DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-40, 47, 49-52, 55 and 60-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita (US 2016/0207144) in view of Sercel (US 2016/0059354).
Regarding claim 29, Narita discloses a laser system for processing a workpiece, the laser system comprising:
a primary laser emitter (emitter 12 producing laser L1) configured to emit a primary laser beam (L1);
a
wherein a wavelength of the primary laser beam is different from a wavelength of the secondary laser beam (wavelengths differ “the irradiation head 16 positions the focal position of the laser beam L2 of the short wavelength at the position to be processed and condenses the laser beam L1 of the long wavelength with the focal point of the laser beam L2 of the short wavelength being placed in the center.” [0055]);
a laser head (16) for directing at least one of the primary laser beam or the secondary laser beam onto the workpiece (as shown in figure 1); and
a computer-based controller configured to:
during a first stage, direct at least the secondary laser beam to a surface
of the workpiece (preheat before processing “the workpiece 8 is preheated by the peripheral laser beam L2” [0040]),
whereby energy of the secondary laser beam is absorbed by the
workpiece (nature of preheat disclosed above [0040]), and
during, direct at least the primary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece during relative movement therebetween (preheat as disclosed above [0055]),
whereby the workpiece is cut along a processing path (work/cut processing path/shape “a case where a workpiece is cut along a straight line, or a case where a workpiece is welded, will be described, but by adjusting a position to be processed on the workpiece, that is, a position to be irradiated with laser, a shape other than a hole or a straight line, for example, a shape having a bending point or a curved shape, may be applicable.” [0027]) determined at least in part by the relative movement (movement mechanism (18) see figure 1).
Narita is silent regarding a secondary laser emitter and a second stage after at least a portion of the surface of the workpiece reacts to absorption of energy of the secondary laser beam.
However Sercel teaches a secondary laser emitter (multiple independent laser beams “multiple-beam laser processing system 200” [0054]) and a second stage after at least a portion of the surface of the workpiece reacts to absorption of energy of the secondary laser beam (sequential operation of preheating of primary to secondary beams via beam combiner 230, emphasis added “The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053]).
The advantage of a secondary laser emitter and a second stage after at least a portion of the surface of the workpiece reacts to absorption of energy of the secondary laser beam., is to provide optimization of material properties (physical form and/or temperature) via an assist laser, so that a primary laser can concurrently or secondly complete processing operations “Multiple-beam laser processing may be performed on a sapphire substrate or workpiece 202 using both an assist laser beam 211 and a process laser beam 221 with different characteristics (e.g., wavelengths and/or pulse durations). The assist laser beam 211 is directed at a target location 208 on or within the workpiece 202 to modify a property of the sapphire (e.g., induce damage or increase temperature) such that absorption centers are formed in the sapphire. The process laser beam 221 is directed at the target location 208 and is coupled into the absorption centers formed in the sapphire to complete processing of the sapphire. The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Narita and Sercel before him or her, to modify the dual wavelength processing system of Narita to include the independent operated multiple wavelength processing of Sercel because provide sequential/staged multiple laser provides material optimization for primary laser before initiating primary laser.
Regarding claim 30, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified further teaches further comprising a beam combiner (Sercel 230) for combining the primary laser beam and the secondary laser beam (see Sercel figure 2).
Regarding claim 31, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 30, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the beam combiner is disposed within the laser head (optic system 16 as part of emitter 14 and final focal lens 16c, see figure 5).
Regarding claim 32, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 30, Narita further discloses wherein the beam combiner is a wavelength combiner, a polarization combiner, a spatial combiner, or a fiber combiner (Sercel as modifying provides spatial mirror combiner while anticipating a wider range “the beam combiner 230 includes reflectors or mirrors 232, 234 for selectively reflecting the wavelengths of the assist and process laser beams 211, 221, respectively, such that the beams 211, 221 are directed along the same optical axis.”…” Other embodiments for the beam combiner 230 are also within the scope of the present disclosure.” [0058]).
Regarding claim 33, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 30, Narita as already modified teaches further comprising a delivery optical fiber into which the beam combiner combines the primary laser beam and the secondary laser beam (Sercel as already modifying anticipates fiber combiners and delivery “Although the illustrated embodiment shows free space delivery using mirrors, other optical components may also be used to deliver and/or combine the lasers. For example, one or more fibers may be used to deliver the laser beams to the laser processing head 260.” [0060]).
Regarding claim 34, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the laser head comprises one or more optical elements for focusing at least one of the primary laser beam or the secondary laser beam onto the workpiece (optical being aspect of focal, Sercel as modifying anticipates focal to workpiece “the lasers may be combined by focusing the lasers to the same location 208 on or within the workpiece 202.” [0060]).
Regarding claim 35, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to not direct the primary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece during the first stage (as already modified by Sercel, the preheat/secondary/assist laser may be a sequential operation to before/after/during primary/process laser “The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053] depending to optimization of synergy).
Regarding claim 36, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to not direct the secondary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece during the second stage (as already modified by Sercel, the preheat/secondary/assist laser may be a sequential operation to before/after/during primary/process laser “The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053] depending to optimization of synergy).
Regarding claim 37, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to direct the primary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece during the first stage (as already modified by Sercel, the preheat/secondary/assist laser may be a simultaneous operation to primary/process laser “The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053] depending to optimization of synergy).
Regarding claim 38, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 37, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to direct the primary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece
during the first stage with a first output power (output power at first stage as modified by Sercel) and
during the second stage with a second output power higher than the first output power (Sercel as modifying anticipates sequential and simultaneous operation “The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053] of lasers, wherein the first stage preheats / merely induces damage (low energy) “The assist laser beam 211 is directed at a target location 208 on or within the workpiece 202 to modify a property of the sapphire (e.g., induce damage or increase temperature) such that absorption centers are formed in the sapphire.” [0053] and the second stage processes/cuts (high energy) “embodiments of the present disclosure, may include cutting a part from a hard dielectric material” [0032]).
Regarding claim 39, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to direct the secondary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece during the second stage (as already modified by Sercel, the preheat/secondary/assist laser may be a simultaneous operation to primary/process laser “The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053] depending to optimization of synergy).
Regarding claim 40, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 39, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to direct the secondary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece
during the first stage with a first output power (a output power at first stage as modified by Sercel) and
during the second stage with a second output power lower than the first output power (Sercel as modifying anticipates melting at second stage, and first stage cutting/ablation “In at least one embodiment, the first laser system 310 is used for cutting hard dielectric materials and the second laser system 320 is used for post-cut processing a part cut from a hard dielectric material. The first laser source 314 may thus be a laser source suited to cutting hard dielectric materials efficiently and with a relatively high speed such as a QCW IR laser as described above. The second laser source 324 may be a laser source suited to beveling and/or polishing cut edges of the part cut from a hard dielectric material to reduce or remove edge defects without inducing additional sub-surface stress. Thus, when the first laser system 310 cuts a part and creates edge defects such as stress concentrations, the second laser system 320 may be used to return the cut parts to a pre-cut stress condition.” [0071]).
Regarding claim 47, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches further comprising the workpiece, wherein the workpiece comprises a metallic material (metal anticipated to substrate, emphasis added “By arranging the focal point of the short wavelength laser beam in the condensation of the long wavelength laser beam with the comparatively high power density, this laser processing apparatus is able to improve the processing quality, because while the workpiece is processed by being melted by the short wavelength laser beam, the temperature of the metal melted by radiation from plasma generated due to the melting of the workpiece is increased by the long wavelength laser beam and the viscosity thereof is decreased.” [0014]).
Regarding claim 49, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches further comprising the workpiece, wherein an absorption, of the workpiece in the solid state, of the wavelength of the primary laser beam is less than 20%, less than 10%, or less than 5% (Sercel as already modifying teaches wherein absorption of the primary laser bean by the workpiece in the solid state (see below [0053] property change being temperature/damage) is controlled through selection of lasers wavelength, the assist laser and primary laser contributing to the solid state workpiece temperature change and or surface damage that enables an increase of absorption of the primary laser at simultaneous operation to assist laser, emphasis added “Multiple-beam laser processing may be performed on a sapphire substrate or workpiece 202 using both an assist laser beam 211 and a process laser beam 221 with different characteristics (e.g., wavelengths and/or pulse durations). The assist laser beam 211 is directed at a target location 208 on or within the workpiece 202 to modify a property of the sapphire (e.g., induce damage or increase temperature) such that absorption centers are formed in the sapphire. The process laser beam 221 is directed at the target location 208 and is coupled into the absorption centers formed in the sapphire to complete processing of the sapphire.The assist laser beam 211 and the process laser beam 221 individually are not capable of completely processing the sapphire workpiece but together (either simultaneously or sequentially) provide a synergy that enables processing.” [0053], because the lasers (primary/assist) may be simultaneously emitted, a change of efficiency from low to high is anticipated over the course of processing. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to take into account the substrate material and to select, from a finite range of available laser processing wavelengths, a wavelength set that predictably optimizes absorption and processing efficiency of the workpiece during processing stage over pre-heating (low pre-heating efficiency by primary laser). Accordingly absorption level within the claimed ranges of less than 20% -10% -5% represent predictable operating condition resulting from Routine Optimization (see MPEP 2144.05 B. II).
Regarding claim 50, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the wavelength of the primary laser beam is longer than the wavelength of the secondary laser beam (primary laser (L1) may be long wavelength, secondary laser (L2) may be short wavelength “The laser beam L1 of the long wavelength is able to be condensed at high density to a small spot, and the laser beam L2 of the short wavelength has high absorbency into the workpiece 8. Thus, the workpiece 8 is preheated by the peripheral laser beam L2 of the short wavelength, and the workpiece 8 that has been preheated is processed by the inner laser beam L1 of the long wavelength.” [0040]).
Regarding claim 51, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the wavelength of the primary laser beam is shorter than the wavelength of the secondary laser beam (Sercel as modifying anticipates Routine Optimization of assist laser wavelength to include temperature and modification to surface structure for increasing process laser effeteness, emphasis added “Multiple-beam laser processing may be performed on a sapphire substrate or workpiece 202 using both an assist laser beam 211 and a process laser beam 221 with different characteristics (e.g., wavelengths and/or pulse durations). The assist laser beam 211 is directed at a target location 208 on or within the workpiece 202 to modify a property of the sapphire (e.g., induce damage or increase temperature) such that absorption centers are formed in the sapphire. The process laser beam 221 is directed at the target location 208 and is coupled into the absorption centers formed in the sapphire to complete processing of the sapphire.” [0053] therefore it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to take into account substrate material and select from the finite range of available laser processing wavelengths, a wavelength set that best predictably optimizes the substrate (assist laser) for processing by primary (processing) laser (see MPEP 2144.05 B. II). For materials that are dielectric and crystalline such as sapphire or silica, absorption is weak at shorter wavelengths and increases at longer wavelengths due to the phonon-mediated absorption and defect-state coupling, thereby making the relative wavelength ordering a matter of routine optimization).
Regarding claim 52, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the primary laser beam is a multi-wavelength beam (Sercel as modifying anticipates a range from QCW laser “may include cutting a part from a hard dielectric material using a continuous wave laser operating in a quasi-continuous wave (QCW) mode to emit consecutive laser light pulses in a wavelength range of about 1060 nm to 1070 nm (hereinafter “QCW laser”) [0032]).
Regarding claim 55, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, wherein the secondary laser beam is a multi-wavelength beam.
Regarding claim 60, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to, during the second stage,
direct at least the secondary laser beam to the surface of the workpiece at one or more points along the processing path at which
a thickness of the workpiece changes,
(ii) a direction of the processing path changes (simultaneous lasers processed to shape of cut “a position to be irradiated with laser, a shape other than a hole or a straight line, for example, a shape having a bending point or a curved shape, may be applicable.” [0027]), and/or
(iii) a composition of the workpiece changes.
Regarding claim 61. Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to initiate the second stage only after a hole is formed through a thickness of the workpiece during the first stage (Sercel as already modifying anticipates second instant of laser as post cutting operation “This multiple-beam laser processing system 300 may also be used to perform cutting and/or post-cut processing of hard dielectric materials according to the methods described above and below.” [0065]).
Regarding claim 62, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, wherein the controller is configured to initiate the second stage before a hole is formed through a thickness of the workpiece during the first stage (as already modifying Sercel provides apply laser primary and secondary at same time “Although the illustrated embodiment shows the assist and process laser beams 211, 221 being combined simultaneously, the beams 211, 221 may also be combined such that the beams are directed to the same target location 208 at different times.” [0055]).
Claims 53 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita in view of Sercel and in further view of Chann (US 2011/0310921).
Regarding claim 53, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 52, Narita as already modified teaches further comprising a primary beam emitter (Sercel as already modifying 110,210/220, 314/324) configured to emit the primary laser beam (Sercel 231), the primary beam emitter comprising:
one or more beam sources (Sercel qwc see below [0048]) emitting a plurality of
focusing optics (BDS 222/212)
a partially reflective output coupler (234) positioned to receive the dispersed beams, transmit a first portion of the dispersed beams therethrough as the primary laser beam (as shown in figure 2 of Sercel), and
reflect a second portion of the dispersed beams back toward the
Narita as modified is silent regarding a plurality of discrete beams focused toward a dispersive element, the dispersive element dispersing the received focused beam toward a partially reflective output couple where a portion is directed back towards the dispersive element.
However Chann teaches a plurality of discrete beams (“It should also be noted that a cluster of two or more beams can be rotated simultaneously” [0056]) focused toward a dispersive element (314 “Dispersive element 314 is shown as a reflection diffraction grating, but may also be a dispersive prism, a grism (prism+grating), transmission grating, and Echelle grating.” [0056]), the dispersive element dispersing the received focused beam toward a partially reflective output couple (316, portion reflected back “an output coupler 316 with a partially reflecting surface” [0057]) where a portion is directed back towards the dispersive element (reflective output couple disclose above [0057]).
The advantage of a plurality of discrete beams focused toward a dispersive element, the dispersive element dispersing the received focused beam toward a partially reflective output couple where a portion is directed back towards the dispersive element, is to provide varied wavelengths that differently interact with a substrate material for enhanced absorption control, efficiency, flexibility between materials and further enable with dispersive elements provide controlled selection, recombination, and stabilization of discrete wavelengths while managing excess optical power of the multiple discreate beams/wavelengths “as discussed above this system could take advantage of a laser diode array that included many more elements, e.g., 49. This particular embodiment illustrated shows a single bar at a particular wavelength band (example at 976 nm) but in actual practice it can be composed of multiple bars, all at the same particular wavelength band, arranged side-by-side. Furthermore, multiple wavelength bands (example 976 nm, 915 nm, and 808 nm), with each band composing of multiple bars, can we combined in a single cavity. When WBC is performed across the fast dimension of each beam it is easier to design a system with higher brightness (higher efficiency due to insensitivity due to bar imperfections); additionally, narrower bandwidth and higher power output are all achieved.” [0056].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Narita as modified and Chann before him or her, to modify the dual wavelength processing system of Narita to include the dispersed optic discrete multiple wavelengths system of Chann, because varied wavelengths may enhance absorption/control and or power/efficiency along with associated control mechanisms of dispersive elements.
Regarding claim 56, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 55, Narita as already modified teaches further comprising a secondary beam emitter configured to emit the secondary laser beam, the secondary beam emitter comprising:
one or more beam sources
focusing optics (Sercel BDS 212)
a partially reflective output coupler (Sercel 234) positioned to receive the
reflect a second portion of the dispersed beams back toward the
Narita as modified is silent regarding a plurality of discrete beams focused toward a dispersive element, the dispersive element dispersing the received focused beam toward a partially reflective output couple where a portion is directed back towards the dispersive element.
However Chann teaches a plurality of discrete beams (“It should also be noted that a cluster of two or more beams can be rotated simultaneously” [0056]) focused toward a dispersive element (314 “Dispersive element 314 is shown as a reflection diffraction grating, but may also be a dispersive prism, a grism (prism+grating), transmission grating, and Echelle grating.” [0056]), the dispersive element dispersing the received focused beam toward a partially reflective output couple (316, portion reflected back “an output coupler 316 with a partially reflecting surface” [0057]) where a portion is directed back towards the dispersive element (reflective output couple disclose above [0057]).
The advantage of a plurality of discrete beams focused toward a dispersive element, the dispersive element dispersing the received focused beam toward a partially reflective output couple where a portion is directed back towards the dispersive element, is to provide varied wavelengths that differently interact with a substrate material for enhanced absorption control, efficiency, flexibility between materials and further enable with dispersive elements provide controlled selection, recombination, and stabilization of discrete wavelengths while managing excess optical power of the multiple discreate beams/wavelengths “as discussed above this system could take advantage of a laser diode array that included many more elements, e.g., 49. This particular embodiment illustrated shows a single bar at a particular wavelength band (example at 976 nm) but in actual practice it can be composed of multiple bars, all at the same particular wavelength band, arranged side-by-side. Furthermore, multiple wavelength bands (example 976 nm, 915 nm, and 808 nm), with each band composing of multiple bars, can we combined in a single cavity. When WBC is performed across the fast dimension of each beam it is easier to design a system with higher brightness (higher efficiency due to insensitivity due to bar imperfections); additionally, narrower bandwidth and higher power output are all achieved.” [0056].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Narita as modified and Chann before him or her, to modify the dual wavelength processing system of Narita to include the dispersed optic discrete multiple wavelengths system of Chann, because varied wavelengths may enhance absorption/control and or power/efficiency along with associated control mechanisms of dispersive elements.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita in view of Sercel and in further view of Hesse (US 2017/0136573).
Regarding claim 58, Narita as modified teaches the system of claim 29, Narita as already modified teaches further comprising as modifying “Once a cut is initiated in the workpiece 102 made of sapphire, for example, the properties of the molten sapphire change dramatically (e.g., reflectively decreases) and maintaining a substantially constant speed and/or average power may avoid cutting inconsistencies caused by drastic variations in temperature. If the cutting speed increases or decreases, the laser parameters may be adjusted in real time to maintain a substantially constant average power.” [0042]).
Narita as modifying is silent regarding sensors detection molten surface of workpiece.
However Hesse teaches sensors (camera 10, image 20) detection molten surface of workpiece (temperature of workpiece being laser cut is monitored “By using the thermal image from FIG. 8, imminent material burn-up can also be detected. Here, use can be made of the fact that the frequency f of the striations 33 in the thermal image 20 of the region of interaction 31 decreases in the region of that cut edge at which material burn-up is imminent, so that suitable countermeasures can be taken in order to suppress the occurrence of the material burn-up.” [0075]).
The advantage of detection molten surface of workpiece, is to observe trends towards processing errors sot that suitable countermeasures can be taken “By using the thermal image from FIG. 8, imminent material burn-up can also be detected. Here, use can be made of the fact that the frequency f of the striations 33 in the thermal image 20 of the region of interaction 31 decreases in the region of that cut edge at which material burn-up is imminent, so that suitable countermeasures can be taken in order to suppress the occurrence of the material burn-up.” [0075].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Narita as modified and Hesse before him or her, to modify the dual wavelength processing system of Narita to include the sensor workpiece temp/melt error preventive system of Hesse, because spotting a trend of melt temperature that would lead to error can enable control of system settings to avoid.
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761