DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amendments
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 6/25/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Currently Pending claims: 1-4, 7-9, and 12-15
Independent claims: 1 and 7
Amended claims: 1 and 7
Response to Arguments
This office action is responsive to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment received on 6/25/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 6/25/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4, 7-9, and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, is made of claims 1-4, 7-9, and 15 with US 2020/0094763 to Nakamura, US 10,957,028 to Shibata, and US 2019/0082185 to Satavalekar. Claims 12-14 are also rejected accordingly due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2020/0094763) (hereafter, "Nakamura") in view of Shibata et al. (US 10,957,028) and further in view of Satavalekar et al. (US 2019/0082185) (hereafter, “Satavalekar”).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a system configured to monitor a vehicle interior (Abstract, An occupant monitoring device for a vehicle is configured to monitor an occupant sitting on a seat provided in the vehicle), the system comprising: at least one interface for receiving image data captured with an image capturing device (Figure 5, #31, #53; ¶0066, The optical unit 52 includes the onboard imaging device 53; ¶0070, determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53. As the monitoring controller 31 makes determinations based on images collected by imaging device 53, Examiner considers this to indicate the presence of an “interface”); [a control device configured to control the image capturing device, wherein the image capturing device is configured in such a way that image data can be provided in at least two different contexts, and wherein the system is configured in such a way that a respective context can be specified using the control device]; a first computing device configured to provide at least a first monitoring function of the system based on the image data (¶0070, the monitoring controller 31 … determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53), the first monitoring function including a driver monitoring function for monitoring a driver's state of attention, including by capturing: (i) a body posture (¶0095, The monitoring controller 31 identifies the position and movement of the upper body of the occupant in the captured image. Examiner considers the position and movement of the upper body to comprise posture and considers this to fully disclose the elements of the limitation listed in the alternative) or (ii) a viewing direction or (iii) a position of a head or of a face or of the driver's eyes, or (iv) an opening of the eyes, or (v) a blinking frequency of the driver, for drowsiness detection or distraction detection (¶0095, determines whether the occupant is dozing or driving inattentively. Examiner considers this to fully disclose the elements of the limitation listed in the alternative) or detection of vital signs of the driver or gesture detection; a further computing device (¶0058, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20. In this case, the plurality of ECUs 20 operate in cooperation with each other to function as a controller), receiving the driver monitoring function output (¶0059, a protection controller 33 for occupants … functions of the controller realized in the ECU 20; ¶0124, In step ST21 of the occupant protection control in FIG. 9, the protection controller 33 determines whether the occupant behavior information output in step ST9 is acquired; ¶0125, If the occupant behavior information is acquired, the protection controller 33 causes the process to proceed to step ST22. Examiner considers protection controller 33 as an individual ECU in the embodiment where 20 is a plurality of ECUs and to receive the output of monitoring controller 31, which is also a separate ECU), configured to provide at least one further monitoring function of the system based on the driver monitoring function output (¶0129, If the setting data 69 in the protection memory 61 is updated only in accordance with the occupant behavior information corresponding to a case resembling a minor collision, the protection controller 33 determines that the settings are to be changed in accordance with new occupant behavior information. Examiner considers changing the settings as a further monitoring function); wherein the system is configured in such a way that the image data are provided via the interface to the first computing device (Figure 5, #31, #52; ¶0070, determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53. As there is a connection between monitoring controller 31 and optical unit 52, Examiner considers this indicate that 31 is “receiving image data via the interface”) and that at least one portion of the image data (¶0054, outputs the image data to the vehicle-interior network 21) processed using the driver monitoring function (¶0095, The monitoring controller 31 identifies the position and movement of the upper body of the occupant in the captured image) is provided by the first computing device to the further computing device (¶0047, an electronic control unit (ECU) 20, and a vehicle-interior network 21 to which these devices are coupled; ¶0048, The devices coupled to the vehicle-interior network 21 may individually be provided with central processing units (CPUs) for exchanging data via the vehicle-interior network 21, and may each serve as an individual device; ¶0058, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20); [before providing the at least one portion of the image data] to the further computing device (¶0058, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20), the first computing device (¶0070, the monitoring controller 31) [converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission] to the further computing device (¶0058, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20); [and wherein the at least one portion of the image data] processed using the driver monitoring function (¶0095, The monitoring controller 31 identifies the position and movement of the upper body of the occupant in the captured image) [includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the] further monitoring function ((¶0129, If the setting data 69 in the protection memory 61 is updated only in accordance with the occupant behavior information corresponding to a case resembling a minor collision, the protection controller 33 determines that the settings are to be changed in accordance with new occupant behavior information. Examiner considers changing the settings as a further monitoring function).
However, Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose a control device configured to control the image capturing device, wherein the image capturing device is configured in such a way that image data can be provided in at least two different contexts, and wherein the system is configured in such a way that a respective context can be specified using the control device; before providing the at least one portion of the image data, converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission; and wherein the at least one portion of the image data processed using the function includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the further function.
Shibata teaches a control device configured to control the image capturing device (Figure 2, #60, the control unit; Col. 4, line 33-34, Control unit 60 controls signal read-out from each pixel of image sensor 30), wherein the image capturing device is configured in such a way that image data can be provided in at least two different contexts (Figure 5 diagram of different contexts; Col. 7 lines 25-28 When the travel scene is determined as traveling straight, control unit 60 sets, as the first partial region, segment 200 of image sensor 30 that includes a pixel receiving at least light from straight ahead (context 1 moving straight ahead); Col. 8, lines 25-28, When the travel scene is determined as steering right, control unit 60 sets, as the first partial region, at least one segment 200 including pixel 90 that receives light from a steering direction (the right side) of vehicle 1 (context 2 steering right)), and wherein the system is configured in such a way that a respective context can be specified using the control device (Col. 7 lines 25-28; Col. 8, lines 25-28, control unit 60 sets).
Nakamura and Shibata are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image controller from Shibata into the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for combining would have been for the benefit of reducing the data transmission rate, as suggested by Shibata at Col. 5, lines 20-24, With the above-described configuration, it is possible to appropriately capture an image of a moving object. Furthermore, it is also possible to reduce the amount of data transmission (or the data transmission rate) of image data between imaging device 10 and ECU 12.
However, neither Nakamura nor Shibata, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose before providing the at least one portion of the image data, converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission; and wherein the at least one portion of the image data processed using the function includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the further function.
Satavalekar teaches before providing the at least one portion of the image data (¶0009, The base layer video frames can be input to H.264 compatible encoder. In one embodiment, the method further comprises training a deep learning network or deep neural network (DNN) for autonomous vehicle applications, wherein the training uses information in the base layer portion and enhanced layer portion. The encoding occurs before providing image data to the DNN), converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding (¶0112, H.264 encoder) and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission (¶0112, video frames can be encoded using an H.264 CAVLC 4:4:4 Intra profile … Utilizing intra only frame facilitates support of random access to each frame. Examiner considers the H.264 CAVLC 4:4:4 Intra profile as a “intra-frame-only” image stream, see boxed parts of “H264_IntraProfile” and “StreamingLearningCenter2011”); and wherein the at least one portion of the image data processed using the function includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the further function (¶0045, Compressed raw captured image information 221 is uploaded to storage server 230 … Both labeled information from labeling process 241 and unlabeled information from storage server 230 can be input to DNN training process 242. Examiner considers the compressed image data as “processed image data” and “required” since it is used by the DNN).
Nakamura, Shibata, and Satavalekar are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encoding method of Satavalekar into the image controller from Shibata, and the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for combining would have been to facilitate random access, as suggested by Satavalekar at ¶0112, Utilizing intra only frame facilitates support of random access to each frame.
This method of improving Nakamura was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shibata and Satavalekar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Nakamura with teachings of Shibata and Satavalekar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Nakamura discloses an image capturing device (Figure 2, #53; ¶0067, the onboard imaging device 53), configured to capture the image data, configured to capture at least one portion of the vehicle interior (¶0067, captures an image of the entire upper bodies of the two occupants sitting on the pair of left and right seats), wherein the image capturing device is configured to provide the captured image data via the interface to the first computing device (Figure 5, #31, #52; ¶0070, determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53. As there is a connection between monitoring controller 31 and optical unit 52, Examiner considers this indicate that 31 is “receiving image data via the interface”).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura in view of Shibata and further in view of Satavalekar discloses the system according to claim 2.
However, Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose wherein the image capturing device includes a camera.
Satavalekar teaches wherein the image capturing device includes a camera (¶0042, camera).
A camera is an obvious image capturing device to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Nakamura with teachings of Shibata and Satavalekar by having a camera to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Nakamura discloses wherein the at least one further monitoring function of the further computing device (¶0058, lines 7-10, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20. In this case, the plurality of ECUs 20 operate in cooperation with each other to function as a controller), includes one of the following functions: a) an occupant monitoring function, for: (i) detection of vital signs of occupants, or (ii) gesture detection, or (iii) detection of activities in the vehicle interior, or (iv) detection of situations in the vehicle interior (¶0134, If the protection controller 33 acquires, for example, the occupant behavior information corresponding to a case resembling a major collision, the protection controller 33 determines that the acquired behavior of either one of the upper body and the head of the occupant is the behavior during a collision. Examiner considers the occupant behavior during a collision as a “situation in the vehicle interior” and considers this to disclose all elements of the claim recited in the alternative), or (v) detection of the presence/absence of occupants in the vehicle interior, or (vi) detection of the presence/absence of objects in the vehicle interior; b) a videotelephony function; c) face detection function; or d) an intrusion detection in the vehicle interior.
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses a method for operating a system for monitoring a vehicle interior, the system being configured to monitor the vehicle interior (Abstract, An occupant monitoring device for a vehicle is configured to monitor an occupant sitting on a seat provided in the vehicle), the system including: at least one interface for receiving image data captured with an image capturing device (Figure 5, #31, #53; ¶0066, The optical unit 52 includes the onboard imaging device 53; ¶0070, determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53. As the monitoring controller 31 makes determinations based on images collected by imaging device 53, Examiner considers this to indicate the presence of an “interface”), [a control device configured to control the image capturing device], a first computing device configured to provide at least a first monitoring function of the system based on the image data (¶0070, the monitoring controller 31 … determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53), the first monitoring function including a driver monitoring function for monitoring a driver's state of attention, including by capturing: (i) a body posture (¶0095, The monitoring controller 31 identifies the position and movement of the upper body of the occupant in the captured image. Examiner considers the position and movement of the upper body to comprise posture and considers this to fully disclose the elements of the limitation listed in the alternative) or (ii) a viewing direction or (iii) a position of a head or of a face or of the driver's eyes, or (iv) an opening of the eyes, or (v) a blinking frequency of the driver, for drowsiness detection or distraction detection (¶0095, determines whether the occupant is dozing or driving inattentively. Examiner considers this to fully disclose the elements of the limitation listed in the alternative) or detection of vital signs of the driver or gesture detection, a further computing device (¶0058, lines 7-10, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20. In this case, the plurality of ECUs 20 operate in cooperation with each other to function as a controller) configured to receive the driver monitoring function output (¶0059, a protection controller 33 for occupants … functions of the controller realized in the ECU 20; ¶0124, In step ST21 of the occupant protection control in FIG. 9, the protection controller 33 determines whether the occupant behavior information output in step ST9 is acquired; ¶0125, If the occupant behavior information is acquired, the protection controller 33 causes the process to proceed to step ST22. Examiner considers protection controller 33 as an individual ECU in the embodiment where 20 is a plurality of ECUs and to receive the output of monitoring controller 31, which is also a separate ECU) and provide at least one further monitoring function of the system based on the driver monitoring function output (¶0129, If the setting data 69 in the protection memory 61 is updated only in accordance with the occupant behavior information corresponding to a case resembling a minor collision, the protection controller 33 determines that the settings are to be changed in accordance with new occupant behavior information. Examiner considers changing the settings as a further monitoring function); the method comprising the following steps: [specifying a context for providing the image data, using the control device, providing the image data according to the specified context] via the interface to the first computing device using the image capturing device (Figure 5, #31, #52; ¶0070, determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53. As there is a connection between monitoring controller 31 and optical unit 52, Examiner considers this indicate that 31 is “receiving image data via the interface”); and providing at least one portion of the image data (¶0054, outputs the image data to the vehicle-interior network 21) processed using the driver monitoring function (¶0095, The monitoring controller 31 identifies the position and movement of the upper body of the occupant in the captured image) to the further computing device using the first computing device, (¶0047, an electronic control unit (ECU) 20, and a vehicle-interior network 21 to which these devices are coupled; ¶0048, The devices coupled to the vehicle-interior network 21 may individually be provided with central processing units (CPUs) for exchanging data via the vehicle-interior network 21, and may each serve as an individual device; ¶0058, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20), [wherein: before providing the at least one portion of the image data] to the further computing device (¶0058, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20), the first computing device (¶0070, the monitoring controller 31) [converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission] to the further computing device (¶0058, The automobile 1 may be provided with a plurality of ECUs 20); [and the at least one portion of the image data] processed using the driver monitoring function (¶0095, The monitoring controller 31 identifies the position and movement of the upper body of the occupant in the captured image) [includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the] further monitoring function (¶0129, If the setting data 69 in the protection memory 61 is updated only in accordance with the occupant behavior information corresponding to a case resembling a minor collision, the protection controller 33 determines that the settings are to be changed in accordance with new occupant behavior information. Examiner considers changing the settings as a further monitoring function).
However, Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose a control device configured to control the image capturing device; and specifying a context for providing the image data, using the control device, providing the image data according to the specified context; wherein: before providing the at least one portion of the image data, converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission; and the at least one portion of the image data processed using the function includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the further function.
Shibata teaches a control device configured to control the image capturing device (Figure 2, #60, the control unit; Col. 4, line 33-34, Control unit 60 controls signal read-out from each pixel of image sensor 30); and specifying a context for providing the image data (Figure 5 diagram of different contexts; Col. 7 lines 25-28 When the travel scene is determined as traveling straight, control unit 60 sets, as the first partial region, segment 200 of image sensor 30 that includes a pixel receiving at least light from straight ahead (context 1 moving straight ahead); Col. 8, lines 25-28, When the travel scene is determined as steering right, control unit 60 sets, as the first partial region, at least one segment 200 including pixel 90 that receives light from a steering direction (the right side) of vehicle 1 (context 2 steering right)), using the control device, providing the image data according to the specified context (Col. 7 lines 25-28; Col. 8, lines 25-28, control unit 60 sets).
Nakamura and Shibata are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image controller from Shibata into the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for combining would have been for the benefit of reducing the data transmission rate, as suggested by Shibata at Col. 5, lines 20-24, With the above-described configuration, it is possible to appropriately capture an image of a moving object. Furthermore, it is also possible to reduce the amount of data transmission (or the data transmission rate) of image data between imaging device 10 and ECU 12.
However, neither Nakamura nor Shibata, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose wherein: before providing the at least one portion of the image data, converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission; and the at least one portion of the image data processed using the function includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the further function.
Satavalekar teaches wherein: before providing the at least one portion of the image data (¶0009, The base layer video frames can be input to H.264 compatible encoder. In one embodiment, the method further comprises training a deep learning network or deep neural network (DNN) for autonomous vehicle applications, wherein the training uses information in the base layer portion and enhanced layer portion. The encoding occurs before providing image data to the DNN), converts the image data into a format for hardware video encoding (¶0112, H.264 encoder) and encodes the converted image data as an intra-frame-only encoded image stream for transmission (¶0112, video frames can be encoded using an H.264 CAVLC 4:4:4 Intra profile … Utilizing intra only frame facilitates support of random access to each frame. Examiner considers the H.264 CAVLC 4:4:4 Intra profile as a “intra-frame-only” image stream, see boxed parts of “H264_IntraProfile” and “StreamingLearningCenter2011”) and the at least one portion of the image data processed using the function includes processed image data that are required for the further computing device to provide the further function (¶0045, Compressed raw captured image information 221 is uploaded to storage server 230 … Both labeled information from labeling process 241 and unlabeled information from storage server 230 can be input to DNN training process 242. Examiner considers the compressed image data as “processed image data” and “required” since it is used by the DNN).
Nakamura, Shibata, and Satavalekar are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encoding method of Satavalekar into the image controller from Shibata, and the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for combining would have been to facilitate random access, as suggested by Satavalekar at ¶0112, Utilizing intra only frame facilitates support of random access to each frame.
This method of improving Nakamura was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shibata and Satavalekar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Nakamura with teachings of Shibata and Satavalekar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, in which claim 7 is incorporated, Nakamura discloses wherein the method further comprises: capturing image data using the image capturing device (Figure 2, #53; ¶0067, the onboard imaging device 53), for capturing at least one portion of the vehicle interior (¶0067, captures an image of the entire upper bodies of the two occupants sitting on the pair of left and right seats).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura in view of Shibata and further in view of Satavalekar discloses the system according to claim 8.
However, Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose wherein the image capturing device includes a camera.
Satavalekar teaches wherein the image capturing device includes a camera (¶0042, camera).
A camera is an obvious image capturing device to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Nakamura with the teachings of Shibata and Satavalekar by having a camera to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 15, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Nakamura discloses wherein the at least one further monitoring function (¶0129, If the setting data 69 in the protection memory 61 is updated only in accordance with the occupant behavior information corresponding to a case resembling a minor collision, the protection controller 33 determines that the settings are to be changed in accordance with new occupant behavior information) of the system is different from the driver monitoring function ((¶0070, the monitoring controller 31 … determines the position and movement of the upper body of each occupant sitting on the corresponding seat 5 from a vehicle-interior image captured by the onboard imaging device 53. The protection controller determines collision type and changes settings while the monitoring controller determines the occupant’s position and movements).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2020/0094763) (hereafter, "Nakamura") in view of Shibata et al. (US 10,957,028) and Satavalekar et al. (US 2019/0082185) (hereafter, “Satavalekar”) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Costin et al. (US 2019/0250611) (hereafter, “Costin”).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura in view of Shibata further in view of Satavalekar discloses the method according to claim 7.
However, none of Nakamura or Satavalekar, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose wherein the first monitoring function of the first computing device and the at least one further monitoring function of the further computing device are performed at least temporarily simultaneously, and the image capturing device at least temporarily provides image data in a first context as a function of the first monitoring function, wherein, in the first context, the captured image data are output according to a first output format, and the image capturing device at least temporarily provides image data in at least one further context as a function of the further monitoring function, wherein, in the further context, the captured image data are output according to a further output format.
Shibata teaches the image capturing device at least temporarily provides image data in a first context as a function of the first monitoring function, wherein, in the first context, the captured image data are output according to a first output format (Col. 7 lines 25-28, When the travel scene is determined as traveling straight, control unit 60 sets, as the first partial region, segment 200 of image sensor 30 that includes a pixel receiving at least light from straight ahead. Examiner considers the travel scene a context and the pixel format and output format), and the image capturing device at least temporarily provides image data in at least one further context as a function of the further monitoring function, wherein, in the further context, the captured image data are output according to a further output format (Col. 8, lines 25-28, When the travel scene is determined as steering right, control unit 60 sets, as the first partial region, at least one segment 200 including pixel 90 that receives light from a steering direction (the right side) of vehicle 1).
Nakamura, Shibata, and Satavalekar are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image controller from Shibata into the encoding method of Satavalekar, and the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for combining would have been for the benefit of reducing the data transmission rate, as suggested by Shibata at Col. 5, lines 20-24, With the above-described configuration, it is possible to appropriately capture an image of a moving object. Furthermore, it is also possible to reduce the amount of data transmission (or the data transmission rate) of image data between imaging device 10 and ECU 12.
However, none of Nakamura, Shibata, or Satavalekar, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose wherein the first monitoring function of the first computing device and the at least one further monitoring function of the further computing device are performed at least temporarily simultaneously.
Costin teaches wherein the first monitoring function of the first computing device and the at least one further monitoring function of the further computing device are performed at least temporarily simultaneously (Figure 9, #910, 930; ¶0080, Method 900 starts at a step 901 and proceeds in serial or parallel processing to steps 910 and/or 930 in various orders or combinations).
Nakamura, Shibata, Satavalekar, and Costin are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor data sharing system of Costin into the encoding method of Satavalekar, the image controller from Shibata, and the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for combining would have been decreasing the number of links to each ECU, as suggested by Costin at ¶0042, An advantage provided by such a configuration is that the number of links required under such an implementation is reduced by a factor corresponding to the number of ECUs in the system relative to conventional solutions that connect each sensor to each ECU.
This method of improving Nakamura was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shibata, Satavalekar, and Costin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Nakamura with the teachings of Shibata, Satavalekar, and Costin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura in view of Shibata further in view of Satavalekar and Costin discloses the method according to claim 12.
However, none of Nakamura, Satavalekar, and Costin, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose wherein switching between the first context and the at least one further context takes place according to a pattern that can be specified as a function of the monitoring functions to be performed.
Shibata teaches wherein switching between the first context and the at least one further context takes place according to a pattern that can be specified as a function of the monitoring functions to be performed (Col. 15, lines 6-8, Sensor control unit 76 changes the sensing method for active sensor 16 according to the result of object detection by object detection unit 74).
Nakamura, Shibata, Satavalekar, and Costin are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image controller from Shibata into the encoding method of Satavalekar, the sensor data sharing system of Costin, and the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for combining would have been for the benefit of reducing the data transmission rate, as suggested by Shibata at Col. 5, lines 20-24, With the above-described configuration, it is possible to appropriately capture an image of a moving object. Furthermore, it is also possible to reduce the amount of data transmission (or the data transmission rate) of image data between imaging device 10 and ECU 12.
This method of improving Nakamura was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shibata, Satavalekar, and Costin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Nakamura with the teachings of Shibata, Satavalekar, and Costin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2020/0094763) (hereafter, "Nakamura") in view of Shibata et al. (US 10,957,028) and Satavalekar et al. (US 2019/0082185) (hereafter, “Satavalekar”) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Murao et al. (US 2020/0029052) (hereafter, “Murao”).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura in view of Shibata further in view of Satavalekar discloses the method according to claim 7.
However, none of Nakamura, Shibata, and Satavalekar, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose wherein at least one encryption method or authentication method is provided for securing communications between the first computing device and the further computing device.
Murao teaches wherein at least one encryption method or authentication method is provided for securing communications between the first computing device and the further computing device (¶0072, Further, by either encrypting an image or generating a signature for the image in the image branch circuit 125 and/or the compression circuit 127).
Nakamura, Shibata, Satavalekar, and Murao are all analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of vehicle controllers and sensors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encryption method from Murao into the image controller from Shibata, the encoding of Satavalekar, and the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to have the encryption of the data that has the benefit of guaranteeing the authenticity of the output image, as suggested by Murao at ¶0072, lines 15-16, authenticity of the output image can be guaranteed.
This method of improving the occupant monitoring system of Nakamura was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shibata, Satavalekar, and Murao.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura with the teachings of Shibata, Satavalekar, and Murao to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Narroschke et al. (US 2014/0233659) discloses an intra-frame only encoding compatible with vehicle computing systems (¶0143, coding efficiency of the disclosure has been evaluated for an intra-only configuration; ¶0188, a configuration of the car navigation system ex211 will be a configuration).
Shetty et al. (US 2013/0223515) discloses an intra-frame only encoding compatible with vehicle computing systems (¶0048, views of a navigation map in which the only change from frame to frame was slight movement of a car's position; ¶0063, systems described herein are believed to provide particularly simple and efficient elimination of flicker that is effective for systems using intra-only prediction).
Clucas et al. (US 2025/0063173) discloses an intra-frame only encoding format (¶0075, VC-6 Multiplanar Picture Format. VC-6 is a flexible, multi-resolution, intra-only bitstream format; ¶0183, Examples of the apparatus 1700 include … a vehicle).
/XIAOMAO DING/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676