DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is 257 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (JP2019016459A, English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action) in view of Tajima et al. (US20160013469A1) and Takagi (WO2008084314A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda discloses a method for producing a layered battery ([0015] manufacturing power storage device), the method comprising:
a preparing step of preparing an electrode layered body (See annotated Fig. 2 below, power storage module 12) including a plurality of electrode (Fig. 2, electrodes 32, 36, and 38) layered in a z axis direction (See Fig. 2, electrodes layered in z axis direction. Note that the electrodes as shown are layered similar to applicants’ definition of z axis direction in Fig. 1F of instant application);
an arranging step of arranging a liquid injection frame (See annotated Fig. 4 below, first seal portion 52. Note, Fig. 4 is a cross-sectional view taken along the line IV of Fig. 2)) made of a resin ([0027] first seal portion constituting resin portion 50) including a liquid injection port ([0040] communication port 70 can also be used as an electrolyte injection port), in a side surface of the electrode layered body (See Fig. 4, communication port 70 in side surface.);
a liquid injection step of injecting a liquid electrolyte into the electrode layered body ([0040] electrolyte into internal space of the first seal portion) from the liquid injection port of the liquid injection frame ([0040] communication port injecting electrolytic solution);
a first sealing step of sealing the liquid injection port by arranging a first member (Fig. 4, first seal portion 52) including a resin layer A ([0054] first seal portion 52 is sealed with resin layer 90) on a surface of the liquid injection frame ([0027] first seal portion 52 seals an electrolytic solution), of which normal direction is an x axis direction orthogonal to the z axis direction (See Fig. 4. Note that the member as shown is arranged similar to applicants’ definition of x axis direction orthogonal to the z axis direction in Fig. 9 of instant application), after the liquid injection step;
a penetration hole forming step of forming a penetration hole ([0040] communication port 70 penetrating frame body 60) communicating the liquid injection port in the first member ([0040] communicating port passes through first seal portion); and
a second sealing step ([0045 second seal portion formed in resin filling step) of sealing the liquid injection port while covering the penetration hole by using a second member (Fig. 4, second seal portion 54) including a resin layer B ([0033] second seal portion 52 has a resin layer 55) and arranging the resin layer B in the second member on a surface of the first member of which normal direction is the x axis direction (See Fig. 4. Note that the member as shown is arranged similar to applicants’ definition of x axis direction in Fig. 9 of instant application).
Maeda does not disclose a battery treatment step of performing at least one of charging and aging after the first sealing step; and in the second sealing step, the second member including a metal layer.
Tajima discloses a battery treatment step of performing at least one of charging and aging ([0125] aging treatment) after the first sealing step ([0124-0125] battery sealed with film subjected to aging treatment). Tajima also discloses that the aging treatment results in the active material being activated ([0125]). Further, Tajima discloses that the battery can be opened up again to let out gas generated by aging before being resealed which can help suppress deterioration ([0126]).
Maeda and Tajima are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely layered batteries.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for producing a layered battery of Maeda such that the method contains a battery treatment step of performing at least one of charging and aging after the first sealing step and before the penetration step and the second sealing step as taught by Tajima in order to activate the active material and let out gas generated by aging before being resealed to help suppress deterioration.
Takagi discloses a layered battery ([0021] battery with layers) in which in a sealing step ([0052] sealing), a member with a resin layer ([0052] resin film) also includes a metal layer ([0052] metal foil). Takagi also discloses metal foil is used to impart resistance to the intrusion of humidity, air, and chemicals ([0052]).
Takagi is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely bipolar layered batteries.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second resin member of Maeda such that the second member includes a metal layer as taught by Takagi in order to result in the member imparting resistance to the intrusion of humidity, air, and chemicals.
Regarding claim 2, modified Maeda discloses the method for producing a layered battery according to claim 1, wherein Maeda discloses the first member (52) and the second member (54) are in a film shape (See Fig. 4 above. Note that the members as shown are shaped similar to applicants’ definition of film shape in Fig. 9 of instant application).
Regarding claim 3, modified Maeda discloses the method for producing a layered battery according to claim 1, wherein Maeda discloses the first member (52) includes a plurality of resin layer as the resin layer A (See Fig. 4. Note that the first member after penetration hole is formed as shown is structured similar to applicants’ definition of plurality of resin layer in Fig. 1F of instant application).
Regarding claim 4, modified Maeda discloses the method for producing a layered battery according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second member includes a resin layer C on the metal layer that is opposite side to the resin layer B.
Takagi discloses a layered battery ([0021] battery with layers) in which a member includes a resin layer C ([0052] resin film) on the metal layer ([0052] metal foil) that is opposite side to the resin layer B ([0052] thermally fusible resin film). Takagi also discloses how in this sequence, the thermally fusible resin film in this case is used for sealing when the bipolar battery 1 is housed, and the metal foil and rigid resin film are used to impart resistance to the intrusion of humidity, air, and chemicals ([0052]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second member of Maeda such that the second member includes a resin layer C on the metal layer that is opposite side to the resin layer B as taught by Takagi in order to result in the member both sealing the battery and imparting resistance to the intrusion of humidity, air, and chemicals.
Regarding claim 5, modified Maeda discloses the method for producing a layered battery according to claim 1, wherein Maeda discloses the electrode layered body (12) includes a bipolar electrode (See annotated Fig. 2 above, bipolar electrode 32) including a current collector (Fig. 2, electrode plates 34), a cathode layer (Fig. 2, positive electrode 36) arranged on one surface of the current collector (See Fig. 2, positive electrode 36 arranged on electrode plate 34a), and an anode layer (Fig. 2, negative electrode 38) arranged on the other surface of the current collector (See Fig. 2, negative electrode 38 arranged on electrode plate 34a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakakita et al. (WO2022201630A1) discloses a bipolar battery in which an injection hole may be formed after the frame is joined ([0500]).
/DAN NGUYEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754