DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendments filed on 06/04/02026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thakare et al. (US 20240160354 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Thakare) further in view of a 2023 online public disclosure authored by Uchenna (published 11/06/2023)(titled “Kubernetes Readiness Probe: A Simple Guide with Examples”)(cited by examiner in previous action)(accessed by examiner via Wayback Machine)(hereafter referred to as Uchenna).
Regarding Claim 1,
Thakare discloses the following limitations:
A method comprising:
receiving (Fig. 4, steps 402 + 404) an update (“a node image upgrade” [0036]) for a first node (“a node 120 with an old node image” [0036]) of a cluster of compute nodes (Target Environment 110, Fig. 1 // “At step 402, an image upgrade controller 150 waits for a trigger event that indicates that a node image upgrade should be performed for nodes 120 … At step 404, image upgrade controller 150 selects a node 120 with an old node image” [0036]);
generating (Fig. 4, steps 405 + 406), by a processing device (Image Upgrade Controller 150, Fig. 1), a second node (“a new node 120” [0036]) comprising the update for the first node, wherein the second node is generated based on an image (“the new node image 165” [0037]) comprising the update for the first node (“image upgrade controller 150 then proceeds to step 405 in which it communicates with a deployment system to create/deploy a new node 120 … at step 406, image upgrade controller 150 determines whether a new node 120 running the new node image 165 has been spun up.” [0036-37]);
copying (Fig. 4, step 410) data from the first node to the second node (“At step 410, image upgrade controller 150 begins copying data from the old node 120 to the new node 120” [0037]); and
in response to completion of copying the data (Fig. 4, step 412 ‘Yes’), replacing (Fig. 4, step 414) the first node in the cluster with the second node (“At step 414, image upgrade controller 150 evicts the set of pods 130 from the old node 120 and then scales the node down” [0038]) and indicating connection of the second node to the cluster (Fig. 2 // “Node mapping 200, in various embodiments, is information that is maintained by image upgrade controller 150 to track progress of an upgrade process being performed for a given node 120” [0023] // “After image upgrade controller 150 completes the transfer and the new node 120 is fully operational, the old node 120 is scaled down and removed from the cluster … Image upgrade controller 120 may then update the relevant state 220 in node mapping 200 to “Complete”.” [0034]) – As shown in Fig. 2, a mapping 200 is maintained to track the progress of node upgrades. Once an image is transferred from an old node to a new node and the old node is removed from the cluster, mapping 200 is updated to indicate the upgrade for a node is “Complete”. Accordingly, marking an update as “Complete” “indicat[es] connection” of the new node to the cluster.--
wherein, while the data is being copied from the first node to the second node, … indicates (Fig. 2) that the first node is operational, and … indicates (Fig. 2) that the second node is not operational, (Fig. 2 // “as depicted, the state 220 of the node image upgrade process that involves the node 120 … is “in-progress”. In various embodiments, in-progress indicates that the data transfer from an old node 120 to a new node 120 is not yet complete.” [0024] // “Once the old node 120 has been set to the read-only mode … image upgrade controller 150 begins copying data form the old node 120 to the new node 120” [0037] // “after the data transfer from the old node 120 … to the new node 120 … has finished, image upgrade controller 150 reschedules the pod(s) 130 corresponding to the old node 120 … such that they are removed from the old node 120 and deployed onto the new node 120.“ [0034] // ¶0029) – While data is being copied from the old node to the new node, the old node is set to a “read-only” mode capable of servicing read requests (see ¶0029) and mapping 200 is updated to indicate the upgrade is “In-Progress”. Accordingly, marking an update as “In-Progress” in mapping 200 signifies that an old node is set to a “read-only” mode (i.e., “indicates the first node is operational”). Additionally, a pod is rescheduled onto the new node after copying of data is completed. Accordingly, updating mapping 200 to indicate an “In-Progress” update similarly signifies that a new node has not yet been scheduled for deployment (i.e., “indicates that the second node is not operational”)--
and
wherein, after completion of copying the data from the first node to the second node, … indicates (Fig. 2) that the first node is no longer operational and to be removed from the cluster, and … indicates (Fig. 2) that the second node is ready to receive traffic. (Fig. 2 // “After image upgrade controller 150 completes the transfer and the new node 120 is fully operational, the old node 120 is scaled down and removed from the cluster … Image upgrade controller 120 may then update the relevant state 220 in node mapping 200 to “Complete”.” [0034]) – As previously discussed, after data has been copied from the old node to the new node and the new node is ‘fully operational’, the old node is removed from the cluster and mapping 200 is updated as “Complete”. Accordingly, updating a mapping 200 to mark an update as “Complete” “indicates that the first node is no longer operational and to be removed from the cluster” and similarly “indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic”.
Although Thakare ¶0037 discloses that an image upgrade controller “continues to check whether the copying is complete” during the data copying operation from the old node to the new node, Thakare does not disclose the particular method by which image upgrade controller performs the aforementioned checking. Accordingly, Thakare does not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
a readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is operational …
a readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is not operational …
the readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is no longer operational …
the readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic
However, Uchenna discloses within the context of monitoring node health in a distributed storage cluster environment that a “Readiness Probe” running on each given pod of a cluster and queried by a server using a specified path and a specified port indicates whether or not the given pod is ready to receive traffic. Uchenna discloses the following limitations:
a readiness endpoint (“Readiness Probe” [pg. 3]) of the first node indicates that the first node is operational … (“probes are performed on an application running in a container within a Pod … Services in Kubernetes rely on Pods which are commonly part of a deployment, to be used as their backends … A Kubernetes readiness probe can be performed using any of these 4 ways … You can define a readiness command to be executed … in the target container.” [pg. 3] // “A readiness command, once executed, returns one of these three outputs: Success: If the readiness probe you define is successful, it returns 0, which means your application is ready to start receiving requests” [pg. 3] “You can define an HTTP GET request for a readiness probe. The kubelet sends an HTTP GET request to a server’s specified path and a specified port that the server listens on. Any response code greater than or equal to 200 and less than 400 … indicates Success.” [pg. 11] // “A Pod in the Running stage means that the Pod has been assigned to a node, and all the containers within this Pod have been created and are running on the selected node.” [pg. 6]) – As taught in Uchenna, a server uses a ‘Readiness Probe’ to determine the health of an associated pod, similar to how the image upgrade controller of Thakare checks whether copying of data has been completed during an image upgrade. As taught in Uchenna, each pod which executes within a cluster has a corresponding “Readiness Probe” configured at a specified path and at a specified port (i.e., “a readiness endpoint”) which is queried by a server to determine the health of a pod. Pods run on nodes (pg. 6) and accordingly Readiness Probes running thereon are associated with the node. Accordingly, a server querying a Readiness Probe for a pod and receiving a “Success” response amounts to the server, receiving from “a readiness endpoint of the first node”, a response which “indicates that the first node is operational”--
a readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is not operational (“Failure: if the readiness command probe fails, it returns a non-zero value, which means the application is not yet ready” [pg. 4] // “If a Pod with containers fails its readiness probe, it does not receive traffic from a service in Kubernetes. The Pod’s IP will be removed from the list of endpoints for all services that match the Pod until it is ready to start accepting traffic” [pg. 3]) – As clarified on pgs. 3-4, when a readiness probe executing on a pod returns a particular value (e.g., non-zero), the pod is not yet ready to start accepting traffic and has its IP removed from a list of service endpoints associated with the pod. Accordingly, a server querying a Readiness Probe for a pod and receiving a “Failure” response amounts to the server, receiving from “a readiness endpoint of the second node”, a response which “indicates that the second node is not operational”--
the readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is no longer operational … the readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic – As discussed above, the same Readiness Probe can indicate either a ‘Success’ or a ‘Failure’ response. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that respective a Readiness Probe operating on a Pod would report both a “Success” and a “Failure” response depending on a point in time when it is queried by the server.
Thakare and Uchenna are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of monitoring node health in a distributed storage cluster comprising plural storage nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thakare with the teachings of Uchenna and realize a method of using readiness endpoints on storage nodes of the cluster to indicate whether nodes are or are not ready to receive traffic. Doing so would improve user experience by ensuring smooth and consistent application updates, minimizing downtime as disclosed in Uchenna pg. 14: “Readiness probes ensure smooth and consistent application updates, which provide a better user experience by minimizing downtime. Incoming requests won’t be routed to unhealthy Pods because their IP addresses are removed from service endpoints by the endpoint controller.”
Regarding Claim 2,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 2. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 1, wherein replacing the first node with the second node comprises: updating service labels (Thakare, Node Mapping 200, Fig. 2) of the cluster to include the second node in place of the first node (Thakare, “Node mapping 200, in various embodiments, is information that is maintained by image upgrade controller 150 to track progress of an upgrade being performed for a given node 120 … Once an old node 120 has been deallocated, in various embodiments, image upgrade controller 150 removes its entry from node mapping 200 … Once the upgrade process for a node 120 has completed, image upgrade controller 150 may update the associated state 220 in node mapping 200 to “complete.”’ [0023-24]) – Examiner considers a “node mapping”, such as Node Mapping 200 depicted in Thakare Fig. 2, as reading on the claimed concept of “service labels”, under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the claimed language. As taught in Thakare ¶0023-34 and shown in Fig. 2, node mapping 200 is updated throughout the upgrade process to indicate when a first node has been deallocated, and further to indicate when the upgrade to the second node is complete (i.e., “to include the second node in place of the first node”).
Regarding Claim 6,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 6. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: deleting (Thakare, Fig. 4, step 414) the first node in response to replacing the first node with the second node in the cluster (Thakare, “At step 414, image upgrade controller 150 evicts the set of pods 130 from the old node 120 and then scales the node down” [0038])
Regarding Claim 7,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 7. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 1, wherein copying data from the first node to the second node comprises:
establishing (Thakare, ¶0031) a connection (Thakare, “a secure tunnel” [0031] // Fig. 3B) between the first node and the second node (Thakare, Fig. 3B // “security certificates on the old node 120 and the new node 120 may be used to establish a secure tunnel between the nodes” [0031]);
identifying (Thakare, Fig. 4, step 408) in-memory data (Applications 135, Fig. 3B) of the first node (Thakare, “At step 408, image upgrade controller 150 … sets applications 135 to read-only mode” [0037]) – As detailed in Thakare ¶0037, data associated with applications 135 are set into read-only mode, which examiner considers at least as “identifying in-memory data”--; and
copying (Thakare, Fig. 4, 410) the in-memory data from the first node to the second node via the connection (Thakare, “At step 410, … image upgrade controller 150 causes data to be transferred from the storage 140 of old node 120A to the storage 140 of the new node 120D via a secure tunnel as illustrated in FIG. 3B” [0037])
Regarding Claim 8,
Thakare discloses the following limitations:
A system comprising:
a memory (Memory 720, Fig. 7); and a processing device (Processor Subsystem 780, Fig. 7), operatively coupled to the memory, to (¶0050):
receive (Fig. 4, steps 402 + 404) an update (“a node image upgrade” [0036]) for a first node (“a node 120 with an old node image” [0036]) of a cluster of compute nodes (Target Environment 110, Fig. 1 // “At step 402, an image upgrade controller 150 waits for a trigger event that indicates that a node image upgrade should be performed for nodes 120 … At step 404, image upgrade controller 150 selects a node 120 with an old node image” [0036]); generate (Fig. 4, steps 405 + 406) a second node (“a new node 120” [0036]) comprising the update for the first node, wherein the second node is generated based on an image (“the new node image 165” [0037]) comprising the update for the first node (“image upgrade controller 150 then proceeds to step 405 in which it communicates with a deployment system to create/deploy a new node 120 … at step 406, image upgrade controller 150 determines whether a new node 120 running the new node image 165 has been spun up.” [0036-37]);
copy (Fig. 4, step 410) data from the first node to the second node (“At step 410, image upgrade controller 150 begins copying data from the old node 120 to the new node 120” [0037]); and
in response to completion of copying the data (Fig. 4, step 412 ‘Yes’), replace (Fig. 4, step 414) the first node in the cluster with the second node (“At step 414, image upgrade controller 150 evicts the set of pods 130 from the old node 120 and then scales the node down” [0038]) and indicate connection of the second node to the cluster (Fig. 2 // “Node mapping 200, in various embodiments, is information that is maintained by image upgrade controller 150 to track progress of an upgrade process being performed for a given node 120” [0023] // “After image upgrade controller 150 completes the transfer and the new node 120 is fully operational, the old node 120 is scaled down and removed from the cluster … Image upgrade controller 120 may then update the relevant state 220 in node mapping 200 to “Complete”.” [0034]) – As shown in Fig. 2, a mapping 200 is maintained to track the progress of node upgrades. Once an image is transferred from an old node to a new node and the old node is removed from the cluster, mapping 200 is updated to indicate the upgrade for a node is “Complete”. Accordingly, marking an update as “Complete” “indicat[es] connection” of the new node to the cluster.--
wherein, while the data is being copied from the first node to the second node, … indicates (Fig. 2) that the first node is operational, and … indicates (Fig. 2) that the second node is not operational, (Fig. 2 // “as depicted, the state 220 of the node image upgrade process that involves the node 120 … is “in-progress”. In various embodiments, in-progress indicates that the data transfer from an old node 120 to a new node 120 is not yet complete.” [0024] // “Once the old node 120 has been set to the read-only mode … image upgrade controller 150 begins copying data form the old node 120 to the new node 120” [0037] // “after the data transfer from the old node 120 … to the new node 120 … has finished, image upgrade controller 150 reschedules the pod(s) 130 corresponding to the old node 120 … such that they are removed from the old node 120 and deployed onto the new node 120.“ [0034] // ¶0029) – While data is being copied from the old node to the new node, the old node is set to a “read-only” mode capable of servicing read requests (see ¶0029) and mapping 200 is updated to indicate the upgrade is “In-Progress”. Accordingly, marking an update as “In-Progress” in mapping 200 signifies that an old node is set to a “read-only” mode (i.e., “indicates the first node is operational”). Additionally, a pod is rescheduled onto the new node after copying of data is completed. Accordingly, updating mapping 200 to indicate an “In-Progress” update similarly signifies that a new node has not yet been scheduled for deployment (i.e., “indicates that the second node is not operational”)--
and
wherein, after completion of copying the data from the first node to the second node, … indicates (Fig. 2) that the first node is no longer operational and to be removed from the cluster, and … indicates (Fig. 2) that the second node is ready to receive traffic. (Fig. 2 // “After image upgrade controller 150 completes the transfer and the new node 120 is fully operational, the old node 120 is scaled down and removed from the cluster … Image upgrade controller 120 may then update the relevant state 220 in node mapping 200 to “Complete”.” [0034]) – As previously discussed, after data has been copied from the old node to the new node and the new node is ‘fully operational’, the old node is removed from the cluster and mapping 200 is updated as “Complete”. Accordingly, updating a mapping 200 to mark an update as “Complete” “indicates that the first node is no longer operational and to be removed from the cluster” and similarly “indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic”.
Although Thakare ¶0037 discloses that an image upgrade controller “continues to check whether the copying is complete” during the data copying operation from the old node to the new node, Thakare does not disclose the particular method by which image upgrade controller performs the aforementioned checking. Accordingly, Thakare does not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
a readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is operational …
a readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is not operational …
the readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is no longer operational …
the readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic
However, Uchenna discloses within the context of monitoring node health in a distributed storage cluster environment that a “Readiness Probe” running on each given pod of a cluster and queried by a server using a specified path and a specified port indicates whether or not the given pod is ready to receive traffic. Uchenna discloses the following limitations:
a readiness endpoint (“Readiness Probe” [pg. 3]) of the first node indicates that the first node is operational … (“probes are performed on an application running in a container within a Pod … Services in Kubernetes rely on Pods which are commonly part of a deployment, to be used as their backends … A Kubernetes readiness probe can be performed using any of these 4 ways … You can define a readiness command to be executed … in the target container.” [pg. 3] // “A readiness command, once executed, returns one of these three outputs: Success: If the readiness probe you define is successful, it returns 0, which means your application is ready to start receiving requests” [pg. 3] “You can define an HTTP GET request for a readiness probe. The kubelet sends an HTTP GET request to a server’s specified path and a specified port that the server listens on. Any response code greater than or equal to 200 and less than 400 … indicates Success.” [pg. 11] // “A Pod in the Running stage means that the Pod has been assigned to a node, and all the containers within this Pod have been created and are running on the selected node.” [pg. 6]) – As taught in Uchenna, a server uses a ‘Readiness Probe’ to determine the health of an associated pod, similar to how the image upgrade controller of Thakare checks whether copying of data has been completed during an image upgrade. As taught in Uchenna, each pod which executes within a cluster has a corresponding “Readiness Probe” configured at a specified path and at a specified port (i.e., “a readiness endpoint”) which is queried by a server to determine the health of a pod. Pods run on nodes (pg. 6) and accordingly Readiness Probes running thereon are associated with the node. Accordingly, a server querying a Readiness Probe for a pod and receiving a “Success” response amounts to the server, receiving from “a readiness endpoint of the first node”, a response which “indicates that the first node is operational”--
a readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is not operational (“Failure: if the readiness command probe fails, it returns a non-zero value, which means the application is not yet ready” [pg. 4] // “If a Pod with containers fails its readiness probe, it does not receive traffic from a service in Kubernetes. The Pod’s IP will be removed from the list of endpoints for all services that match the Pod until it is ready to start accepting traffic” [pg. 3]) – As clarified on pgs. 3-4, when a readiness probe executing on a pod returns a particular value (e.g., non-zero), the pod is not yet ready to start accepting traffic and has its IP removed from a list of service endpoints associated with the pod. Accordingly, a server querying a Readiness Probe for a pod and receiving a “Failure” response amounts to the server, receiving from “a readiness endpoint of the second node”, a response which “indicates that the second node is not operational”--
the readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is no longer operational … the readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic – As discussed above, the same Readiness Probe can indicate either a ‘Success’ or a ‘Failure’ response. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that respective a Readiness Probe operating on a Pod would report both a “Success” and a “Failure” response depending on a point in time when it is queried by the server.
Thakare and Uchenna are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of monitoring node health in a distributed storage cluster comprising plural storage nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thakare with the teachings of Uchenna and realize a method of using readiness endpoints on storage nodes of the cluster to indicate whether nodes are or are not ready to receive traffic. Doing so would improve user experience by ensuring smooth and consistent application updates, minimizing downtime as disclosed in Uchenna pg. 14: “Readiness probes ensure smooth and consistent application updates, which provide a better user experience by minimizing downtime. Incoming requests won’t be routed to unhealthy Pods because their IP addresses are removed from service endpoints by the endpoint controller.”
Regarding Claim 9,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 9. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 8, wherein to replace the first node with the second node, the processing device is to: update service labels (Thakare, Node Mapping 200, Fig. 2) of the cluster to include the second node in place of the first node (Thakare, “Node mapping 200, in various embodiments, is information that is maintained by image upgrade controller 150 to track progress of an upgrade being performed for a given node 120 … Once an old node 120 has been deallocated, in various embodiments, image upgrade controller 150 removes its entry from node mapping 200 … Once the upgrade process for a node 120 has completed, image upgrade controller 150 may update the associated state 220 in node mapping 200 to “complete.”’ [0023-24]) – Examiner considers a “node mapping”, such as Node Mapping 200 depicted in Thakare Fig. 2, as reading on the claimed concept of “service labels”, under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the claimed language. As taught in Thakare ¶0023-34 and shown in Fig. 2, node mapping 200 is updated throughout the upgrade process to indicate when a first node has been deallocated, and further to indicate when the upgrade to the second node is complete (i.e., “to include the second node in place of the first node”)
Regarding Claim 13,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 13. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 8, wherein the processing device is further to: delete (Thakare, Fig. 4, step 414) the first node in response to replacing the first node with the second node in the cluster (Thakare, “At step 414, image upgrade controller 150 evicts the set of pods 130 from the old node 120 and then scales the node down” [0038])
Regarding Claim 14,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 7. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 8, wherein to copy data from the first node to the second node, the processing device is to:
establish (Thakare, ¶0031) a connection (Thakare, “a secure tunnel” [0031] // Fig. 3B) between the first node and the second node (Thakare, Fig. 3B // “security certificates on the old node 120 and the new node 120 may be used to establish a secure tunnel between the nodes” [0031]);
identify (Thakare, Fig. 4, step 408) in-memory data (Applications 135, Fig. 3B) of the first node (Thakare, “At step 408, image upgrade controller 150 … sets applications 135 to read-only mode” [0037]) – As detailed in Thakare ¶0037, data associated with applications 135 are set into read-only mode, which examiner considers at least as “identify[ing] in-memory data”--; and
copy (Thakare, Fig. 4, 410) the in-memory data from the first node to the second node via the connection (Thakare, “At step 410, … image upgrade controller 150 causes data to be transferred from the storage 140 of old node 120A to the storage 140 of the new node 120D via a secure tunnel as illustrated in FIG. 3B” [0037])
Regarding Claim 15,
Thakare discloses the following limitations:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to (¶0043):
receive (Fig. 4, steps 402 + 404) an update (“a node image upgrade” [0036]) for a first node (“a node 120 with an old node image” [0036]) of a cluster of compute nodes (Target Environment 110, Fig. 1 // “At step 402, an image upgrade controller 150 waits for a trigger event that indicates that a node image upgrade should be performed for nodes 120 … At step 404, image upgrade controller 150 selects a node 120 with an old node image” [0036]); generate (Fig. 4, steps 405 + 406), by the processing device, a second node (“a new node 120” [0036]) comprising the update for the first node, wherein the second node is generated based on an image (“the new node image 165” [0037]) comprising the update for the first node (“image upgrade controller 150 then proceeds to step 405 in which it communicates with a deployment system to create/deploy a new node 120 … at step 406, image upgrade controller 150 determines whether a new node 120 running the new node image 165 has been spun up.” [0036-37]);
copy (Fig. 4, step 410) data from the first node to the second node (“At step 410, image upgrade controller 150 begins copying data from the old node 120 to the new node 120” [0037]); and
in response to completion of copying the data (Fig. 4, step 412 ‘Yes’), replace (Fig. 4, step 414) the first node in the cluster with the second node (“At step 414, image upgrade controller 150 evicts the set of pods 130 from the old node 120 and then scales the node down” [0038]) and indicate connection of the second node to the cluster (Fig. 2 // “Node mapping 200, in various embodiments, is information that is maintained by image upgrade controller 150 to track progress of an upgrade process being performed for a given node 120” [0023] // “After image upgrade controller 150 completes the transfer and the new node 120 is fully operational, the old node 120 is scaled down and removed from the cluster … Image upgrade controller 120 may then update the relevant state 220 in node mapping 200 to “Complete”.” [0034]) – As shown in Fig. 2, a mapping 200 is maintained to track the progress of node upgrades. Once an image is transferred from an old node to a new node and the old node is removed from the cluster, mapping 200 is updated to indicate the upgrade for a node is “Complete”. Accordingly, marking an update as “Complete” “indicat[es] connection” of the new node to the cluster.--
wherein, while the data is being copied from the first node to the second node, … indicates (Fig. 2) that the first node is operational, and … indicates (Fig. 2) that the second node is not operational, (Fig. 2 // “as depicted, the state 220 of the node image upgrade process that involves the node 120 … is “in-progress”. In various embodiments, in-progress indicates that the data transfer from an old node 120 to a new node 120 is not yet complete.” [0024] // “Once the old node 120 has been set to the read-only mode … image upgrade controller 150 begins copying data form the old node 120 to the new node 120” [0037] // “after the data transfer from the old node 120 … to the new node 120 … has finished, image upgrade controller 150 reschedules the pod(s) 130 corresponding to the old node 120 … such that they are removed from the old node 120 and deployed onto the new node 120.“ [0034] // ¶0029) – While data is being copied from the old node to the new node, the old node is set to a “read-only” mode capable of servicing read requests (see ¶0029) and mapping 200 is updated to indicate the upgrade is “In-Progress”. Accordingly, marking an update as “In-Progress” in mapping 200 signifies that an old node is set to a “read-only” mode (i.e., “indicates the first node is operational”). Additionally, a pod is rescheduled onto the new node after copying of data is completed. Accordingly, updating mapping 200 to indicate an “In-Progress” update similarly signifies that a new node has not yet been scheduled for deployment (i.e., “indicates that the second node is not operational”)--
and
wherein, after completion of copying the data from the first node to the second node, … indicates (Fig. 2) that the first node is no longer operational and to be removed from the cluster, and … indicates (Fig. 2) that the second node is ready to receive traffic. (Fig. 2 // “After image upgrade controller 150 completes the transfer and the new node 120 is fully operational, the old node 120 is scaled down and removed from the cluster … Image upgrade controller 120 may then update the relevant state 220 in node mapping 200 to “Complete”.” [0034]) – As previously discussed, after data has been copied from the old node to the new node and the new node is ‘fully operational’, the old node is removed from the cluster and mapping 200 is updated as “Complete”. Accordingly, updating a mapping 200 to mark an update as “Complete” “indicates that the first node is no longer operational and to be removed from the cluster” and similarly “indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic”.
Although Thakare ¶0037 discloses that an image upgrade controller “continues to check whether the copying is complete” during the data copying operation from the old node to the new node, Thakare does not disclose the particular method by which image upgrade controller performs the aforementioned checking. Accordingly, Thakare does not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
a readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is operational …
a readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is not operational …
the readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is no longer operational …
the readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic
However, Uchenna discloses within the context of monitoring node health in a distributed storage cluster environment that a “Readiness Probe” running on each given pod of a cluster and queried by a server using a specified path and a specified port indicates whether or not the given pod is ready to receive traffic. Uchenna discloses the following limitations:
a readiness endpoint (“Readiness Probe” [pg. 3]) of the first node indicates that the first node is operational … (“probes are performed on an application running in a container within a Pod … Services in Kubernetes rely on Pods which are commonly part of a deployment, to be used as their backends … A Kubernetes readiness probe can be performed using any of these 4 ways … You can define a readiness command to be executed … in the target container.” [pg. 3] // “A readiness command, once executed, returns one of these three outputs: Success: If the readiness probe you define is successful, it returns 0, which means your application is ready to start receiving requests” [pg. 3] “You can define an HTTP GET request for a readiness probe. The kubelet sends an HTTP GET request to a server’s specified path and a specified port that the server listens on. Any response code greater than or equal to 200 and less than 400 … indicates Success.” [pg. 11] // “A Pod in the Running stage means that the Pod has been assigned to a node, and all the containers within this Pod have been created and are running on the selected node.” [pg. 6]) – As taught in Uchenna, a server uses a ‘Readiness Probe’ to determine the health of an associated pod, similar to how the image upgrade controller of Thakare checks whether copying of data has been completed during an image upgrade. As taught in Uchenna, each pod which executes within a cluster has a corresponding “Readiness Probe” configured at a specified path and at a specified port (i.e., “a readiness endpoint”) which is queried by a server to determine the health of a pod. Pods run on nodes (pg. 6) and accordingly Readiness Probes running thereon are associated with the node. Accordingly, a server querying a Readiness Probe for a pod and receiving a “Success” response amounts to the server, receiving from “a readiness endpoint of the first node”, a response which “indicates that the first node is operational”--
a readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is not operational (“Failure: if the readiness command probe fails, it returns a non-zero value, which means the application is not yet ready” [pg. 4] // “If a Pod with containers fails its readiness probe, it does not receive traffic from a service in Kubernetes. The Pod’s IP will be removed from the list of endpoints for all services that match the Pod until it is ready to start accepting traffic” [pg. 3]) – As clarified on pgs. 3-4, when a readiness probe executing on a pod returns a particular value (e.g., non-zero), the pod is not yet ready to start accepting traffic and has its IP removed from a list of service endpoints associated with the pod. Accordingly, a server querying a Readiness Probe for a pod and receiving a “Failure” response amounts to the server, receiving from “a readiness endpoint of the second node”, a response which “indicates that the second node is not operational”--
the readiness endpoint of the first node indicates that the first node is no longer operational … the readiness endpoint of the second node indicates that the second node is ready to receive traffic – As discussed above, the same Readiness Probe can indicate either a ‘Success’ or a ‘Failure’ response. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that respective a Readiness Probe operating on a Pod would report both a “Success” and a “Failure” response depending on a point in time when it is queried by the server.
Thakare and Uchenna are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of monitoring node health in a distributed storage cluster comprising plural storage nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thakare with the teachings of Uchenna and realize a method of using readiness endpoints on storage nodes of the cluster to indicate whether nodes are or are not ready to receive traffic. Doing so would improve user experience by ensuring smooth and consistent application updates, minimizing downtime as disclosed in Uchenna pg. 14: “Readiness probes ensure smooth and consistent application updates, which provide a better user experience by minimizing downtime. Incoming requests won’t be routed to unhealthy Pods because their IP addresses are removed from service endpoints by the endpoint controller.”
Regarding Claim 16,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 16. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein to replace the first node with the second node, the processing device is to: update service labels (Thakare, Node Mapping 200, Fig. 2) of the cluster to include the second node in place of the first node (Thakare, “Node mapping 200, in various embodiments, is information that is maintained by image upgrade controller 150 to track progress of an upgrade being performed for a given node 120 … Once an old node 120 has been deallocated, in various embodiments, image upgrade controller 150 removes its entry from node mapping 200 … Once the upgrade process for a node 120 has completed, image upgrade controller 150 may update the associated state 220 in node mapping 200 to “complete.”’ [0023-24]) – Examiner considers a “node mapping”, such as Node Mapping 200 depicted in Thakare Fig. 2, as reading on the claimed concept of “service labels”, under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the claimed language. As taught in Thakare ¶0023-34 and shown in Fig. 2, node mapping 200 is updated throughout the upgrade process to indicate when a first node has been deallocated, and further to indicate when the upgrade to the second node is complete (i.e., “to include the second node in place of the first node”)
Regarding Claim 20,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 20. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processing device is further to: delete (Thakare, Fig. 4, step 414) the first node in response to replacing the first node with the second node in the cluster (Thakare, “At step 414, image upgrade controller 150 evicts the set of pods 130 from the old node 120 and then scales the node down” [0038])
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thakare further in view of Uchenna and an online publication authored by Troisi (author Hannah Troisi, article titled ‘Safer Kubernetes Node Pool Upgrades’; published March 28, 2022 on Pixie Team Blogs; May 25, 2022 version accessed by examiner via Wayback Machine)(see also Notice of References cited)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Troisi).
Regarding Claim 3,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 3. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 1 (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above), wherein replacing the first node with the second node comprises:
updating (Thakare, ¶0034) a first indicator of the second node (Uchenna, “readiness probe” [pg. 3]) to indicate that the second node has received all the data from the first node (Thakare, “after the data transfer from the old node 120 (e.g., node 120A) to the new node 120 (e.g., node 120D) has finished … image upgrade controller 150 may transition the pod 130 from the read-only mode to a write mode” [0034]) – As previously discussed (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above) and as disclosed in Uchenna, a readiness probe (i.e., “a first indicator of the second node”) is deployed to indicate whether or not a node is ready. As disclosed in Thakare ¶0034, after data is successfully copied to the new node 120, the new node 120 is transitioned from a “read-only mode” to a “write mode”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a readiness probe, as taught in Uchenna, which is deployed on a node would at least be “updat[ed]” (i.e., to indicate that a node is ready) when the node is transitioned from a read-only mode into a write mode--; and
… updating (Thakare, ¶0037) a second indicator of the first node (Uchenna, “readiness probe” [pg. 3]) to indicate that the first node is no longer available to the cluster (Thakare, “At step 408, image upgrade controller 150 sets the old node 120 to the read-only mode” [0037]) – As previously discussed (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above) and as taught in Uchenna, “readiness probes” can be started on a node when the node is deployed. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that old node 120 additionally includes a readiness probe (i.e., “a second indicator of the first node”). As taught in Thakare ¶0037, before copying data from old node 120 to new node 120, old node 120 is transitioned into a read-only mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that a readiness probe, as taught in Uchenna, which is deployed on a node would at least be “updat[ed]” (i.e., to indicate that a node is no longer ready) when the node is transitioned into a read-only mode--.
As taught in Thakare Fig. 4, old node 120 is transitioned into a read-only mode before new node 120 is transitioned into a write mode. Thakare is silent regarding transitioning the new node 120 into a write mode before transitioning old node 120 into a read-only mode. Specifically, the combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
in response to updating the first indicator of the second node, updating a second indicator of the first node
However, Troisi discloses within the context of performing node image upgrades on computing nodes running readiness probes that an “out-of-place upgrade” strategy only deletes nodes running old images after new nodes are already running.
Troisi discloses the following limitations:
in response to updating the first indicator of the second node, updating a second indicator of the first node (“There are two strategies for upgrading the Kubernetes version on worker nodes: … For an out-of-place upgrade, a fresh node pool is created with the new Kubernetes version. Once the new nodes are all running, you can cordon the old pool, drain the old nodes one by one, and then delete the old node pool.” [pgs. 2-3, ‘Upgrading Worker Nodes’] // “To eliminate downtime, ensure that you have configured the following: … 4. For quorum-based applications, make sure you’ve configured a Readiness probe.” [pg. 6, ‘StatefulSets’]) – As taught in Troisi pgs. 2-3, performing out-of-place type upgrades on node images ensures that new nodes are running before old nodes are deleted. As suggested on Troisi pg. 6, nodes should have Readiness probes configured. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that out-of-place type of upgrades on nodes with configured readiness probes, as taught by Troisi, would result in an old node being deleted (i.e., “updating a second indicator of the first node”) in response to a new node coming up and running (i.e., “updating the first indicator of the second node”).
Thakare, Uchenna, and Troisi are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of performing node image upgrades in distributed worker node environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thakare and Uchenna with the teachings of Troisi and realize a node upgrade a new node is indicated as having received all data before an old node is indicated as being unavailable to a cluster. Doing so would achieve benefit of a shorter upgrade window, as disclosed in Troisi pg. 4: “An out-of-place upgrade requires a temporary doubling of compute resources in exchange for a shorter upgrade window. The decrease in upgrade duration results from the parallelization of the startup time of the new upgraded nodes, as well as the minimization of the movement of the pods.” [Troisi, pg. 4, ‘Upgrading Worker Nodes’]
Regarding Claim 4,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 3 is equally applicable to Claim 4. The combined teachings of Thakare, Uchenna, and Troisi disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 3, wherein the first indicator is the readiness endpoint (Uchenna, pg. 3) of the second node and the second indicator is a readiness endpoint of the first node (Uchenna, pg. 3) – As previously discussed (see Claims 1 and 3 limitation mappings above) and as taught in Uchenna, a readiness probe is deployed when a node is created. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that first and second nodes would at least include respective readiness probes.
Regarding Claim 10,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 10. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 8, (see Claim 8 limitation mappings above), wherein to replace the first node with the second node, the processing device is to:
update (Thakare, ¶0034) a first indicator of the second node (Uchenna, “readiness probe” [pg. 3]) to indicate that the second node has received all the data from the first node (Thakare, “after the data transfer from the old node 120 (e.g., node 120A) to the new node 120 (e.g., node 120D) has finished … image upgrade controller 150 may transition the pod 130 from the read-only mode to a write mode” [0034]) – As previously discussed (see Claim 8 limitation mappings above) and as disclosed in Uchenna, a readiness probe (i.e., “a first indicator of the second node”) is deployed to indicate whether or not a node is ready. As disclosed in Thakare ¶0034, after data is successfully copied to the new node 120, the new node 120 is transitioned from a “read-only mode” to a “write mode”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a readiness probe, as taught in Uchenna, which is deployed on a node would at least be “updat[ed]” (i.e., to indicate that a node is ready) when the node is transitioned from a read-only mode into a write mode--; and
… update (Thakare, ¶0037) a second indicator of the first node (Uchenna, “readiness probe” [pg. 3]) to indicate that the first node is no longer available to the cluster (Thakare, “At step 408, image upgrade controller 150 sets the old node 120 to the read-only mode” [0037]) – As previously discussed (see Claim 8 limitation mappings above) and as taught in Uchenna, “readiness probes” can be started on a node when the node is deployed. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that old node 120 additionally includes a readiness probe (i.e., “a second indicator of the first node”). As taught in Thakare ¶0037, before copying data from old node 120 to new node 120, old node 120 is transitioned into a read-only mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that a readiness probe, as taught in Uchenna, which is deployed on a node would at least be “updat[ed]” (i.e., to indicate that a node is no longer ready) when the node is transitioned into a read-only mode--.
As taught in Thakare Fig. 4, old node 120 is transitioned into a read-only mode before new node 120 is transitioned into a write mode. Thakare is silent regarding transitioning the new node 120 into a write mode before transitioning old node 120 into a read-only mode. Specifically, the combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
in response to updating the first indicator of the second node, update a second indicator of the first node
However, Troisi discloses within the context of performing node image upgrades on computing nodes running readiness probes that an “out-of-place upgrade” strategy only deletes nodes running old images after new nodes are already running.
Troisi discloses the following limitations:
in response to updating the first indicator of the second node, update a second indicator of the first node (“There are two strategies for upgrading the Kubernetes version on worker nodes: … For an out-of-place upgrade, a fresh node pool is created with the new Kubernetes version. Once the new nodes are all running, you can cordon the old pool, drain the old nodes one by one, and then delete the old node pool.” [pgs. 2-3, ‘Upgrading Worker Nodes’] // “To eliminate downtime, ensure that you have configured the following: … 4. For quorum-based applications, make sure you’ve configured a Readiness probe.” [pg. 6, ‘StatefulSets’]) – As taught in Troisi pgs. 2-3, performing out-of-place type upgrades on node images ensures that new nodes are running before old nodes are deleted. As suggested on Troisi pg. 6, nodes should have Readiness probes configured. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that out-of-place type of upgrades on nodes with configured readiness probes, as taught by Troisi, would result in an old node being deleted (i.e., “update a second indicator of the first node”) in response to a new node coming up and running (i.e., “update the first indicator of the second node”).
Thakare, Uchenna, and Troisi are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of performing node image upgrades in distributed worker node environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thakare and Uchenna with the teachings of Troisi and realize a node upgrade a new node is indicated as having received all data before an old node is indicated as being unavailable to a cluster. Doing so would achieve benefit of a shorter upgrade window, as disclosed in Troisi pg. 4: “An out-of-place upgrade requires a temporary doubling of compute resources in exchange for a shorter upgrade window. The decrease in upgrade duration results from the parallelization of the startup time of the new upgraded nodes, as well as the minimization of the movement of the pods.” [Troisi, pg. 4, ‘Upgrading Worker Nodes’]
Regarding Claim 11,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 10 is equally applicable to Claim 11. The combined teachings of Thakare, Uchenna, and Troisi disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 10, wherein the first indicator is the readiness endpoint (Uchenna, pg. 3) of the second node and the second indicator is a readiness endpoint of the first node (Uchenna, pg. 3) – As previously discussed (see Claims 8 and 10 limitation mappings above) and as taught in Uchenna, a readiness probe is deployed when a node is created. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that first and second nodes would at least include respective readiness probes.
Regarding Claim 17,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 17. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, (see Claim 15 limitation mappings above), wherein to replace the first node with the second node, the processing device is to:
update (Thakare, ¶0034) a first indicator of the second node (Uchenna, “readiness probe” [pg. 3]) to indicate that the second node has received all the data from the first node (Thakare, “after the data transfer from the old node 120 (e.g., node 120A) to the new node 120 (e.g., node 120D) has finished … image upgrade controller 150 may transition the pod 130 from the read-only mode to a write mode” [0034]) – As previously discussed (see Claim 8 limitation mappings above) and as disclosed in Uchenna, a readiness probe (i.e., “a first indicator of the second node”) is deployed to indicate whether or not a node is ready. As disclosed in Thakare ¶0034, after data is successfully copied to the new node 120, the new node 120 is transitioned from a “read-only mode” to a “write mode”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a readiness probe, as taught in Uchenna, which is deployed on a node would at least be “updat[ed]” (i.e., to indicate that a node is ready) when the node is transitioned from a read-only mode into a write mode--; and
… update (Thakare, ¶0037) a second indicator of the first node (Uchenna, “readiness probe” [pg. 3]) to indicate that the first node is no longer available to the cluster (Thakare, “At step 408, image upgrade controller 150 sets the old node 120 to the read-only mode” [0037]) – As previously discussed (see Claim 15 limitation mappings above) and as taught in Uchenna, “readiness probes” can be started on a node when the node is deployed. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that old node 120 additionally includes a readiness probe (i.e., “a second indicator of the first node”). As taught in Thakare ¶0037, before copying data from old node 120 to new node 120, old node 120 is transitioned into a read-only mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that a readiness probe, as taught in Uchenna, which is deployed on a node would at least be “updat[ed]” (i.e., to indicate that a node is no longer ready) when the node is transitioned into a read-only mode--.
As taught in Thakare Fig. 4, old node 120 is transitioned into a read-only mode before new node 120 is transitioned into a write mode. Thakare is silent regarding transitioning the new node 120 into a write mode before transitioning old node 120 into a read-only mode. Specifically, the combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
in response to updating the first indicator of the second node, update a second indicator of the first node
However, Troisi discloses within the context of performing node image upgrades on computing nodes running readiness probes that an “out-of-place upgrade” strategy only deletes nodes running old images after new nodes are already running.
Troisi discloses the following limitations:
in response to updating the first indicator of the second node, update a second indicator of the first node (“There are two strategies for upgrading the Kubernetes version on worker nodes: … For an out-of-place upgrade, a fresh node pool is created with the new Kubernetes version. Once the new nodes are all running, you can cordon the old pool, drain the old nodes one by one, and then delete the old node pool.” [pgs. 2-3, ‘Upgrading Worker Nodes’] // “To eliminate downtime, ensure that you have configured the following: … 4. For quorum-based applications, make sure you’ve configured a Readiness probe.” [pg. 6, ‘StatefulSets’]) – As taught in Troisi pgs. 2-3, performing out-of-place type upgrades on node images ensures that new nodes are running before old nodes are deleted. As suggested on Troisi pg. 6, nodes should have Readiness probes configured. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that out-of-place type of upgrades on nodes with configured readiness probes, as taught by Troisi, would result in an old node being deleted (i.e., “update a second indicator of the first node”) in response to a new node coming up and running (i.e., “update the first indicator of the second node”).
Thakare, Uchenna, and Troisi are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of performing node image upgrades in distributed worker node environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thakare and Uchenna with the teachings of Troisi and realize a node upgrade a new node is indicated as having received all data before an old node is indicated as being unavailable to a cluster. Doing so would achieve benefit of a shorter upgrade window, as disclosed in Troisi pg. 4: “An out-of-place upgrade requires a temporary doubling of compute resources in exchange for a shorter upgrade window. The decrease in upgrade duration results from the parallelization of the startup time of the new upgraded nodes, as well as the minimization of the movement of the pods.” [Troisi, pg. 4, ‘Upgrading Worker Nodes’]
Regarding Claim 18,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 17 is equally applicable to Claim 18. The combined teachings of Thakare, Uchenna, and Troisi disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the first indicator is the readiness endpoint (Uchenna, pg. 3) of the second node and the second indicator is a readiness endpoint of the first node (Uchenna, pg. 3) – As previously discussed (see Claims 15 and 17 limitation mappings above) and as taught in Uchenna, a readiness probe is deployed when a node is created. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that first and second nodes would at least include respective readiness probes.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thakare further in view of Uchenna and Markus (US 20130151889 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Markus).
Regarding Claim 5,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 5. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 1 (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above),
Thakare and Uchenna are silent regarding the following limitations:
wherein the cluster comprises an in-memory data grid in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation
However, Markus discloses within the context of distributing data across nodes of a cluster (Data Grid Nodes 125A-125C, Fig. 1) that a consistent hash algorithm can be used to determine where in the cluster data should be stored.
Markus discloses the following limitations:
wherein the cluster comprises an in-memory data grid (In-Memory Data Grid 150, Fig. 1 // ¶0022) in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation (“a consistent hashing algorithm” [0022])(“The in-memory data grid 150 is a data store that spans multiple machines … that are joined in a distributed cluster … In one embodiment, distribution makes use of a consistent hashing algorithm to determine where in the cluster entries should be stored” [0022])
Thakare, Uchenna, and Markus are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of storing data across a plurality of nodes within a cluster. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna with the teachings of Markus and realize a cluster comprising an in-memory data grid in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation. Doing so would enable a configurable number of copies of data to be stored in the cluster while still using a deterministic algorithm to locate entries without maintaining expensive metadata, which would provide faster storage due to fewer executed CPU instructions, as disclosed in Markus ¶0022: “The hashing algorithm may be configured to maintain a specified number of copies of each entry in the in-memory data grid 150. In one embodiment, the hashing algorithm is deterministic in locating entries without resorting to multicasting requests or maintaining expensive metadata … In-memory data grids 150 are faster than disk-optimized data grids since they execute fewer CPU instructions” [0022].
Regarding Claim 12,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 12. The combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 8, (see Claim 8 limitation mappings above)
Thakare and Uchenna are silent regarding the following limitations:
wherein the cluster comprises an in-memory data grid in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation.
However, Markus discloses within the context of distributing data across nodes of a cluster (Data Grid Nodes 125A-125C, Fig. 1) that a consistent hash algorithm can be used to determine where in the cluster data should be stored.
Markus discloses the following limitations:
wherein the cluster comprises an in-memory data grid (In-Memory Data Grid 150, Fig. 1 // ¶0022) in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation (“a consistent hashing algorithm” [0022])(“The in-memory data grid 150 is a data store that spans multiple machines … that are joined in a distributed cluster … In one embodiment, distribution makes use of a consistent hashing algorithm to determine where in the cluster entries should be stored” [0022])
Thakare, Uchenna, and Markus are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of storing data across a plurality of nodes within a cluster. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna with the teachings of Markus and realize a cluster comprising an in-memory data grid in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation. Doing so would enable a configurable number of copies of data to be stored in the cluster while still using a deterministic algorithm to locate entries without maintaining expensive metadata, which would provide faster storage due to fewer executed CPU instructions, as disclosed in Markus ¶0022: “The hashing algorithm may be configured to maintain a specified number of copies of each entry in the in-memory data grid 150. In one embodiment, the hashing algorithm is deterministic in locating entries without resorting to multicasting requests or maintaining expensive metadata … In-memory data grids 150 are faster than disk-optimized data grids since they execute fewer CPU instructions” [0022].
Regarding Claim 19,
The same motivation to combined provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 19. Thakare and Uchenna disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, (see Claim 15 limitation mappings above)
Thakare and Uchenna are silent regarding the following limitations:
wherein the cluster comprises an in-memory data grid in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation
However, Markus discloses within the context of distributing data across nodes of a cluster (Data Grid Nodes 125A-125C, Fig. 1) that a consistent hash algorithm can be used to determine where in the cluster data should be stored.
Markus discloses the following limitations:
wherein the cluster comprises an in-memory data grid (In-Memory Data Grid 150, Fig. 1 // ¶0022) in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation (“a consistent hashing algorithm” [0022])(“The in-memory data grid 150 is a data store that spans multiple machines … that are joined in a distributed cluster … In one embodiment, distribution makes use of a consistent hashing algorithm to determine where in the cluster entries should be stored” [0022])
Thakare, Uchenna, and Markus are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of storing data across a plurality of nodes within a cluster. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Thakare and Uchenna with the teachings of Markus and realize a cluster comprising an in-memory data grid in which data is distributed across nodes of the cluster in view of a consistent hash operation. Doing so would enable a configurable number of copies of data to be stored in the cluster while still using a deterministic algorithm to locate entries without maintaining expensive metadata, which would provide faster storage due to fewer executed CPU instructions, as disclosed in Markus ¶0022: “The hashing algorithm may be configured to maintain a specified number of copies of each entry in the in-memory data grid 150. In one embodiment, the hashing algorithm is deterministic in locating entries without resorting to multicasting requests or maintaining expensive metadata … In-memory data grids 150 are faster than disk-optimized data grids since they execute fewer CPU instructions” [0022].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument located within the final paragraph of the 1st page of Remarks (numbered as page 8), which recites:
“In rejecting claim 1, the Office conceded that Thakare fails to teach the features relating to the readiness endpoints of the first node and the second node after copying the data. Office action, 4. Consistent with this finding, Applicant submits that Thakare fails to teach or suggest the above features, which further describe the readiness endpoints of the first node and the second node "while data is being copied."”
Examiner has fully considered the aforementioned argument but does not find it persuasive. Applicant argues that because the OA of record concedes that Thakare fails to disclose features relating to readiness endpoints of first and second nodes “after copying the data”, Thakare therefore fails to disclose features of readiness endpoints “while data is being copied”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s characterization of Thakare, and notes that Thakare Figs. 2 - 4 and ¶¶0022-39 provide explicit details regarding actions undertaken by an image upgrade controller before, while, and after copying of data from an old node to a new node is performed. While Thakare does not explicitly disclose “a readiness endpoint” type of indicator used to communicate node status while data is being copied; Thakare Fig. 2 discloses a mapping 200 including indicators which communicate node status while data is being copied. Therefore, the temporal requirement imposed on indicator statuses as recited in Claim 1 as amended (i.e., “while data is being copied” and “after completion of copying the data”) is taught by the Thakare Figs. 2-4 and ¶¶0022-39 disclosure of a state in mapping 200 being updated to both “In-Progress” and “Complete” during and after data is copied from an old node to a new node during an image update process. See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections above for additional details. Nothing in the claims as currently presented precludes such an interpretation of Claim 1.
With respect to applicant’s argument located within the 1st paragraph of the 2nd page of Remarks (numbered as page 10) which recites:
“The Office proceeded to cite pp. 3-4 and 11 of Uchenna as allegedly teaching the operations of the readiness endpoints of the first node and the second node after completion of copying the data. Id. at 4-6. Without acquiescing to the analysis in the Office action, Applicant notes that Uchenna is silent with respect to operations of the readiness endpoints while the data is being copied. In fact, the cited teachings of Uchenna, which relates to using a readiness probe to determine whether an application is ready to receive requests (Uchenna, at 3), are unrelated to copying data from one node to another node. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to associate the teachings of Uchenna with different stages of data copying, e.g., while the data is being copied or after completion of copying the data. For at least this reason, Uchenna fails to remedy the defects of Thakare with respect to the features at issue.”
Examiner has fully considered the aforementioned argument but does not find it persuasive. Applicant argues that the teachings of Uchenna, which relate to using readiness probes to determine whether applications are ready to receive requests, are “unrelated” to copying data from one node to another node and therefore it would not be obvious to associate teachings of Uchenna with different stages of data copying. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and first notes that Thakare and Uchenna are both analogous art to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of endeavor, specifically the field of container management in distributed computing node environments. See MPEP 2141.01(a). In addition, examiner relies on Uchenna solely for the teaching of a readiness endpoint as a particular method of probing container health within a distributed computing node environment. Examiner relies on Thakare, not Uchenna, for disclosure of temporal features relating to indicators during and after copying of data (i.e., “while the data is being copied” and “after completion of copying the data”) introduced in the instant amendments. See Response and 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections above for additional details. Nothing in the claims as currently presented precludes such an interpretation of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2133
/SEAN D ROSSITER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133