672DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 12, 2026 has been entered. Applicant' s Amendment to claim 20 has overcome the objection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 14, 2026, and the objection is withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9 of Remarks, filed August 12, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4, 13, and 18-20 have been fully considered in view of the Amendment and are persuasive. Therefore the rejections have been withdrawn.
In regards to the amended claims 8 and 10, although they were indicated as having allowable subject matter in the prior office action, upon an updated search and consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly identified prior art. Please see the claim rejections below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display Panel Including an Opening/Closing Module Configured to Open a When an Image is Output from a Pixel in a Light-Transmitting Region
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang; Joohyuk et al. (US 2022/0189373; hereinafter Bang) in view of Chen, Yu-huai (CN 111863922 A; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 8, Bang discloses a display device, comprising:
a display panel (10A; Figs 1-3; ¶ [0058-59]) including:
a first display region (120A; Figs 1-3; ¶ [0060]) in which a plurality of first pixels (PX2; Fig 3; ¶ [0063]) are disposed,
a second display region (110A/110A2; Figs 1-3/6-7; ¶ [0020,0080-81]) including pixel regions (31; Fig 6; ¶ [0074,0081]) and a plurality of light-transmitting regions (32; Fig 6; ¶ [0074,0081]), wherein a plurality of second pixels (PX1; Fig 3; ¶ [0062]) are disposed in the pixel regions, and
an opening/closing module (20A Figs 1-3; ¶ [0058]) configured to control light passing through the plurality of light transmitting regions (¶ [0064]); and
an optical sensor disposed below the display panel (30A; Figs 1-3; ¶ [0058,0067]),
wherein the opening/closing module is configured to open the light-transmitting region when the optical sensor is driven (20A in transparent state when 30A driven; ¶ [0068]) and block the light-transmitting region when the optical sensor is not driven (20A in opaque state when 30A not driven; ¶ [0068]),
wherein the light-transmitting region includes:
a buffer layer (11; Fig 6; ¶ [0077]) disposed on a substrate (1; Fig 6; ¶ [0075]);
a gate insulating film (12; Fig 6; ¶ [0077]) disposed on the buffer layer.
Bang does not disclose wherein the light-transmitting region includes: a cathode disposed on the gate insulating film, and wherein the opening/closing module is disposed on the cathode.
In the same field of endeavor Chen discloses a display panel comprising a light transmitting region (052; Figs 13,18; ¶ [0056,0060 {pages 31-32}]) including: a cathode (110; Fig 13; ¶ [0056,0062 {page 37}]) and an opening/closing module (electrochromic layer 090; Fig 13,18; ¶ [0056,0060 {page 32}]) disposed on the cathode.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Chen with that of Bang to satisfy the further limitation of claim 8. One would have been motivated to do this as a means to incorporate the opening/closing module into the display panel, since Bang provides limited detail regarding the structure of the opening/closing module. A cathode and gate insulating film are disclosed by both Bang and Chen; the matter of whether each is included in the light-transmitting region is a design choice, since both may comprise transparent materials known in the art and therefore enable the light-transmitting region to function as intended. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success due to the similar structures of the display panels of Bang and Chen.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang; Joohyuk et al. (US 2022/0189373; hereinafter Bang) in view of Park; SungHee et al. (US 2014/0183479; hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 10, Bang discloses a display device, comprising:
a display panel (10A; Figs 1-3; ¶ [0058-59]) including:
a first display region (120A; Figs 1-3; ¶ [0060]) in which a plurality of first pixels (PX2; Fig 3; ¶ [0063]) are disposed,
a second display region (110A/110A2; Figs 1-3/6-7; ¶ [0020,0080-81]) including pixel regions (31; Fig 6; ¶ [0074,0081]) and a plurality of light-transmitting regions (32; Fig 6; ¶ [0074,0081]), wherein a plurality of second pixels (PX1; Fig 3; ¶ [0062]) are disposed in the pixel regions, and
an opening/closing module (20A Figs 1-3; ¶ [0058]) configured to control light passing through the plurality of light transmitting regions (¶ [0064]); and
an optical sensor disposed below the display panel (30A; Figs 1-3; ¶ [0058,0067]),
wherein the opening/closing module is configured to open the light-transmitting region when the optical sensor is driven (20A in transparent state when 30A driven; ¶ [0068]) and block the light-transmitting region when the optical sensor is not driven (20A in opaque state when 30A not driven; ¶ [0068]),
wherein the light-transmitting region includes:
a buffer layer (11; Fig 6; ¶ [0077]) disposed on a substrate (1; Figs 1,6; ¶ [0075]);
a gate insulating film (12; Fig 6; ¶ [0077]) disposed on the buffer layer, and
wherein the opening/closing module is disposed below the substrate (20A may be provided on a side of the rear surface of display panel 10A; Fig 1; ¶ [0065]).
Bang does not disclose wherein the light-transmitting region includes a cathode disposed on the gate insulating film; however, a cathode on a gate insulating film in a light-transmitting region is known in the art.
In the same field of endeavor Park discloses a display panel comprising a light transmitting region (TA; Fig 3; ¶ [0045-48]) including: a cathode (313; Fig 3; ¶ [0058]) on a gate insulating film.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have included the cathode on gate insulating film structure in the light-transmitting region as taught by Park in the display panel of Bang. One would have been motivated to do this in order to simplify the manufacturing process for a case where the cathode is a transparent film, as is known in the art, rather than removing the cathode from the light-transmitting region. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success due to the similar structures of the display panels of Bang and Park.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-20 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “wherein the opening/closing module is configured to open the light-transmitting regions when an image is output from the third pixels”, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
The prior art Choi (Choi; Nak Cho et al. {US 2022/0165984}) discloses a display panel (Figs 1-3,4-6; ¶ [0048-99], in particular; entire document) including: a first display region (DA1; Fig 3; ¶ [0053]) in which a plurality of first pixels (PX in PA1; Figs 3,8; ¶ [0069-71]) are disposed, a second display region (DA2; Fig 3; ¶ [0053]) including pixel regions (PA2; Fig 3,9; ¶ [0069-72]) and a plurality of light-transmitting regions (TA; Fig 3,9; ¶ [0069, 0073]), wherein a plurality of second pixels are disposed in the pixel regions; and an optical sensor (40; Fig 2; ¶ [0065]) disposed below the display panel, but Choi does not disclose an opening/closing module configured to control light passing through the plurality of light- transmitting regions.
The prior art Liu (Liu; Yuhao et al. {US 2021/0091147}) discloses a display panel including a plurality of pixels (P1; Figs 2,6; ¶ [0030-35]) disposed in a light-transmitting region (AA1; Fig 6; ¶ [0029, 0046-51]), wherein an opening/closing module (state switching layer 104; Figs 2,6, 8; ¶ [0031]) is configured to close the light-transmitting regions when an image is output from the pixels and an optical sensor not driven (¶ [0035]), which teaches away from the limitation of claim 1 by closing the light-transmitting regions rather than opening them when an image is output from the pixels.
Conclusion
/B.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817