DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application papers filed on 13 December 2023.
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informality(ies):
At lines 12-13: “the wafer” is suggested to be: a wafer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: quick-release unit in claim 2.
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “quick-release unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, at page 8, lines 1-12, the disclosure describes only what the quick-release unit does and fails to provide any structure that performs the entire function claimed. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0100573 to Shu (hereinafter “SHU”).
(A) Regarding Claim 1:
SHU discloses:
An electrostatic suction cup device (Fig. 4) for wafer chemical mechanical polishing (para. 0064: CMP device), comprising a wafer carrier and an electrostatic suction cup, wherein
the wafer carrier (201) has a suction surface formed at an upper end thereof (not numbered, see wafer, not numbered, is positioned on the suction surface), wherein
the electrostatic suction cup (i.e. the portion of the wafer carrier 201 that is connected to the power supply units 212) is arranged in the wafer carrier at a position corresponding to the suction surface, and the electrostatic suction cup has a control module connected thereof (240), so that the control module is capable of being used to control the electrostatic suction cup to generate static electricity to adsorb the wafer on the suction surface for chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) operation (Fig. 13: S104 and para. 0064: CMP device).
NOTE ON CLAIM INTERPREATION:
The claim recites: “the control module capable of being used to control...” Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device meets the structural limitations of the claimed device and is capable of performing the recited function then the prior art device necessarily possesses the functionality claimed. In this case, the control unit of SHU meets the structural limitations of the claimed control module. Thus, the functionally defined limitation(s) claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device (MPEP 2114(I)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHU, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 5916015 to Natalicio (hereinafter “NATALICIO”).
(A) Regarding Claim 2:
SHU teaches:
The electrostatic suction cup device (Fig. 4) for wafer chemical mechanical polishing (para. 0064: CMP device) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wafer carrier (201) is connected in combination with a machine (para. 0064: semiconductor processing device, e.g. CMP device).
However, the difference between SHU and the claimed invention is that SHU does not explicitly teach the wafer carrier has a quick-release unit provided at a bottom thereof for combination with a machine.
NATALICIO teaches:
Housing 102 is coupled to a carrier drive shaft 124 through a quick release device (col. 4, ll. 10-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic suction cup device of SHU to include a quick-release device between the wafer carrier and the machine, as taught by NATALICIO, in order to removably couple the wafer carrier to the machine and thereby achieve the predictable result of permitting convenient replacement of carrier assemblies during use (NATALICIO col. 4, ll. 10-14).
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10978334 to Toh et al. teaches a structural body as a carrier that is attached to a support structure for use, for example with portable electrostatic chucking. US 20190152020 to Lan et al. teaches the plate 107 may hold the wafer 108 by electrostatic charge. US 8599531 to Sundar et al. transporting substrates between system components, wherein the substrate is secured to the end effector by electrostatic charge. US 20130224675 to Park teaches an electrostatic chuck device and control method thereof. US 7214623 to Delehanty et al. teaches a wafer 114 is held by a wafer carrier 116 which may include an electrostatic chuck.
Conclusion
KAYLA M. MCCAFFREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/Kayla McCaffrey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745