DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 18 and 19 are amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 discloses “receiving, .., additional data during and the second transmission opportunity …”, in lines 2-4. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to revise the limitation to “receiving, .., additional data during [[and]] the second transmission opportunity …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) The Office Action does not articulate which devices described in that broad array of paragraphs of Yang are alleged to map to the "first device" and the "second device" recited in claim 1, [Remarks, pages 6-7].
(2) Yang does not disclose at least the feature of "a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window," as recited in claim 1, [Remarks, pages 7-9].
(3) Yang does not disclose the particular "sending ... a request to send (RTS) message requesting access to a communication channel" and "receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a transmission opportunity window" features recited in claim 9. Yang likewise does not disclose the further feature of claim 9 reciting that the ACK message is received "prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window”, [Remarks, pages 9-11].
(4) Yang still does not disclose the feature of "receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window," as recited in claim 16, [Remarks, pages 11-12].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first & second argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Yang discloses a method comprising: sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0223, 0224, 0240, 0315, sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel (RTS frame may carry information, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated; the first device may allocate the first time resource from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame; obtain permission to use a channel through contention)]; receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0045, 0046, 0058, 0221-0223, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window (the first device may withdraw/recover the permission to use the TXOP in advance based on the first frame received from the second device; STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame; the first device from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device; after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to a specified STA by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a RTS frame))].
Regarding sending, by a first device and to a second device and receiving, by the first device and from the second device, Yang discloses in Figure 1a, 2b, paragraphs 0222 and 0223.
Figure 1a illustrates wherein an AP may communicate with the STA 1, or the AP may further communicate with the STA 2
Figure 2b illustrates communication between a first device (an AP) and a second device (STA1)
[0222] Optionally, the mMU-RTS frame may further carry information such as whether the specified STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame. For example, refer to FIG. 2a. After the STA 1 receives the mMU-RTS frame sent by the AP, if the STA 1 determines, by parsing the mMU-RTS frame, that the AP allocates the first time resource to the STA 1 and requires the STA 1 to reply the CTS frame before sending the SU PPDU. The STA 1 may first send the CTS frame in the allocated first time resource, ….
[0223] For example, FIG. 2b is a schematic diagram of applying a single-user trigger frame to a UL transmission scenario. As shown in FIG. 2b, after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources (for example, a first time resource in FIG. 2b) in the TXOP to a specified STA (for example, a STA 1 in FIG. 2b) by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, an mMU-RTS frame in FIG. 2b). The mMU-RTS frame may carry information such as information about the STA 1, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated to the STA 1. Therefore, in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to the AP, and the AP may send a BA frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1. Optionally, if the mMU-RTS frame further carries information that the specified STA needs to reply a CTS frame, after receiving the MU-RTS frame, the STA 1 needs to first send one CTS frame, and then send the SU PPDU to the AP. It should be understood that, in the UL transmission scenario, the AP can recover permission to use the TXOP only after an end moment of the first time resource. For example, refer to FIG. 2b. The AP sends the PPDU at the end moment of the first time resource.
In other words, Yang discloses communication (e.g., AP sending a RTS to a STA1 and receiving a RTS reply from the STA1) between a first device (e.g., AP) and a second device (e.g., STA1).
Applicant does not explicitly identify what the first device or second device are in the limitations of the claim. The specification discloses various examples of devices included in the first and second devices.
For example,
[0012] … A wireless communication network may include different devices capable of wireless communication, such as one or more stations (e.g., client devices), which may be disposed in relation to one or more network devices (e.g., wireless routers with wireless access points). …
[0053] … the first device may include a wireless station, and the second device may include an access point.
This is similar to Yang’s disclosure
[0226] It should be noted that in this application, the first device may be an AP, and the second device may be a non-access point station (namely, a non-AP STA), or may be an access point AP. For ease of description, the following uses the first device and the second device as examples for description in this application.
Regarding receiving a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window, Yang discloses in Figure 2c, paragraphs 0221, 0223, 0224, 0231, and 0232.
Figure 2c illustrates the remaining duration a time period from t1 to t2 within a TXOP
[0221] For example, FIG. 2a is a schematic diagram of applying a single-user trigger frame to a P2P scenario. As shown in FIG. 2a, after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources (for example, a first time resource in FIG. 2a) in the TXOP to a specified STA (for example, a STA 1 in FIG. 2a) by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a modified multi-user request to send (mMU-RTS) frame in FIG. 2a). In the following embodiments of this application, the first time resource may also be referred to as a single-user service period (SU SP). This is not limited herein. The mMU-RTS frame may carry information such as information about the STA 1, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated to the STA 1. Therefore, in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to a STA 2, and the STA 2 may send a block acknowledgment (BA) frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1. It is readily understood that, in this embodiment of this application, a start moment of the first time resource is not earlier than a start moment of the TXOP, and an end moment of the first time resource is not later than an end moment of the TXOP. In other words, the start moment of the first time resource is greater than or equal to the start moment of the TXOP, and the end moment of the first time resource is less than or equal to the end moment of the TXOP.
[0223] For example, FIG. 2b is a schematic diagram of applying a single-user trigger frame to a UL transmission scenario. As shown in FIG. 2b, after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources (for example, a first time resource in FIG. 2b) in the TXOP to a specified STA (for example, a STA 1 in FIG. 2b) by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, an mMU-RTS frame in FIG. 2b). The mMU-RTS frame may carry information such as information about the STA 1, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated to the STA 1. Therefore, in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to the AP, and the AP may send a BA frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1. Optionally, if the mMU-RTS frame further carries information that the specified STA needs to reply a CTS frame, after receiving the MU-RTS frame, the STA 1 needs to first send one CTS frame, and then send the SU PPDU to the AP. It should be understood that, in the UL transmission scenario, the AP can recover permission to use the TXOP only after an end moment of the first time resource. For example, refer to FIG. 2b. The AP sends the PPDU at the end moment of the first time resource.
[0224] It should be understood that, if duration of the first time resource allocated by the AP to the specified STA is long, and the specified STA has completed required transmission after using the first time resource for a period of time, the specified STA does not use the first time resource in a remaining time period. For example, FIG. 2c is a schematic diagram of remaining duration. As shown in FIG. 2c, if duration of a first time resource allocated by an AP to a specified STA (for example, a STA 1 in FIG. 2c) is long, and the STA 1 ends all transmissions at a moment t1 in FIG. 2c, the specified STA does not use the first time resource in a remaining time period (for example, a time period from t1 to t2 in FIG. 2c). ….
[0231] In some feasible implementations, the first device may receive the first frame from the second device. The first frame indicates that the second device has stopped using a first time resource. It should be understood that, the first time resource may be allocated by the first device from an obtained TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame. Specifically, after obtaining the TXOP, the first device may immediately allocate a portion or all of time resources in the TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame. Alternatively, after obtaining the TXOP, the first device may use a portion of time resources, and then allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to the second device by using one single-user trigger frame.
[0232] Generally, after the first time resource is allocated to the second device, the second device may use the first time resource to perform uplink single-user PPDU transmission or P2P communication. The single-user trigger frame may include a first field and a second field. The first field indicates a remaining time resource of the TXOP. Specifically, the first field may be a duration field, and the second field indicates the first time resource. In other words, the single-user trigger frame may carry information indicating remaining duration of the TXOP, and carry information indicating the first time resource. ….
In other words, Yang discloses duration of the time resource allocated by the AP to the specified STA is long.
The specification discloses
[0054] At Step 510, the first device may receive from the second device a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window. The extended transmission opportunity window may include a first time portion configured for communications corresponding to the first message, and a second time portion configured as a remaining time portion upon completion of the communications. …. In some cases, the remaining time portion may include a reserved time. In some cases, the second message may include a CTS message. In some cases, the first message, the second message, or both, may be broadcast messages.
This is similar to Yang’s disclosure wherein the transmission opportunity window may include a first field and a second field, wherein the first field may be a duration field, and the second field indicates the first time resource, and wherein the first field further indicates a remaining time resource.
Therefore, given that Yang discloses communication (e.g., AP sending a RTS to a STA1 and receiving a RTS reply from the STA1) between a first device (e.g., AP) and a second device (e.g., STA1); wherein the transmission opportunity window may include a first field and a second field wherein the duration of the time resource allocated by the AP to the specified STA is long, then Yang discloses sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel; receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window.
As per the third argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Yang discloses receiving, by the first device and from the second device, an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data [paragraphs 0058, 0084, 0221-0223, 0245, 0278, 0301, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data (the STA 1 successfully receives a BA frame sent by the STA 2; the BA frame is enhanced to indicate the first device to actively recover the permission to use the TXOP)], wherein the ACK message is received prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, 0231, 0232, 0250, 0268, 0354, wherein the ACK message is received prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window (carry information indicating remaining duration of the TXOP; a remaining time period (for example, a time period from t1 to t2))].
Regarding receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) message, wherein the ACK message is received prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window, Yang discloses in Figure 2c, paragraphs 0222-0223, 0278.
Figure 2c illustrates the remaining duration a time period from t1 to t2 within a TXOP
[0221] For example, FIG. 2a is a schematic diagram of applying a single-user trigger frame to a P2P scenario. As shown in FIG. 2a, after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources (for example, a first time resource in FIG. 2a) in the TXOP to a specified STA (for example, a STA 1 in FIG. 2a) by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a modified multi-user request to send (mMU-RTS) frame in FIG. 2a). In the following embodiments of this application, the first time resource may also be referred to as a single-user service period (SU SP). This is not limited herein. The mMU-RTS frame may carry information such as information about the STA 1, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated to the STA 1. Therefore, in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to a STA 2, and the STA 2 may send a block acknowledgment (BA) frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1. It is readily understood that, in this embodiment of this application, a start moment of the first time resource is not earlier than a start moment of the TXOP, and an end moment of the first time resource is not later than an end moment of the TXOP. In other words, the start moment of the first time resource is greater than or equal to the start moment of the TXOP, and the end moment of the first time resource is less than or equal to the end moment of the TXOP.
[0222] Optionally, the mMU-RTS frame may further carry information such as whether the specified STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame. For example, refer to FIG. 2a. After the STA 1 receives the mMU-RTS frame sent by the AP, if the STA 1 determines, by parsing the mMU-RTS frame, that the AP allocates the first time resource to the STA 1 and requires the STA 1 to reply the CTS frame before sending the SU PPDU. The STA 1 may first send the CTS frame in the allocated first time resource, ….
[0223] For example, FIG. 2b is a schematic diagram of applying a single-user trigger frame to a UL transmission scenario. As shown in FIG. 2b, after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources (for example, a first time resource in FIG. 2b) in the TXOP to a specified STA (for example, a STA 1 in FIG. 2b) by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, an mMU-RTS frame in FIG. 2b). The mMU-RTS frame may carry information such as information about the STA 1, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated to the STA 1. Therefore, in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to the AP, and the AP may send a BA frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1. Optionally, if the mMU-RTS frame further carries information that the specified STA needs to reply a CTS frame, after receiving the MU-RTS frame, the STA 1 needs to first send one CTS frame, and then send the SU PPDU to the AP. It should be understood that, in the UL transmission scenario, the AP can recover permission to use the TXOP only after an end moment of the first time resource. For example, refer to FIG. 2b. The AP sends the PPDU at the end moment of the first time resource.
[0278] Specifically, in the P2P scenario, when the first device receives one acknowledgment frame at any moment in the first time resource, if the first device determines that a destination address of the acknowledgment frame is an address of a specified STA of the first time resource (namely, the address of the second device), the first device may determine whether duration between an end moment of the acknowledgment frame and the end moment of the first time resource is less than T. ….
In other words, Yang discloses wherein the first device receives one acknowledgment frame (BA) at any moment in the first time resource, prior to initiation of a remaining within the transmission opportunity window.
As per the fourth argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Yang discloses receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
Regarding receiving a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window, Yang discloses in Figure 2c, paragraphs 0222, 0257, 0285, 0290.
Figure 2a illustrates recovering permission to use a TXOP based on preset duration T
[0222] Optionally, the mMU-RTS frame may further carry information such as whether the specified STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame. …. It should be understood that, in the P2P scenario, the AP can recover permission to use the TXOP only after the end moment of the first time resource. The AP recovering the permission to use the TXOP may be understood as that the AP may send a PPDU (a PPDU shown in FIG. 2a), allocate the PPDU to another STA, or the like, in a time period (Ts in FIG. 2a) from the end moment of the first time resource to the end moment of the TXOP. This is specifically determined based on an actual application scenario, and is not limited herein.
[0257] For ease of understanding, FIG. 13 shows a schematic diagram of a scenario in which cross-boundary transmission of an SU END frame is allowed in a UL scenario according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 13, in the UL scenario, for a process from a moment in which a first device (for example, an AP in FIG. 13) sends an mMU-RTS frame to a moment in which a second device (for example, a STA 1 in FIG. 13) sends an SU PPDU to a SU PPDU receiver (for example, the AP in FIG. 13) in a first time resource (for example, an SU SP in FIG. 13), refer to the process described in FIG. 2b. Details are not described herein again. After the STA 1 completes sending of a last SU PPDU in the first time resource and successfully receives a BA frame sent by the AP, if an end moment of the first time resource is not exceeded when a SIFS elapses after the STA 1 receives the BA frame, the STA 1 immediately sends one SU END frame to the AP to indicate to the AP that the STA 1 stops using the first time resource. A first device (for example, an AP in FIG. 13) immediately recovers permission to use a TXOP when a SIFS elapses after receiving the SU END frame.
[0285] Optionally, in some feasible implementations, when the second frame is a last SU PPDU sent by the second device when the second device uses the first time resource, or when the second frame is a BA frame of a last SU PPDU sent by the second device when the second device uses the first time resource, if the second device determines that the duration between the end moment of the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource is greater than the preset duration T, to prevent a waste of a channel resource, the second device may further send a first frame to the first device, to indicate that the second device has stopped using the first time resource. Correspondingly, the first device receives the first frame from the second device, and parses information about the first frame, so that the first device may recover the permission to use the TXOP based on the first frame. In this embodiment of this application, for a solution in which the second device sends the first frame to indicate that the second device has stopped using the first time resource, refer to the process described in Embodiment 1. Details are not described herein again.
[0290] In some feasible implementations, in a UL scenario, the first device may alternatively send the second frame to a second device, and determine, based on a value relationship between preset duration T and duration between an end moment of the second frame and an end moment of a first time resource, whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP. Generally, the second frame sent by the first device in the UL scenario is a BA frame returned by the first device to the second device based on an SU PPDU received from the second device. Further, in the UL scenario, the second device receives the BA frame sent by the first device, and determine, based on the value relationship between the preset duration T and the duration between the end moment of the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, whether to continue to use the first time resource.
In other words, Yang discloses wherein the AP/first device can recover access to the communication channel from the end moment of the first time resource based on receiving a message from the second device to indicate that the second device has stopped using the first time resource.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al., (hereinafter Yang), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0363000.
As per claim 1, Yang discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0223, 0224, 0240, 0315, sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel (RTS frame may carry information, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated; the first device may allocate the first time resource from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame; obtain permission to use a channel through contention)];
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0045, 0046, 0058, 0221-0223, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window (the first device may withdraw/recover the permission to use the TXOP in advance based on the first frame received from the second device; STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame; the first device from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device; after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to a specified STA by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a RTS frame))] comprising:
a first time portion configured for communications corresponding to the first message [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, a first time portion configured for communications corresponding to the first message (in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to a STA 2, and the STA 2 may send a block acknowledgment (BA) frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1)], and a second time portion configured for communications during a remaining time portion upon completion of the communications corresponding to the first message [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, 0231, 0232, 0250, 0268, 0354, a second time portion configured for communications during a remaining time portion upon completion of the communications corresponding to the first message (carry information indicating remaining duration of the TXOP; a remaining time period (for example, a time period from t1 to t2))]; and
receiving, by the first device and from the second device via the communication channel, data during the first time portion of the extended transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0070, 0221-0224, 0250, 0251, 0280, 0283, receiving, by the first device and from the second device via the communication channel, data during the first time portion of the extended transmission opportunity window (STA 1 may first send the CTS frame in the allocated first time resource, send the SU PPDU to the STA 2, and then receive a BA frame that is of the SU PPDU; a second device (a STA 1) sends an SU PPDU to a SU PPDU receiver (a STA 2) in a first time resource; the STA 1 determines that the duration T′ is greater than T)].
As per claim 2, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first message comprises
a request to send (RTS) message, and the second message comprises a clear to send (CTS) message [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0221-0223, 0244, 0250, a request to send (RTS) message, and the second message comprises a clear to send (CTS) message (the RTS frame further carries information that the specified STA needs to reply a CTS frame, after receiving the RTS frame, the STA 1 needs to first send one CTS frame, and then send the SU PPDU)].
As per claim 3, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the remaining time portion, a third message requesting access to the communication channel upon expiration of the extended transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the remaining time portion, a third message requesting access to the communication channel upon expiration of the extended transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 4, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the first time portion an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data by the second device [paragraphs 0058, 0084, 0221-0223, 0245, 0278, 0301, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the first time portion an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data by the second device (the STA 1 successfully receives a BA frame sent by the STA 2; the BA frame is enhanced to indicate the first device to actively recover the permission to use the TXOP)].
As per claim 5, Yang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the first message is a broadcast message [paragraph 0274, wherein the first message is a broadcast message (a communication manner between devices is broadcast)].
As per claim 6, Yang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the second message is a broadcast message [paragraph 0274, wherein the second message is a broadcast message (a communication manner between devices is broadcast)].
As per claim 7, Yang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0213, 0216, 0221-0224, wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point (communication between an AP and one or more STAs; the STA communicates with another STA or the AP in an allocated time resource)].
As per claim 8, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises
at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device [paragraphs 0216, at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device (a device (such as an access point or a station) that supports WLAN communication may be an entertainment terminal (for example, augmented reality (augmented reality, AR), virtual reality (VR), or another wearable device))].
As per claim 9, Yang discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a first device and to a second device, a request to send (RTS) message requesting access to a communication channel [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0223, 0224, 0240, 0315, sending, by a first device and to a second device, a request to send (RTS) message requesting access to a communication channel (RTS frame may carry information, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated; the first device may allocate the first time resource from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame; obtain permission to use a channel through contention)];
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0045, 0046, 0058, 0221-0223, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a transmission opportunity window (the first device may withdraw/recover the permission to use the TXOP in advance based on the first frame received from the second device; STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame; the first device from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device; after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to a specified STA by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a RTS frame))];
sending, by the first device and to the second device, data during the transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, sending, by the first device and to the second device, data during the transmission opportunity window (in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to a STA 2, and the STA 2 may send a block acknowledgment (BA) frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1)], and
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data [paragraphs 0058, 0084, 0221-0223, 0245, 0278, 0301, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data (the STA 1 successfully receives a BA frame sent by the STA 2; the BA frame is enhanced to indicate the first device to actively recover the permission to use the TXOP)], wherein the ACK message is received prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, 0231, 0232, 0250, 0268, 0354, wherein the ACK message is received prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window (carry information indicating remaining duration of the TXOP; a remaining time period (for example, a time period from t1 to t2))].
As per claim 10, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second RTS message requesting access to the communication channel [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second RTS message requesting access to the communication channel (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 11, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window and upon expiration of the transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window and upon expiration of the transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 12, Yang discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, second data during the second transmission opportunity window [fig. 2a-2c, 9, paragraphs 0237, 0242, 0244, 0257, 0275, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, second data during the second transmission opportunity window (the second frame may be an SU PPDU that is sent by the second device to the first device; it indicates that the PPDU carrying the frame is followed by the another PPDU)].
As per claim 13, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first device comprises
a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0213, 0216, 0221-0224, wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point (communication between an AP and one or more STAs; the STA communicates with another STA or the AP in an allocated time resource)].
As per claim 14, Yang discloses the method of claim 9,
wherein the second device initiates a contention process during the reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0005, 0009, 0046, 0224, wherein the second device initiates a contention process during the reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window (the remaining duration causes a waste of a channel resource, and may allow another station to obtain permission to use a channel through contention)].
As per claim 15, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first device comprises
at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device [paragraphs 0216, at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device (a device (such as an access point or a station) that supports WLAN communication may be an entertainment terminal (for example, augmented reality (augmented reality, AR), virtual reality (VR), or another wearable device))].
As per claim 16, Yang discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first request to send (RTS) message requesting access to a communication channel [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0223, 0224, 0240, 0315, sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel (RTS frame may carry information, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated; the first device may allocate the first time resource from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame; obtain permission to use a channel through contention)];
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a first clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a first transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0045, 0046, 0058, 0221-0223, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a first clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a first transmission opportunity window (the first device may withdraw/recover the permission to use the TXOP in advance based on the first frame received from the second device; STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame; the first device from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device; after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to a specified STA by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a RTS frame))]; and
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 17, Yang discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
sending, by the first device and to the second device, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, sending, by the first device and to the second device, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 18, Yang discloses the method of claim 17,
wherein the second CTS message is received during the first transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0222, 0223, 0273, 0274, 0290, wherein the second CTS message is received during the first transmission opportunity window (requires the STA 1 to reply the CTS frame before sending the SU PPDU)].
As per claim 19, Yang discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device via the communication channel and from the second device, data during the first transmission opportunity window and the second transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0031, 0221, 0223, 0231, receiving, by the first device via the communication channel and from the second device, data during the first transmission opportunity window and the second transmission opportunity window (an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources; the first device may use a portion of time resources)].
As per claim 20, Yang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the first device comprises
a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0213, 0216, 0221-0224, wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point (communication between an AP and one or more STAs; the STA communicates with another STA or the AP in an allocated time resource)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vannithamby et al., U.S. Publication No. 2018/0288797 discloses a system that determines a remaining transmission opportunity time.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469