Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and sub-species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/12/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A drawn to Figs. 1-9 and Sub-species A1 drawn to Figs. 2-5 in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yada et al. JP 2002238793, citations are per English translation provided by Applicant with IDS filed 01/07/2026.
Regarding independent claim 1, Yada teaches a shower device (1 Fig. 1) fixed to enable a user to be showered from above with shower spouting water (as seen in Fig. 5, shower device 1 is fixed above user which enables user to be showered with spouting water streams), the shower device comprising:
a shower head main body (2 Fig. 1); and
a plurality of nozzle units (nozzle ports 6, i.e., nozzle units, in Fig. 1) provided in the shower head main body at intervals (as seen in Fig. 1, nozzle units 6 are provided in 2 at intervals) so as to form the shower spouting water surrounding a head of the user standing below the shower head main body (as shown in Fig. 5, nozzle units 6 provided in shower head main body 2 are capable of forming shower spouting water surrounding a head of the user standing below the shower head main body), wherein
each of the nozzle units is configured so that the spouted water falls while spreading downward (as shown in Fig. 1, each of nozzle units 6 is configured so that spouted water falls in a downward direction from shower head main body 2 while a spouted water stream falling from each 6 widens as the spouted water stream falls, i.e., spouted water falls downward while spreading).
Regarding claim 2, Yada further teaches each of the nozzle units is configured so that the spouted water joins with each other at a position falling a predetermined distance from each of the nozzle units (as seen in Fig. 1, spouted water from each of nozzle units 6 falls downward and spreads and joins with spouted water from adjacent nozzle units 6 at a position labeled in annotated Fig. 1 in the downward direction from shower head main body 2 a predetermined distance labeled in annotated Fig. 1), and a water film is formed around a body of the user (as shown in Fig. 5, a water film forms around a body of the user).
Regarding claim 3, Yada further teaches each of the nozzle units is oriented so that a space (labeled in annotated Fig. 1) surrounded by the spouted water is formed to narrow downward (as seen in annotated Fig. 1, each of nozzle units 6 is oriented so a respective space surrounded by spouting water from each of a pair of adjacent nozzle units 6 is formed to narrow in the downward direction).
Regarding claim 4, Yada further teaches the shower head main body is formed into a ring shape (as seen in Fig. 1, shower head main body 2 is formed into a ring shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yada et al. JP 2002238793 in view of Ukigai et al. US 20170087570.
Regarding claim 5, Yada teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the spouted water falls while spreading downward as described above in claim 1, but is silent on each of the nozzle units is configured so that the spouted water vibrates reciprocatingly in a sine-wave pattern, whereby the spouted water falls while spreading downward.
Ukigai teaches in Figs. 4A-4B a nozzle unit 4 similar to a nozzle unit 10 in instant application Figs. 4A-5, and Ukigai teaches nozzle unit 4 may be used in a shower head of Figs. 1-3 and per [0030]. Ukigai teaches each of the nozzle units 4 is configured so that spouted water vibrates reciprocatingly in a sine-wave pattern (as seen in Fig. 4A of Ukigai, spouted water from nozzle unit 4 vibrates reciprocatingly in a sine-wave pattern; [0059] also describes spouting water from nozzle unit 4 oscillates with a reciprocal motion, i.e., vibrates reciprocatingly; and per [0067]: as shown in Fig. 7A, in a stroboscopic photograph showing the flow of hot or cold water discharged from an oscillation inducing nozzle unit 4, a clean sinusoidal flow is obtained because the spout direction moves smoothly back and forth), whereby the spouted water spreads in a spouting direction (as shown in Figs. 4A and 7A of Ukigai, the spouted water spreads in a spouting direction away from the nozzle unit 4).
Modifying the nozzle units of Yada to have each of the nozzle units configured so that spouted water vibrates reciprocatingly in a sine-wave pattern as taught by Ukigai, also has the spouted water falls while spreading downward as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yada to have each of the nozzle units is configured so that the spouted water vibrates reciprocatingly in a sine-wave pattern, whereby the spouted water falls while spreading downward as taught by Ukigai to have an appropriately large spout area that can be obtained with a relatively broad range of flow volumes (Ukigai [0066]) and a shower spouting can be obtained which provides a good shower sensation and with which large liquid droplets are discharged uniformly over a wide area (Ukigai [0067]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stouffer US 4151955 teaches a nozzle unit configured so that spouted water vibrates reciprocatingly in a sine-wave pattern (see at least Figs. 2-4 and 39-40) while also spreading in the spray direction.
/A.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741