The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/03/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10, 16 in the reply filed on 6/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 6 and 7 should be grouped with claims 1-5, 8-10, 16. This is found persuasive because the prior art, Miles 2021/0140128 teaches electrically driven drive chains, (142a,b) drive shafts, drive belts, direct gear drives and/or other drive mechanism are art recognized equivalents for causing propulsion of drive wheels (150a-d). [0045].
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miles US 2021/0140128. Miles discloses a ground compactor comprising:
A compaction roller (110) rotatable around an axis (155).
At least one electric motor (140a-d) radially offset from said rotation axis (155) and positioned inside the compaction roller shells (110a,b).
A gear arrangement (142a,b), such as drive chains, shafts, belts, direct gear drives and/or other drive mechanism powered by the at least one electric motor (140a-d).
Wherein the driven gear arrangement (142a,b) propels the compaction roller about its axis (155). See abstract; Figs. 1-2; [0018-21, 0026-27, 0042-50].
With respect to claims 5-7, 10 Miles discloses A gear arrangement (142a,b), such as drive chains, shafts, belts, direct gear drives and/or other drive mechanism powered by the at least one electric motor (140a-d). Wherein the driven gear arrangement (142a,b) propels the compaction roller about its axis (155) via a gear output element (150a,b) such as a pulley driven drive wheels. [0045-56].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miles US 2021/0140128 in view of Ackermann et al. US 9,039,324.
Miles discloses a ground compactor comprising:
A compaction roller (110) rotatable around an axis (155).
At least one electric motor (140a-d) radially offset from said rotation axis (155) and
positioned inside the compaction roller shells (110a,b).
A gear arrangement (142a,b), such as drive chains, shafts, belts, direct gear drives
and/or other drive mechanism powered by the at least one electric motor (140a-d).
What Miles does recite other drive mechanisms for propelling the compaction roller, Miles does not explicitly recite is a planetary gear arrangement. However, Ackermann et al. teach a compaction machine Fig. 1, comprising:
At least one compaction drum (2) mounted for rotation about an axis (1).
The at least one compaction drum being segmented (2a,b) along said axis.
A pair of propulsion drives (7a,b) configured to drive said drum segments (2a,b).
Wherein a planetary gear set (6a,b) compensate for phase changes between the drum segments when making turns. See Figs. 6-9; Col. 5, ln10-Col. 6, ln. 61. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the compaction roller of Miles with a planetary gear system as reasonably suggested by Miles and taught by Ackermann et al. since planetary gear systems are art recognized equivalents to belt and chain drives.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 9/10/2026