DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action regarding application number 18/538,289, filed December 13, 2023. This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits, Claims 1-17 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for domestic priority based on a provisional application filed on December 21, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 4/10/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The use of at least the term “Google Maps” in at least paragraph [0044], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticpated by Stokosa (US-20230251669).
Regarding claim 1, Stokosa teaches a method comprising storing a plurality of geographical locations in a database (Paragraph [0058], "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the memory 605 may store one or more work path(s) 620 (for example, as a set of work paths 620). Alternatively, or in addition, in some embodiments, the set of work paths 620 may be stored remotely, such as, for example, in a memory of the user device 415 or another remote device or database, such that each work path 620 is accessible by the controller 580.")
each geographical location included in the plurality of geographical locations comprising an area (See figure 8 showing an area 805 including a plurality of geographical locations) (Paragraph [0067], “FIG. 8, which is a diagram of an example work path according to some embodiments (represented in FIG. 8 as a dashed line connecting points included within a designated geographical area).”)
providing a specific value for at least one operating parameter of a ground working vehicle for each geographical location included in the plurality of geographical locations in the database (Paragraph [0078], “At block 710, after receiving the set of points at block 705, the electronic processor 600 records the points to define a work path for a work task associated with the geographical area 805 … The electronic processor 600 may also store other operational parameters of the power machine during the recorded work task such as heading, turn-radius, blade RPM, mower deck height, etc., ” here the system records/stores a work path comprising a series of points for a geographical area, the system also stores operational parameters for the vehicle in the work area)
determining that a current geographical location of the ground working vehicle corresponds to one of the geographical locations included in the plurality of geographical locations in the database based on the plurality of geographical locations in the database and the current geographical location of the ground working vehicle (Paragraph [0071], “When an appropriate point along a travel path is identified for a work path (e.g., based on an operator input), the electronic processor 600 may determine a current position of the power machine 405 (e.g., based on position data collected by the positioning system 505) and associate the work-path point with the current position of the power machine within the geographical area (for example, as a geographical location or set of coordinates).”)
in response to determining that the current geographical location of the ground working vehicle corresponds to the one of the geographical locations included in the plurality of geographical locations in the database controlling operation of the ground working vehicle based on the specific value for the at least one operating parameter for the current geographical location (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path, including by monitoring a current position of the power machine 405 and controlling tractive (or other) operations based on the current position and one or more points (e.g., a next point in sequence) along the relevant work path. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 controls the power machine 405 based on positional data received from the positioning system 515. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 additionally or alternatively controls the power machine based on speed data received from the wheel speed sensors 550A-B. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 can similarly monitor a current position of the power machine 405 during a learning mode to define a work path, as well as during an automatic mode in which the power machine 405 is controlled to automatically travel along a work path.”).
Regarding claim 2, Stokosa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Stokosa further teaches wherein controlling operation of the ground working vehicle comprises (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path”)
alerting an operator of the ground working vehicle about the specific value for the at least one operating parameter for the current geographical location (Paragraph [0091], “In a second example object detection mode, with reference to FIG. 9B, when the controller 580 detects an object 905 within the work path 620 of the power machine 405, the controller 580 may control the power machine 405 to stop prior to the object 905 and issue an alert that the power machine 405 as stopped. For example, a local alert for an operator in or near the power machine 405 can be provided (e.g., audially or visually), or a remote alert for a remote operator can be provided,” here the system can alert an operator regarding an operating parameter for the current geographical location, the value in this case relating to an object and may indicate a speed/stopping or changing directions).
Regarding claim 3, Stokosa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Stokosa further teaches wherein controlling operation of the ground working vehicle comprises (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path”)
determining that a current value for the at least one operating parameter is not equal to the specific value for the at least one operating parameter for the current geographical location (Paragraph [0065], “For each point (including intermediate points of the work path), application 625 may compare the desired position to telemetry data from positioning system 505 (including, for example, wheel speed data, wheel encoder/position data, heading data from a magnetometer and/or global position data from antenna 545) to determine a control signal for power conversion system 224.”)
and disengaging the ground working vehicle if the current value is not equal to the specific value (Paragraph [0091], “In a second example object detection mode, with reference to FIG. 9B, when the controller 580 detects an object 905 within the work path 620 of the power machine 405, the controller 580 may control the power machine 405 to stop prior to the object 905 and issue an alert that the power machine 405 as stopped. For example, a local alert for an operator in or near the power machine 405 can be provided (e.g., audially or visually), or a remote alert for a remote operator can be provided,” here the vehicle can disengage operations/stop when the vehicle determines that there is an object interrupting the path and the current value for the indicates that an object should not be there, and the vehicle would have to diverge from the path to avoid the object, this path divergence would be an operating parameter not equal to a specific value for the current location).
Regarding claim 4, Stokosa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Stokosa further teaches wherein controlling operation of the ground working vehicle comprises (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path”)
automatically setting a stored value of the at least one operating parameter to the specific value for the current geographical location (Paragraph [0054], “Alternatively, or in addition, the power machine 405 can function in some modes as an automatic power machine (e.g., in an automated operation mode). As described in greater detail below, in some such embodiments, an operator may select (via, for example, the user device 415) a work path or route for performing a mowing event associated with a geographical area. The control system 515 may receive the selection (via, for example, the communication system 520 through the communication network 420) and control the power machine 405 such that the power machine 405 travels along the work path, including to complete one or more mowing events for the geographical area,” here the system can automatically control the vehicle such that the vehicle controls itself to travel along the path using the stored values such as heading, speed, mowing etc.) (Paragraph [0062], “Alternatively, controller 580 may conduct (near) real-time analysis of the respective points defining the work path and provide control signals to the drive pumps 224A/B to affect the desired speed and course to arrive at a subsequent point of the work path 620 and initiate any required turns.”) (Paragraph [0070], “In some specific embodiments, control system 515 may also record data, in conjunction with the work path, related to other operational aspects of the power machine (and associate that data with one or more locations or segments of the work path). For example, other operational aspects of the power machine may include mower deck height, blade speed, mower ground speed, wheel slip, etc,” here the system can associate other operating parameters with geographical locations such as blade speed and deck height).
Regarding claim 5, Stokosa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Stokosa further teaches wherein controlling operation of the ground working vehicle comprises (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path”)
prompting an operator of the ground working vehicle to engage a button configured to control a value of the at least one operating parameter (Paragraph [0038], “the operator input devices 262 can include a joystick (e.g., only a single electronic joystick for tractive operations), a steering wheel, buttons, switches, levers, sliders, pedals and the like”) (Paragraph [0073], “the user device 415 may display or provide (via an output mechanism of the user device 415) a graphical representation of the selected geographical area (for example, a solid or dashed line defining a border of the selected geographical area). The operator may then interact with the graphical representation of the selected geographical area via an input mechanism of the user device 415 to identify points within the relevant area. For example, the operator may view the graphical representation of the selected geographical area and sequentially select multiple points included within the selected geographical area to define a work path, or to define related geographical information (e.g., presence of obstacles, or points along a perimeter or other boundary),” here the user device is displaying an image of a selected area and prompting an operator to interact with the device to identify points within the relevant area)
and modifying the at least one operating parameter to the specific value upon engagement of the button (Paragraph [0053], “the control system 515 receives input from an operator input device, such as one of the operator input devices 262 of FIG. 2, including input as command signals provided by an operator of the power machine 405 via the operator input device. In response to receiving the input, the control system 515 may control the power machine 405 to perform a work task based at least in part on the input received from the operator input device”).
Regarding claim 6, Stokosa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Stokosa further teaches wherein controlling operation of the ground working vehicle comprises (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path”)
prompting an operator of the ground working vehicle to engage an interface element configured to control a value of the at least one operating parameter (Paragraph [0097], “For example, the user may use manual inputs on a touchscreen to designate points representing obstacles, waypoints, or the like on a graphical representation of a geographical area. “) (Paragraph [0073], “the user device 415 may display or provide (via an output mechanism of the user device 415) a graphical representation of the selected geographical area (for example, a solid or dashed line defining a border of the selected geographical area). The operator may then interact with the graphical representation of the selected geographical area via an input mechanism of the user device 415 to identify points within the relevant area. For example, the operator may view the graphical representation of the selected geographical area and sequentially select multiple points included within the selected geographical area to define a work path, or to define related geographical information (e.g., presence of obstacles, or points along a perimeter or other boundary),” here the user device is displaying an image of a selected area and prompting an operator to interact with the device to identify points within the relevant area)
and modifying the at least one operating parameter to the specific value upon engagement of the interface element (Paragraph [0053], “the control system 515 receives input from an operator input device, such as one of the operator input devices 262 of FIG. 2, including input as command signals provided by an operator of the power machine 405 via the operator input device. In response to receiving the input, the control system 515 may control the power machine 405 to perform a work task based at least in part on the input received from the operator input device”).
Regarding claim 7, Stokosa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Stokosa further teaches wherein controlling operation of the ground working vehicle comprises (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path”)
displaying at least one of the specific value, a current value, and a store value of the at least one operating parameter (Paragraph [0041], “Mowers can sometimes include other human-machine interfaces, including display devices that are provided in the operator station 255 to give indications of information relatable to the operation of the power machines in a form that can be sensed by an operator, such as, for example, audible or visual indications. Audible indications can be made in the form of buzzers, bells, and the like or via verbal communication. Visual indications can be made in the form of graphs, lights, icons, gauges, alphanumeric characters, and the like. Displays can be dedicated to providing dedicated indications, such as warning lights or gauges, or dynamic to provide programmable information, including programmable display devices such as monitors of various sizes and capabilities. Display devices can provide diagnostic information, troubleshooting information, instructional information, and various other types of information that assists an operator with operation of the power machine or an implement coupled to the power machine.”) (Paragraph [0072], “However, in other embodiments, the remote device is off-site from the geographical area 805 (for example, located at another geographical area or location). Such remote data from the user device 415 may allow an operator to remotely plan and execute a work path for the power machine based upon at least one of data provided by the power machine (e.g., telemetry data, imagery, etc.) and satellite imagery interlaid with global positioning information to select a perimeter for a work operation.”) (Paragraph [0091], “when the controller 580 detects an object 905 within the work path 620 of the power machine 405, the controller 580 may control the power machine 405 to stop prior to the object 905 and issue an alert that the power machine 405 as stopped,” here the system can issue an alert and display to an operator that the current speed value of the vehicle is zero/stopped).
Regarding claim 8, Stokosa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Stokosa further teaches wherein the ground working vehicle comprises an implement (Paragraph [0039], “Among the functions that are controlled via operator input devices on the mower 200 are operational functions of the tractive system 240, the mower deck 230, other implements (not shown) including various other attachments (not shown), or a combination thereof.”)
and the at least one operating parameter comprises one or more of: a vehicle speed; a height of the implement relative to a ground surface; a rake angle of the implement relative to the ground surface; a position of a baffle of the implement; a treating material application rate of the implement; and a spacing of the implement (Paragraph [0050], “As described in greater detail below, the work element 510 may be controlled by the control system 515 (for example, via one or more control signals received from the control system 515). As one example, a rotational speed of the one or more rotating blades may be controlled based on a control signal received from the control system 515. As another example, a height of the mowing deck and, ultimately, of the rotating blades, may be controlled based on a control signal received from the control system 515.”).
Regarding claim 9, Stokosa teaches a ground working vehicle comprising (Paragraph [0004], “Some embodiments described herein relate to controlling a power machine to determine a work path for a mowing event (or other work task) and then automatically traveling along the work path to complete the mowing event (or other work task).”)
one or more actuators configured to control one or more operating parameters associated with the ground working vehicle (Paragraph [0006], “The power machine includes a main frame, a work element coupled to the main frame, a plurality of electrical actuators coupled to the main frame, an electrical power source configured to power the plurality of electrical actuators, and an electronic controller in communication with the plurality of electrical actuators.”)
one or more controllers coupled to the one or more actuators and configured to (Paragraph [0006], “The power machine includes a main frame, a work element coupled to the main frame, a plurality of electrical actuators coupled to the main frame, an electrical power source configured to power the plurality of electrical actuators, and an electronic controller in communication with the plurality of electrical actuators.”)
determine that a current geographical location of the ground working vehicle corresponds to a geographical location included in a plurality of geographical locations stored in a database based on the plurality of geographical locations in the database and the current geographical location of the ground working vehicle (Paragraph [0058], "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the memory 605 may store one or more work path(s) 620 (for example, as a set of work paths 620). Alternatively, or in addition, in some embodiments, the set of work paths 620 may be stored remotely, such as, for example, in a memory of the user device 415 or another remote device or database, such that each work path 620 is accessible by the controller 580.") (Paragraph [0071], “When an appropriate point along a travel path is identified for a work path (e.g., based on an operator input), the electronic processor 600 may determine a current position of the power machine 405 (e.g., based on position data collected by the positioning system 505) and associate the work-path point with the current position of the power machine within the geographical area (for example, as a geographical location or set of coordinates).”)
wherein each geographical location included in the plurality of geographical locations comprises an area (See figure 8 showing an area 805 including a plurality of geographical locations) (Paragraph [0067], “FIG. 8, which is a diagram of an example work path according to some embodiments (represented in FIG. 8 as a dashed line connecting points included within a designated geographical area).”)
and corresponds with a specific value for each of the one or more operating parameters (Paragraph [0078], “At block 710, after receiving the set of points at block 705, the electronic processor 600 records the points to define a work path for a work task associated with the geographical area 805 … The electronic processor 600 may also store other operational parameters of the power machine during the recorded work task such as heading, turn-radius, blade RPM, mower deck height, etc., ” here the system records/stores a work path comprising a series of points for a geographical area, the system also stores operational parameters for the vehicle in the work area)
and in response to determining that the current geographical location of the ground working vehicle corresponds to the geographical location included in the plurality of geographical locations stored in the database control operation of the ground working vehicle based on the specific value for each of the one or more operating parameters (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path, including by monitoring a current position of the power machine 405 and controlling tractive (or other) operations based on the current position and one or more points (e.g., a next point in sequence) along the relevant work path. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 controls the power machine 405 based on positional data received from the positioning system 515. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 additionally or alternatively controls the power machine based on speed data received from the wheel speed sensors 550A-B. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 can similarly monitor a current position of the power machine 405 during a learning mode to define a work path, as well as during an automatic mode in which the power machine 405 is controlled to automatically travel along a work path.”).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 2 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 3 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 4 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 5 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 7 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 8 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, Stokosa teaches a ground working vehicle system comprising: a ground working vehicle comprising: (Paragraph [0004], “Some embodiments described herein relate to controlling a power machine to determine a work path for a mowing event (or other work task) and then automatically traveling along the work path to complete the mowing event (or other work task).”)
an actuator configured to control an operating parameter associated with the ground working vehicle (Paragraph [0006], “The power machine includes a main frame, a work element coupled to the main frame, a plurality of electrical actuators coupled to the main frame, an electrical power source configured to power the plurality of electrical actuators, and an electronic controller in communication with the plurality of electrical actuators.”)
and a controller operatively coupled to the actuator (Paragraph [0006], “The power machine includes a main frame, a work element coupled to the main frame, a plurality of electrical actuators coupled to the main frame, an electrical power source configured to power the plurality of electrical actuators, and an electronic controller in communication with the plurality of electrical actuators.”)
and a database comprising: a plurality of geographical locations, each geographical location included in the plurality of geographical locations comprising an area (Paragraph [0058], "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the memory 605 may store one or more work path(s) 620 (for example, as a set of work paths 620). Alternatively, or in addition, in some embodiments, the set of work paths 620 may be stored remotely, such as, for example, in a memory of the user device 415 or another remote device or database, such that each work path 620 is accessible by the controller 580.")
and a specific value for the operating parameter associated with the ground working vehicle for each geographical location included in the plurality of geographical locations (Paragraph [0078], “At block 710, after receiving the set of points at block 705, the electronic processor 600 records the points to define a work path for a work task associated with the geographical area 805 … The electronic processor 600 may also store other operational parameters of the power machine during the recorded work task such as heading, turn-radius, blade RPM, mower deck height, etc., ” here the system records/stores a work path comprising a series of points for a geographical area, the system also stores operational parameters for the vehicle in the work area)
the controller configured to: determine that a current geographical location of the ground working vehicle corresponds to one of the geographical locations included in the plurality of geographical locations in the database based on the plurality of geographical locations in the database and the current geographical location of the ground working vehicle (Paragraph [0071], “When an appropriate point along a travel path is identified for a work path (e.g., based on an operator input), the electronic processor 600 may determine a current position of the power machine 405 (e.g., based on position data collected by the positioning system 505) and associate the work-path point with the current position of the power machine within the geographical area (for example, as a geographical location or set of coordinates).”)
and in response to determining that the current geographical location of the ground working vehicle corresponds to the one of the geographical locations included in the plurality of geographical locations in the database control operation of the ground working vehicle based on the specific value for the operating parameter (Paragraph [0082], “As also noted above, once a work path has been defined, the electronic process 600 can automatically control the power machine 405 to execute a work task along the work path, including by monitoring a current position of the power machine 405 and controlling tractive (or other) operations based on the current position and one or more points (e.g., a next point in sequence) along the relevant work path. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 controls the power machine 405 based on positional data received from the positioning system 515. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 additionally or alternatively controls the power machine based on speed data received from the wheel speed sensors 550A-B. In some embodiments, the electronic processor 600 can similarly monitor a current position of the power machine 405 during a learning mode to define a work path, as well as during an automatic mode in which the power machine 405 is controlled to automatically travel along a work path.”).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 4 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vandike (US-20230161347) teaches controlling the characteristic values of an agricultural machine according to a map and geographical locations of the vehicle. Degnan (US-20230042867) teaches an autonomous mower which controls the mower to safely operate and cut the lawn according to a geographical position. Pala (US-20220232763) teaches a plurality of different target actuator settings corresponding to the geographic location of the agricultural work machine.
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Examiner, Art Unit 3662