DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/23 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-13, 15, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (Pub No: 2017/0290060).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a method comprising: transmitting, by an access point (AP), a multi-user request to send (MU-RTS) frame (Kim, Fig 17, [0189][0194], transmitting a MU-RTS by a station that is an AP) requesting a non-AP station (non-AP STA) to respond with a clear to send (CTS) frame (Kim, [0192], the MU-RTS requests a STA to transmit a CTS) on one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel); and receiving, by the AP, a CTS frame from the non-AP STA (Kim, [0192], receiving a CTS from the STA by the AP STA) [0194]) on the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the non-AP STA responds on at least one of a plurality of 20 MHz non-primary subchannels and wherein the received CTS frame is received on at least one of the plurality of 20 MHz non-primary channels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel).
As to claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the non-AP STA responds on at least one of a plurality of 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel) when at least one of the plurality of 20 MHz non-primary channels is idle (Kim, [0139], the CTS is sent in response to the channels being idle).
As to claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the CTS frame is further transmitted on a 20 MHz primary channel in addition to the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0135], the STA uses the secondary and primary channel contiguously).
As to claim 6, Kim teaches further comprising sending, by the AP, sub-band scheduling information to the non-AP STA (Kim, [0082], the AP sends to the STA allocation information for subbands).
As to claim 10, Kim teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a non-access point station (non-AP STA) from an access point (AP), an multi-user request to send (MU-RTS) (Kim, Fig 17, [0189][0194], receiving a MU-RTS by a STA from and AP station) indicating that the non-AP STA responds with a clear to send (CTS) frame (Kim, [0192], the MU-RTS requests a STA to transmit a CTS) on one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel); performing, by the non-AP STA, a carrier sense operation on the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels to determine whether the 20 MHz non-primary subchannel is idle (Kim, [0138], determining if the subchannel is idle); and transmitting, by the non-AP STA, a CTS frame (Kim, [0192], sending a CTS from the AP to the STA [0194])on the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels when the corresponding 20 MHz non-primary subchannel is idle based on the carrier sense operation (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel [0138], when the idle is detected sending the CTS).
As to claim 11, Kim teaches wherein the non-AP STA responds on at least one of a plurality of 20 MHz non-primary subchannels and wherein the CTS frame is transmitted on at least one of the plurality of 20 MHz non-primary channels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel).
As to claim 12, Kim teaches wherein the non-AP STA transmits the CTS frame on at least one of a plurality of 20 MHz non-primary subchannels when at least one of the plurality of 20 MHz non-primary channels is idle (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel).
As to claim 13, Kim teaches wherein the CTS frame is further transmitted on a 20 MHz primary channel in addition to the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0135], the STA uses the secondary and primary channel contiguously)..
As to claim 15, Kim teaches further comprising receiving, by the non-AP STA, from the AP sub-band scheduling information (Kim, [0082], the AP sends to the STA allocation information for subbands).
As to claim 19, Kim teaches an wireless system, comprising: non-access point station (non-AP STA); and an access point (AP) (Kim, Fig 1, a STA and an AP), comprising a processor (Kim, Fig 18, a processor) configured to: transmit a multi-user request to send (MU-RTS) frame (Kim, Fig 17, [0189][0194], transmitting a MU-RTS by a station that is an AP) requesting a non-AP station (non-AP STA) to respond with a clear to send (CTS) frame (Kim, [0192], the MU-RTS requests a STA to transmit a CTS) on one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel); and receive a CTS frame from the non-AP STA (Kim, [0192], receiving a CTS from the STA by the AP STA) [0194]) on the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel).
As to claim 20, Kim teaches wherein the non-AP STA comprises a processor configured to: receive an multi-user request to send (MU-RTS) (Kim, Fig 17, [0189][0194], receiving a MU-RTS by a STA from and AP station) indicating that the non-AP STA responds with a clear to send (CTS) frame (Kim, [0192], the MU-RTS requests a STA to transmit a CTS)on one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel); perform a carrier sense operation on the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels to determine whether the 20 MHz non-primary subchannel is idle (Kim, [0138], determining if the subchannel is idle); and transmit a CTS frame (Kim, [0192], sending a CTS from the AP to the STA [0194])on the one or more 20 MHz non-primary subchannels when the corresponding 20 MHz non-primary subchannel is idle based on the carrier sense operation (Kim, [0128], the MU-RTS / CTS is on the operation mode using a first and second channel [0130] the second channel being a non-primary 20MHz channel [0138], when the idle is detected sending the CTS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims above, and further in view of Kneckt et al (Pub No: 2022/0086910).
As to claim 5, Kim teaches a non-AP STA (Kim, [0194]).
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the non-AP STA is a subchannel selective transmission (SST) non-AP STA.
However, Kneckt teaches wherein the non-AP STA is a subchannel selective transmission (SST) non-AP STA (Kneckt, [0115], the non-AP STA is a SST STA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a SST non-AP STA” as taught by Kneckt in the system of Kim, so that it would prevent adverse impact on communication performance (Kneckt, [006]).
As to claim 14, Kim teaches a non-AP STA (Kim, [0194]).
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the non-AP STA is a subchannel selective transmission (SST) non-AP STA.
However, Kneckt teaches wherein the non-AP STA is a subchannel selective transmission (SST) non-AP STA (Kneckt, [0115], the non-AP STA is a SST STA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a SST non-AP STA” as taught by Kneckt in the system of Kim, so that it would prevent adverse impact on communication performance (Kneckt, [006]).
Claims 7-9, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims above, and further in view of Seok et al (Pub No: 2021/0168864).
As to claim 7, Kim teaches a MU-RTS (Kim, Fig 17, [0189][0194], transmitting a MU-RTS by a station that is an AP).
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the MU-RTS frame includes resource unit (RU) allocation bitmap indicating 20 MHz non-primary subchannels that may be used by the non-AP STA for a CTS frame transmission.
However, Seok teaches the MU-RTS frame includes resource unit (RU) allocation bitmap indicating 20 MHz non-primary subchannels that may be used by the non-AP STA for a CTS frame transmission (Seok, [068], the MU-RTS includes a RU allocation bitmap with subchannels for the CTS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an RU allocation bitmap” as taught by Seok in the system of Kim, so that it would allow for indication of disallowed and allowed channels as well as extremely high throughput (Seok, [0068] [0002]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kim and Seok teaches wherein the MU-RTS frame includes RU allocation control subfield indicating if the RU allocation bitmap is used by the non-AP STA for a CTS frame transmission (Seok, [068], the MU-RTS includes a RU allocation subfield bitmap with subchannels for the CTS).
As to claim 9, the combination of Kim and Seok teaches wherein the MU-RTS frame includes a bit indication that indicates where the RU allocation bitmap subfield or the RU allocation subfield indicates a non-primary channel (Seok, [068], the MU-RTS includes a RU allocation subfield bitmap with subchannels for the CTS).
As to claim 16, Kim teaches a MU-RTS (Kim, Fig 17, [0189][0194], transmitting a MU-RTS by a station that is an AP).
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the MU-RTS frame includes resource unit (RU) allocation bitmap indicating 20 MHz non-primary subchannels that may be used by the non-AP STA for a CTS frame transmission.
However, Seok teaches the MU-RTS frame includes resource unit (RU) allocation bitmap indicating 20 MHz non-primary subchannels that may be used by the non-AP STA for a CTS frame transmission (Seok, [068], the MU-RTS includes a RU allocation bitmap with subchannels for the CTS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an RU allocation bitmap” as taught by Seok in the system of Kim, so that it would allow for indication of disallowed and allowed channels as well as extremely high throughput (Seok, [0068] [0002]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Kim and Seok teaches wherein the MU-RTS frame includes RU allocation control subfield indicating if the RU allocation bitmap is used by the non-AP STA for a CTS frame transmission (Seok, [068], the MU-RTS includes a RU allocation subfield bitmap with subchannels for the CTS).
As to claim 18, the combination of Kim and Seok teaches wherein the MU-RTS frame includes a bit indication that indicates where the RU allocation bitmap subfield or the RU allocation subfield indicates a non-primary subchannel allocation (Seok, [068], the MU-RTS includes a RU allocation subfield bitmap with subchannels for the CTS).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seok et al (Pub No: 2021/0315025) [0034][0070]
Kim et al (Pub No: 2023/0189340) [0120]-[0165]
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469