , and when the bottle body is mounted on the bottom seat, the connecting piece contacts with the contact point.
With respect to claim 5, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Modlin further discloses wherein the bottom seat is internally provided with a power supply element (battery 280), the power supply element supplies power to the atomizer, a surrounding side of the bottom seat is provided with a switch (251) and a power supply interface (electrical elements connecting 251 to the battery 280), and the switch and the power supply interface are both connected with the power supply element.
With respect to claim 6, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Modlin further discloses wherein the power supply element is a battery (280) or a switching power supply.
With respect to claim 7, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Fallon further teaches wherein the repellent drug further comprises one or more of dimethyl carbate, methyl nonyl ketone, and N,N-diethyl-3-methylbenzamide (DEET) ([0107]).
With respect to claim 8, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Modlin further discloses wherein the atomizer is internally provided with a heating unit (transducer assembly) which is used to (capable of) raise a temperature of the repellent drug (the transducer assembly is consider a heating unit because it generates heat. [0046]).
With respect to claim 9, Modlin’s apparatus modified by adding Fallon’s picaridin, Modlin further discloses wherein a heating working temperature of the atomizer is greater than 40℃ and less than 120℃ (…Many insects are more active at certain temperatures and inactive outside that temperature span. Thus, vaporization is ineffective. For example, many types of pests are inactive in temperatures below 55° F. (12.8° C.), and therefore, if weather sensor 374 passes information to programmable controller 336 indicating the outside temperature is not within the tolerance of the adult population, misting operations should be suspended during those periods… [0078]).
Modlin fails to discloses the heating working temperature of the atomizer is less than 120℃.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heating working temperature of the atomizer is less than 120℃, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to an insect repelling device: Cho, Paganessi et al., Howse et al., Wilbanks, Nolen et al., Mah and Coventry.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 November 10, 2025