DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/13/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al., (hereinafter Yang), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0363000.
As per claim 1, Yang discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0223, 0224, 0240, 0315, sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel (RTS frame may carry information, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated; the first device may allocate the first time resource from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame; obtain permission to use a channel through contention)];
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0045, 0046, 0058, 0221-0223, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second message granting permission to access the communication channel for an extended transmission opportunity window (the first device may withdraw/recover the permission to use the TXOP in advance based on the first frame received from the second device; STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame; the first device from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device; after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to a specified STA by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a RTS frame))] comprising:
a first time portion configured for communications corresponding to the first message [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, a first time portion configured for communications corresponding to the first message (in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to a STA 2, and the STA 2 may send a block acknowledgment (BA) frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1)], and a second time portion configured for communications during a remaining time portion upon completion of the communications corresponding to the first message [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, 0231, 0232, 0250, 0268, 0354, a second time portion configured for communications during a remaining time portion upon completion of the communications corresponding to the first message (carry information indicating remaining duration of the TXOP; a remaining time period (for example, a time period from t1 to t2))]; and
receiving, by the first device and from the second device via the communication channel, data during the first time portion of the extended transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0070, 0221-0224, 0250, 0251, 0280, 0283, receiving, by the first device and from the second device via the communication channel, data during the first time portion of the extended transmission opportunity window (STA 1 may first send the CTS frame in the allocated first time resource, send the SU PPDU to the STA 2, and then receive a BA frame that is of the SU PPDU; a second device (a STA 1) sends an SU PPDU to a SU PPDU receiver (a STA 2) in a first time resource; the STA 1 determines that the duration T′ is greater than T)].
As per claim 2, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first message comprises
a request to send (RTS) message, and the second message comprises a clear to send (CTS) message [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0221-0223, 0244, 0250, a request to send (RTS) message, and the second message comprises a clear to send (CTS) message (the RTS frame further carries information that the specified STA needs to reply a CTS frame, after receiving the RTS frame, the STA 1 needs to first send one CTS frame, and then send the SU PPDU)].
As per claim 3, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the remaining time portion, a third message requesting access to the communication channel upon expiration of the extended transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the remaining time portion, a third message requesting access to the communication channel upon expiration of the extended transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 4, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the first time portion an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data by the second device [paragraphs 0058, 0084, 0221-0223, 0245, 0278, 0301, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the first time portion an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data by the second device (the STA 1 successfully receives a BA frame sent by the STA 2; the BA frame is enhanced to indicate the first device to actively recover the permission to use the TXOP)].
As per claim 5, Yang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the first message is a broadcast message [paragraph 0274, wherein the first message is a broadcast message (a communication manner between devices is broadcast)].
As per claim 6, Yang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the second message is a broadcast message [paragraph 0274, wherein the second message is a broadcast message (a communication manner between devices is broadcast)].
As per claim 7, Yang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0213, 0216, 0221-0224, wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point (communication between an AP and one or more STAs; the STA communicates with another STA or the AP in an allocated time resource)].
As per claim 8, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises
at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device [paragraphs 0216, at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device (a device (such as an access point or a station) that supports WLAN communication may be an entertainment terminal (for example, augmented reality (augmented reality, AR), virtual reality (VR), or another wearable device))].
As per claim 9, Yang discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a first device and to a second device, a request to send (RTS) message requesting access to a communication channel [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0223, 0224, 0240, 0315, sending, by a first device and to a second device, a request to send (RTS) message requesting access to a communication channel (RTS frame may carry information, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated; the first device may allocate the first time resource from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame; obtain permission to use a channel through contention)];
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0045, 0046, 0058, 0221-0223, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a transmission opportunity window (the first device may withdraw/recover the permission to use the TXOP in advance based on the first frame received from the second device; STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame; the first device from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device; after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to a specified STA by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a RTS frame))];
sending, by the first device and to the second device, data during the transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, sending, by the first device and to the second device, data during the transmission opportunity window (in the allocated first time resource, the STA 1 may send a SU PPDU to a STA 2, and the STA 2 may send a block acknowledgment (BA) frame of the SU PPDU to the STA 1)], and
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data [paragraphs 0058, 0084, 0221-0223, 0245, 0278, 0301, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating receipt of the data (the STA 1 successfully receives a BA frame sent by the STA 2; the BA frame is enhanced to indicate the first device to actively recover the permission to use the TXOP)], wherein the ACK message is received prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0221-0224, 0231, 0232, 0250, 0268, 0354, wherein the ACK message is received prior to initiation of a reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window (carry information indicating remaining duration of the TXOP; a remaining time period (for example, a time period from t1 to t2))].
As per claim 10, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second RTS message requesting access to the communication channel [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second RTS message requesting access to the communication channel (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 11, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window and upon expiration of the transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, sending, by the first device and to the second device, during the reserved time portion of the transmission opportunity window, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window and upon expiration of the transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 12, Yang discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, second data during the second transmission opportunity window [fig. 2a-2c, 9, paragraphs 0237, 0242, 0244, 0257, 0275, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, second data during the second transmission opportunity window (the second frame may be an SU PPDU that is sent by the second device to the first device; it indicates that the PPDU carrying the frame is followed by the another PPDU)].
As per claim 13, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first device comprises
a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0213, 0216, 0221-0224, wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point (communication between an AP and one or more STAs; the STA communicates with another STA or the AP in an allocated time resource)].
As per claim 14, Yang discloses the method of claim 9,
wherein the second device initiates a contention process during the reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0005, 0009, 0046, 0224, wherein the second device initiates a contention process during the reserved time portion remaining within the transmission opportunity window (the remaining duration causes a waste of a channel resource, and may allow another station to obtain permission to use a channel through contention)].
As per claim 15, Yang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first device comprises
at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device [paragraphs 0216, at least one of a gaming device or an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) device (a device (such as an access point or a station) that supports WLAN communication may be an entertainment terminal (for example, augmented reality (augmented reality, AR), virtual reality (VR), or another wearable device))].
As per claim 16, Yang discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first request to send (RTS) message requesting access to a communication channel [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0223, 0224, 0240, 0315, sending, by a first device and to a second device, a first message requesting access to a communication channel (RTS frame may carry information, a remaining time resource of the TXOP, and duration of the first time resource allocated; the first device may allocate the first time resource from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device by using a single-user trigger frame; obtain permission to use a channel through contention)];
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a first clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a first transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0008, 0031, 0045, 0046, 0058, 0221-0223, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a first clear to send (CTS) message granting access to the communication channel for a first transmission opportunity window (the first device may withdraw/recover the permission to use the TXOP in advance based on the first frame received from the second device; STA needs to reply a clear to send (CTS) frame; the first device from an obtained transmission opportunity TXOP to the second device; after obtaining a TXOP, an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources in the TXOP to a specified STA by using a single-user trigger frame (for example, a RTS frame))]; and
receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, receiving, by the first device and from the second device, a second RTS message during the first transmission opportunity window to gain access to the communication channel upon expiration of the first transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 17, Yang discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
sending, by the first device and to the second device, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0221-0224, 0251, 0259, 0280, 0294, sending, by the first device and to the second device, a second CTS message granting access to the communication channel for a second transmission opportunity window (duration T′ between the end moment of receiving the second frame and the end moment of the first time resource, to determine whether to recover the permission to use the TXOP; recovering permission to use a transmission opportunity)].
As per claim 18, Yang discloses the method of claim 17,
wherein the second CTS message is received during the first transmission opportunity window [paragraphs 0031, 0222, 0223, 0273, 0274, 0290, wherein the second CTS message is received during the first transmission opportunity window (requires the STA 1 to reply the CTS frame before sending the SU PPDU)].
As per claim 19, Yang discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device via the communication channel and from the second device, data during the first transmission opportunity window and the second transmission opportunity window [fig. 2b, 2c, paragraphs 0031, 0221, 0223, 0231, receiving, by the first device via the communication channel and from the second device, data during the first transmission opportunity window and the second transmission opportunity window (an AP may allocate a portion or all of remaining time resources; the first device may use a portion of time resources)].
As per claim 20, Yang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the first device comprises
a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point [fig. 2a-2c, paragraphs 0213, 0216, 0221-0224, wherein the first device comprises a wireless station, and the second device comprises an access point (communication between an AP and one or more STAs; the STA communicates with another STA or the AP in an allocated time resource)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yun et al., U.S. Publication No. 2024/0129978 discloses information related to the state of the first link may be included in a ready-to-send (RTS) message requiring data transmission through the first link or in a clear-to-send (CTS) message indicating that data transmission through the first link.
Xin et al., U.S. Publication No. 2022/0053560 discloses STA sending RTS/CTS to reserve a TXOP.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469