Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA on 6/19/23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN2023 215603379 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The USPTO needs to get a copy of the foreign patent app and a translation.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Drawing (Fig 2 and 3, item 19, installation hole) is objected to as not matching claim 8. Claim 8 states “an installation hole for installing the shaft is formed in the center of the inner wheel hub”. Fig 2 and 3, item 19 point to a plurality of wheel stud holes surrounding the center axle hole. Therefore, the installation hole of claim 8, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because Line 06 states “bearings”, while in the claims only one bearing is indicated. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Summary of the invention, line 15, “The second end of the ring extends out of the through hole and the ring is sleeved with a setting circle. The setting ring and the ring…”. The same part is called a “setting circle”, in one sentence, and a “setting ring” in the next.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: It states “the auxiliary wheel according to any of claim 1”. Other dependent claims state, “auxiliary wheel according to claim 1.” The meaning of any of in this claim is unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites "the installation hole”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. If applicant meant the installation hole from Claim 8, then the hole is in the center of the wheel and can only be a singular hole, not “at least two,”. Examiner understood the “installation hole(s)” are for the lugs in the universal lug receiving pattern. However, the claim does not reflect that.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 1-7 are rejected on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 FIV of 8&9, 8 FIV of 9, 1 FIV of 2, 2, 2 FIV of 6 & 10, 5 FIV of 6, 1 FIV of 5, 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12285970, Morris et al. (herein after Morris).
Where "FIV" (Further In View of), denotes an additional obviousness rejection using additional claims of Morris.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each and every limit of the above listed claims of the instant application 18/538,296, Wanzhi (herein after Wanzhi) are disclosed by the above reference claims of the patent Morris (see table below). The scope of the instant application Wanzhi, is different than the patent Morris, because claims 8, 9 and 10 of Wanzhi disclose additional limits not in the corresponding claims of patent Morris, which are met by additional obviousness rejections from this and other prior art.
Wanzhi
Morris et al.
Claim 1
1, 10, 15, 8, 9
Claim 2
9
Claim 3
1, 2
Claim 4
2
Claim 5
2
Claim 6
5, 6
Claim 7
15
Regarding claim 1 of instant application Wanzhi, claim 1 of Morris discloses, “A vehicle (auxiliary) wheel comprising a central attachment hub (inner wheel hub), a wheel disc (outer wheel hub) extending outwardly from said attachment hub (detachably connected)”. Morris claim 1 doesn’t disclose, “outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub are detachably connected through a first connection component, when the first connection component unlocks the connection between the outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub, relative rotation is generated between the outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub, and a bearing is disposed between the inner wheel hub and the outer wheel hub to reduce friction.”
Claim 10 of Morris discloses, “flange is affixed to said outer edge of said cylinder and said flange is interconnected (detachably connected) to said wheel disc by fasteners.” Which is patentably the same as claim 1 of Wanzhi: “outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub are detachably connected through a first connection component” Claim 15 of Morris discloses: “The method of converting a vehicle wheel to a free-spinning wheel,” by “disengaging said flange from said wheel disc.” Which is patentably the same as claim 1 of Wanzhi: “unlocks the connection between the outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub, relative rotation is generated between the outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub,”. Claim 9 of Morris discloses: “a bearing surface and said sliding surface of said wheel disc is adapted to slide on said bearing surface to cause said vehicle wheel to rotate in a free-spinning fashion.” Which is patentably the same as claim 1 of Wanzhi: “a bearing is disposed between the inner wheel hub and the outer wheel hub to reduce friction.”
Regarding claim 2 of Wanzhi, claim 9 of Morris discloses: “The vehicle wheel according to claim 8 wherein a flange is secured to said outer edge of said cylinder, the outer surface of said cylinder disposed between said securing ring and said flange comprises a bearing surface and said sliding surface of said wheel disc is adapted to slide on said bearing surface to cause said vehicle wheel to rotate in a free-spinning fashion.” Which is patentably the same as claim 2 of Wanzhi “the inner wheel hub is equipped with a fixed clamp strip, the inner wall of the bearing is fixed on the fixed clamp strip, and the outer wall of the bearing is fixed on the outer wheel hub.”
Regarding claim 3 of instant application Wanzhi, claim 1 of Morris discloses, “attachment hub comprising a cylinder, said cylinder comprising an inwardly extending portion, said cylinder comprising an inner and an outer edge and the inner edge positioned inwardly of said wheel disc,”. Claim 1 of Morris doesn’t disclose: “a mounting plate that extends radially from the circumference of the first end of the ring, when the ring is inserted in the bearing through hole, the mounting plate is located outside the through hole and opposes the outer wheel hub, and the mounting plate and the outer wheel hub are detachably connected through the first connecting component.” However, claim 2 states, “a flange is affixed to said outer edge of said cylinder, multiple apertures are formed in said flange, bolts extend through said apertures and are interconnected to wedge nuts disposed on said inner side of said wheel disc.”, which is patentably the same.
Regarding claim 4 of instant application Wanzhi, claim 2 of Morris discloses, “bolts extend through said apertures and are interconnected to wedge nuts disposed on said inner side of said wheel disc.” Which is patentably the same as “the first connecting component is a bolt and a nut that are threaded.”, of Wanzhi.
Regarding claim 5 of instant application Wanzhi, claim 2 of Morris discloses, “a flange is affixed to said outer edge of said cylinder, multiple apertures are formed in said flange, bolts extend through said apertures and are interconnected to wedge nuts disposed on said inner side of said wheel disc.” Which is patentably the same as “a fixing block is provided in the nut groove, said fixing block is rubber wrapped around the nut, the inner wheel hub is provided with a fixing hole corresponding to the nut groove, and said bolt passes through the fixing hole and matches with said nut.”
Regarding claim 6 of instant application Wanzhi, claim 1 of Morris discloses, “an attachment hub and comprising an inner portion, said attachment hub comprising a cylinder, said cylinder comprising an inwardly extending portion, said cylinder comprising an inner and an outer edge and the inner edge positioned inwardly of said wheel disc, and a securing ring extending around the outer surface of said inwardly extending portion of said cylinder.” Claim 1 of Morris doesn’t disclose, “the ring is sleeved with a setting ring, the setting ring and the ring are detachably connected through the second connecting component, the setting ring and the mounting plate are respectively located on both sides of the bearing through hole, the setting ring is opposed to the outer wheel hub, and the setting ring is attached to the opening of the nut groove.” However, claim 5 of Morris discloses “said securing ring comprises a curved channel extending around the outer surface of said securing ring.” And claim 9 discloses, “flange is secured to said outer edge of said cylinder, the outer surface of said cylinder disposed between said securing ring and said flange”. And claim 13 discloses, “interconnecting said securing ring to said cylinder by means of fasteners.”
Regarding claim 7 of instant application Wanzhi “the second connecting component is a bolt which passes through the setting ring and is tightly connected with the ring”, claim 15 of Morris discloses, “a securing ring interconnected to said cylinder by fasteners,”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morris.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1 of instant application Wanzhi, Morris teaches (claim 1), “A vehicle (auxiliary) wheel comprising a central attachment hub (inner wheel hub), a wheel disc (outer wheel hub) extending outwardly from said attachment hub (detachably connected)”. Morris further teaches, “flange is affixed to said outer edge of said cylinder and said flange is interconnected (detachably connected) to said wheel disc by fasteners.” Which is patentably the same as: “outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub are detachably connected through a first connection component”. Then, Morris teaches: “In order to convert a non-spinning universal wheel to a spinner-roller wheel. As shown in FIG. 1, bolts 14, from the front side of the vehicle wheel, are loosened from corresponding wedge nuts 15 and removed.”, (paragraph 0018, line 1). Which is patentably the same as: “unlocks the connection between the outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub, relative rotation is generated between the outer wheel hub and the inner wheel hub,”. Then, Morris teaches: “The bearing surface 9 a and sliding surface 9 b are appropriately lubricated to enhance rotation of the wheel.”, (paragraph 0018, line 11). Which is patentably the same as Wanzhi: “a bearing is disposed between the inner wheel hub and the outer wheel hub to reduce friction.”
Regarding claim 2 of Wanzhi, Morris teaches: “The vehicle wheel according to claim 8 wherein a flange is secured to said outer edge of said cylinder, the outer surface of said cylinder disposed between said securing ring and said flange comprises a bearing surface and said sliding surface of said wheel disc is adapted to slide on said bearing surface to cause said vehicle wheel to rotate in a free-spinning fashion.” (claim 9). Which is patentably the same as claim 2 of Wanzhi.
Regarding claim 3 of instant application Wanzhi, Morris teaches, “attachment hub comprising a cylinder, said cylinder comprising an inwardly extending portion, said cylinder comprising an inner and an outer edge and the inner edge positioned inwardly of said wheel disc,” (claim 1). Also, Morris teaches, “a flange is affixed to said outer edge of said cylinder, multiple apertures are formed in said flange, bolts extend through said apertures and are interconnected to wedge nuts disposed on said inner side of said wheel disc.” (claim 2).
Regarding claim 4 of instant application Wanzhi, Morris teaches, “bolts extend through said apertures and are interconnected to wedge nuts disposed on said inner side of said wheel disc.” (claim 2).
Regarding claim 5 of instant application Wanzhi, Morris teaches, “a flange is affixed to said outer edge of said cylinder, multiple apertures are formed in said flange, bolts extend through said apertures and are interconnected to wedge nuts disposed on said inner side of said wheel disc.” (claim 2).
Regarding claim 6 of instant application Wanzhi, Morris teahces, “an attachment hub and comprising an inner portion, said attachment hub comprising a cylinder, said cylinder comprising an inwardly extending portion, said cylinder comprising an inner and an outer edge and the inner edge positioned inwardly of said wheel disc, and a securing ring extending around the outer surface of said inwardly extending portion of said cylinder.” (claim 1). Later Morris teaches “said securing ring comprises a curved channel extending around the outer surface of said securing ring.” (claim 5). And, “flange is secured to said outer edge of said cylinder, the outer surface of said cylinder disposed between said securing ring and said flange” (claim 9). Also, “Ring 7 is secured to hub 2 by means fasteners in the form of four screws or bolts”, (paragraph 12, line 4).
Regarding claim 7 of instant application Wanzhi “the second connecting component is a bolt which passes through the setting ring and is tightly connected with the ring”, Morris teaches, “Ring 7 is secured to hub 2 by means fasteners in the form of four screws or bolts”, (paragraph 12, line 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being patentable over Morris further in view of (Xia Kaichuan; et al. CN102555662A) herein after Xia, and (Mayer, Christoph et al. US12168369) herein after Mayer.
Regarding claim 8, Morris teaches a central attachment hub (claim 1, line 2). The attachment hub having an attachment plate, (claim 3, line 2). Morris fails to teach a step hole for installing shafts with different diameters.
Xia (claim 1, line 5), in the same field of endeavor, wheels, teaches a stepped hole for a car axle.
Since stated use for claimed invention is for mechanics and tow trucks to move multiple different types of cars while using only one wheel, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to modify the center axle hole to fit multiple different sized axle, using a standard approach in the art, the step hole, like in Xia.
Regarding Claim 9, Morris teaches a central attachment hub (claim 1, line 2). “The attachment hub having an attachment plate with multiple apertures,” (claim 3, line 2). “The multiple apertures in the attachment plate form a universal lug pattern,” (claim 4, line 2).
Morris fails to teach “a gradually increasing in diameter along the axial direction (conical) hole(s),” for the wheel studs.
Xia (claim 1, line 7), in the same field of endeavor, wheels, teaches a conical hole for a car wheel studs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wheel stud holes of Morris, with the conical holes of Xia with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to fit the wheel to various sized wheel studs, since the purpose of the claimed invention is to be adaptable to multiple different car makes.
Regarding Claim 10, Morris teaches a central attachment (inner) hub (claim 1, line 2). A wheel (outer hub) disc (claim 1, line 2). Morris fails to teach the outer wheel hub is a plastic component and the inner wheel hub is a metal component.
Mayer (Claim 1, line 3), in the same field of endeavor, wheels, teaches a wheel, wherein the wheel center comprises multiple spokes (outer hub) extending from a wheel hub (inner hub). In (claim 10, line 1), teaches a wheel center (spokes, outer hub) made from several layers of a fiber-reinforced plastic. Also, (claim 12, line 2), teaches a wheel center (inner hub) partially made from metal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the materials of Morris, with the materials of Mayer with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. YouTube video clip entitled "GUNI X," 1 page, uploaded on November 13, 2023 by user "GUNI".
/HOWARD PATRICK BINNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615