DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 Species C in the reply filed on July 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 14, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a urine measurement device” in claim 1 interpreted to be the elements as recited in claims 5-7 and equivalents thereof.
“a urine-clear device for clearing urine” in claim 16 interpreted to be the structure as in Paragraphs 0099-0100 of the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blankenship et al. (US Patent No. 4658834) in view of Livengood et al. (US 2006/0163829).
Regarding claim 1, Blankenship teaches an automated urine-output-measurement system (Abstract), comprising:
a multi-use urine monitor (20; Column 3, Lines 48-49; “The apparatus 20 is comprised of a permanent reusable housing 24”) comprising:
a housing (24) having a cavity configured to encompass a drainage receptacle of a urine-collection system (Column 3, Lines 49-51; “a disposable container 26 adapted to cooperate with and be supported by the housing 24.”);
a urine measurement device (“electronic measurement subsystem 80”, “transducer 58”) configured to measure urine output into the drainage receptacle (Column 7, Lines 44-60); and
an integrated display screen (“digital display panel 34”) configured to display patient information including measurements of the urine output (Column 8, Lines 15-37).
Blankenship is silent on a housing having a cavity configured to completely encompass a drainage receptacle of a urine-collection system. Livengood teaches a housing having a cavity configured to completely encompass a drainage receptacle of a urine-collection system (Paragraph 0101; Figures 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with Livengood because it provides a support platform which provides a solution for healthcare facilities and nursing staff to address patient and staff safety, patient mobility, patient comfort, the availability of patient information, monitoring drugs and therapy provided, and controlling health care expenses (Abstract of Livengood).
Regarding claim 6, Blankenship teaches wherein the urine measurement device is a contactless ultrasonic liquid-level sensor for volume-based urine-output measurements (Column 12, Lines 8-17) but is silent on the placement being from above the drainage receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship to use the ultrasonic liquid level sensor from above the drainage receptacle since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C).
Regarding claim 7, Blankenship teaches wherein the urine measurement device is a contactless optical liquid-level sensor for volume- based urine-output measurements (Column 12, Lines 8-17) but is silent on the placement being from a side of the drainage receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship to use the optical liquid level sensor from a side of the drainage receptacle since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C).
Regarding claim 11, Blankenship teaches wherein the urine monitor further comprises lighting features configured to indicate a state of the urine monitor, indicate positive placement of the urine-collection system or a portion thereof, illuminate the drainage receptacle, indicate a urine-urine monitor alert, indicate a patient alert, or a combination thereof (Column 8, Lines 22-23).
Regarding claim 14, Blankenship teaches further comprising one or more rechargeable batteries configured to power the urine monitor (Column 8, Lines 46-48).
Regarding claim 15, Blankenship teaches further comprising a pole mount, a bed-rail mount, or a floor stand, the housing of the urine monitor having mounting interfaces to support the pole mount, the bed-rail mount, and the floor stand (Column 3, Line 65-Column 4, Line 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blankenship et al. (US Patent No. 4658834) in view of Livengood et al. (US 2006/0163829) and in further view of Luxon et al. (WO 2015/105916 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Blankenship is silent on the use of an in-line flow meter. Luxon teaches wherein the urine measurement device is an in-line flow meter for volume-based urine-output measurements (microfluidic flow detection chip; page 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with Luxon because it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the urine measurement device of Blankenship with that of Luxon.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blankenship et al. (US Patent No. 4658834) in view of Livengood et al. (US 2006/0163829) and in further view of Chang et al. (US 2013/0304061).
Regarding claim 8, Blankenship teaches the urine monitor and urine-collection system (see rejection of claim 1 above) but is silent on the RFID elements. Chang teaches a monitor further including a radiofrequency identification ("RFID")-unit reader-writer configured to identify a presence of an RFID unit integrated into the system, read data from the RFID unit, and write data to the RFID unit (Paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with Chang because it enables safety in ensuring the proper instruments are being used and allows for monitoring to update any procedures using the instruments (Paragraph 0032 of Chang).
Regarding claim 10, Blankenship teaches the urine monitor (see rejection of claim 1 above) but is silent on the RFID elements.
Chang teaches wherein the housing of the monitor has an RFID-unit receptacle including the RFID-unit reader-writer (Paragraphs 0031-0032 of Chang). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with Chang because it enables safety in ensuring the proper instruments are being used and allows for monitoring to update any procedures using the instruments (Paragraph 0032 of Chang).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blankenship et al. (US Patent No. 4658834) in view of Livengood et al. (US 2006/0163829) and Chang et al. (US 2013/0304061) and in further view of LaBorde (US Patent No. 9848827).
Regarding claim 9, Blankenship is silent on the RFID elements. LaBorde wherein the RFID unit is a bead around a length of drainage tubing connected to the drainage receptacle (Column 2, Lines 25-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with LaBorde because it allows for removal of errors thus improving the safety of the patient (Column 1, Line 60-Column 2, Line 7 of LaBorde).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blankenship et al. (US Patent No. 4658834) in view of Livengood et al. (US 2006/0163829) and in further view of Ribble et al. (US 2016/0136356).
Regarding claim 12, Blankenship teaches the urine monitor further including an embedded system comprising a microcontroller configured to process urine-measurement data corresponding to the urine output into the drainage receptacle, a graphics controller configured to render on the integrated display screen the patient information including the measurements of the urine output (Column 7, Lines 61-Column 8, Line 37; Figures 11A-11B), but is silent on the communication to a companion wireless device. Ribble teaches one or more wireless communication modules configured to wirelessly communicate the patient information including the urine output to a companion wireless device when paired therewith (Paragraph 0013, 0019, 0038, 0045, 0047, and 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with Ribble because Ribble teaches this as being known in the art (Paragraphs 0047 and 0049 of Ribble) and thus would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Blankenship is silent on the communication to a companion wireless device. Ribble teaches further comprising a companion tablet computer configured to wirelessly communicate with the urine monitor and one or more networked computers to update electronic medical records with the patient information including the urine output or retrieve historical patient information from the electronic medical records (Paragraph 0013, 0019, 0038, 0045, 0047, and 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with Ribble because Ribble teaches this as being known in the art (Paragraphs 0047 and 0049 of Ribble) and thus would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blankenship et al. (US Patent No. 4658834) in view of Livengood et al. (US 2006/0163829) and in further view of Feneley (US 2004/0176747).
Regarding claim 16, Blankenship is silent on the urine-clearing device. Feneley teaches further comprising a urine-clearing device for clearing urine from drainage tubing connected to the drainage receptacle (Paragraph 0014 and 0011). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blankenship with Feneley because cleaning tubing would be known to those of ordinary skill in the art as cleaning medical devices is conventional and standard, thus providing a clearing device would yield predictable results of cleaning the interior of a catheter (Paragraph 0014 of Feneley).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11911160. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see the chart below. The difference between the rejected claims of the instant application and patented claims of the patent lies in the fact that the patented claims are more specific. Thus, the invention of patented claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of rejected claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since rejected claims are anticipated by patented claims, it is not patentably distinct from patented claims.
Instant Application 18/538,136
Conflicting US Patent No. 11911160
1. (Original) An automated urine-output-measurement system, comprising:
a multi-use urine monitor comprising:
a housing having a cavity configured to completely encompass a drainage receptacle of a urine-collection system;
a urine measurement device configured to measure urine output into the drainage receptacle; and
an integrated display screen configured to display patient information including measurements of the urine output.
1. An automated urine-output-measurement system, comprising:
a) single-patient equipment including:
a urinary catheter; and
a urine-collection system including drainage tubing and a drainage receptacle; and
b) multi-patient equipment including:
a urine monitor including:
a housing having a cavity configured to house an entirety of the drainage receptacle;
a urine-measurement means for measuring urine output into the drainage receptacle; and
an integrated display screen configured to display patient information including measurements of the urine output.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Burnett et al. (US 2013/0030262)
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791